New Orleans ATTRACTIONS See all

Lafayette Cemetery

Few other places on earth can claim a cemetery as both an interesting tourist destination and a cultural icon. New Orleans’ elevation is technically a negative number, so the early settlers to the area had trouble with the bodies of their recently ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 521 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Much better than we thought do to a very knowledgeable guide name Danny.

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

Anne-Lise R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Jannine était super et a fourni de nombreux détails. De plus, on sentait bien qu'elle aurait pu organiser une conférence sur le sujet. Le bonus : Je voyageais seule et elle a sû créer un vrai groupe de visite.
Jannine was great and she gave us incredible details. Furthermore, you could feel that her knowledge could allow her to give a conference on this topic. Big Bonus : I was travelling all by myself and she'd know how to straighten the group feeling.

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

Victoria N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Marcia, our guide, was interesting and informative. Her small facts about the area showed how much she has learned and is learning about her tour. Her tip on lunch at Commanders Palace was great and we actually went the very next day. Overall a great experience that we would recommend to anyone coming to New Orleans.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Jessica S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an amazing tour. Bond or you can call her Pocahontas, or travel guide or hey you, she answers to it all was extremely knowledgeable about each stop we went to and only true documented facts. She is in the process of getting her doctorate in New Orleans History and went purely off of the history books and documented/proven stories. She was a creative and fun story teller who knew how to keep the group's attention. If you take this tour, she is the one to go with, request her!

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

Joanna H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My husband and I loved this tour! We got to see so much more than the French Quarter, learned a lot of history and were able to walk around a fantastic cemetery. Our guide was friendly and very knowledgeable. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

Kelly L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable, great tour!

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

m rue United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

great way to learn about the neighborhood history and see historical homes.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Rob M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very informative tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and really gave us a great history lesson of the city of New Orleans. A must do when you're there.

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our Guide Was AWESOME!! great way to see the city and learn it's history and charm...

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

Patricia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Nancy was our tour guide and she made the entire 2 hours terrific. She was so knowledgeable and enthusiastic about every spot we stopped at. She was a great representative of a smart Southern woman and we had a great time. Not to mention the incredible pecan praline cookies she gave out at the end!

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Kimura F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour! It gave me a really good sense of New Orleans beyond the French quarter. The bike riding wasn't taxing, although in retrospect we covered a lot of ground. I would recommend this tour to any one who is interested in learning more about the city. This tour doesn't cover the garden district, however, there is a separate tour that goes there.

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

Cheryl G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Kathy was amazing!! So knowledgeable and personal. We did ride through the WORST storm ever but she never compromised our safety to get us back quickly...... we were 4 or more miles out when the clouds dumped! We will be telling everyone to take the Tour and hopefully have Kathy guide them through a wonderful trek of NOLA!!

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

lindalbarber

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour guide was very animated and knowledgeable.

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour

Marlin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Cathy was awesome! We had a fantastic time. Cathy was very friendly, thorough in describing historical facts, sharing her own experiences through Katrina, and showing us extra places and spending extra time. It was a fun and relaxing way to see the city on a beautiful day. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

Shelley L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was a very good tour. Our tour guide Nancy really knew her history. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Jennifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Whether you're really into vampires or just want to do something fun and kitschy in New Orleans, I recommend this tour. Our guide, Wendy, was really funny and knowledgeable about the vampire legends that make up part of the history of the French Quarter. Seeing some of the buildings that were featured in Interview with the Vampire was a real treat.

Doing what: New Orleans Vampire Tour

Jennifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Awesome tour! Our guide, Marcia, was very knowledgeable about the Garden District and the historical homes there. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

sandra m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip and the guide - Kathryn - was a great way to get a view of the city - some history and enjoy the great outdoors. Our guide was knowledgeable and efficient with our time. The variety of what we saw - neighborhoods, business district, city park, cemetery - gave me a dose of new Orleans that no other tour would have provided. Well worth the cost, time and a little sun burn!

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

Kathleen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour loaded with history, architecture, local flavor, and personal commentary from Carol, our wonderful guide. We learned a lot and enjoyed the experience.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

christine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Good tour, even in the rain, the inside of the opera house is the highlight

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

alia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Lovely walk through the Garden District. Our guide Carol pointed out all the celebrity homes, and shared tidbits about renovations and histories of the various homes. You get to tour the Seebold mansion too. My highlight was seeing the Manning home. :

The cemetery portion of the tour is very brief. If you want to learn more and spend more time in a cemetery, then take a tour that is specifically for cemeteries.

Note... there's lots of walking over uneven surfaces the sidewalks are not exactly level and smooth.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Roberta H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide was Midge. She was great. We enjoyed seeing all of the mansions in the Garden District, including Sandra Bullock's, John Goodman's and a couple of Anne Rice's previous houses. Nice walk.
Watch out for the sidewalks though. We enjoyed seeing the Lafayette 1 cemetery and the history along with it. I would recommend this tour to see these spots.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

jameswstone

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Sheila, our guide, was an architect who knew the houses and the cemetery well. She told us about the history of the Garden District and of its houses.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Doug U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tim was very knowledgable about the area, saw some interesting areas outside of the quarter.

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

Elizabeth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a fantastic way to see New Orleans up close! Area is delta flat so no hills! Tour director Danny was very informative and eager to share his love of the area. We were a group of 60 yr olds not nec. in the best of shape and had no problem with the 13.5 mile ride. We stopped frequently to view houses and city sites and drink the provided water. Was great!

Doing what: New Orleans Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message