After the Haitian Revolt in 1804, New Orleans received a massive influx of Hatian émigrés, and as a result, their culture and voodoo religion came along with them. That, the sordid history of the south, replete with pirates, mob ties, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 715 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Justin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Really cool information about the city and all that's related to what New Orleans does with their dead based on geography and traditions. Super glad we booked this tour since now Catholic above ground cemeteries in the city require you to have a tour guide. Our guide also gave us an excellent lunch recommendation afterwards too.

Doing what: New Orleans Cemetery and Voodoo Walking Tour

Debra S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

My tour guide, Midge, was great. Full of fun information and very friendly. I enjoyed the tour quite a bit, but was hoping we'd get to go to more than one cemetery. Overall though, an enjoyable experience.

Doing what: New Orleans Cemetery and Voodoo Walking Tour

Nancy W

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

They did a fabulous job - just wish I hadn't gone during Mardi Gras

Doing what: New Orleans Haunted History Ghost Tour

naskenazi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Clint was both funny and just the right amount of scary for the best tour so far taken in this fantastic city, and we took 2 others so highly recommend this!

Doing what: New Orleans Haunted History Ghost Tour

Michael N USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour guide was knowledgeable and gave us quite the history lesson. Hearing the real history of voodoo was fascinating. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: New Orleans Cemetery and Voodoo Walking Tour

robert l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great trip, Midge was wonderful! The people in the visitors center were very friendly and personable.

Doing what: New Orleans Cemetery and Voodoo Walking Tour

Nadia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was great, my tour guide was full of information!

Doing what: New Orleans Cemetery and Voodoo Walking Tour

Bob P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Joann did an amazing job and showed her love for the city of New Orleans through detailed explanations of the history, the cultures, and the environment. Highly recommend this tour and guide.

Doing what: New Orleans Cemetery and Voodoo Walking Tour

yamaras

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a really great tour I enjoyed hearing about the history of New Orleans and our tour guide made it interesting and fun.

Doing what: Ghost and Vampire Walking Tour Of The French Quarter

Jerry S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The cemetary tour was very interesting. Well worth taking.

Doing what: New Orleans Cemetery and Voodoo Walking Tour

Jackie H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Our guide was great - very knowledgeable and we saw so much of the city.

Doing what: New Orleans Architectural and Sightseeing Small-Group Tour

Kelly S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

It was just us and another couple, so we were able to ask a lot of questions and had no trouble seeing the sights. My only complaint is that the roads in New Orleans were really bumpy, which isn't the tour operator's fault, but I really wish their van had better shocks. But that is a minor point - and the tour was really fun otherwise.

Doing what: New Orleans Architectural and Sightseeing Small-Group Tour

jillanderson46

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Tour guide was very good but unfortunately she was late starting so we finished in a hurry in the dark. Guide certainly knew her history though and it was well worth doing. It was good having a small group although people still managed to be late whenever we stopped anywhere.

Doing what: New Orleans City Sightseeing and Hurricane Katrina Small-Group Tour

Nancy R

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Our guide was great. He had a lot of history to tell us and made the tour very interesting.

Doing what: New Orleans Vampire Tour

danny

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Very good! Educational.

Doing what: New Orleans Ghosts and Spirits Walking Tour

Jackie H

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

This was okay, but the group was so big that it lost something long the way. The guide was interesting, but it felt like I was watching a theatrical production on a stage with an audience vs. having a more intimate experience. It was fine, just not my preference.

Doing what: New Orleans Haunted History Ghost Tour

Diane T Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

I had hoped foe a little more. Not interested in going to bars during a tour after would of been ok.

Doing what: New Orleans Vampire Tour

marnanee

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

Unfortunately this tour was way too much walking for myself and my husband! Our tour guide was informative with all the details he gave as we made numerous stops throughout our walk through the French Quarter. We could tell that he was very passionate about the history of the ghosts and stories of the area. We understood that this walking tour was scheduled for approximately 2 hours. We met our guide at 7:00, so had a light appetizer before the tour, with plans to enjoy dinner after the tour. My husband had to bale out midway through the tour, so he headed back to Jackson Square to wait for the rest of our group. We walked endlessly throughout the French Quarter, only to have him announce the end of the tour at 9:30 p.m., several blocks away from where we began! We were then forced to walk all the way back towards Jackson Square to meet up with my husband. By then we missed our 9:30 reservation for dinner, and were forced to just find any place to eat! I ended up with a huge blister on my foot by the end of the evening! Will never take a walking tour again!!!

Doing what: New Orleans Ghosts and Spirits Walking Tour

Janet L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We enjoyed our experience. Unfortunately, I booked all of my tours at one time and did not know a discount coupon is offered at the end for another tour. This could of saved my girlfriend and I over 40 dollars!!! When II asked for an adjustment........sorry, we can't do that!!! Lesson learned....hold onto your money and book the night before!!

Doing what: New Orleans Cemetery and Voodoo Walking Tour

Courtney W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was a wonderful introduction to New Orleans. We got a spooky history of the city and enjoyed a pleasant walk and wonderful tour guide.

Doing what: New Orleans Ghost Tour: Witchcraft and Voodoo

JAMES M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Billy !!! You're the best guide ever ! Thanks for a great tour and lots of laughs along the way.

Doing what: New Orleans Architectural and Sightseeing Small-Group Tour

Donna T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

So quirky - but so different and fun. Our female tour guide was very knowledgeable, must have been an historian and was great. If you want to do something totally out of the ordinary -go enjoy this!

Doing what: New Orleans Vampire Tour

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent Tour Guide Charlie was passionate about the subject and his city and gave lots of excellent, interesting stories. Highly recommend !!!!

Doing what: New Orleans Cemetery and Voodoo Walking Tour

Lori A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Informative and entertaining

Doing what: New Orleans Cemetery and Voodoo Walking Tour

Shelly T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very informative of vampires and myth. What a great night tour!!!

Doing what: New Orleans Vampire Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message