New Orleans ATTRACTIONS See all

Laura Plantation

Steeped in history far richer than the former plantation owners could have dreamed of owning, the Laura Plantation lies just beyond the reaches of the Greater New Orleans area. Originally built in 1804 by a French naval veteran of the American ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 681 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

manon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Well organised tour and the swamp boat trip was excellent. Roland the skipper was wonderful and full of knowledge. We saw alligators, snakes and turtles. The plantation was excellent and the restaurant lunch was superb. The Cajun food was spot on and really enjoyable, all in all a wonderful day in the Cajun country.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

bruno T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

super , visite en Français trois fois par jour a recommender

Doing what: Laura Plantation Tour

deborahbreen.lpl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent day. The airboat was the best fun, our guide Gary was great. The plantation lunch was substantial and featured local food. The two plantation tours were also great.
Would highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Grant E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour, even on a rainy day it was well organised and catered for and we were able to do all activities. Highly recommend

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Maude M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our driver wasn't the friendliest, however he was very informative and the plantations were great.
This is the 2nd time I've done this tour and I don't regret either!! LOVE the small group format...

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a must tour if you are at all interested in American History, American Culture or the way America was. Everything from pick up in the morning to drop off in the evening was professional. Muriel was superb as were all the visit guides. So pleased I did this tour. Well done one and all.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

ksweet2820

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great all day experience -- Many sights and history .. Glad we took this tour

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Susan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The informative tours and easy transportation made our plantation tours a wonderful experience, highly recommended.

Doing what: Oak Alley and Laura Plantation Tour

Diane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What a fun day. It started with a small tour, only 13 people our our delightful French guide, Muriel. We went to the Bayou and toured on a boat by the son of the farm who was 7th generation Bayou people! Can't ask for more than that. Muriel was really smart - she arranged for us to be early so we were first for our lunch - no lines, special entrance for our tour of Oak Alley, no lines and then arranged a special time for Laura's plantation. She was so professional and made the the trip enjoyable and hassle free. I would definitely go with Tours by Isabelle again!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

patricia p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very enjoyable tour of both plantations. We had lunch at Oak Alley which was pretty good. We went to go on the airboat ride first thing in the morning and it rained, so got a little wet and didn't get to see much. But would try it again.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Christine T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very knowledgeable and passionate tour guide - an excellent way to gain an insight into the lives and conditions of the plantation owners, their families and slaves. Transport from hotel to main bus was quite good. Bus from New Orleans to the plantation was not as comfortable as expected for the time spent on board.

Doing what: Laura Plantation Tour from New Orleans

Michael R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Loved the guides at the 2 plantations - very entertaining and knowledgeable. Our driver was very good also and had a ton of history to share. The tour ended up being a couple hours longer than planned due to heavy traffic. Van not very comfortable

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Nancy H G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I can't laud this tour enough!
We had a group of 6 wth the wonderful Niji as our driver/guide. She was so informative, very well-versed in the history and culture.
Laura Plantation was our first stop and Rose, the guide there, was a treat. It is a fascinating place with quite the story, which Rose told so well.

Oak Alley is a stunner and drew quite the crowd. Chelsea was our guide there and she was also great .

Do not miss this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

yolanda h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fabulous - very informative about the history of the people and the places!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Brad L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was very well done and well coordinated. Everything met and or exceeded our expectations. I tour guide for the day, Guy, was nice, informative and courteous. We would recommend this package to everyone. The Laura Plantation will hold a special place in our hearts for years to come.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Johnny S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a great time on our tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation. Our tour guide, Guy was very knowledgeable and personable.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Marc J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Billy was fantastic. Swamp boat ride, Gazza was great laid back guy with a wealth of knowledge of the swamps. Lunch was well and truly tasty.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Sylvia P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour.

Really informative tour guide/driver.

Laura plantation tour was exceptional.

Oak Valley was beautiful.

Worth every penny!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Gordon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent tour! We were picked up at our hotel, and entertained with good narrative all the way out and back about 50 miles to the plantations along the Mississippi. The tours themselves of the Laura Creole Plantation and the Oak Alley Plantation were fascinating. It was a long day 6 hours, but so interesting all the way through. We felt very well-treated by the tour staff and the staff at the plantations. I have some walking issues, but I made it through the tours just fine. They are well-paced.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Melissa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Guy was awesome! He was very informative and made the drive out to the plantations fun and informative. We really enjoyed the plantations and bayou!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Theodora K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour was fantastic! The swamp ride was comfortable and the guide was extremely knowledgeable about the area. The Oak plantation tour was very basic. We saw the house and the grounds and it was very enjoyable. The second tour of the Laura plantation was wonderful. The guide gave a very human story to the history of the place and it touched us in a much more emotional way. Very excellent tour. Overall, the van was extremely comfortable, the driver was very nice and also very knowledgeable about the areas we were passing. I would strongly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

JASON G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

All in all a good trip. No gators in February, but the airboat captain was full of charm and wit and gave us a great tour none-the-less. Our main guide, he meant well, but spoke the entire time in a monotone I've done this 5000 times. Still giving it a 5 star though as it was a great value and everyone meant well. Unless you want to go into sugar coma, avoid the Mint Juleps outside the door of Oak Alley. :

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Denise D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Plantations were very interesting. The lunch was fantastic. Could have been a little warmer for the Airboat.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Gail H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Wonderful tour Giselle was very informative and gave us a lot of history about the Plantations and New Orleans Unfortunately due to traffic felt a little rushed going from Planation to Plantation but not the tour
guides fault ...........Would highly recommend

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message