Revel in the history and culture of the Cajun people while pursuing contact with the distinctive wildlife found in the swamps and bayous of Southern Louisiana. The region is replete with so much abundance in the way of the beautiful and the bizarre ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1591 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jim C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very Knowable Guide, Funny, Gad A Great Time.

Doing what: Swamp and Bayou Sightseeing Tour with Boat Ride from New Orleans

Lisa H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Captain Henry was great! Very knowledgeable, did his best to make sure everyone enjoyed the tour and learned about the area. He was great at pointing out all types of animals. He even showed us a family of cranes

Doing what: Honey Island Swamp Tour

Paul S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Captain Paul was great, friendly and informative.

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

Tracy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great time, informative, would do it again if i could

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

Sharon R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great experience in a group of only 7 of us.
The air boat ride was a highlight of our trip meeting our guide and driver/ pilot Garry who was fun and knowledgable, entertaining us with his local knowledge and very funny tales.
I would highly recommend the airboat tour, the plantation house is a must, it is an important part of this areas history.

Doing what: Small-Group Airboat Swamp Adventure and Plantation Tour from New Orleans

Tim H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Guide was knowledgeable, friendly and funny. Speeding across the lake was a highlight. Time spent in the bayou was informative and unique

Doing what: Small-Group Bayou Airboat Ride with Transport from New Orleans

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely loved the tour. Very interesting and informative. The only problem we had was that we were picked up first at 7:00 a.m. and dropped off last 6:00 p.m. My husband was very upset about this as it made for a very long day.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Diane A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour is well worth taking. The grounds are well maintained and very picturesque.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Dianna R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide was so amazing, loved our trip learned so much about the swamps and the animals who live there. Holding the alligator was the best part of our whole New Orleans adventure and feeding the 12 foot gator marshmellow will be a memory we will never forget. Great job to all of you and for what you are doing.

Doing what: Small-Group Bayou Airboat Ride with Transport from New Orleans

nutridoc2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Bayou trip particularly wonderful. Plantation very enjoyable. Our guide was excellent and informative.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Julie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The small boat tour was fantastic! Worth the extra cost from the large boat. Able to have a more hands on experience and travel more places.

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

Karla K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a must do tour for anyone visiting New Orleans. The swamp boat adventure was outstanding and actually was out into one of the bayous. We saw so much wildlife and many alligators!! We loved both plantations and they were so different from each other so it was not seeing the same thing at a different location. I highly recommend this full day tour - it was worth every penny!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Karen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour! Miss Ginnie is adorable and very knowledgeable. The van was very comfortable and cool. She told us about the history of New Orleans and we saw many beautiful buildings. It was a small group so we got to know each other. They were very fun and pleasant.Major bonus was that they pick you up at your hotel! Thank you Isabelle tours and Miss Ginnie!

Doing what: New Orleans Architectural and Sightseeing Small-Group Tour

Larra R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The trip was great, but I was REALLY IRRITATED to find out that VIATOR charged me a full 29 more than had I bought tickets down there Everyone else paid 95 each. I am going to go online to notify neighbors and friends that Viator does this.

Doing what: Small-Group Bayou Airboat Ride with Transport from New Orleans

Rachel L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

great great great tour guides and very fun adventure. can't wait to do it again.

Doing what: Honey Island Swamp Tour

sherly s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

amazing tour !! our guide Gene Reyes was very informative and nice guide. loved it

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Richard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Would highly rate this company, Isabelle was not only very knowledgeable but very warm and friendly. Swamp boat adventure was not disappointing, although wished we'd seen more crocodiles along the way. Plantation visits well worth the visit and Isabelle took us out of her way to see more in the area - Django Unchained had been filmed close by as had the recent Roots series. Wonderful day, food and people. Perfect!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Robin A G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour! My husband was at a conference so I was looking for something to occupy my days and I'm so glad that I scheduled this prior to our arrival in New Orleans. It was a great way to learn about New Orleans and to meet new people.
Our driver and tour guide had a wealth of historical knowledge about the New Orleans area which was really interesting. I'm sorry I don't recall her name. She was originally from France and I was embarrassed that she sure knew more about the are area than I did as a citizen of the U.S. I have to say that the Swamp Boat Adventure was a highlight! Our driver Gary, was a hoot and made the trip really enjoyable. His skills as a driver certainly put me at ease as we traveled 45 MPH at times through the swamp open areas. His knowledge, sensitivity and appreciation of the natural wildlife and landscape of the area really added to our knowledge and enjoyment. He even stopped and used a rope to pull down a broken branch so that it wouldn't fall down and hurt someone. I even learned the difference between a marsh no trees and a swamp with trees! Ladies, don't bother doing your hair that day. It's definitely not an excursion that leaves you having a good hair day!
I've always wanted to visit a southern plantation so I was excited and not disappointed. Both plantations were so different and although I enjoyed the grandeur and beauty of Oak Alley as well as the delicious lunch with fabulous gumbo, I found myself drawn to the Laura Plantation even more for its authenticity of existing slave buildings from that time era. I even still have a photo I took of the original slave quarters as my Facebook cover page. I enjoyed hearing what life was like for people back then and learning a lot of interesting facts at both plantations.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Tim P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great - Viator had everything set up and was very professional. Pick up was exactly on time - ride out to the boat was entertaining and the boat was great. Definitely better to go w/ the small boat vs the ones that hold 20 or so. Our Capt. was funny and nice and we saw a lot of gators as well as some beautiful parts of the swamp - Would Definitely Recommend!

Doing what: Small-Group Bayou Airboat Ride with Transport from New Orleans

eremak

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Incredible experience! And surprisingly relaxing

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

recallyang

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent trip with out captain! He was friendly and tried to give the most of his best for our trip. Also, highly recommends to take the bus ride back and forth downtown area. It was worthy, more economic than taxi fare and can learn a lot about locals. If Viator can provide 2 hours swamp ride plus bus ride, it would be the best when you have little one around.

Doing what: Honey Island Swamp Tour

Andrew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour, was the highlight of our trip to New Orleans. Captain Sam was great!

Doing what: Small-Group Bayou Airboat Ride with Transport from New Orleans

KENT F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fun ride through the bayou - was prettier than expected. Driver did a great job of stopping periodically to point out alligators and talk about the history of the area. He encouraged questions and did his best to answer them no matter how silly they were. Good sense of humor. Really enjoyed it.

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message