After the Haitian Revolt in 1804, New Orleans received a massive influx of Hatian émigrés, and as a result, their culture and voodoo religion came along with them. That, the sordid history of the south, replete with pirates, mob ties, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 493 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Thank you Wendy! All though it was extremely cold the tour was very interesting. I learned about the history of Louisiana's French Quarter. It was really cool =)

Doing what: New Orleans Vampire Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour guide was a local and so knowledgeable. So many bits of trivia. Had a great time

Doing what: New Orleans Cemetery and Voodoo Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic tour with a very knowledgeable guide. The tour is heavy on fascinating history and a look at some of the streets of New Orleans you might not otherwise feel comfortable walking about.

Doing what: New Orleans Vampire Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide, Wendy, was very knowledgable and dynamic! Tour was fun and interesting! A definite "must do" while at NOLA!

Doing what: New Orleans Haunted History Ghost Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was excellent! With a small group we were able to not only see the sights, but have conversations with the guide. We have been to New Orleans twice, but never really knew all the history outside the french quarter. We found it very interesting and now have a better understanding of how the architecture came about with the different style homes. We also found the tour of some of the levy system very informational. The tour guide was wonderful and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: New Orleans City Sightseeing and Hurricane Katrina Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great Tour. We toured on January 10, 2015; the weather was sunny, but a bit colder than usual--40-45 degrees. We were picked up and driven around town in a smaller, but comfortable bus. The driver spoke over a PA system while she drove us thru all the more interesting parts of the city. Several times she stopped so we could get a better look at something. We stopped and got out of the bus to tour a colonial mansion, and an old cemetery. Great tour for someone who has only one day to take in as much of the city as possible. We drove around much of the French quarter. It was good to see what it is like in the morning, as we ended up spending our late evening there too. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: New Orleans Architectural and Sightseeing Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide Todd was very knowledgable about New Orleans and her history. He was entertaining and shared some great ghost stories.

Doing what: New Orleans Ghosts and Spirits Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was quite comprehensive and showed us the different faces of NOLA. Our guide, Diane, was excellent and I really admired the way both spoke while driving through some very crowded streets. I also enjoyed the opportunity to view and hear about some of the damage due to Hurricane Katrina. The cemetery tour was enlightening as was the visit to the lighthouse on Lake Ponchartrain. I was happy for the opportunity to do this tour on my short visit to NOLA.

Doing what: New Orleans City Sightseeing and Hurricane Katrina Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wonderful tour. Learned about the history of the French Quarter and local " inhabited" establishments. Great and I mean great tour guide
Tom Cooper

Doing what: New Orleans Haunted History Ghost Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Awesome tour. Despite the cold weather our tour guide, Natalie, was amazing. I would highly recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: New Orleans Vampire Tour

David W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Interesting walking tour of the French Quarter, taking in the darker side of the city's history. Interesting insight into Voodoo and Witchcraft. Interesting visiting the sites of some of the murders that have taken place in history. Different to the normal history tour of a city. Definitely worth doing, even if you think it's all hoxus-poxus nonsense! The next day you think twice about a building as you walk past, knowing that a murder took place there! Very entertaining.

Doing what: New Orleans Haunted Walking Tour: Ghosts, Vampires, Witchcraft and Voodoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide was simply amazing and shared her personal stories about the area and cultural history. It was one of the best tours I've been on :)

Doing what: New Orleans French Quarter, St Louis Cemetery No 1, and Voodoo History Walking Tour

Katharine W
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This is an excellent overall tour of New Orleans, the impact of Hurricane Katrina, and what the city is doing to prevent another flooding disaster. Ellen, our tour guide, is a proud NOLA native and possesses an encyclopedic command of local history. We loved her fascinating anecdotes and great sense of humor.

Doing what: New Orleans City Sightseeing and Hurricane Katrina Small-Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message