New Orleans ATTRACTIONS See all

Oak Alley Plantation

Famed for the ancient live oak trees that flank its main walkway, the Oak Alley Plantation might seem eerily familiar. Used as a site for several movie screenings including the popular Interview With A Vampire, the Oak Alley Plantation is, in real ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 576 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The day was very well organised. All the tour operators great communicators and story tellers. Food at the plantation delicious. All in all a day.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Love Love....a must see!!

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Laura plantation gets 5 stars wonderful tours, great guides and very interesting. Oak Alley was also nice but a bit of a disappointment after how well versed the guides were at Laura, also the guided tour was quite large the day we went and it was hard to enjoy the tight spaces of the home. Also I felt like it would hav been nice to have extra time at Oak Alley to really walk around and explore. Of course the lack of time is common on group tours. Our Driver was WONDERFUL!!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very educational, great tour guides, very knowledgable, very interesting plantations, beautiful grounds...could have just walked the properties all day, and the swamp boat tour so relaxing with the driver full of interesting information the whole ride.Lunch was delicious too with more than enough tasty choices.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

definitely worth it. lots of history and the tour guides are very knowledgeable. a must see in my opinion!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Fantastic tour! So appreciated this insight into life on plantations and Ellen is wonderful - informative, humorous and so nice. She reminded me of one of my Oxford tutors!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We had so much fun on this tour. We were excited that it was not over crowded. The family who does the Bayou tour was friendly and had decades of knowledge to share. The plantations were spectacular! Plenty of time to tour and wander/explore. Great history and knowledgeable guides

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

After watching Gone with the Wind for the first time as a child, I've always wanted to visit a Southern plantation - this tour not only brought me to one but two. We started our day with a cruise along on the bayou where we saw lots of alligators. Fun fact, alligators only see in black and white so the Captain threw out marshmallows which brought all sizes out. Next we went to Oak Alley Plantation which is exactly what you envision a plantation to look like. We started with a hearty lunch which was followed by our guided tour. Our guides were dressed in period clothing and provided a beautiful tour. Oak Alley, named for the beautiful Oak trees that line the entry way, did not disappoint. Make sure to try one of their Mint Juleps, it's a great way to cool off from Louisiana's humid climate. Following Oak Alley, we drove a short way down the road to Laura Plantation. After spending any time in New Orleans, you will learn the difference between 'Cajun' and 'Creole'. Laura Plantation is a Creole plantation and you can definitely spot the differences between the two. Our guide, Ashley, was incredible. She really painted a picture of what it was like for all parties living on this plantation back in the day. I wouldn't want to spoil the fascinating stories – you’ll have to experience it for yourself!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great day trip. From pickup to drop-off, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We started the day with a drive into Cajun country where we took a cruise on the bayou and spotted lots of alligators. After the cruise, we visited Oak Alley and had a great Southern lunch and an informative tour tour. Laura Plantation was equally interesting and the guides at that plantation were fantastic.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour guide, Kat, was great. Very knowledgable and kept the vibe for the tour going all day. Maximum of 13 on the tour so felt a very personalised. Have already recommended it to others at my conference.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very worthwhile and informative. Ginnie. our tour guide, was awesome. This is a must do for anyone visiting New Orleans

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour extremely relative to what the south was like years ago.The tour operators picked us up promptly. Tour guide was packed with knowledge of New Orleans .The Bayou was exciting with plenty of Alligators .Boat captain entertaining and knowledgeable. Oak Alley and Laura Plantations were beautiful and amazing

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I would give this 10 stars if it let me.
It started off by the tour guide coming all the way over to Gretna to pick us up. Stanley was his name. He indulged us with fantastic historical facts, things you did not read about in the history books. He drove safely and made great light talk when the van full of strangers got quiet. He was laid back, and answered every question we had with not only knowledge, but with great enthusiasm, he loves his job, and it truly shows!
First stop, was Laura Plantation, where we had plenty of time for the gift shop, and breaks. A different tour director took over inside and on the grounds, and was great in his stories and very knowledgeable. I had never even heard of the Laura Plantation before going there, now I want to read more on it! Beautiful place. Tragic history!
Then on to Oak Alley Plantation where we were treated to a fantastic cajun lunch, then a fantastic tour, where the guides were dressed in period clothing. At the end, we were treated to wonderful Mint Julips.
Finally, we ended with Torres' Swamp Tours in Kraemer, on the Bayou Des Allemandes. Fantastic guide, and we saw several alligators and he actually fed them marshmallows, hoodathunk?
It was a beautiful day (In October) not humid, and no bugs, none?? I had brought lots of OFF for this tour, and did not need it. Highly recommended! Very professional, and I LOVE Viatar for helping us to find what we wanted and booking for us, no mess, no fuss! TEN STARS!!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing. The plantations were beautiful. It was wonderful to see two completely different plantations. The creole plantation, Laura, was very colorful and so interesting. Oak Alley was spectacular with all the oak trees. The swamp tour was serene and beautiful. Lots of alligators and birds. The tour guide was great, Mr. Torres. The lunch was delicious with both creole and cajun foods. Wonderful tour!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Absolutely loved it. Could have lasted a little longer though.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message