New Orleans ATTRACTIONS See all

Oak Alley Plantation

Famed for the ancient live oak trees that flank its main walkway, the Oak Alley Plantation might seem eerily familiar. Used as a site for several movie screenings including the popular Interview With A Vampire, the Oak Alley Plantation is, in real ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 713 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour that is worth the money. We got picked up at the hotel we stayed at an Airbnb so they picked us up at a hotel 10 minutes away, the tour guide was amusing and informative, the three stops were all great, and lunch was quite tasty. As it is a full day trip and there is only one meal served, make sure to eat breakfast and bringing some snacks doesn't hurt either.

The swamp tour was much more interesting than I was expecting. We had Roland Torres as the tour guide, and I found him to be a very cool and informative guide. He clearly knows the area well as his family has been there for a few generations now and they have and continue to make their living off of the land. He's also just a pleasure to chat with. Hard not to love the Cajun accents too!

The two plantations were also interesting. I liked the tour at Laura's more than Oak Alley - I thought the guides at the former did a better job giving a more all-inclusive history as in the history of the family as well as of some of the horrific conditions/treatment of slaves there, where as the latter focused more on the family history. Oak Alley is very picturesque. At Laura's we had Ethan as the guide, who did a great job presenting all the information one would expect to learn while throwing in some humor when appropriate.

All in all, we had a good time, learned a good amount, and got to meet some intriguing characters - all I could hope for from a tour. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

OUr tour guide Jenny was the BEST GUIDE EVER! AWESOME does not describe her expertise and energy that she showed about these BRILLIANT properties and their rich histories. The manner in which she spoke about the histories and the traditions regarding these two plantation homes made me feel the passion all the more because she brings it out in you. Well spoken and energetic was the precurosr to the tour. Adriana the house tour guide as well as the other gentlemen that were all dressed in period piece customs really were part of the once in a lifetime experience. The young lady making the Mint Julips on the porch was delightful as well.. FANTASTIC! experience TAKE THIS TOUR as it is THE ONLY WAY TO truly enjoy your experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

very nice, the tour guide was excellent as was the guides at the plantations, would love to do the Whitney plantation some day

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour, enjoyed the whole day, very good guides at all stops and our driver Joseph gave an excellent commentary on the way.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Loved it! Joseph was great - smart, well informed - and the local guides on the swamp and plantation tours were exceptional as well.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Loved it! Joseph was great - smart, well informed - and the local guides on the swamp and plantation tours were exceptional as well.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Brilliant all round. Great driver and three great guides - entertaining and informative. Real contrasts in the three places visited. On the bayous calm, other world and good alligator sightings, Oaks plantation a taste of the past and Laura a real experience of the people who had lived in the house and managed the estate. Thank you.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was great. Being able to do the 2 different tours on 2 different days was the way to go. We had so much fun watching Louie talk and play with the gators on the swamp tour. The bus drivers were amazing at telling a mixture of history and personal accounts of the city.

Doing what: New Orleans Super Saver: Swamp and Bayou Sightseeing plus Oak Alley Plantation Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was very nice and enjoyable! Our guide was great, very knowledgeable, gentle and amusing :) ! We really had a lot of fun! Who that!!!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had a lnvely afternoon at Oak Alley. The bus driver/guide was wonderful and the guide at Oak Alley was fantastic!!!
It is little far from New Orleans, but worth to travel there.

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had a lnvely afternoon at Oak Alley. The bus driver/guide was wonderful and the guide at Oak Alley was fantastic!!!
It is little far from New Orleans, but worth to travel there.

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a great tour, our guide john was great would recommend

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We enjoyed our day and the driver was great-he showed us a nice video and was very pleasant.

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We loved this tour. Our tour guide, Joseph, was on time and filled us in on all of the sites while we drove to the plantations and swamp tours. Both Plantations were a must see, and the lunch served at Oak Alley Plantation was a very delicious meal, with lots of local dishes to eat.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was one long day, but enjoyed the entire day
Did the boat tour first and although we only saw about 6 of 4-5 foot alligators and a few birds the swamp was most impressive with the beautiful moss hung trees and the quiet of the river.
Oak Alley is lovely and has so much history and we were lucky enough to see the paddleboat on the dock, just as it must have been 150 years ago. Laura plantation was equally lovely in its own way.
Thanks for a great but long day

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our main tour guide was fantastic. She provided excellent background information throughout the day. The swamp boat and 2 plantation tours were also very good. Lunch was delicious. My family and I had a great day.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We were very impressed with the knowledge and enthusiasm of our tour guide at Laura Plantation. I believe his name was Ethan. Having never heard of the Creole plantations, this was an amazingly educational experience for us. Our van guide Ginnie kept everything running on time and on schedule. Her narrative as she drove us out to the plantation was very thought provoking. I was very interested in her explanation of Hurricane Katrina, the levies, and the aftermath of the storm. She provided us with an exceptional vacation experience

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Had a blast on the airboat. Never thought I would hold a baby alligator. Learned a lot of history at the Plantation houses. We would do it again.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The entire days was really fun and interesting. Would have loved a little more time to shop at Oak Alley but it was a terrific day.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very informative! Our tour guide was professional at all times and really engaged the whole group. We will definitely come back again!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This full day Swamp Tour and two plantations visit made our trip to New Orleans. The tour company was co-operative, informative and made the day go by so fast that you would wish to do it again.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Amazing! Our driver from was great she knew a lot of history and could answer all questions. The swamp is fantastic, much to see birds, turtles, and of course alligators. The plantations are great. The oak trees are almost worth the trip by themselves, and the food was good.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was amazing! Our Gray Line tour guide, Ken, was the best. The guide and the staff at the plantation were excelllent.

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Awesome experience! The Laura tour was very informative and the food at Oak Alley was delicious. The swamp boat was great. The guide was quite knowledgeable and skilled. Lots of fun.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message