Few other places on earth can claim a cemetery as both an interesting tourist destination and a cultural icon. New Orleans’ elevation is technically a negative number, so the early settlers to the area had trouble with the bodies of their recently ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 240 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide was fantastic. She was so knowledgeable and made the tour most enjoyable.
A second visit inside a home would have been good, as we only went into one, but we learned a lot about the styles and types of architecture used in many buildings.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It is a must to get out of the French quarter and learn the history of how it all got started. Carol was great and even though it was freezing, we had fun. Cemetary was amazing!

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic tour with a very knowledgeable guide. The tour is heavy on fascinating history and a look at some of the streets of New Orleans you might not otherwise feel comfortable walking about.

Doing what: New Orleans Vampire Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Thank you Wendy! All though it was extremely cold the tour was very interesting. I learned about the history of Louisiana's French Quarter. It was really cool =)

Doing what: New Orleans Vampire Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Awesome tour! Our tour guide, Frank, was very friendly and knowledgeable about the history of the area.

Doing what: New Orleans Haunted Walking Tour: Ghosts, Vampires, Witchcraft and Voodoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The architecture and history as well as local pop culture references made for an interesting and varied tour. Our guide, as a New Orleans native, was knowledgeable and the opportunity to see the Garden District and the Cemetery with that depth of knowledge as our guide was a great resource. Educational and entertaining. I recommend that you call ahead to make sure the procedure for check in is followed as we walked from our hotel on Royal to the ticket book by the Cafe du Monde and then over to the lighthouse check in where the van was waiting. The trains and trolleys have an impact on when the vans can get through that area so be as considerate as you can with an early arrival about 20 minutes before tour departure.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Wendy was amazing!!! She had all of these anecdotes and jokes to tell us. She made the whole tour great! I wish we had time to go one the ghost tour with her.

Doing what: New Orleans Vampire Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The Guide, Carol was well informed about the Garden District and could answer any question. Well worth the tour instead of taking the street car down Charles street. The tour takes you off of the main street and you walk the neighborhood. Saw some celebrity homes and also toured the the biggest home in the area= 22,000 SF.
Tour also takes in a cemetery which you learn about burial customs.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Marc F
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Although this seemed more like a history tour (not that I expected to see any vampires) it was still very interesting and enjoyable and quite spooky.

Doing what: New Orleans Vampire Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was great! Very chill and informative. It was nice being shown around in areas I wouldn't know to check out and I loved all the stories.

Doing what: New Orleans Haunted Walking Tour: Ghosts, Vampires, Witchcraft and Voodoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I thought this tour may be a little kitschy, but it turned out to be a fun and very interesting tour of New Orleans and its connections to vampires and the historic events that have promoted and integrated fact and fiction. Jonathon, my guide, was excellent and he took us to the only three remaining French buildings in New Orleans (all other building were Spanish or American in flavor). Definitely a fun tour that I would recommend even to people not interested in vampires as it's as much about history as anything else.

Doing what: New Orleans Vampire Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Unbelievable area of the city. Excellent guide A southern charmer!!!!

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a fantastic tour! Our tour guide Mikko was very knowledgeable and entertaining. We started off at the cemetery and meandered through the garden district. There was a bit of walking and some of the paths were very uneven, so be wary of that if you have mobility issues. Mikko told us numerous stories about the ghosts of the garden district as well as some general history and trivia of the area. Well worth doing!

Doing what: New Orleans Garden District Ghost Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message