New Orleans ATTRACTIONS See all

Oak Alley Plantation

Famed for the ancient live oak trees that flank its main walkway, the Oak Alley Plantation might seem eerily familiar. Used as a site for several movie screenings including the popular Interview With A Vampire, the Oak Alley Plantation is, in real ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 933 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Julia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a fantastic tour. Our driver and guide Billy was wonderful and provided so much interesting information about New Orleans and the surrounding area. The visits to the plantations were fascinating and we did manage to see some alligators and turtles on our swamp tour. All in all a great day and one we will not forget. Thank you to Billy for being such a great guide.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Trish A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved the small guided tours! Wanted to do both in one day and this tour made that happen.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Victoria N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide, and I am sorry I forgot his name, was creative, informative, and funny. All around he made the trip extremely enjoyable. The while outing was exceptional

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

Chelsea G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved this tour! Our tour guide Joseph was awesome! He told us a lot of interesting facts on our drive to and from the plantations. Our favourite stop was Oak Alley - what it would have been like to live there! It's absolutely gorgeous. Would have liked to have spent more time there for sure! Laura was also very interesting. We were a little disappointed that our small group didn't actually extend to the tours of the plantation itself. That's kind of what we were thinking but it was really just a small group for the bus ride. Still, it was an absolutely amazing tour and I would book it again in a heartbeat! I really appreciated being driven out there and not only seeing some great scenery, but hearing a bunch of interesting things about what we were seeing. Thank you so much for the great experience!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Deborah F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

just a wonderful day, lots of history and information
not rushed

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Samantha G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour, awesome plantations.... We really enjoyed our time!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

RONALD S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It's the best way to see what you want when you want to! We don't have a negative thing to say about any of the items on the list. I would have preferred to do at least a 3-day pass. It would be well worth the money!!

Doing what: New Orleans Power Pass™

Emma Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide Kat collected from our hotel giving us a potted history as we went. We hit the interstate and travelled for what may have been 30-45 mins I cant really remember because I was captivated by Kats history of the area, storytelling ability making history come alive. It stood us in good stead later in the day explaining about Creoles and Cajuns.

We arrived for our swamp tour with Captain Brian who took us along the Bayous. We visited in mid-April and were lucky enough to see gators and turtles. Youll not see these over the winter months, or even before mid-March. Brian was a font of knowledge on the local fora and fauna.

Back into the mini-bus to head to our next destination Oak Alley Plantation, a Cajun plantation. We were greeted with a New Orleans self-serve as much as you can eat lunch including gumbo and jambalaya. We explored the grounds and viewed the slave quarters and took a walk down the amazing Oak tree alley, planted before the building and had an opportunity to buy a mint julep or still lemonade. Our guided tour was another great storyteller, bringing history to life of the family who lived in the house and took about 45 minutes.

We drove on to Laura Planation, a Creole plantation, which acted as a great contrast in terms of architecture and history, to that of Oak Alley. Again we had a guided tour with another fabulous storyteller. It lasted about an hour and was an eye opener in terms of how recent indentured servitude took place on the plantation.

Kat transported us back to our hotels, having had a fulfilling day. We were only in NOLA for two and half days so it was great to do an organised trip which we would not have normally done. Kat also explained that the local tour operator is the only remaining family run tour business I think the personal touch and enthusiasm showed.

I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Ursula R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was wonderful. Ellen was our tour guide and you couldn't have asked for a nicer more well informed person. We learned so much about NOLA from her and truly enjoyed the day. It was well worth the money spent.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Yolanda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Beautiful place. I learned a lot about the plantation from the very knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

m rue United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

fabulous tour company and great learning experience.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Gertrude N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Joseph was a great guide,full of fun stories and had a story about everything. Plantations were great, shocking history. Renee was excellent in Laura,Oak guide was excellent too.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Elizabeth P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The swamp boat was an awesome experience! Some of the alligators swam all the way up to our boat and we saw turtles and birds as well. The plantations tours provided us with lots of interesting info on plantation life and the history of the families who lived there. It was a great day!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Alexander M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

All three events Swamp Boat Adventure, Oak Alley Planation and Laura Plantation were excellent events.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

manon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Well organised tour and the swamp boat trip was excellent. Roland the skipper was wonderful and full of knowledge. We saw alligators, snakes and turtles. The plantation was excellent and the restaurant lunch was superb. The Cajun food was spot on and really enjoyable, all in all a wonderful day in the Cajun country.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

deborahbreen.lpl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent day. The airboat was the best fun, our guide Gary was great. The plantation lunch was substantial and featured local food. The two plantation tours were also great.
Would highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Grant E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour, even on a rainy day it was well organised and catered for and we were able to do all activities. Highly recommend

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Maude M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our driver wasn't the friendliest, however he was very informative and the plantations were great.
This is the 2nd time I've done this tour and I don't regret either!! LOVE the small group format...

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a must tour if you are at all interested in American History, American Culture or the way America was. Everything from pick up in the morning to drop off in the evening was professional. Muriel was superb as were all the visit guides. So pleased I did this tour. Well done one and all.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

ksweet2820

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great all day experience -- Many sights and history .. Glad we took this tour

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Gerardo V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The driver and guides were knowledgeable and experienced.

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

John J C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour guide at the plantation was terrific and our bus tour guide, Kendrell from the tour operator was even better. I highly recommend this one.

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

Diane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What a fun day. It started with a small tour, only 13 people our our delightful French guide, Muriel. We went to the Bayou and toured on a boat by the son of the farm who was 7th generation Bayou people! Can't ask for more than that. Muriel was really smart - she arranged for us to be early so we were first for our lunch - no lines, special entrance for our tour of Oak Alley, no lines and then arranged a special time for Laura's plantation. She was so professional and made the the trip enjoyable and hassle free. I would definitely go with Tours by Isabelle again!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

patricia p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very enjoyable tour of both plantations. We had lunch at Oak Alley which was pretty good. We went to go on the airboat ride first thing in the morning and it rained, so got a little wet and didn't get to see much. But would try it again.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message