Steeped in history far richer than the former plantation owners could have dreamed of owning, the Laura Plantation lies just beyond the reaches of the Greater New Orleans area. Originally built in 1804 by a French naval veteran of the American ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 548 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The history was fascinating, the tour guide was great, and the group was small. Awesome tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a wonderful day that will give us beautiful memories of Louisiana. The tour was well organized and relaxing. Each guide was very knowledgeable and put their own personalities into their part of the tour. We loved it. Thank you so much for everything.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The swamp tour was great! Very informative and beautiful. Both plantations had great tours and lots of information. The lunch at Oak Alley was superb.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the best thing we did during our week-long stay in New Orleans. Our driver, Joseph, was informative and helpful. They picked us up at our hotel and drove us to a great swamp tour where we saw wild alligators and learned a lot about gator farming and trapping, and the bayou was beautiful. The plantations were great! The meal we were served at Oak Alley Plantation was maybe the best we ate on our trip and we ate a lot!. We still talk about the etouffee and the buttermilk pie.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved the swamp tour and the plantations were beautiful. The lunch provided at Oak Alley had a good variety of Louisiana cuisine.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Ginnie was a fantastic guide, she was very informative, enthusiastic and accommodating. Her knowledge of the area was amazing, she informed us of New Orleans history from start to finish. Highly recommend a trip with Ginnie to the plantations!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Site guides friendly, knowledgeable and informative.
Driver humorous and informative, but kept to the schedule so that we
got to see what we were supposed to see. Great tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Exceptionally good the tour guide was the best we have ever had with endless useful knowledge would go again

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

the plantations were interesting lots of good information and the air boat ride was the best so glad we did this tour it was well worth it

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I took the Grand Tour Swamp Tour Plantations with my dad and it was a great day out,
we both really enjoyed it. We were picked up from our hotel by our driver/ tour guide
Joseph who was very informative and gave us a great deal of information about the city
of New Orleans and the surrounding area on our way to the airboat tour and the plantations.

The airboat was amazing. traveling around the bayou and getting to see alligators in the wild
is incredible especially when our driver got them to come up to the boat. I would recommend
the airboat tour to anyone and was a definite highlight of mine.

The plantation visits were also very good. We got to visit Oak Alley and Laura Plantation.
Oak Alley is a beautiful place to visit, the alleyway is incredible and makes for may great photos.

The tour around the house gives you a great detail and feel of what it was like in the past.
The meal which was provided for us at Oak Alley was very a nice buffet layout full of creole cuisine, this
gave me the chance to try a few new things, all of which were delicious.

Laura Plantation felt like it had a richer history in comparison to Oak Alley, but it was nice to see the difference in the layout and style of the two plantations. This works really well for the overall tour as
when you think of the plantations places like Oak Alley appear in your mind more than places like Laura.

Overall it was a great day out and personally I'd consider it a must do for anyone visiting New Orleans.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was wonderful. Unfortunately the Van was a little small for 11 adult people. Sitting side by side in a small space was not pleasant. We booked the small group because we did not want to be shuttled on a bus. I would probably not want to go with this company again because of the number of people put into a small van.

The tour itself was wonderful. I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had an amazing time. Lots of great information. Favorite part was the swamp tour. So many gators and turtles!! Every single one of the tour guides was great.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Are tour was awesome! Our tour guide John was great and very informative. John new his history and answered all our questions. Both plantations had awesome tour guides. On the swamp tour we got our fill of alligators and again our tour guide was great.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We really enjoyed the swamp boat ride on the Bayou. See the alligators and turtles was great. The lunch at Oak Alley Plantation was wonderful, as was the tour of the beautiful plantation. We also loved the tour of the Laura Plantation. Would highly recommend this tour. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our Family had a ball. We rang in age from 8-70 years old and all of us had fun. The Torres swamp boat ride was educational and enjoyable and we were thrilled at the no bugs! Our tour guide from Isabelle was a fountain of interesting knowledge and drove our tour van with expertise. Our tour of Oak Alley was fun and the food was outstanding. Our Laura tour was amazing as well.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour, especially the airboat ride with Gary was the highlight of our vacation. We loved it!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The retired land owner and game warden on the slow boat tour was a wealth of information. Excellent.
Issobel was fine but she needs to take that slow boat tour since some of her info needed updating...
Bryan, such a colorful guide who shared so much information and what humor. He will make an ideal court attorney.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We so enjoyed our guide, John, and the trip. The highlight was the Laura Plantation but the boat trip was a great way to end the day. the cool breeze and information on the water !

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had an excellent tour. Our driver and guide was on time,early actually but we were ready. Would highly recommend this tour which is run by Tours by Isabella .

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message