Revel in the history and culture of the Cajun people while pursuing contact with the distinctive wildlife found in the swamps and bayous of Southern Louisiana. The region is replete with so much abundance in the way of the beautiful and the bizarre ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1516 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Heather L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour, perfect amount of time, nice stop in the mid point to restroom and get a drink and really got to see everything to get a feel for New Orleans! Highly recommend ! Loved our guide Gene.

Doing what: New Orleans Architectural and Sightseeing Small-Group Tour

Alexander M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

All three events Swamp Boat Adventure, Oak Alley Planation and Laura Plantation were excellent events.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Luis M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a fun an educational tour. The company was great in communicating with us and their equipment and personnel were top notch. From the moment we were picked up at the hotel to the drop off back was smooth. Our tour guide was a local person with tons of knowledge about the habitat and the animals. The boats are easy to step on a off so people of all ages can do the tour. Hearing protection is provided so the only thing to bring is a good pair of sunglasses and maybe some sunblock. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Bayou Airboat Ride with Transport from New Orleans

Judy N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was very enjoyable.
Driver from hotel to airboat was pleasant and friendly. Our airboat tour guide was very knowledgeable and kept everyone engaged. I would recommend to others.

Doing what: Small-Group Bayou Airboat Ride with Transport from New Orleans

Judy N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wonderful! Glad we could see so many gators

Doing what: Small-Group Bayou Airboat Ride with Transport from New Orleans

Elizabeth P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The swamp boat was an awesome experience! Some of the alligators swam all the way up to our boat and we saw turtles and birds as well. The plantations tours provided us with lots of interesting info on plantation life and the history of the families who lived there. It was a great day!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Michael u

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The swamp tour guide was very entertaining and informative. The plantation tour was also very nice. Madeleine was great as our tour host.

Doing what: Small-Group Airboat Swamp Adventure and Plantation Tour from New Orleans

robert l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic and the highlight of our trip. It was just beautiful and we saw tons of gators!

Doing what: Small-Group Bayou Airboat Ride with Transport from New Orleans

Clare B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour and great fun! Our bus driver was on time and educational. Our boat guide was excellent, he was knowledgeable about the swamp and he seem to truly care about the wildlife that we encountered. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Small-Group Bayou Airboat Ride with Transport from New Orleans

McKristie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved this. Our tour guide was great.

Doing what: Small-Group Bayou Airboat Ride with Transport from New Orleans

m rue United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

fabulous tour company and great learning experience.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Candice T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a spectacular time, all because of our guide Justin. He was very knowledge, found several alligators for us to see. Told us a lot about the area, and knew answers to all of our questions. He made it fun. I would definitely recommend this tour again.

Doing what: Small-Group Bayou Airboat Ride with Transport from New Orleans

fourmurrays

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had great weather and were able to see different alligators and areas of the swap. I was very impressed with the knowledge of our swap boat guide. He explained the environmental challenges facing the swamp/marshlands and that it is possible that these areas will be lost.

Doing what: Small-Group Bayou Airboat Ride with Transport from New Orleans

Emma Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide Kat collected from our hotel giving us a potted history as we went. We hit the interstate and travelled for what may have been 30-45 mins I cant really remember because I was captivated by Kats history of the area, storytelling ability making history come alive. It stood us in good stead later in the day explaining about Creoles and Cajuns.

We arrived for our swamp tour with Captain Brian who took us along the Bayous. We visited in mid-April and were lucky enough to see gators and turtles. Youll not see these over the winter months, or even before mid-March. Brian was a font of knowledge on the local fora and fauna.

Back into the mini-bus to head to our next destination Oak Alley Plantation, a Cajun plantation. We were greeted with a New Orleans self-serve as much as you can eat lunch including gumbo and jambalaya. We explored the grounds and viewed the slave quarters and took a walk down the amazing Oak tree alley, planted before the building and had an opportunity to buy a mint julep or still lemonade. Our guided tour was another great storyteller, bringing history to life of the family who lived in the house and took about 45 minutes.

We drove on to Laura Planation, a Creole plantation, which acted as a great contrast in terms of architecture and history, to that of Oak Alley. Again we had a guided tour with another fabulous storyteller. It lasted about an hour and was an eye opener in terms of how recent indentured servitude took place on the plantation.

Kat transported us back to our hotels, having had a fulfilling day. We were only in NOLA for two and half days so it was great to do an organised trip which we would not have normally done. Kat also explained that the local tour operator is the only remaining family run tour business I think the personal touch and enthusiasm showed.

I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Ursula R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was wonderful. Ellen was our tour guide and you couldn't have asked for a nicer more well informed person. We learned so much about NOLA from her and truly enjoyed the day. It was well worth the money spent.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

shannon0969

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We loved this tour! The guide was amazing and funny. Going out on the bayou is a must do if you are in NOLA. Highly recommend it - worth the time!

Doing what: Swamp and Bayou Sightseeing Tour with Boat Ride from New Orleans

trishalinedm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

So much fun!! Loved this trip! It's a must!

Doing what: Swamp and Bayou Sightseeing Tour with Boat Ride from New Orleans

Jerry H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great fun. Alan knew the ways of the swamp. Highly recommend to anyone wanting to do something different

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

Yolanda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a good slow tour and we were able to see many alligators.

Doing what: Swamp and Bayou Sightseeing Tour with Boat Ride from New Orleans

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The guide, an 81 year old native of New Orleans, was superb. The depth of his knowledge of the city, it's history, architecture, and people was wonderful. Any tour led by this guy will be good, I'm convinced. My only complaint is the van was a very uncomfortable ride. We were seated in the back row, and the washboard streets of New Orleans made for violent bouncing up and down. It may be better in rows further toward the front, so be sure to get in one of those seats if at all possible.

Doing what: New Orleans Architectural and Sightseeing Small-Group Tour

Linda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I really enjoyed myself. Guide was informative and funny. Well worth the price.

Doing what: Honey Island Swamp Tour

richard o

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The airboat guide and tour was excellent. It was a very worthwhile experience

Doing what: Small-Group Bayou Airboat Ride with Transport from New Orleans

THOMAS M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We had a very nice time.I would recommend the tour.

Doing what: Swamp and Bayou Sightseeing Tour with Boat Ride from New Orleans

Heather M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We've done this tour twice now and it's a blast. The only reason I gave it four stars was that I preferred our first guide better even though we took the tour in February and that was a harder time to do a tour. The tour is very subjective to the guide and the weather, but the right guide can make it fun no matter what!

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

margery w

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very well run

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message