Revel in the history and culture of the Cajun people while pursuing contact with the distinctive wildlife found in the swamps and bayous of Southern Louisiana. The region is replete with so much abundance in the way of the beautiful and the bizarre ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1010 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Had a blast on the airboat. Never thought I would hold a baby alligator. Learned a lot of history at the Plantation houses. We would do it again.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our main tour guide was fantastic. She provided excellent background information throughout the day. The swamp boat and 2 plantation tours were also very good. Lunch was delicious. My family and I had a great day.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was one long day, but enjoyed the entire day
Did the boat tour first and although we only saw about 6 of 4-5 foot alligators and a few birds the swamp was most impressive with the beautiful moss hung trees and the quiet of the river.
Oak Alley is lovely and has so much history and we were lucky enough to see the paddleboat on the dock, just as it must have been 150 years ago. Laura plantation was equally lovely in its own way.
Thanks for a great but long day

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great trip. The captain really knew his stuff. We saw plenty of alligators, frogs birds etc. would highly recommend this trip. Only down side was the minibus was a bit cramped and very bumpy in the back, well worth it though.

Doing what: Small-Group Swamp Boat Tour of Cajun Country from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We loved this tour. Our tour guide, Joseph, was on time and filled us in on all of the sites while we drove to the plantations and swamp tours. Both Plantations were a must see, and the lunch served at Oak Alley Plantation was a very delicious meal, with lots of local dishes to eat.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful tour! Our guide treated us to a fun and engaging experience with great views of wildlife.

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The whole experience was alot of fun. The trip was informative, the guide was fun, we saw alot of alligators, and the boat ride was exciting. Well worth the money!

Doing what: Small-Group Bayou Airboat Ride with Transport from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very interesting. Saw wild hogs who were very friendly and fed alligators. Guide knew everything. We could have spent more time in the swamp because the bus ride was long to get there.

Doing what: Honey Island Swamp Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The airboat tour was amazing! Captain Gary was experienced and Knowle able. Even got to hold a little female gator! Plantation tour was a bit of an anticlimax but gave a feel for plantation life in beautiful surroundings.

Doing what: Small-Group Airboat Swamp Adventure and Plantation Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour. Billy is an outstanding tour operator. He gave us great local insight into the area and was very sensitive to our time frames.

Doing what: New Orleans City Sightseeing and Hurricane Katrina Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The entire experience was loads of fun. We were picked up at our hotel on time and had a great guide to the water Isabelle Tours did this part through Viator. The boat ride itself was great. The bayou is simply gorgeous. Allen, our guide, was extremely knowledgeable and entertaining at the same time. The motor died at one point, so we had to change boats. There was no problem at all - we sat in a lovely spot while the new boat came. Allen a native of the area told us wonderful stories about the area's environment and related industries, such as fishing and alligator hunting. Along came Kevin with the pick up, and we were on our way. A truly memorable time. The van took us back to our hotel, but dropped another family off at a restaurant they wanted to go to without any complaints or fuss at all. On the contrary. Niji from the tour company also gave us great and useful information. I cannot praise this half-day outing too much. Well worth every dime.

Doing what: Small-Group Bayou Airboat Ride with Transport from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fantastic. Especially our Cajun guide Little Lou. Would recommend highly.

Doing what: Swamp and Bayou Sightseeing Tour with Boat Ride from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was very nice and enjoyable! Our guide was great, very knowledgeable, gentle and amusing :) ! We really had a lot of fun! Who that!!!

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

très bon tour que je recommande vivement, guide sympathique , belles vues , crocodiles au rendez-vous
bref belle nature!!

Doing what: New Orleans Airboat Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was great. Being able to do the 2 different tours on 2 different days was the way to go. We had so much fun watching Louie talk and play with the gators on the swamp tour. The bus drivers were amazing at telling a mixture of history and personal accounts of the city.

Doing what: New Orleans Super Saver: Swamp and Bayou Sightseeing plus Oak Alley Plantation Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We really enjoyed our tour, such a beautiful place. A very well run professional company, we were collected by air conditioned bus and driven to swamp... Our tour guide was a native of the area, with lots of great stories to tell. We got to see lots of alligators, which was the highlight..

Doing what: Swamp and Bayou Sightseeing Tour with Boat Ride from New Orleans

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The airboat ride was great, the van ride not so much. The driver got lost on the way to the airboat facility.

Doing what: Small-Group Bayou Airboat Ride with Transport from New Orleans

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Great tour! We saw alligators, raccoons, pigs, birds, and fish. Our tour guide, Sonny, was knowledgable and amusing. We'd highly recommend this tour for anyone who wants to get up close and personal with a swamp.

Doing what: Honey Island Swamp Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

A must but don't book the flying airboats. They ruin the ambience with their noise. The boat was great as was the captain.

Doing what: Swamp and Bayou Sightseeing Tour with Boat Ride from New Orleans

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour was great, but I think it was a little hurried. We didn't get enough time in the gift shops. The tour guide really knew her history and was great. The swamp boat was excellent. The boat captain was very interesting and we got to see several alligators.

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

Bruce C
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

A long day but very good. Loved Air boat ride but with such high speed why no seat belts ?????

Doing what: Experience Cajun Country: Swamp Boat Adventure and Plantations Full-Day Tour from New Orleans

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

I booked an Air Boat Tour. The week i was in NOLA, it rained. Every day. My Air Boat tour was substituted for a pontoon boat tour I think due to rain and I was not disappointed. The lady that picked us up in the tour van knew the area very well - our tour started in the city and continued through the country til we got to the bayou. The actual tour guide was native to the area and said that his family had lived there since the 1700's. He made the tour very interesting and even was able to coax the alligators closer to the boat so we could take pictures - who knew alligators liked marshmallows! I am well satisfied with the value I got with my tour dollars.

Doing what: Small-Group Swamp Boat Tour of Cajun Country from New Orleans

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message