To some, connotations of New Orleans lead to images of the antebellum plantation houses and big fan boats skidding along a marshy alligator-ridden bayou. Though New Orleans is a town that never forgets its roots and is, in fact, in very close ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 935 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

manon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Well organised tour and the swamp boat trip was excellent. Roland the skipper was wonderful and full of knowledge. We saw alligators, snakes and turtles. The plantation was excellent and the restaurant lunch was superb. The Cajun food was spot on and really enjoyable, all in all a wonderful day in the Cajun country.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

bruno T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

super , visite en Français trois fois par jour a recommender

Doing what: Laura Plantation Tour

deborahbreen.lpl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent day. The airboat was the best fun, our guide Gary was great. The plantation lunch was substantial and featured local food. The two plantation tours were also great.
Would highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Worth the hour drive out of New Orleans as the Mansion and grounds were beautiful and our tour guide was informative and humorous. The café on site had great food as well!

Doing what: Houmas House Plantation Tour with Transportation

Grant E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour, even on a rainy day it was well organised and catered for and we were able to do all activities. Highly recommend

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Maude M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our driver wasn't the friendliest, however he was very informative and the plantations were great.
This is the 2nd time I've done this tour and I don't regret either!! LOVE the small group format...

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a must tour if you are at all interested in American History, American Culture or the way America was. Everything from pick up in the morning to drop off in the evening was professional. Muriel was superb as were all the visit guides. So pleased I did this tour. Well done one and all.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

ksweet2820

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great all day experience -- Many sights and history .. Glad we took this tour

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

alia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

AWESOME!
Special Kudos to Madeleine and the local tour operator for taking such good care of us!

This tour is a long one with no meals available to buy, so bring snacks and water. Or do like some folks on our tour did and bring a cooler. The plantation and swamp adventure do not have anything more than sodas and candy, so if you don't want to go into diabetic shock, bring something to munch on in between tours.

The Destrehan Plantation was very interesting and if you're lucky enough to Candance as your Interpreter of History, you are in for a treat! I felt like we needed another 20 minutes at this location to go check out the grounds a little more and see the 1811 Slave Revolt exhibit after the official tour. But we were strapped for time and had to jump back in the van to head to our Swamp tour.

Swamp Adventures is super fun. Don't be surprised and squeal with fright, like I did when Levi the Gator sidles up to the boat as you are boarding it at the dock. Note...while I get the impression some of the gators who are named are like pets... they are not ... they are still wild animals. Rodney was our driver and he's super skilled at maneuvering this boat over and around tight spots. It was so amazing where he took us. And I love the feel of zooming around the swamp. Rodney also has a wicked sense of humor and totally got me when he put an alligator chick really close to my ear as I was looking at something else. I'm embarrassed to say that I screamed again, which caused the rest of the boat to scream as well since they didn't know what happened and we were all in a heightened sense of where is the gator or snake we thought we saw? We were of course, totally safe. Rodney was just messing with me. I loved it of course. And my mom totally jumped at the chance to hold the alligator chick she's braver than me.

You want to do this tour if you like history, nature and a little bit of adventure. Oh... and if you like boats and zooming around.

Doing what: Small-Group Airboat Swamp Adventure and Plantation Tour from New Orleans

Gerardo V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The driver and guides were knowledgeable and experienced.

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

John J C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour guide at the plantation was terrific and our bus tour guide, Kendrell from the tour operator was even better. I highly recommend this one.

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

Diane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What a fun day. It started with a small tour, only 13 people our our delightful French guide, Muriel. We went to the Bayou and toured on a boat by the son of the farm who was 7th generation Bayou people! Can't ask for more than that. Muriel was really smart - she arranged for us to be early so we were first for our lunch - no lines, special entrance for our tour of Oak Alley, no lines and then arranged a special time for Laura's plantation. She was so professional and made the the trip enjoyable and hassle free. I would definitely go with Tours by Isabelle again!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

patricia p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very enjoyable tour of both plantations. We had lunch at Oak Alley which was pretty good. We went to go on the airboat ride first thing in the morning and it rained, so got a little wet and didn't get to see much. But would try it again.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Jeanene H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

My family and I really enjoyed our day, Our tour guide Cat was the best! she has so much knowledge of the plantations we toured and the city of New Orleans.

Doing what: Small-Group Louisiana Plantations Tour from New Orleans

kay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The grounds, the tour guide, the food ... all memorable and very enjoyable. Worth every penny!

Doing what: Houmas House Plantation Tour with Transportation

Linda L S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent tour and tour guide a must for anyone visiting New Orleans

Doing what: Houmas House Plantation Tour with Transportation

Michael R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Loved the guides at the 2 plantations - very entertaining and knowledgeable. Our driver was very good also and had a ton of history to share. The tour ended up being a couple hours longer than planned due to heavy traffic. Van not very comfortable

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Nancy H G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I can't laud this tour enough!
We had a group of 6 wth the wonderful Niji as our driver/guide. She was so informative, very well-versed in the history and culture.
Laura Plantation was our first stop and Rose, the guide there, was a treat. It is a fascinating place with quite the story, which Rose told so well.

Oak Alley is a stunner and drew quite the crowd. Chelsea was our guide there and she was also great .

Do not miss this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

yolanda h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fabulous - very informative about the history of the people and the places!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Debra E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Loved the tour to Oak Alley. I could have used more time to explore but it was worth the money.

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

Brad L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was very well done and well coordinated. Everything met and or exceeded our expectations. I tour guide for the day, Guy, was nice, informative and courteous. We would recommend this package to everyone. The Laura Plantation will hold a special place in our hearts for years to come.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Johnny S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a great time on our tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation. Our tour guide, Guy was very knowledgeable and personable.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Marc J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Billy was fantastic. Swamp boat ride, Gazza was great laid back guy with a wealth of knowledge of the swamps. Lunch was well and truly tasty.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Sylvia P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour.

Really informative tour guide/driver.

Laura plantation tour was exceptional.

Oak Valley was beautiful.

Worth every penny!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message