Step behind the scenes for the United States’ biggest and most celebrated Mardi Gras celebration at the New Orleans Mardi Gras World warehouse and event center. Located in the Central Business District, Mardi Gras World takes you on an inside tour ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 17 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Loved the experience. The floats we saw in storage were gorgeous and unbelievable. Loved seeing the process of creation. It was fun dressing up in costumes and taking photos. Learned a lot about Mardi Gras!

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

great experience to see how the world and magic of mardi grass is created, be aware that this is located very far off so you have to asked them to call when you are done so a driver can pick you up and drop you at center of city, they have different stops so make sure you call to see which one is closer to your hotel for pick up, we even got to see artists working

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Fun, informative, you also see a short movie on history of Mardi Gras. You see many of the floats in a huge warehouse. People are actually working on floats as you tour. Great for people of all ages.

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This being our first trip to NO, it was a great decision to take Hop On Hop Off bus to get an overview of the city and local attractions. The tour guides were helpful, friendly and very knowledgeable. I would definitely recommend this service to anyone making a trip to NO. We especially enjoyed the Mardi Gras World tour.

Doing what: City Sightseeing New Orleans Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our first tour guide was Randy, he has been the best tour guide ever. Thank you Randy for making us aware of the real Mardi Gras meaning, it was our first visit to New Orleans we plan to visit again and hope to see you again. God bless

Doing what: City Sightseeing New Orleans Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed the tour and was fascinated by the level of detail and hard work that goes into preparing for Mardis Gras on a yearly basis with new themes etc. It was short and sweet. I loved trying on the outfits and getting the snacks and being allowed to take pictures inside the workroom

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We thought this was a great way to see the city and all the places of interest and a very interesting stop was the Mardi Gras Museum/factory where all the floats and costumes are held.

Doing what: City Sightseeing New Orleans Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

What a great little tour! We learned more than we could have imagined about the MG parades and Krewes. It was very, very interesting! We were amazed by all of the Mardi Gras props on hand for us to photograph and admire. We saw props being created for next year's parade. And the tour company is so flexible! We had reservations for Monday, but Sunday was windy and rainy, so we called and asked to switch days. No problem! They even sent a van to pick us up at the hotel. I would highly recommend this tour. You will walk away with a greater understanding of the NOLA Mardi Gras parades, the KREWE system and an appreciation for the props that make those floats fantastic!

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We bought the pass for the entire week. It was so accommodating to hop on the trolley right outside our hotel and to ride throughout the city, seeing things we would not have noticed (like the Holiday Inn clarinet!) and learning the history of the city and being told what we were passing and which side to look on.... rather than just renting a car and riding, looking for street signs. The guides were friendly, knowledgeable and informative as were the drivers. Our ticket included two walking tours which we never had time to do as there was so much to do that we were unable to accomplish everything we intended and have to return. The trolley was decorated for Mardi Gras at the time we were there which added a festive touch. The trolley stopped at everything we wanted to see and more. Recommendations were suggested and walking directions given from the trolley stop. My only suggestion would be that the trolley start running earlier in the morning and/or run later into the evening, especially during Mardi Gras season. Loved it!

Doing what: City Sightseeing New Orleans Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This is a tour of the facility that makes the floats for the four super-krewes. If you cannot be at the parades themselves it is a nice way to see some of the floats if it is close to Mardi Gras.

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I really enjoyed the tour, also you can learn about everything happening in the "Mardi Gras" definitely recommend it for people who don´t have the opportunity to come to the carnival.

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The floats and decorations were amazing. What a way to see the floats if unable to attend Mardi Gras

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Would recommend this tour, especially tourists with young family. It was quite amazing to hear about the making of Mardi gras and also see all those colorful floats. You also get to try the King Cake and try out some of those colorful costumes. Make sure you take photos of yourselves all dressed up, makes for a great souvenir!

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Fantastic morning learning about Mardi Gras: the history and the hard work that goes into designing new floats each year! Very interesting tour, a must when in New Orleans!!

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

the next best thing to being at a Mardi Gras parade and festivities itself

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

The staff was really nice and informative.Went during mardi gras 2013. One of best ways to see a lot of the city without a car. Only complaint is the last guaranteed tour time at 3:15 which they should make clear rather than stating the tour ends at 5PM.

Doing what: City Sightseeing New Orleans Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

I was impressed by Mardi Gras World. The tour of the warehouse was informative; I learned so much about Mardi Gras's history and parade rules. The props and floats are impressive. It's a short tour and worth a stop when visiting New Orleans.

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message