New Orleans ATTRACTIONS See all

Lafayette Cemetery

Few other places on earth can claim a cemetery as both an interesting tourist destination and a cultural icon. New Orleans’ elevation is technically a negative number, so the early settlers to the area had trouble with the bodies of their recently ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 505 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

lindalbarber

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour guide was very animated and knowledgeable.

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

Marlin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Cathy was awesome! We had a fantastic time. Cathy was very friendly, thorough in describing historical facts, sharing her own experiences through Katrina, and showing us extra places and spending extra time. It was a fun and relaxing way to see the city on a beautiful day. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

Shelley L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was a very good tour. Our tour guide Nancy really knew her history. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Jennifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Whether you're really into vampires or just want to do something fun and kitschy in New Orleans, I recommend this tour. Our guide, Wendy, was really funny and knowledgeable about the vampire legends that make up part of the history of the French Quarter. Seeing some of the buildings that were featured in Interview with the Vampire was a real treat.

Doing what: New Orleans Vampire Tour

Jennifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Awesome tour! Our guide, Marcia, was very knowledgeable about the Garden District and the historical homes there. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

sandra m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip and the guide - Kathryn - was a great way to get a view of the city - some history and enjoy the great outdoors. Our guide was knowledgeable and efficient with our time. The variety of what we saw - neighborhoods, business district, city park, cemetery - gave me a dose of new Orleans that no other tour would have provided. Well worth the cost, time and a little sun burn!

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

Kathleen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour loaded with history, architecture, local flavor, and personal commentary from Carol, our wonderful guide. We learned a lot and enjoyed the experience.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

christine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Good tour, even in the rain, the inside of the opera house is the highlight

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

alia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Lovely walk through the Garden District. Our guide Carol pointed out all the celebrity homes, and shared tidbits about renovations and histories of the various homes. You get to tour the Seebold mansion too. My highlight was seeing the Manning home. :

The cemetery portion of the tour is very brief. If you want to learn more and spend more time in a cemetery, then take a tour that is specifically for cemeteries.

Note... there's lots of walking over uneven surfaces the sidewalks are not exactly level and smooth.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Roberta H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide was Midge. She was great. We enjoyed seeing all of the mansions in the Garden District, including Sandra Bullock's, John Goodman's and a couple of Anne Rice's previous houses. Nice walk.
Watch out for the sidewalks though. We enjoyed seeing the Lafayette 1 cemetery and the history along with it. I would recommend this tour to see these spots.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

jameswstone

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Sheila, our guide, was an architect who knew the houses and the cemetery well. She told us about the history of the Garden District and of its houses.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Doug U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tim was very knowledgable about the area, saw some interesting areas outside of the quarter.

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

Elizabeth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a fantastic way to see New Orleans up close! Area is delta flat so no hills! Tour director Danny was very informative and eager to share his love of the area. We were a group of 60 yr olds not nec. in the best of shape and had no problem with the 13.5 mile ride. We stopped frequently to view houses and city sites and drink the provided water. Was great!

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

Maria D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tim, was our bike tour guide and he did an excellent job of showing us around New Orleans and allowing us to explore at our stops. Very knowledgeable and friendly. Highly recommend the New Orleans Bike Tour.

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

Patricia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Marcia was great and the tour was informative and enjoyed going inside the Opera House.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Mark U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Highly recommend this to you if your up in the French Quarter, and see if Drew can be your tour guide... Awesome dude and very energetic story telling skills, apart from excellent sense of humor... Glad I went on this tour and don and #39;t read into the reviews 2 much most of the peeps were prob too drunk.

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

Kevin R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A fantastic way to see the city. We were able to see parts of New Orleans and understand the background, history and culture of the city too. The bike ride was fun and interesting.

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour. Well worth your time and your money. The homes are sensational and the historical narrative is excellent. Jo Ann is terrific!

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Robin A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Nancy was fantastic, and I really enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Arleny S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Daphne was our tour guide on this adventure through the french quarter. She was a great tour guide andshe was amazing at telling the stories. I felt like i was watching a movie. The places where she took us to tell the stories were dark and eerie. I was actually scared after the tour, i kept looking behind me and all around. Definitely recommend if you want to hear some great vampire NOLA stories and get a little spooked.

Doing what: New Orleans Vampire Tour

Rene L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Tour Guide Nancy really knows this neighborhood. This tour was excellent and I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Angela L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was by far my favorite part about visiting New Orleans. We were able to see so much of the city and our guide Cathy was delightful! She was very knowledgeable about the city and its history and very personable. She put us at ease right away and we had such a wonderful time.

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

Margaret W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Really interesting. Guide was knowledgeable and friendly. There was only 2 of us the night we went so it was very personal as well.

Doing what: New Orleans Vampire Tour

Lisa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great fun

Doing what: New Orleans Vampire Tour

Steve C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Cathy was our guide for the 3 pm tour. We had a great time. The weather was perfect and she covered so many areas of New Orleans. We highly recommend this tour. Really enjoyed the cycling . Don and #39;t have to be in good shape to do the tour.

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message