New Orleans ATTRACTIONS See all

Laura Plantation

Steeped in history far richer than the former plantation owners could have dreamed of owning, the Laura Plantation lies just beyond the reaches of the Greater New Orleans area. Originally built in 1804 by a French naval veteran of the American ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 728 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Thomas L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was awesome. Our guide was very knowledgeable and fun.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Ursula K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a terrific trip to the plantations with tours by Isabelle. Our driver Joseph was so knowledgeable.
Learn so much about Louisanan and New Orleans history. Very friendly and respectful. I was with
my mother who is 90 and he took great care of us. Please RECOMMEND THEM.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Tracy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very cool! Boat tour and plantation were great and we learned alot. Tour guides were fantastic.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Amy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our driver/guide was very knowledgeable and humorous. The Planations are worth seeing. I loved the intimate nature of the tour and door to door service.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Jo R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a fantastic day out. Really recommend the smaller intimacy of the smaller size group especially when on the Bayou - no one needed to jostle for position to see the wildlife and it was comfortable and relaxed. The trip to the creole plantation was especially fascinating in the afternoon.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Dale S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

the tour was very in formative and our guide was the best. she was very emotional at some parts of the tour that made you feel she sincerely loves her job and the history that she shared with us.

Doing what: Laura Plantation Tour

Ronald I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very informative and interesting!

Doing what: Laura Plantation Tour from New Orleans

Paul R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Would highly recommend this tour for anyone interested in New Orleans history. The guide was a local who was extremely knowledgeable and educated and an all around great gal. Lunch at the Oak Ally Plantation was excellent and both Plantations were unique in there own way.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Karla K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a must do tour for anyone visiting New Orleans. The swamp boat adventure was outstanding and actually was out into one of the bayous. We saw so much wildlife and many alligators!! We loved both plantations and they were so different from each other so it was not seeing the same thing at a different location. I highly recommend this full day tour - it was worth every penny!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

sherly s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

amazing tour !! our guide Gene Reyes was very informative and nice guide. loved it

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Richard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Would highly rate this company, Isabelle was not only very knowledgeable but very warm and friendly. Swamp boat adventure was not disappointing, although wished we'd seen more crocodiles along the way. Plantation visits well worth the visit and Isabelle took us out of her way to see more in the area - Django Unchained had been filmed close by as had the recent Roots series. Wonderful day, food and people. Perfect!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Sarah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Billy was very knowledgeable and a great tour guide

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Robin A G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour! My husband was at a conference so I was looking for something to occupy my days and I'm so glad that I scheduled this prior to our arrival in New Orleans. It was a great way to learn about New Orleans and to meet new people.
Our driver and tour guide had a wealth of historical knowledge about the New Orleans area which was really interesting. I'm sorry I don't recall her name. She was originally from France and I was embarrassed that she sure knew more about the are area than I did as a citizen of the U.S. I have to say that the Swamp Boat Adventure was a highlight! Our driver Gary, was a hoot and made the trip really enjoyable. His skills as a driver certainly put me at ease as we traveled 45 MPH at times through the swamp open areas. His knowledge, sensitivity and appreciation of the natural wildlife and landscape of the area really added to our knowledge and enjoyment. He even stopped and used a rope to pull down a broken branch so that it wouldn't fall down and hurt someone. I even learned the difference between a marsh no trees and a swamp with trees! Ladies, don't bother doing your hair that day. It's definitely not an excursion that leaves you having a good hair day!
I've always wanted to visit a southern plantation so I was excited and not disappointed. Both plantations were so different and although I enjoyed the grandeur and beauty of Oak Alley as well as the delicious lunch with fabulous gumbo, I found myself drawn to the Laura Plantation even more for its authenticity of existing slave buildings from that time era. I even still have a photo I took of the original slave quarters as my Facebook cover page. I enjoyed hearing what life was like for people back then and learning a lot of interesting facts at both plantations.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely loved the tour. Very interesting and informative. The only problem we had was that we were picked up first at 7:00 a.m. and dropped off last 6:00 p.m. My husband was very upset about this as it made for a very long day.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Diane A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour is well worth taking. The grounds are well maintained and very picturesque.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

nutridoc2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Bayou trip particularly wonderful. Plantation very enjoyable. Our guide was excellent and informative.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Julia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a fantastic tour. Our driver and guide Billy was wonderful and provided so much interesting information about New Orleans and the surrounding area. The visits to the plantations were fascinating and we did manage to see some alligators and turtles on our swamp tour. All in all a great day and one we will not forget. Thank you to Billy for being such a great guide.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Trish A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved the small guided tours! Wanted to do both in one day and this tour made that happen.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Chelsea G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved this tour! Our tour guide Joseph was awesome! He told us a lot of interesting facts on our drive to and from the plantations. Our favourite stop was Oak Alley - what it would have been like to live there! It's absolutely gorgeous. Would have liked to have spent more time there for sure! Laura was also very interesting. We were a little disappointed that our small group didn't actually extend to the tours of the plantation itself. That's kind of what we were thinking but it was really just a small group for the bus ride. Still, it was an absolutely amazing tour and I would book it again in a heartbeat! I really appreciated being driven out there and not only seeing some great scenery, but hearing a bunch of interesting things about what we were seeing. Thank you so much for the great experience!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message