To some, connotations of New Orleans lead to images of the antebellum plantation houses and big fan boats skidding along a marshy alligator-ridden bayou. Though New Orleans is a town that never forgets its roots and is, in fact, in very close ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 778 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

this was a wonderful day, the two plantations were very different and were amazing. The tour Lady who picked us up was very friendly and informative, she was a gem. The whole day was great, and worth every

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was wonderful !! Our tour guide was very informative and friendly. Would definitely take another Viator tour in the future!!

Doing what: Small-Group Louisiana Plantations Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tour guide was excellent. Loved the history.

Doing what: Laura Plantation Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Another excellent tour..full day, but well worth the time. The Bayou was amazing and the 2 plantations were in huge contrast to each other. A fun day and so very interesting.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a fantastic day! The swamp boat was lots of fun, we learned a lot at each plantation, and we ate incredible food for lunch! Our tour guide, John was a wealth of information and we learned a lot about the NOLA area! Our only regret was that the day didn't last longer!!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was cancelled since there was not enough people. I went on the two plantation tours with Ginnie on Thursday. Ginnie was an excellent tour guide. She was very knowledgeable about plantations and New Orleans.

Doing what: Small-Group Louisiana Plantations Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved it! We especially loved the airboat and getting upfront and personal with the alligators.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour. Great value for the dollar. Excellent transportation facilities. Very easy high tech booking facilities. We highly recommend Viator to anyone visiting New Orleans.

Doing what: Houmas House Plantation Tour with Transportation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Really enjoyed the tour. It was perfect for my elderly mother not to much walking. The plantation meal was really good. The guides were knowledgeable and entertaining. Just an all around good day.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

History rich ! The plantations are very different from each other . Both very enjoyable

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a TOP notch tour. This was the highlight of our trip I took my parents. My mom loved the plantations and my dad the swamp... actually I think my mom loved the swamp best too! The small airboat is definitely worth a better experience and the overall tour group is nice and small in a 13-passenger van. Billy our guide was fantastic!!!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour through Cajun country was spectacular. The driver/tour guide was wonderful, informative and kind. We learned very much about the history of Louisiana and enjoyed his jokes. I believe if memory serves me, his name was John. Nice gentleman.

The first stop was through the Bayou with another man who conducted the tour on a boat through the bayou and this was amazing, to see the trees, vegetation and wildlife was fantastic. We actually saw indigenous birds and alligators. The family farm and name that conducted this tour were the Torres' I believe and they were very kind, informative and we learned so much about the history of the people who live in this part of Louisiana.

Next stop on our day trip were the plantations. We first enjoyed a delicious buffet lunch of all creole and cajun food. The food was amazing, especially the crawfish, I could not resist, I took seconds. Then, off to the homes. These homes were stunning and the grounds that they were built on breathtaking. One plantation home in particular that I enjoyed immensely was the Laura plantation. This plantation was rich with history. This was my highlight. Visiting these places were an important history lesson. Some of it was lovely and other parts were sad, especially the slave chambers. It was heartbreaking. I do believe it's important to learn the unpleasant parts of our US history, so these types of atrocities never are repeated. Interesting and relaxing day, filled with history.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Beautiful place! Loved the history and the whole experience.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Billy was awesome. Helped us see New Orleans in a great way.... Swamp tour, Awesome!!!! Lunch at Oak Alley was PERFECT!!!!! The plantation tours were wonderful..... Would recommend this day to everyone.....
Ethan at Laura's was soooo informative ....... Thanks y'all for making our day the BEST!!!!!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our wonderful guide and driver Jerry picked us up at our hotel at about 7:30 AM and the fun began. After gathering up the rest of our tour group, he kept us entertained with both historical and personal glimpses of the areas we were traveling through on our way to the Swamp Boat tour.

If I could have extended one of the experiences it would be this one. Mr. Torres was a wealth of information on the swamp and surrounding area. We had barely pulled away from the dock and there was our first of many Alligator. We were also able to see several turtles, an Osprey, and Egrets. Scenery along the channel we were on was stunning.

The next stop was Oaks Alley. I'b be willing to go back just to experience another of their wonderful meals! The Plantation House and grounds are beautiful -- remember to bring your camera. The gentleman who lead our tour through the house was highly entertaining and informative. He welcomed all questions and wasn't afraid to admit it if he didn't have an answer.

Our last stop was Laura Plantation. It was entirely different from The Oak Alley Plantation, but just as beautiful in its own way. The guide here was all business and not as much fun as the others had been.

Our ride home was filled with more interesting facts and great personal insights. We ended up taking some back roads or streets because of a traffic jam and got to see glimpses of the city we would have otherwise missed. Hurray for the traffic jam and Jerry!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Best tour ever! Tour guide was awesome. Super knowledgeable
The sights were great but the guides knowledge of the ares and
its history really made the tour great for me. Thanks!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a fabulous experience!!! Muriel, our tour Guide, was very knowledgeable and friendly!! We highly recommend it!!!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a great day!! Loved it - swamp tour with gators swimming up to the boat - the lunch was awesome - the plantation tours were so informative - glad my wife and I did this.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The house tour was great and the property is beautiful.

Doing what: Houmas House Plantation Tour with Transportation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The history was fascinating, the tour guide was great, and the group was small. Awesome tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Really enjoyed tour. Only wish could stay another 1/2 to really see everything.

This is a great value!

Doing what: Houmas House Plantation Tour with Transportation

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very good tour. . Bus and driver were excellent. Highly recommend

Doing what: Houmas House Plantation Tour with Transportation

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message