Steeped in history far richer than the former plantation owners could have dreamed of owning, the Laura Plantation lies just beyond the reaches of the Greater New Orleans area. Originally built in 1804 by a French naval veteran of the American ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 469 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent! The tour was very well organized. Niji picked us up at the hotel and drove us to the swamp tour, the 2 plantations and back to the hotel. She provided information on the history of New Orleans and was very knowledgeable. Captain Eric made the swamp tour was fun and we would definitely recommend upgrading to the high speed air boat. The buffet lunch at Oak Alley was delicious and the home and grounds were beautiful. We also enjoyed learning the history of the Laura Plantation. Definitely a tour to do.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We enjoyed this tour very much. Our tour guide Madeline was very knowledgeable about the history
of the area and gave us a background of what we were going to see and the areas we were passing through.
The swamp boat ride was very interesting and we got to see 2 baby alligators and several species of birds including a bald eagle. The boat captain explained all about the hunting of alligators in the area. Both plantations were very interesting and the guides very informative. The pace gave you time to see most of the area. The lunch at Oak Alley was served in the restaurant and was sit down rather than a buffet. It was very good. The plantations are very different with Oak Alley being more upper class and Laura being
a regular working plantation. The only down side to the tour was that we were in next to the last seat on the van and the ride was very rough even though Madeline was a very good driver. Also could have done with fewer visuals being passed back as it disrupted what Madeline was saying and by the time it got to the back of the van we were already past the area. Overall an excellent tour and we would recommend.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent ! Worth the money! Full day tour! Tours by Isabel picked us up and dropped us off right in front of our hotel! Ellen was our tour guide- she was funny and very informative! We would give this trip 5 stars

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic tour.Our guide Kat lovely and extremely knowledgeable. Fascinating insight into civil war, slavery and plantation life.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Truly enjoyed this tour. Our trip guide from Tours from Isabella was very informative. The guide at Laura's Plantation was especially knowledgeable and entertaining. Would do it again if revisiting New Orleans.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

My family of 4 (including 13-year old twins) thoroughly enjoyed this tour taken on Feb 19th. Our hotel pick-up was exactly on-time. Niji, our guide, provided so much wonderful information/history both to and from the plantations. We loved the history of the sites - we highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic Day! Our tour guide, Kat, added fun to the day, as well as lots of extra information. It was wonderful having someone so passionate about the history of the area lead us through the day. The swamp boat guide was phenomenal, as were the guides in each of the two plantations. The only downside to the day was not seeing any alligators, but that was due to the time of year. I highly recommend this tour to anyone and everyone.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The entire day was wonderful and very informative! Would recommend to anyone!!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Highlight of my trip to New Orleans.... I highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Loved this tour. The swamp boat adventure was really interesting, the food at Oak Alley was really good, as was the tour, and the tour at Laura was one of my highlights.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Loved this tour. The swamp boat adventure was really interesting, the food at Oak Alley was really good, as was the tour, and the tour at Laura was one of my highlights.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Loved this tour. The swamp boat adventure was really interesting, the food at Oak Alley was really good, as was the tour, and the tour at Laura was one of my highlights.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Loved this tour. The swamp boat adventure was really interesting, the food at Oak Alley was really good, as was the tour, and the tour at Laura was one of my highlights.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Loved this tour. The swamp boat adventure was really interesting, the food at Oak Alley was really good, as was the tour, and the tour at Laura was one of my highlights.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This one of the nicest tours we have ever taken. So I formative. Gave us a real look at Southern life on plantations. Expected lunch to be so so but it turned out to be some of the best southern food we ate in the three days in New Orleans despite going to some excellent highly revommended restaurants.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message