The Apollo Theater in the heart of Harlem is one of the world’s most famous live music venues. Some of the biggest names in contemporary music have played the Apollo, including Duke Ellington, Charlie Parker, and the master of soul, James Brown.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1362 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great....better than I expected, especially the guide.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Informative, entertaining and just a real fun time.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

This whole tour had a feel of inauthenticity to it. I realise that is always a problem with the impact of tourism, but this whole event felt put on for the tourists and also as pushing the tourists to give money.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great way to see the statue and the staff were very friendly! Highly recommended and well organized!

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Loved every second!!!! Particularly loved our guide Peggy and the Cotton Club, magic night:)

Doing what: Harlem Soul Food and Jazz Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

To be noted: the tour takes you to a small church so different from the most popular one in Harlem. Singing was still very good.
Worth going on that tour!
Anne

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Good tour. Soul food interesting. Best part we ran into Reverend Jesse Jackson!!!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Group to big, very passionate tour guide about Harlem and there history, church visit in the Bronx is worth to do

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

The first bus was manned by a very unfriendly driver - it was absolutely disgusting and the guide was not very informed about the route. The bus was like a very dodgy nightclub with rubbish all over the floor which the guide and driver just kicked to one side

The other bus tours were good.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

We had long waits and often buses with only outside seating. Tour guides were occasionally rude. One bus blew right past us as we waited at the stop. We ran after the bus trying to get the guides attention and she told us we were waiting for a different bus (why would she think that?). She was very rude, but finally let us on. Another day, after waiting forever, a bus finally arrived (the last bus of the day) and we were told there was no room. We had one great tour guide, Josh. He was friendly and informative and helpful. We've used Viator before and have been very happy with the company, so very disappointed with this trip.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

Jean W
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Pick up points not very clear had to ask people where bus stops for hop -on and hop-off were / got lost a few times paid more so we could travel on the red buses as well

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

tour wouldn't let me book and pay for my family without being the lead traveler. I'm local and had no interest to go. It prompted to continue to book and request name change through viator-Simple right? Never got a response. worse, the bus is open top so lots of fun in 25 degrees. Waste of 350 dollars.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Harbor Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour guide was very informative gospel singers was like watching a broadway show amazing, The soul food brunch was delicious and there was a lot of food .All around great tour

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message