New York City ATTRACTIONS See all

American Museum of Natural History

Located on Central Park West at 79th, the mission of the American Museum of Natural History is “to discover, interpret, and disseminate information about human cultures, the natural world, and the universe through a wide-ranging program of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 12 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

We had an amazing day at the American Museum of Natural History. This is a must see destination whilst in New York. There is so much to see and take in that a full day is required to get the most from your visit. With younger children I would say it is perhaps too much and would not be something I would take my children too. My only criticism is i am not sure what I paid for as the day we went the entire place and side shows was open for free to all so not quite sure what we had paid for so do feel a little bit agrieved in that respect. My 5 star review is for the venue itself.

Doing what: American Museum of Natural History

Mehdi K
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

If you're from the UK, or have visited it, this is similar but not as good as the Natural History Museum. It's immense but holds the same number of exhibitions etc than other smaller sized museums. The additional paid exhibitions aren't really worth the extra money but the butterfly one is.

Doing what: American Museum of Natural History

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The American Museum of Natural History is definitely worth visiting. They are always adding exciting exhibits and shows in their Imax theater. I strongly recommend Viator. They made ordering and obtaining tickets very easy.

Doing what: American Museum of Natural History

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

The pass was great apart from having to get tickets as well for each attraction. It would be good if the pass could just be swiped for entry especially as it was not always clear where to get the actual tickets and we ended up queing for ages at Statue of Liberty tickets to be told that we were in the wrong place.....the tickets were from a couple of girls sitting on a bench looking like tourists themselves!!
The Natural History Museum was good, but the ticket does not include all areas. Enjoyed the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island as able to spend as much time at each area as we wanted, the trip out on the ferry was lovely too. We went to top of Rockerfeller centre at 11pm.......wow what views, definitely my favourite seing all NY lit up. My kids said it was the best holiday ever!!!

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

We spent half of our day in NYC at the American Museum of Natural History. All special exhibits were included in our discounted tickets. Very rewarding experience at a great price. Thanks!

Doing what: American Museum of Natural History

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

We used the 3 attraction pass and we saved at-least around $20 per person. The good thing is it includes a city bus tour as well as one of the attractions. However, don't expect to save any time if you go to Empire state building. It still took the full 1 hour or so wait. However, they've fast pass entry in certain attractions such as Madame Tussauds. Also, if you go to the American Natural History Museum, make sure you get the tickets at the Gift center in the Ripley s in Time square. Overall, it was worth it since it was flexible to choose among 30 attractions.

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

My family participated in the Top of The Rock tour which was amazing, lines were not too bad. We also did the Museum of Natural History and the kids liked this. Lastly, we did the city bus tour. This was horrible. The traffic was heavy, it took forever to get down the downtown tour. The headphones which were supplied actually shock your ears. This happened to 3 of us and it was painful.
The worst part, I am sorry to say was the bus tour director who was to give the tour history of the sites on the microphone. He kept pounding the mic on his leg and it caused this noise in our ears! He only wanted to talk about the celebs and these sites as well as the sex museum he thought it was cool. He did not make the tour very informative and made it very boring! there was not enough information given with less talk than information.
My family did not like it and said this would not encourage them to even go on another bus tour. Disappointing!

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

Worth having but found that for certain places e.g. Natural History Museum, you had to pay extra to go the exhibitions. We probably saved a bit of money but not much. I recommend the twilight cruise.

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

All the reviews say it's worth but it's whatever. I think the only convenience is not waiting in ticket lines and only paying once versus at multiple locations. Picking it up at one of the 5 locations was a pain and we got there pretty late. We used this at the Natural History Museum and it only allowed for a basic ticket. We weren't allowed to see the 3-D shows there nor could we pay the $5-10 difference to add that on. They wanted us to buy new tickets at that price to see the 3-D shows. Such a bummer! Had I known, I would have used the 3rd tour for something else. We knew the 9/11 Museum closes at 8 or 9pm and it says 6pm suggested arrival. We got there at 7pm and their ticket booths are pretty much CLOSED! So don't even bother. They should take out the word SUGGESTED for 6pm and just say, ticket booths close at 6pm. So another tour eliminated from our choices. Ha! Empire State Building- is worse than a ride at Disneyland. They said it would only be a 40min wait time but it was 90min. The line to get the tickets wasn't even that bad 5-10min, so you don't need this pass, it doesn't help you at all. Get your tickets there. The express line is $50, not sure how valuable your time is, it would save you 60 out of those 90mins... So there's a line to get to the ticket booth, a mile line to the elevator, then another mile line to another elevator. It's insane. View is nice. If I was staying in NYC for longer, this pass might have been used to it's fullest potential, but there were too many inconveniences, so I wouldn't recommend it.

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2009

When we decided to take our first of 5 venues, we picked the city tour. The tour was great - very informative and fun. We used the pass for Rockefeller Centre and then ventured to the Guggenheim and MoMA. At the Museum of Natural History, we learned we were to have redeemed our pass at Ripley's. I went through all of my email correspondence and did not find any information about that. I did find the information in the booklet. When we visited, we were advised of many exhibit closures. When we expressed our displeasure at paying full price for admission with so many closures, they replied that admission was by donation and they would accept half price. We concluded that the price of the pass was the same as if you were paying regular price - and you had to pass through a special ticket counter for each venue, which had less staff and sometimes more customers than the regular lines.

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

Misleading or too limited description of the Statue of Liberty tour. No access to the statue. Island only. 9/11 is only memorial, not the museum. Trouble getting into Top of the Rock and Natural History Museum. Will not use this system again.

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

Anonymous

Anonymous

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2009

We bought the 3 attraction explorer pass. It was not able to be used at the Statue of Liberty ferry and the Museum of Natural History did not even know what it was. These were the main 2 reasons we got the pass. Never even got to use it.

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

Note from Viator: Hi Lee, just so you know, the Statue of Liberty ferry ticket and the American Museum of Natural History are included in the NYC Explorer Pass. The Statue of Liberty ticket is available at the ticket desk, enabling you to skip the line at the Statue of Liberty ticket booth at Battery Park. You still have to wait in the line to get on the ferry but cutting down on one line is helpful, especially during busy summer months.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message