Steeped in history far richer than the former plantation owners could have dreamed of owning, the Laura Plantation lies just beyond the reaches of the Greater New Orleans area. Originally built in 1804 by a French naval veteran of the American ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 382 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

After watching Gone with the Wind for the first time as a child, I've always wanted to visit a Southern plantation - this tour not only brought me to one but two. We started our day with a cruise along on the bayou where we saw lots of alligators. Fun fact, alligators only see in black and white so the Captain threw out marshmallows which brought all sizes out. Next we went to Oak Alley Plantation which is exactly what you envision a plantation to look like. We started with a hearty lunch which was followed by our guided tour. Our guides were dressed in period clothing and provided a beautiful tour. Oak Alley, named for the beautiful Oak trees that line the entry way, did not disappoint. Make sure to try one of their Mint Juleps, it's a great way to cool off from Louisiana's humid climate. Following Oak Alley, we drove a short way down the road to Laura Plantation. After spending any time in New Orleans, you will learn the difference between 'Cajun' and 'Creole'. Laura Plantation is a Creole plantation and you can definitely spot the differences between the two. Our guide, Ashley, was incredible. She really painted a picture of what it was like for all parties living on this plantation back in the day. I wouldn't want to spoil the fascinating stories – you’ll have to experience it for yourself!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great day trip. From pickup to drop-off, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We started the day with a drive into Cajun country where we took a cruise on the bayou and spotted lots of alligators. After the cruise, we visited Oak Alley and had a great Southern lunch and an informative tour tour. Laura Plantation was equally interesting and the guides at that plantation were fantastic.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour guide, Kat, was great. Very knowledgable and kept the vibe for the tour going all day. Maximum of 13 on the tour so felt a very personalised. Have already recommended it to others at my conference.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very worthwhile and informative. Ginnie. our tour guide, was awesome. This is a must do for anyone visiting New Orleans

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour extremely relative to what the south was like years ago.The tour operators picked us up promptly. Tour guide was packed with knowledge of New Orleans .The Bayou was exciting with plenty of Alligators .Boat captain entertaining and knowledgeable. Oak Alley and Laura Plantations were beautiful and amazing

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I would give this 10 stars if it let me.
It started off by the tour guide coming all the way over to Gretna to pick us up. Stanley was his name. He indulged us with fantastic historical facts, things you did not read about in the history books. He drove safely and made great light talk when the van full of strangers got quiet. He was laid back, and answered every question we had with not only knowledge, but with great enthusiasm, he loves his job, and it truly shows!
First stop, was Laura Plantation, where we had plenty of time for the gift shop, and breaks. A different tour director took over inside and on the grounds, and was great in his stories and very knowledgeable. I had never even heard of the Laura Plantation before going there, now I want to read more on it! Beautiful place. Tragic history!
Then on to Oak Alley Plantation where we were treated to a fantastic cajun lunch, then a fantastic tour, where the guides were dressed in period clothing. At the end, we were treated to wonderful Mint Julips.
Finally, we ended with Torres' Swamp Tours in Kraemer, on the Bayou Des Allemandes. Fantastic guide, and we saw several alligators and he actually fed them marshmallows, hoodathunk?
It was a beautiful day (In October) not humid, and no bugs, none?? I had brought lots of OFF for this tour, and did not need it. Highly recommended! Very professional, and I LOVE Viatar for helping us to find what we wanted and booking for us, no mess, no fuss! TEN STARS!!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing. The plantations were beautiful. It was wonderful to see two completely different plantations. The creole plantation, Laura, was very colorful and so interesting. Oak Alley was spectacular with all the oak trees. The swamp tour was serene and beautiful. Lots of alligators and birds. The tour guide was great, Mr. Torres. The lunch was delicious with both creole and cajun foods. Wonderful tour!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Absolutely loved it. Could have lasted a little longer though.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Swamp boat trip was exciting and the guide was very knowledgeable about the Alligators that we saw and the Bayou in general.The plantation tour to Oak Alley was an enjoyable trip to a bygone time and highly recommended although the trip to the Laura plantation was rather boring,a plantation to much ?

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent! There were ten of us, our driver picked us up on time and gave us some history facts while driving to the swamp tour. The swamp tour was GREAT! Our guide was very knowledgeable and pointed out gator nest and we saw many gators! Also gave us a lot of history. Oak Alley and Laura was wonderful! Lunch was great. We were all dropped off at our hotels. A full day, loved it.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a bit pricey, but the tour was great. From the moment we were picked up till the end of the tour we were given so much information about New Orleans in general and the individual plantations and bayou. The tour guides were extremely knowledgeable and able to answer all of our inquiries. If you are interested in learning some history of the area then this is the tour for you. Our favorite was the Laura Plantation tour. We came away with having a much better and more accurate understanding of the historical times and way of life of the old south.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Swamp boat tour very good with our own personal boat. Plantation tours had good local guides and buffets lunch suited all tastes.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My friends and I had the best time in New Orleans! The plantation tours were amazing and we absolutely loved our swamp tour! Our boat Captain was Garry(Gaz) and he was just the best, we wish we could have had more time in the swamps =)

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour very informative. Beautiful locations nice food. Would recommend to anyone we took the children and they enjoyed to.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved this tour. Diane our guide was a mine of information and nothing was to much trouble for her. The tours around the plantations were very well done and made very interesting and we thoroughly enjoyed them. Lunch was buffet style which was lovely and hot with loads of choice of some excellent food and it was great to try things we had not eaten before.
We had opted for the high speed boat ride through the swamps which was amazing and we did see allsorts of wild life plus quite a large alligator which came very close to our boat. It was all very exciting and would definitely recommend this tour

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message