Steeped in history far richer than the former plantation owners could have dreamed of owning, the Laura Plantation lies just beyond the reaches of the Greater New Orleans area. Originally built in 1804 by a French naval veteran of the American ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 481 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Awesome experience! The Laura tour was very informative and the food at Oak Alley was delicious. The swamp boat was great. The guide was quite knowledgeable and skilled. Lots of fun.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Tours by Isabelle was wonderful to work with. Giselle was great!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a really enjoyable day. Very interesting information and knowledgeable tour guides. The airboat was a once in a lifetime experience that shouldn't be missed. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Good tour. Well organized and smooth. The guides were knowledgeable and helpful. The driver's command of English was not totally fluent. Did not fully get to appreciate her knowledge level though she was helpful and provided good local tips. It would have been good to have some downtime in the car.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

What an enjoyable experience! The bayou tour was such fun. The scenery, cypress trees, and natural habitat was remarkable. We saw many alligators and turtles. The guide was a natural fisherman and hunter. He had many stories and bayou facts to share with us. The 2 plantations were beautiful but so different. Seeing how the rich lived comfortably vs. the slaves' living conditions was heartbreaking. Great tour! The only CON was the comfort of transportation. The driver was excellent and careful, but 13 people in the van was too crowded. We were nearly last to be picked up, so we ended up in the back. I was in the back corner which was very bumpy. My average-sized spouse had a 1/2 seat on the bench ahead of me. We had those seats the entire time, even after getting out and returning to the van. If you have a back condition, don't end up sitting in the back or you'll be miserable.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A real highlight of our trip. Loved the Bayou/Swamp tour and actual saw several alligators, a blue heron and some egrets. Madeline, our tour guide for this combination tour including touring Oak Alley and Laura plantations did a wonderful job on giving us all the background for the various areas and was very knowledgable about the history of the the region. Also, the food at Oak Alley was excellent! Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an amazing tour. Our tour guide, Ginni was so knowledgeable! We learned so much history. She told facts, but presented them in a story format, loved that she presented that way. The plantations were amazing. So glad we took this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Loved the air boat, the plantations, the food and the mint juleps!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had an excellent guide ellen . She was extremely knowledgeable and of course the the plantations were an incredible view to a past time in history.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Ginnie was FANTASTIC. She knew everything about New Orleans and surrounding areas. Every site we passed she gave us a history lesson. I would HIGHLY recommend any tour that Ginnie is the tour guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We enjoyed this tour very much. Our tour guide Madeline was very knowledgeable about the history
of the area and gave us a background of what we were going to see and the areas we were passing through.
The swamp boat ride was very interesting and we got to see 2 baby alligators and several species of birds including a bald eagle. The boat captain explained all about the hunting of alligators in the area. Both plantations were very interesting and the guides very informative. The pace gave you time to see most of the area. The lunch at Oak Alley was served in the restaurant and was sit down rather than a buffet. It was very good. The plantations are very different with Oak Alley being more upper class and Laura being
a regular working plantation. The only down side to the tour was that we were in next to the last seat on the van and the ride was very rough even though Madeline was a very good driver. Also could have done with fewer visuals being passed back as it disrupted what Madeline was saying and by the time it got to the back of the van we were already past the area. Overall an excellent tour and we would recommend.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent ! Worth the money! Full day tour! Tours by Isabel picked us up and dropped us off right in front of our hotel! Ellen was our tour guide- she was funny and very informative! We would give this trip 5 stars

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic tour.Our guide Kat lovely and extremely knowledgeable. Fascinating insight into civil war, slavery and plantation life.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Truly enjoyed this tour. Our trip guide from Tours from Isabella was very informative. The guide at Laura's Plantation was especially knowledgeable and entertaining. Would do it again if revisiting New Orleans.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message