In any country, the best place to get away from other tourists and spend time with locals is to explore the backstreets. In Tokyo, in particular, the backstreets teem with family and locally owned restaurants and shops, small bars and restaurants, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great tour with all the information about culture, architecture, and all the little things that we didn't know about the great city of New Orleans. For those of you that are worried about making the tour there are only 2 sets of stairs that you need to climb but can opt out of that and wait aside. There are also many stops to listen to the guide so you are not actually walking for the entire 2 hrs. We loved our tour guide. The bathroom stop is not until the end but that wasn't a problem. We were all given the opportunity to use the facilities before we left for the tour.

Doing what: French Quarter Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our tour guide Libby Bollino was very informative and energetic. She pointed out details that we might have missed. She showed a variety of styles of architecture and provided interesting historical information. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

A very interesting walking tour. We learned a lot about the history and architecture . Things you don't pick up from a book. The Garden District is a must see. There was just the two of us on a rainy morning, but the tour continued anyway and the tourguide was eager to show us all the splendour of this neighbourhood. The sun came through after some time and we were really glad we booked this tour. When you're gonna be in New Orleans you shouldn't miss out on this wonderful tour. Good value for money.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

The Beautiful Garden City with it's rich history and architecture is something I personally recommend, if you would like to get out of the French Quarters for a while. Our Guide was a fountain of information and made this for a very pleasant morning stroll.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

I enjoyed the tour. The guide was very friendly and demonstrated considerable history knowledge of the architecture of the city. It was a great tour which I did not feel that we rushed at all and had time to explore on my own, but enjoyed the day learning about the interesting history and life in New Orleans.

Doing what: New Orleans Architectural and Sightseeing Small-Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Any lover of historic homes will thoroughly enjoy this tour. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about the area and provided us with many details related to the history, architecture, ownership, and even price range of these beautiful old homes. The best part was walking the neighborhoods--it certainly gives a much more intimate view of the homes and gives opportunity to see things that would be missed in a vehicle. The worst part, ironically, is the walking. Due to time constraints, we at times had to rush through certain areas. Plus it allows exposure to the elements; the day we went it was drizzling and down in the 30's. Keep this in mind when you prepay this tour, depending upon the season. And remember, the tours are conducted despite the weather--no refunds are given.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The tour covered a very small part of the French Quarter. It was informative regarding history and architecture for the time it took and the area it covered. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and was a local resident of many years. Her conveyance of the material was non emotional but factual.

Doing what: French Quarter Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The tour guide, Diane, was full of interesting information and history, and knew the area like a true native. We traveled all around town, seeing the historic sights, the hurricane damage, the architecture and the variety of neighborhoods, learning about the locals and their histories. But, sitting in a van for four hours with only two short stops (bathroom and cemetary) was very long and uncomfortable. There were so many sights and neighborhoods, historical locations and shopping that were worth getting out of the van but that wasn't the intinerary. If you like to be driven around and given a history lesson, take this tour. If you seek more activity, don't bother.

Doing what: New Orleans City Sightseeing and Hurricane Katrina Small-Group Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

I liked this a lot until it got boring. 2 1/2 hours is a long tour without a break. I liked the history and the architecture, but enough was enough. I think most of my party agreed that we would have liked it to end after the graveyard part. It was a great tour and our guide was excellent, it was just too long.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

It was a beautiful day and the weather was pleasant so it was very easy getting around on this tour. I learned much about the architecture of the Garden District, along with the history of the district, and visited the houses of Anne Rice, Nicholas Cage, Sandra Bullock, and John Goodman. But somehow the tour was short in getting a sense for the neighborhood. I would recommend the 2-to-2 1/2 hour horse and carriage tour of the Garden District. The carriage driver will be your guide.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message