• USD ($)
  • English
Steeped in history far richer than the former plantation owners could have dreamed of owning, the Laura Plantation lies just beyond the reaches of the Greater New Orleans area. Originally built in 1804 by a French naval veteran of the American ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 261 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

What a fantastic day I had celebrating my 50th birthday. From the time our guide Muriel picked us up. Muriel was fantastic her knowledge of the area was very informative. The lunch was excellent. Our tour guide at Laura plantation was Jennifer, she delivered our tour with such enthusiasm. Such a wonderful day I highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting New Orleans. Also the small group of 13 was so much better.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

If you or your significant other (like mine) are plantation buffs this is the tour for you. Oak Alley is the beautiful "Gone With The Wind" feel while Laura Plantation reminds you of the actual brutality of the time.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Stanley, our driver, was great. Shared tons of interesting and personal information. He clearly loves is job as well as his city.

Our docent at Laura Plantation, young man (Steven?), was great! Very informative and enjoyable. Again, it was obvious he cares for the plantation and its history.

The swamp tour and captain (hula hula) were as fun as expected. Actually holding a young alligator was a wonderful and thrilling surprise!

The Oak Plantation was lovely to see but a bit commercialized. This said, the lunch was awesome!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We had a wonderful time. Our guides on all parts of this tour were very knowledgable. Would recommend this trip.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Drerck was very knowledgeable about the area. Viator does a good job at picking excellent guides well versed in the local area, who tend too be locals themselves.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was the best tour of our trip!
The staff was amazing and we learned so much history! I would do it again... Well worth the $

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Both of the plantation tours were informative and fun. The guides were interesting, fun and knowledgeable. Lunch was delicious with great Louisiana food. The swamp boat was also informative and fun. Our boat guide was extremely knowledgeable and kept us entertained with stories of life in the bayou. Saw alligators, snakes and lots of turtles. Our driver for the day was also knowledgeable and informative and kept us entertained with stories and answered all our questions.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Fantastic tour!! Five stars from me...
We were picked up and dropped off at our hotel. Our driver was a great guide sharing the highlights and history of New Orleans and the plantations. I booked the tour because I wanted to see Oak Alley, but Laura Plantation was the surprise highlight. What a Creole gem!
The tour company was so nice and helpful when I called them with questions before the tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We loved the whole day. We thought the tour company did an excellent job, and we learned so much about Louisana from our driver Joseph. We enjoyed our visit to Oak Alley and the typical Louisiana lunch that was provided, but our favorite plantation was the Creole one with tons of detailed information about life there - excellent tour guide. We also thoroughly enjoyed the visit to the bayou on the swamp boat. Our guide Roland Torres had tons of stories and information about the bayou. He was definitely as interesting as the bayou itself! My husband and I both felt that we learned so much about that part of Louisiana, and plan to return some day.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We really enjoyed this tour with our guide Dylan. His information was very interesting as well as the guides we had at Laura's and Oak Alley Plantation. Small group size was fantastic(10).

Doing what: New Orleans Shore Excursion: Post-Cruise Westbank Plantation Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The trip to the plantations was great, the food in the Oak Aisley plantation was delicious and the best tipical creole food I have tasted in NO. The excrusionto the swamp was peaceful and perfect.
I would repeat!!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message