New Orleans ATTRACTIONS See all

Oak Alley Plantation

Famed for the ancient live oak trees that flank its main walkway, the Oak Alley Plantation might seem eerily familiar. Used as a site for several movie screenings including the popular Interview With A Vampire, the Oak Alley Plantation is, in real ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 776 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a TOP notch tour. This was the highlight of our trip I took my parents. My mom loved the plantations and my dad the swamp... actually I think my mom loved the swamp best too! The small airboat is definitely worth a better experience and the overall tour group is nice and small in a 13-passenger van. Billy our guide was fantastic!!!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour through Cajun country was spectacular. The driver/tour guide was wonderful, informative and kind. We learned very much about the history of Louisiana and enjoyed his jokes. I believe if memory serves me, his name was John. Nice gentleman.

The first stop was through the Bayou with another man who conducted the tour on a boat through the bayou and this was amazing, to see the trees, vegetation and wildlife was fantastic. We actually saw indigenous birds and alligators. The family farm and name that conducted this tour were the Torres' I believe and they were very kind, informative and we learned so much about the history of the people who live in this part of Louisiana.

Next stop on our day trip were the plantations. We first enjoyed a delicious buffet lunch of all creole and cajun food. The food was amazing, especially the crawfish, I could not resist, I took seconds. Then, off to the homes. These homes were stunning and the grounds that they were built on breathtaking. One plantation home in particular that I enjoyed immensely was the Laura plantation. This plantation was rich with history. This was my highlight. Visiting these places were an important history lesson. Some of it was lovely and other parts were sad, especially the slave chambers. It was heartbreaking. I do believe it's important to learn the unpleasant parts of our US history, so these types of atrocities never are repeated. Interesting and relaxing day, filled with history.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Beautiful place! Loved the history and the whole experience.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Billy was awesome. Helped us see New Orleans in a great way.... Swamp tour, Awesome!!!! Lunch at Oak Alley was PERFECT!!!!! The plantation tours were wonderful..... Would recommend this day to everyone.....
Ethan at Laura's was soooo informative ....... Thanks y'all for making our day the BEST!!!!!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our wonderful guide and driver Jerry picked us up at our hotel at about 7:30 AM and the fun began. After gathering up the rest of our tour group, he kept us entertained with both historical and personal glimpses of the areas we were traveling through on our way to the Swamp Boat tour.

If I could have extended one of the experiences it would be this one. Mr. Torres was a wealth of information on the swamp and surrounding area. We had barely pulled away from the dock and there was our first of many Alligator. We were also able to see several turtles, an Osprey, and Egrets. Scenery along the channel we were on was stunning.

The next stop was Oaks Alley. I'b be willing to go back just to experience another of their wonderful meals! The Plantation House and grounds are beautiful -- remember to bring your camera. The gentleman who lead our tour through the house was highly entertaining and informative. He welcomed all questions and wasn't afraid to admit it if he didn't have an answer.

Our last stop was Laura Plantation. It was entirely different from The Oak Alley Plantation, but just as beautiful in its own way. The guide here was all business and not as much fun as the others had been.

Our ride home was filled with more interesting facts and great personal insights. We ended up taking some back roads or streets because of a traffic jam and got to see glimpses of the city we would have otherwise missed. Hurray for the traffic jam and Jerry!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Best tour ever! Tour guide was awesome. Super knowledgeable
The sights were great but the guides knowledge of the ares and
its history really made the tour great for me. Thanks!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a fabulous experience!!! Muriel, our tour Guide, was very knowledgeable and friendly!! We highly recommend it!!!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a great day!! Loved it - swamp tour with gators swimming up to the boat - the lunch was awesome - the plantation tours were so informative - glad my wife and I did this.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The history was fascinating, the tour guide was great, and the group was small. Awesome tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a wonderful day that will give us beautiful memories of Louisiana. The tour was well organized and relaxing. Each guide was very knowledgeable and put their own personalities into their part of the tour. We loved it. Thank you so much for everything.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The swamp tour was great! Very informative and beautiful. Both plantations had great tours and lots of information. The lunch at Oak Alley was superb.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was fantastic! The bus driver provided informative commentary on the 80 minute drive to the site. The plantation was fantastic, as were the mint julieps you could carry with you through the tour! The tour guides were interactive and informative! Great restaurant and gift shop too!

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great value!! We got to do so many activities.

Doing what: New Orleans Power Pass™

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the best thing we did during our week-long stay in New Orleans. Our driver, Joseph, was informative and helpful. They picked us up at our hotel and drove us to a great swamp tour where we saw wild alligators and learned a lot about gator farming and trapping, and the bayou was beautiful. The plantations were great! The meal we were served at Oak Alley Plantation was maybe the best we ate on our trip and we ate a lot!. We still talk about the etouffee and the buttermilk pie.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved the swamp tour and the plantations were beautiful. The lunch provided at Oak Alley had a good variety of Louisiana cuisine.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Ginnie was a fantastic guide, she was very informative, enthusiastic and accommodating. Her knowledge of the area was amazing, she informed us of New Orleans history from start to finish. Highly recommend a trip with Ginnie to the plantations!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Site guides friendly, knowledgeable and informative.
Driver humorous and informative, but kept to the schedule so that we
got to see what we were supposed to see. Great tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The 2 days pass is not enough to see all in the brochure. I advise to book tours ahead of time and plan your trip as to what to see on certain days. A few tours do not provide transportation and ok for people with cars. First thing to do is to pick up and validate your pass on your first day. Otherwise I advise this pass for people who want to save money.

Doing what: New Orleans Power Pass™

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message