To some, connotations of New Orleans lead to images of the antebellum plantation houses and big fan boats skidding along a marshy alligator-ridden bayou. Though New Orleans is a town that never forgets its roots and is, in fact, in very close ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 660 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very informative! Our tour guide was professional at all times and really engaged the whole group. We will definitely come back again!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This full day Swamp Tour and two plantations visit made our trip to New Orleans. The tour company was co-operative, informative and made the day go by so fast that you would wish to do it again.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Amazing! Our driver from was great she knew a lot of history and could answer all questions. The swamp is fantastic, much to see birds, turtles, and of course alligators. The plantations are great. The oak trees are almost worth the trip by themselves, and the food was good.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was amazing! Our Gray Line tour guide, Ken, was the best. The guide and the staff at the plantation were excelllent.

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Awesome experience! The Laura tour was very informative and the food at Oak Alley was delicious. The swamp boat was great. The guide was quite knowledgeable and skilled. Lots of fun.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Tours by Isabelle was wonderful to work with. Giselle was great!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a really enjoyable day. Very interesting information and knowledgeable tour guides. The airboat was a once in a lifetime experience that shouldn't be missed. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Good tour. Well organized and smooth. The guides were knowledgeable and helpful. The driver's command of English was not totally fluent. Did not fully get to appreciate her knowledge level though she was helpful and provided good local tips. It would have been good to have some downtime in the car.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

What an enjoyable experience! The bayou tour was such fun. The scenery, cypress trees, and natural habitat was remarkable. We saw many alligators and turtles. The guide was a natural fisherman and hunter. He had many stories and bayou facts to share with us. The 2 plantations were beautiful but so different. Seeing how the rich lived comfortably vs. the slaves' living conditions was heartbreaking. Great tour! The only CON was the comfort of transportation. The driver was excellent and careful, but 13 people in the van was too crowded. We were nearly last to be picked up, so we ended up in the back. I was in the back corner which was very bumpy. My average-sized spouse had a 1/2 seat on the bench ahead of me. We had those seats the entire time, even after getting out and returning to the van. If you have a back condition, don't end up sitting in the back or you'll be miserable.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A real highlight of our trip. Loved the Bayou/Swamp tour and actual saw several alligators, a blue heron and some egrets. Madeline, our tour guide for this combination tour including touring Oak Alley and Laura plantations did a wonderful job on giving us all the background for the various areas and was very knowledgable about the history of the the region. Also, the food at Oak Alley was excellent! Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an amazing tour. Our tour guide, Ginni was so knowledgeable! We learned so much history. She told facts, but presented them in a story format, loved that she presented that way. The plantations were amazing. So glad we took this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Loved the air boat, the plantations, the food and the mint juleps!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had an excellent guide ellen . She was extremely knowledgeable and of course the the plantations were an incredible view to a past time in history.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Ginnie was FANTASTIC. She knew everything about New Orleans and surrounding areas. Every site we passed she gave us a history lesson. I would HIGHLY recommend any tour that Ginnie is the tour guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message