• USD ($)
  • English

New York City ATTRACTIONS See all

American Museum of Natural History

Located on Central Park West at 79th, the mission of the American Museum of Natural History is “to discover, interpret, and disseminate information about human cultures, the natural world, and the universe through a wide-ranging program of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 43 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very handy to cut the time waiting in the queues. Although we had 4 whole days, we were too busy to use all of the tickets, but the Rock Observation deck, Empire State building, and the Natural History Museum are must does. Staten Island had just opened up again so very busy and we gave it a miss. Otherwise it is a cost effective way of seeing what you have the energy to get round.

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Oh my goodness where do I begin. Our first time to New York, so many things to do and see! We only had 5 days to do it all!! So decided to purchase the 7 day pass, was concerned about having enough time to do everything that we had on our list. I would recommend going into the web site and mapping out everything you have to do, I did a search on everything. That way if you have time left over, you can always add a few activities. Group your must do's together by location, for an example, we did the Nat History Museum, The Metropolitan Museum, and Guggenheim all in one day. We would have been able to do more but, flew in on a red eye. So the first day we picked up the pass, checked out time square, and did a night tour around the city. We also booked 2 Broadway shows, a dinner cruise, and also a carriage ride threw Central Park. So we really only used the pass for 4 full days and it still saved us $334.00. We did everything that was on our list of must do's!! Plus a couple that we added in the end. Here is what we did on the pass, NBC tour, Top of the Rock, American Museum Of Natural History, The metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim Museum, Water Taxi, 9/11 Memorial, Intrepid Sea, Air and Space Museum, Empire State Bldg., NY Sky Ride, Madame Tussauds, Circle Line 3hr full island cruise, and Moma. We had a wonderful time in NYC would recommend the pass. Thanks Viator

Doing what: The New York Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Did 4 out of the 6 attractions: Top of the Rock during the day, Empire State Building at night, 6 hrs in Natural History Museum and Liberty Island Circle Line Cruise - all fantastic and NY City Pass was well worth having. Would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

We had an amazing day at the American Museum of Natural History. This is a must see destination whilst in New York. There is so much to see and take in that a full day is required to get the most from your visit. With younger children I would say it is perhaps too much and would not be something I would take my children too. My only criticism is i am not sure what I paid for as the day we went the entire place and side shows was open for free to all so not quite sure what we had paid for so do feel a little bit agrieved in that respect. My 5 star review is for the venue itself.

Doing what: American Museum of Natural History

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Spent a busy three days in the Big Apple. The citypass worked perfectly and we avoided queues at the Rock, the Empire State Building and the boat to the Statue of Liberty. We found the Natural History Museum a bit of a let down though - not a patch on the one in London!.
Well worth purchasing the pass

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

First Class...most enjoyable. The City Pass is without doubt good value for the price. The Natural History museum visit was the highlight for us (usually find museums somewhat boring), really need 2 days to do it justice. I have no hesitation in recommending nayone to purchase the Pass even though (being a Yorkshireman) I myself hesitated initially.

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

this was booked in England and we have to say we had no problems with any of the attractions that were included. we had 5 days and used every ticket except one as we ran out of time. Work out what you want to see prior to booking as the museum can take quite along time to see (American Natural History Museum). So don't stretch yourself but use as many as you feel fit to do. well worth the money. Ray and Jan

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This pass is your gateway to see all the main attractions in New York City. Although some tickets provide fast passes to these attractions, it may still require you to do some lining up because every other tourist is bound to buy one of these booklets!

Read carefully regarding the Museum of Natural History pass though, it does not grant you admission to the Museum itself, but only to an exhibition.

Doing what: New York CityPass

Zig
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Thought that this was really good value for money. We used the MET, MOMA, and Natural History Museum ticket, together with Top of the Rock and Empire State Building and the circle line cruise. If we had purchase tickets separately would have cost twice what we paid. We had 8 nights in New York so felt that it was good value for money.

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

This is worth doing if you are going to visit these attractions including the museums to get your money’s worth. You also get to skip some of the queues. It was good that you get the audio tour for free with the pass at the empire state building as it was really interesting.

The natural history museum was a little old fashioned and stuffy except for the planetarium which comes with the pass. I thought it was excellent and interesting. It seems that you have to pay extra for the other interesting exhibitions.

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

I really can't knock the CityPass. We arrived in New York on the Tuesday evening and left on the Friday evening so didn't have time to see everything but that is only to be expected with so much to see in New York. If you are wise with when you try to get to see various attractions (hints about when to try certain places are on the CityPass) then you don't have to worry about colossal queues. You will have to queue with other people who have vouchers, the New York CityPass just gets you past ticket queues (not the ones to actually then get into the attraction). Also be aware that it won't get you to the very top of the Empire State Buidling, just to the standard Observation Deck, but a free audio tour comes with the Pass. We didn't use the CityPass for the Statue of Liberty but it's important to realise that there is limited availability to enter the statue itself (and very limited availability to get up to the crown). If you want to do that you'll have to book a long time in advance. The only other thing worth mentioning is that at the American Museum of Natural History, you get entry into the museum and free access to one of the special exhibitions but there are still a few other exhibitions that you'd have to pay to enter (but there is loads of free stuff to see so you can probably enjoy the day there without having to worry about any extras). The food in the food hall seemed fairly expensive but food in New York does seem to be expensive anyway so c'est la vie! Enjoy New York if you go!

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

VERY CONVENIENT, WE SKIPPED LINES EVERYWHERE EXCEPT AT NATURAL HISTORY MUSEUM, OVERALL GREAT VALUE

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

I went on every tour (except the American Museum of Natural History), so this pass was definitely worth every single cent! It's easy to use and fuss-free, most recommended if you are planning to see the most of NYC on your own time and schedule!

Doing what: New York CityPass

Igor J
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

We spent 6 days in New York. CityPass was great, allowing us to skip most lines not the security lines.That itself made it worthwhile, even it wasn't cheaper than the individual activities. Took 4 days to get through as we did ESB and Liberty Ellis tour on the one day. Guggenheim only took half day bit of a let-down and only had a half day for MOMA but could have spent longer. Natural History Museum & The Met easily take full days. Had a great time in NYC. Don't forget to buy a 7 day subway ticket - best value to get to everything efficiently, including the odd musical we went to two.

Doing what: New York CityPass

Anna G
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

We had only one full day in New York. We bought a NY Pass for that day. We made the most of it. In the morning at 8.30 we went to the Top of the Rock. The view was fantastic. Then we had a glimpse at the ice rink and walked to Pier 83 for a 2 hours cruise. We had plenty of time. Before the cruise we sat in a nice coffee shop to have some coffee, croissant and hot chocolate. It as very comfy. And the cruise was great! Not too long, not too short, just right. Then we went to the American Museum of Natural History by subway. Full mark. By subway we went to the Empire State building and first watched the Skyride then we went up to the top to have the most fantastic night view of NY. From there we walked to Times Square - a treat by itself - and the Madame Tussaud wax museum. We finished by ten. We had a great day. It was not any rushing. At every attraction we took plenty of time.

Doing what: The New York Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message