Revel in the history and culture of the Cajun people while pursuing contact with the distinctive wildlife found in the swamps and bayous of Southern Louisiana. The region is replete with so much abundance in the way of the beautiful and the bizarre ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1490 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alexander M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

All three events Swamp Boat Adventure, Oak Alley Planation and Laura Plantation were excellent events.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Lauren E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour was great....guide was funny and informative...Loved it!!!

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

ashley c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

great!

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

Andrew R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Matt was a great tour guide and taught us so much about the river.

Doing what: Honey Island Swamp Tour

Sharon C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent trip. We saw alot of wildlife.

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

Austin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We were so glad we took this boat rather than one of the fast ones where you have to wear noise cancelling earphones. We got to see and feed alligators, and our tour guide was awesome.

Doing what: Swamp and Bayou Sightseeing Tour with Boat Ride from New Orleans

Chad C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour guide was great. Fun and suprisingly intimate given the amount of boats they have in their fleet. I would highly recommend if you are looking to take a day away from the French Quarter and its crowds.

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wow! Fantastic tour. So glad that we were on a smaller airboat. We were able to go deep into small inlets where larger airboats could not go. Saw lots of gators. Great captain.

Doing what: Small-Group Bayou Airboat Ride with Transport from New Orleans

Judith B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really enjoyed this tour. Our boat driver was excellent and holding the young alligator was a real bonus to the trip

Doing what: Swamp and Bayou Sightseeing Tour with Boat Ride from New Orleans

emscouple

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The small boat allowed for a more personal experience. Our guide Jaye was awesome

Doing what: Small-Group Bayou Airboat Ride with Transport from New Orleans

Claire

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Even though the weather was awful, raining and cold - we had such a great time and Captain Sam loves his gators and showed us an amazing time. I would definitely go again.

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

ksweet2820

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great all day experience -- Many sights and history .. Glad we took this tour

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The gentleman who took us on the tour I can't remember his name...we were boat 9 at 2 pm that day was fantastic. The tour was super fun and our shuttle driver, Joseph, was wonderful, too. He had a group of, frankly, obnoxious people from LA in the van and he handled them very professionally.

Doing what: Small-Group Bayou Airboat Ride with Transport from New Orleans

April S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was incredibly fun and thrilling. I loved our captain and I've forgotten his name - about 6 foot cajun with a goatee gentle giant and loved Roxanne and Willie - alligators. I've been to New Orleans 100s of time as I live right in Mississippi and did this as apart of a birthday activity with friends. So glad I did and highly recommend stepping out of your comfort zone and trying this. I felt safe with our captain and he had a great calming and fun personality. DO IT!

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

scott t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

great trip, saw lots of alligators, guide Mike was awesome!

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

ILIANA K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very professional tour guide / driver, and highly entertaining.
They knew all there is to know about the swamps, and it was obvious they love the place.
It was a long, beautiful ride and we also had the chance to meet an alligator.

I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Honey Island Swamp Tour

alia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

AWESOME!
Special Kudos to Madeleine and the local tour operator for taking such good care of us!

This tour is a long one with no meals available to buy, so bring snacks and water. Or do like some folks on our tour did and bring a cooler. The plantation and swamp adventure do not have anything more than sodas and candy, so if you don't want to go into diabetic shock, bring something to munch on in between tours.

The Destrehan Plantation was very interesting and if you're lucky enough to Candance as your Interpreter of History, you are in for a treat! I felt like we needed another 20 minutes at this location to go check out the grounds a little more and see the 1811 Slave Revolt exhibit after the official tour. But we were strapped for time and had to jump back in the van to head to our Swamp tour.

Swamp Adventures is super fun. Don't be surprised and squeal with fright, like I did when Levi the Gator sidles up to the boat as you are boarding it at the dock. Note...while I get the impression some of the gators who are named are like pets... they are not ... they are still wild animals. Rodney was our driver and he's super skilled at maneuvering this boat over and around tight spots. It was so amazing where he took us. And I love the feel of zooming around the swamp. Rodney also has a wicked sense of humor and totally got me when he put an alligator chick really close to my ear as I was looking at something else. I'm embarrassed to say that I screamed again, which caused the rest of the boat to scream as well since they didn't know what happened and we were all in a heightened sense of where is the gator or snake we thought we saw? We were of course, totally safe. Rodney was just messing with me. I loved it of course. And my mom totally jumped at the chance to hold the alligator chick she's braver than me.

You want to do this tour if you like history, nature and a little bit of adventure. Oh... and if you like boats and zooming around.

Doing what: Small-Group Airboat Swamp Adventure and Plantation Tour from New Orleans

Mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a must tour if you are at all interested in American History, American Culture or the way America was. Everything from pick up in the morning to drop off in the evening was professional. Muriel was superb as were all the visit guides. So pleased I did this tour. Well done one and all.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Donna V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was great. The tour guide was awesome. Will recommend to family and friends.

Doing what: Swamp and Bayou Sightseeing Tour with Boat Ride from New Orleans

robmeans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Justin was fantastic. Very knowledgeable. Great stories. Must have seen 25 gators from 10 footers to baby's. Definitely recommend the small boat tour vs. the big boats. Its byob so if you would like to drink you can but you can't buy anything there. Totally worth it.

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

Carol D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I sure wish I could recall our guide's name as he was fantastic! Very informative and clearly has passion for the swamps and the animals in it. Would definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Small-Group Bayou Airboat Ride with Transport from New Orleans

PUP

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

best tour I have ever taken, sore so many alligators, turtles and the guide was great.
Thanks

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

Don F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour. Wonderful guide, very knowledgeable, very entertaining

Doing what: Honey Island Swamp Tour

william Keith s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I will never forget this trip absolutely fabulous,it's a must do trip,the guides were so helpful wonderful day out.

Doing what: Swamp and Bayou Sightseeing Tour with Boat Ride from New Orleans

Joyce C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Ellen, our tour guide was amazing and we learned a lot about areas and places outside of the French Quarter.

Doing what: New Orleans Architectural and Sightseeing Small-Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message