Cemeteries, Voodoo, slave-trading, and pirates make for a heady mix of history – and paranormal activity. A long and seedy past that includes many a horrific and macabre story, New Orleans is widely known as one of the most haunted cities in the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was the highlight of our trip! Ed and Zulu are absolutely fantastic!!! If you are going to NOLA you must do this tour and request Ed! He was a fountain of information and such a pleasure! After going on a haunted tour the previous year I was a bit skeptical because our guide in 2013 was awful. From now on we will be specially requesting Ed whenever we are in the area.

Doing what: Private Haunted Carriage Tour in New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I am giving this tour a five star rating due to our tour guide. Not really into vampires myself, but our tour guide, Kyle, was a great story teller. In all honestly, if you like history, take his haunted history tour. He is a fun guy and very good at what he does. : ) I hope to catch up with him again the next time I am in New Orleans.

Doing what: New Orleans Vampire Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We met our tour guide Todd at the lighthouse. Todd was very fun, informative and knowledgeable tour guide. After seeing all the sights on the tour, I was having a conversation with him about Madam Marie Delphine Lalaurie's home. He stated it was not on the tour. He told my traveling companions and I where it was on Royal St. I don't know if I should include this, but as this was the best tour, I am. After Todd concluded the tour and was off duty, he asked if we would like to see the house. Of course we said yes. So we stopped at a bar and I bought him a beer. With cocktails in hand, we walked to this house where he gave the history of the house. Upon arrival, my girlfriends and I took several pics and had dancing orbs from the outside of the house. We were told that Nicolas Cage had owned the house but since his tax evasions, it was confiscated from him and no one currently lived in the house. As we took pics, a gentleman walked up to my sister and asked why we were taking pictures of this house. We told him because it was haunted. We also told him that local legend states that locals will not walk under the balcony of the home as well. We watched him as he walked under the balcony and disappeared into a door way. Suddenly he was standing on the balcony talking to us. We asked him several questions to which he would neither confirm or deny. All in all, this was the best tour we had taken and Todd was an absolute gem for not only the tour, but the after tour as well. He totally made our trip. Thanks Todd!

Doing what: New Orleans Ghosts and Spirits Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had a fabulous time! Our tour guide, Jack, was perfect from his gravelly voice, to his walking stick! His storytelling skills were fantastic! Would not hesitate to recommend this Haunted History Ghost Tour. Thank you, Jack, more the memories!

Doing what: New Orleans Haunted History Ghost Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We didn't know what to expect. We were a large group that they broke up to be more personable and we were the lucky ones to get an amazing guide named Frank. Frank was knowledgeable in voo doo, witchcraft, all the haunted beautiful homes and the history of his old incredible part of the French Quarter. What was perfect is we booked it on our first night so we got a tour of the city so we knew how the streets ran and where we wanted to go back and visit again. It a perfect way to get our bearings and learn about the history of the French Quarter. Thank you Frank, you enhanced our trip and we won't forget you!

Doing what: New Orleans Haunted Walking Tour: Ghosts, Vampires, Witchcraft and Voodoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Stopped in at lafitte's blacksmith shop for about 10 min (just enough time for a drink) and kept the tour going. Full of haunted history about the French quarter. Wasn't cheesy like other haunted tours. Our tour guide was so sweet and suggested a great brunch spot, "Stanley's" it was delicious!

Doing what: New Orleans Haunted History Ghost Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic tour. Andrew the tour guide was great, full of knowledge and very entertaining. Two hours of walking and saw some of the most haunted places in New Orleans.

Doing what: New Orleans Haunted History Ghost Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We took our tour on Halloween night in the rain and it was fantastic! Our guide was so knowledgeable about NOLA history and even got us into 2 haunted buildings. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: New Orleans Ghosts and Spirits Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Loved this tour. Our guide was a great young lady with lots of knowledge and made it all fun. Learned alot of history and saw alot of New Orleans that I would never had seen if I had not taken this haunted walking tour. Great value for the money.

Doing what: New Orleans Haunted Walking Tour: Ghosts, Vampires, Witchcraft and Voodoo

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I'm a solo female business traveler, and this tour was a good way for me to safely venture out and enjoy the French Quarter at night. Our guide Michael was very knowledgeable, and his passion for the rich history of this area was obvious. Expect a lot of walking and then standing while your guide relates the history of the most haunted buildings. You're encouraged to take photos, which may reveal paranormal activity when you later inspect them. (None of mine revealed ghostly apparitions, but it was fun nevertheless.) I enjoyed the tour and the history lesson and wouldn't hesitate to go again.

Note that the online tour description says that the tour begins at the Jackson Brewery. That's a huge building! Don't go to the Bistro Bar; the tour desk is located on the ground floor of the shopping mall.

Doing what: New Orleans Ghosts and Spirits Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

While this was a nice way to start to see the city, many of the tales overlap with other tours. If you enjoy haunted tales this is a great way to hear some of New Orleans history.

Doing what: New Orleans Haunted Walking Tour: Ghosts, Vampires, Witchcraft and Voodoo

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

Our great tour guide introduced us to scary vampire legends in the French Quarter. He clearly had a grasp of history, gave dramatic presentations, enjoyed his subject matter, and engaged personally with all of the group members. My daughter and I are big fans of vampire literature, having watched True Blood, read all the Sookie, Twilight and Anita Blake series, now working our way through Anne Rice, as well as novels set in New Orleans by Margaret Hambly, Julie Smith, and James Lee Burke. For the guide to hold his own given our level of interest and personal, cultural and historical awareness is really impressive! He even inspired me to purchase the Haunted History book. My daughter and I talked about the tour for the next three days. Clearly, a terrific time was had by all! The guide paced the walk quickly but comfortably, and we covered a lot of ground, enjoying a nice rest stop at a reputed vampire bar before heading back to Jackson Square. The tour was more historical and informative and much less cheesy than I had anticipated.

Doing what: New Orleans Vampire Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

This tour was a disappointment. The tour guide was amazing and very knowledgable but we only stood in front of buildings and talked about how they may be haunted. Didn't get to go inside any of them. On a haunted tour I expected to get a little more spooked then this was.

Doing what: New Orleans Haunted History Ghost Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

We were slightly disappointed in this tour. We have taken two other "haunted" tours in other cities (Key West, New York) and enjoyed them immensely as they had much more history and more charming tour guides. Our guide seemed less than enthusiastic. After returning home I researched a few of the stories she told us only to find that her version varied widely from the other accounts I was able to find. Would try one of the other companies as their tour guides we walked by seemed more animated and entertaining.

Doing what: New Orleans Haunted Walking Tour: Ghosts, Vampires, Witchcraft and Voodoo

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

Maybe we didn't read the description well enough, but this was downright boring - we thought we would be inside looking at haunted places, not just hearing abou them from the street. Also, there were way too many people in our group, could not hear the guide well enough. AND, there were too many other tours going on at the same time - very distracting. We told everyone not to do this tour.

Doing what: New Orleans Haunted History Ghost Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message