To some, connotations of New Orleans lead to images of the antebellum plantation houses and big fan boats skidding along a marshy alligator-ridden bayou. Though New Orleans is a town that never forgets its roots and is, in fact, in very close ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1007 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

tersteash

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent experience.
Swamp boat tour was educational and great fun, with a very informative boat's captain.
Both plantations, Lara and Oak Alley, give you a look into the lives of those on either side of the landowners in the south, American and Creole.
Thanks to Stephen at Lara for such an informative and detailed tour.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Jennifer F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The small airboat was the way to go and we had an excellent captain. Gary had spent his life on and around the swamp and this was evident in his abundant knowledge. We had lots of laughs and enjoyed the peacefulness when the motor stopped running. Thank you Gary for your environmentalist views as well and the perfect tour

Doing what: Small-Group Airboat Swamp Adventure and Plantation Tour from New Orleans

Anisha M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour - very comprehensive! We learned a lot about the history of Louisiana on the drive to the plantations and swamp tour.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Thomas L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was awesome. Our guide was very knowledgeable and fun.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Marco S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

Kurt H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What an amazing place. Really enjoyed seeing this wonderful plantation. The bus driver gave us a running commentary about the history of New Orleans and the vicinity on the way there and back and we learned so.much. Loved it.

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

Anne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Beautiful tour. The house is great and the gardens are spectacular.

Doing what: Houmas House Plantation Tour with Transportation

Ursula K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a terrific trip to the plantations with tours by Isabelle. Our driver Joseph was so knowledgeable.
Learn so much about Louisanan and New Orleans history. Very friendly and respectful. I was with
my mother who is 90 and he took great care of us. Please RECOMMEND THEM.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Tracy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very cool! Boat tour and plantation were great and we learned alot. Tour guides were fantastic.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Amy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our driver/guide was very knowledgeable and humorous. The Planations are worth seeing. I loved the intimate nature of the tour and door to door service.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans

Kyla R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I loved the plantation it was beautiful! And our tour guide Susan was amazing! Highly recommend

Doing what: Houmas House Plantation Tour with Transportation

Jo R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a fantastic day out. Really recommend the smaller intimacy of the smaller size group especially when on the Bayou - no one needed to jostle for position to see the wildlife and it was comfortable and relaxed. The trip to the creole plantation was especially fascinating in the afternoon.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

David A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Incredible!! We wish we had the whole day it was that wonderful! Everything from the bus ride to the tour and free time on the grounds. One of the highlights of our entire trip!

Doing what: Houmas House Plantation Tour with Transportation

Dale S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

the tour was very in formative and our guide was the best. she was very emotional at some parts of the tour that made you feel she sincerely loves her job and the history that she shared with us.

Doing what: Laura Plantation Tour

Dianne A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a lovely tour and a great way to spend an afternoon. The house and grounds are beautiful and there is a very nice restaurant on site. Our tour guide was well informed about the history of the area and the plantation itself. This is not a museum but a private residence.

Doing what: Houmas House Plantation Tour with Transportation

Paul R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Would highly recommend this tour for anyone interested in New Orleans history. The guide was a local who was extremely knowledgeable and educated and an all around great gal. Lunch at the Oak Ally Plantation was excellent and both Plantations were unique in there own way.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Karla K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a must do tour for anyone visiting New Orleans. The swamp boat adventure was outstanding and actually was out into one of the bayous. We saw so much wildlife and many alligators!! We loved both plantations and they were so different from each other so it was not seeing the same thing at a different location. I highly recommend this full day tour - it was worth every penny!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Selena T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We LOVED this tour and would suggest anyone to visit. The guide was great and funny and the Oak Alley plantation was a sight to see for sure.

Doing what: Tour of Oak Alley Plantation

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message