Steeped in history far richer than the former plantation owners could have dreamed of owning, the Laura Plantation lies just beyond the reaches of the Greater New Orleans area. Originally built in 1804 by a French naval veteran of the American ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 371 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Swamp boat trip was exciting and the guide was very knowledgeable about the Alligators that we saw and the Bayou in general.The plantation tour to Oak Alley was an enjoyable trip to a bygone time and highly recommended although the trip to the Laura plantation was rather boring,a plantation to much ?

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent! There were ten of us, our driver picked us up on time and gave us some history facts while driving to the swamp tour. The swamp tour was GREAT! Our guide was very knowledgeable and pointed out gator nest and we saw many gators! Also gave us a lot of history. Oak Alley and Laura was wonderful! Lunch was great. We were all dropped off at our hotels. A full day, loved it.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a bit pricey, but the tour was great. From the moment we were picked up till the end of the tour we were given so much information about New Orleans in general and the individual plantations and bayou. The tour guides were extremely knowledgeable and able to answer all of our inquiries. If you are interested in learning some history of the area then this is the tour for you. Our favorite was the Laura Plantation tour. We came away with having a much better and more accurate understanding of the historical times and way of life of the old south.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Swamp boat tour very good with our own personal boat. Plantation tours had good local guides and buffets lunch suited all tastes.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My friends and I had the best time in New Orleans! The plantation tours were amazing and we absolutely loved our swamp tour! Our boat Captain was Garry(Gaz) and he was just the best, we wish we could have had more time in the swamps =)

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour very informative. Beautiful locations nice food. Would recommend to anyone we took the children and they enjoyed to.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved this tour. Diane our guide was a mine of information and nothing was to much trouble for her. The tours around the plantations were very well done and made very interesting and we thoroughly enjoyed them. Lunch was buffet style which was lovely and hot with loads of choice of some excellent food and it was great to try things we had not eaten before.
We had opted for the high speed boat ride through the swamps which was amazing and we did see allsorts of wild life plus quite a large alligator which came very close to our boat. It was all very exciting and would definitely recommend this tour

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Thoroughly recommend this tour, our guide was very informative and passionate about the history behind this place, thoroughly and highly enjoyed the air boat of the bayou, just amazing fantastic

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Much more sensible to take both tours in one day as you waste less time travelling. All the elements were excellent

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was a very informative tour and the service was good. We were picked up on time and the driver provided some good information about New Orleans on the drive to our first stop. I recommend the tour to anyone, it was great value The tow mansions were very different and each tour was informative and interesting . The swamp boat tour was also great fun.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour was great! All 3 guides were excellent!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The Laura Plantation had an amazing tour guide, I believe it was a young man named Stephen. The plantation was colorful and the history was extremely interesting. Oaks Alley has its breath taking land and home!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wonderful tour, magnificent house and grounds and a very informative look into the lives of the people that lived there.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our van driver,Joseph, was very nice and informative. We did the swamp tour first. We drove 30 minutes or so to our destination. Mr. Torres was our swamp boat tour guide. He was very nice,funny and informative. He had a very warm personality.He knew a lot about alligator hunting,(he is an alligator hunter) and the laws. We saw several alligators. The bayou was beautiful. The trees, wildlife and serenity of it all. We had lunch next at Oak Alley. It was very good. The house and oak trees were just beautiful. Then we had mint julips. Fantastic! Be sure to really stir up the mint in the drink. Refreshing. The we drove to the Laura plantation. Our tour guide was creole. she knew eveyrthing there was to know about the history of the plantation. She was very funny also. Me and my husband loved the tours. We highly recommend them.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message