New Orleans ATTRACTIONS See all

Oak Alley Plantation

Famed for the ancient live oak trees that flank its main walkway, the Oak Alley Plantation might seem eerily familiar. Used as a site for several movie screenings including the popular Interview With A Vampire, the Oak Alley Plantation is, in real ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 974 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marco S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

Kurt H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What an amazing place. Really enjoyed seeing this wonderful plantation. The bus driver gave us a running commentary about the history of New Orleans and the vicinity on the way there and back and we learned so.much. Loved it.

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

Ursula K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a terrific trip to the plantations with tours by Isabelle. Our driver Joseph was so knowledgeable.
Learn so much about Louisanan and New Orleans history. Very friendly and respectful. I was with
my mother who is 90 and he took great care of us. Please RECOMMEND THEM.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Tracy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very cool! Boat tour and plantation were great and we learned alot. Tour guides were fantastic.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Amy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our driver/guide was very knowledgeable and humorous. The Planations are worth seeing. I loved the intimate nature of the tour and door to door service.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Anna Marie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

There and #39;s so many options available with this pass I wish there were more hours in a day. We really enjoyed the WW2 museum. The cooking class was a first for us; the chef was funny as well as informative, and then we got to enjoy the meal with a fun family visiting from MI. Saved $ did 10 things!

Doing what: New Orleans Power Pass™

Jo R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a fantastic day out. Really recommend the smaller intimacy of the smaller size group especially when on the Bayou - no one needed to jostle for position to see the wildlife and it was comfortable and relaxed. The trip to the creole plantation was especially fascinating in the afternoon.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great trip! Using New Orleans Power Pass we saw many attractions over the five day period that would have cost 290 per person. Out passes cost about 200 per person.

Doing what: New Orleans Power Pass™

Paul R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Would highly recommend this tour for anyone interested in New Orleans history. The guide was a local who was extremely knowledgeable and educated and an all around great gal. Lunch at the Oak Ally Plantation was excellent and both Plantations were unique in there own way.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Karla K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a must do tour for anyone visiting New Orleans. The swamp boat adventure was outstanding and actually was out into one of the bayous. We saw so much wildlife and many alligators!! We loved both plantations and they were so different from each other so it was not seeing the same thing at a different location. I highly recommend this full day tour - it was worth every penny!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Selena T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We LOVED this tour and would suggest anyone to visit. The guide was great and funny and the Oak Alley plantation was a sight to see for sure.

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

sherly s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

amazing tour !! our guide Gene Reyes was very informative and nice guide. loved it

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Richard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Would highly rate this company, Isabelle was not only very knowledgeable but very warm and friendly. Swamp boat adventure was not disappointing, although wished we'd seen more crocodiles along the way. Plantation visits well worth the visit and Isabelle took us out of her way to see more in the area - Django Unchained had been filmed close by as had the recent Roots series. Wonderful day, food and people. Perfect!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Sarah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Billy was very knowledgeable and a great tour guide

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Robin A G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour! My husband was at a conference so I was looking for something to occupy my days and I'm so glad that I scheduled this prior to our arrival in New Orleans. It was a great way to learn about New Orleans and to meet new people.
Our driver and tour guide had a wealth of historical knowledge about the New Orleans area which was really interesting. I'm sorry I don't recall her name. She was originally from France and I was embarrassed that she sure knew more about the are area than I did as a citizen of the U.S. I have to say that the Swamp Boat Adventure was a highlight! Our driver Gary, was a hoot and made the trip really enjoyable. His skills as a driver certainly put me at ease as we traveled 45 MPH at times through the swamp open areas. His knowledge, sensitivity and appreciation of the natural wildlife and landscape of the area really added to our knowledge and enjoyment. He even stopped and used a rope to pull down a broken branch so that it wouldn't fall down and hurt someone. I even learned the difference between a marsh no trees and a swamp with trees! Ladies, don't bother doing your hair that day. It's definitely not an excursion that leaves you having a good hair day!
I've always wanted to visit a southern plantation so I was excited and not disappointed. Both plantations were so different and although I enjoyed the grandeur and beauty of Oak Alley as well as the delicious lunch with fabulous gumbo, I found myself drawn to the Laura Plantation even more for its authenticity of existing slave buildings from that time era. I even still have a photo I took of the original slave quarters as my Facebook cover page. I enjoyed hearing what life was like for people back then and learning a lot of interesting facts at both plantations.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely loved the tour. Very interesting and informative. The only problem we had was that we were picked up first at 7:00 a.m. and dropped off last 6:00 p.m. My husband was very upset about this as it made for a very long day.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Diane A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour is well worth taking. The grounds are well maintained and very picturesque.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

nutridoc2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Bayou trip particularly wonderful. Plantation very enjoyable. Our guide was excellent and informative.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Kathryn O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a wonderful tour, and our driver Kenneth is a big reason why.. He was very informative, told gret stories and was a good communicator.

The plantation tour itself was also very good. Our guide was very knowledgable. It would have been nice to have some of the grounds included in the tour.

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message