Steeped in history far richer than the former plantation owners could have dreamed of owning, the Laura Plantation lies just beyond the reaches of the Greater New Orleans area. Originally built in 1804 by a French naval veteran of the American ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 341 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic day! All guides very knowledgeable and kept it interesting. We were in a small group, only 8 of us which was really good. Was concerned that it would be a "long day" but the time flew buy. Would definitely take this tour again.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour. The tour guide was great and had a lot of knowledge about the area as she was a local. We learnt a lot on the journey about New Orleans as well as the plantations we were visiting. On the swamp boat we saw a few alligators, turtles and various birds. Also saw a couple of alligator hunters coming in with their prey! The lunch was good, huge portions meant I couldn't get anywhere near finishing the dessert!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour guide was great! It was worth every dollar! I highly recommend that both plantations, Oak Alley and Laura, be toured together. Just going to one doesn't give you full true perspective. Seeing both is a must!!!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent!!!! Fun, fun, fun. Not a boring moment. The plantations were a great experience to the past. And the swamp adventure was loads of fun. Highly recommend. The tour guides were professional and knew what they were doing.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Susan H
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Loved this tour, I didnt think I would as Im not into alligators etc but the Bayou was so calm and relaxing and beautiful and I was very impressed. The guide was a local so he knew his what he was talking about and it came from a personal view not a written script.
The Plantation was great. Had a taste of a Mint Julip. the food was the best creole I tasted on the whole trip.
Our Guide was the best and Im not just saying that. She narrated the whole way there and back and it was all very interesting.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very informative, the guides for each location were very knowledgeable and entertaining!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide for the day, was excellent and nice to visit with.
The Air boat ride was awesome, and the captain of the boat was a lot of fun.
The food at Oak Ally Plantation was amazing as well as the tour through the house.
This full day tour I have already recommended it to friends and family. I know my family will do this again next time we go to New Orleans.
Everyone should do this tour!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

What fun!! We loved airboat tour. Our guide, Jerry, was great! Held a 1 foot alligator and saw an 12 foot gator up close. And I mean close. I think our guide is the "alligator whisperer."
The plantations were very interesting. Loved Laura plantation and hearing our guide describe how her ancestors lived there.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

On behalf of my family, this tour was one our highlights of our 1 week stay in New Orleans. You guys successfully managed to entertain both my sons (14yr and 19 yrs) and my husband reckons that both the Swamp Tour, combined with the lunch and 2 plantation tours were fabulous. Thank you. Your guides were exceptionally knowledgeable, patient and made the experience memorable. Even the driver, who is far more than a driver.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Beautiful sites, very interesting guide

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

These two plantation two words were absolutely awesome! Brian, Laura plantation docent, was exceptional! Okay Alley was gorgeous and so glad it was restored.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Lee M
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fabulous tour!!! I highly recommend this our tour guide was amazing and learnt so much. The history in these plantations was great. The lunch was divine and catered for us who didn't eat seafood. The boat ride was great and we got to see heaps of young alligators. I would suggest you book this tour great value for money and a great tour to do in New Orleans

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved the tour of the bayou and both plantations. The tour guides were personable and very informative. The information they presented was interesting. I would highly recommend it. Also transportation was timely.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was awesome. Definitely worth the cost. The guides from the van and airboat ride to the plantations, are full of information and facts and are enthusiastic in sharing that with you. Lunch was good and plentiful.
Note: If taking the airboat portion of the tour, highly recommend that you bring a Go Pro and attached to the boats rails.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message