To some, connotations of New Orleans lead to images of the antebellum plantation houses and big fan boats skidding along a marshy alligator-ridden bayou. Though New Orleans is a town that never forgets its roots and is, in fact, in very close ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 877 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Brad M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed this tour. The lunch at the plantation was just delicious. We had a great guide on the swamp boat and even held a baby alligator.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

kittycatcorn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour was fantastic. Informative, fun, and a great way to spend a day. Loved the swamp tour even though there were no gators to see in winter, and the plantations were gorgeous. The tour at Laura was particularly good, and lunch at Oak Alley was divine. Our driver and guide, Billy, was very nice and helpful, and lots of fun. He also gave great advice on other places to see and eat in NOLA.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Jodi H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Spectacular!!! This is the best all around plantation that I have toured in Louisiana. The house and grounds are truly wondrous and the original artwork will spoil you. The restaurant was top notch, I had the buffet, you won't be disappointed!! The one hour bus ride out from the city was comfortable and pleasant. The mint julep was only average but still good. Can't wait to come back!!

Doing what: Houmas House Plantation Tour with Transportation

Tonya M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The swamp tour was fine but not interesting in the winter, because the gators are not active in the winter. The plantations are great. The food was excellent.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Peter L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A fabulous day. The drive through the swamp area was a great surprise and the small mini bus was in great comfort. The two plantations were opposite styles and class which gave an excellent view of life then in the 1800's. Each plantation gave their own guided tours which broke up the day with interest.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

lizard_b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Gisele did an amazing job as our guide. Managed to provide us with information all along our tour and making it current to today's time. Both plantations were amazing with different stories. Thoroughly enjoyed our time with Gisele

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Geoff Gillam New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very interesting tour lots for history to be had here

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Gabriel T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The swamp tour would have been better done in the summer , cannot really see alligators in the winter when I did it. The plantation tour was good too, but I did not have much time to see all of the plantation with the allocated time. If you have a car of your own you could take yourself and stay as long as you need, otherwise take this tour, the plus is the bus driver tells you a bunch of interesting things on the way to the plantation, seriously this guy cracked jokes without catching his breaths and they were FUNNY. Unbelievable. The oak alley is by far the best plantation house, I think. Just beautiful

Doing what: New Orleans Super Saver: Swamp and Bayou Sightseeing plus Oak Alley Plantation Tour

Lily S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a very enjoyable tour. Our driver, Guy, was very informative and helpful, providing a lot of information about the area. He made this tour very informative and fun.

Doing what: Small-Group Louisiana Plantations Tour from New Orleans

Vernon D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour with an excellent, well informed guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great historic site

Doing what: Houmas House Plantation Tour with Transportation

glenda.rodriguez

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

My client was thrilled with tour guide, highly recommends the tour.

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

Diane T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour. Swamp ride was well worth it. Plantation great and very interesting. Lunch was really good.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

timothydeane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

out of this world, the tour was wonderful.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Catherine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was an absolutely brilliant tour. A very full day, but fascinating from beginning to end and a really good way to get to know about the region, it's culture and its heritage. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

caroline s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Trip was well worth it.

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

edward d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent value. The contrast between the two plantations made it especially interesting and the swamp boat ride was fun.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Terry A. S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Wonderful, tour leader was knowledgeable and very personable!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Rory F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I loved this tour! Such a beautiful home!

Doing what: Houmas House Plantation Tour with Transportation

klyndall Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The swamp boat adventure was a little short on gators when we visited, just a fleeting glimpse of a nose above the surface but what we missed with the gators we certainly made up for in sighting of the magnificent Bald Eagles. We were told we might be lucky enough to see one on the cruise but we actually saw three.
The Plantation mansions are a sight to be seen, such opulent old world surroundings and the guides dressed in period costumes added to the atmosphere. Such a difference between the mansions and the slave quarters though, it must have been a hard time to be a worker on the plantations many years ago.
A very pleasant day tour and highly recommended.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

nbengoechea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fabulous, great bus driver. He told us many stories of New Orleans and the surrounding area. Oak Alley Plantation is not to be missed.

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message