Steeped in history far richer than the former plantation owners could have dreamed of owning, the Laura Plantation lies just beyond the reaches of the Greater New Orleans area. Originally built in 1804 by a French naval veteran of the American ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 351 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our van driver,Joseph, was very nice and informative. We did the swamp tour first. We drove 30 minutes or so to our destination. Mr. Torres was our swamp boat tour guide. He was very nice,funny and informative. He had a very warm personality.He knew a lot about alligator hunting,(he is an alligator hunter) and the laws. We saw several alligators. The bayou was beautiful. The trees, wildlife and serenity of it all. We had lunch next at Oak Alley. It was very good. The house and oak trees were just beautiful. Then we had mint julips. Fantastic! Be sure to really stir up the mint in the drink. Refreshing. The we drove to the Laura plantation. Our tour guide was creole. she knew eveyrthing there was to know about the history of the plantation. She was very funny also. Me and my husband loved the tours. We highly recommend them.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a brilliant day - this tour was so much fun, extremely informative and took us to some extraordinary places. The Bayou tour was really beautiful, simple and fascinating with a most knowledgeable and endearing Captain. The Plantations were gorgeous, the lunch was AMAZING, we learned lots and had a wonderful time. It's a good long day but worth it, wouldn't change a thing. Our Isabelle driver Joe was really great too.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great experience -- Swamp Boat tour was the highlight of my New Orleans trip. Seeing the contrast of the two different types of plantations was very interesting, too.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour! Our host Joseph, picked us up on time and was a great resource of the history, and filled every moment of our ride to and from our destinations with great information, The Plantation Tours were Excellent, as was the Authentic Lunch we had. We did the swamp tour in the morning as they were concerned about the rain, though the boat was covered. We toured with a real alligator hunter, whose family has lived on the Bayou for 5 generations, try as we may we did not see an alligator in the wild, but our guide made it a fun trip. He said only 1 trip in 100 doesn't see one..This trip was one of our highlights.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent experience. Our driver, Joseph, was great. The lunch at plantation was a very sampling of classic Louisianna dishes. The swamp tour by boat was also very interesing and entertaining.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

OMG I was REALLY looking forward to this Swamp boat tour and it didn't disappoint, it was Friggen Awesome we upgraded to the High speed boat and it was worth every cent, both the Plantation houses we went to were a real eye opener for me to how people lived back in the day and this tour is really a must.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic day! All guides very knowledgeable and kept it interesting. We were in a small group, only 8 of us which was really good. Was concerned that it would be a "long day" but the time flew buy. Would definitely take this tour again.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour. The tour guide was great and had a lot of knowledge about the area as she was a local. We learnt a lot on the journey about New Orleans as well as the plantations we were visiting. On the swamp boat we saw a few alligators, turtles and various birds. Also saw a couple of alligator hunters coming in with their prey! The lunch was good, huge portions meant I couldn't get anywhere near finishing the dessert!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour guide was great! It was worth every dollar! I highly recommend that both plantations, Oak Alley and Laura, be toured together. Just going to one doesn't give you full true perspective. Seeing both is a must!!!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent!!!! Fun, fun, fun. Not a boring moment. The plantations were a great experience to the past. And the swamp adventure was loads of fun. Highly recommend. The tour guides were professional and knew what they were doing.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Susan H
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Loved this tour, I didnt think I would as Im not into alligators etc but the Bayou was so calm and relaxing and beautiful and I was very impressed. The guide was a local so he knew his what he was talking about and it came from a personal view not a written script.
The Plantation was great. Had a taste of a Mint Julip. the food was the best creole I tasted on the whole trip.
Our Guide was the best and Im not just saying that. She narrated the whole way there and back and it was all very interesting.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very informative, the guides for each location were very knowledgeable and entertaining!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide for the day, was excellent and nice to visit with.
The Air boat ride was awesome, and the captain of the boat was a lot of fun.
The food at Oak Ally Plantation was amazing as well as the tour through the house.
This full day tour I have already recommended it to friends and family. I know my family will do this again next time we go to New Orleans.
Everyone should do this tour!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

What fun!! We loved airboat tour. Our guide, Jerry, was great! Held a 1 foot alligator and saw an 12 foot gator up close. And I mean close. I think our guide is the "alligator whisperer."
The plantations were very interesting. Loved Laura plantation and hearing our guide describe how her ancestors lived there.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message