The Apollo Theater in the heart of Harlem is one of the world’s most famous live music venues. Some of the biggest names in contemporary music have played the Apollo, including Duke Ellington, Charlie Parker, and the master of soul, James Brown.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1371 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great way to see the statue and the staff were very friendly! Highly recommended and well organized!

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

To be noted: the tour takes you to a small church so different from the most popular one in Harlem. Singing was still very good.
Worth going on that tour!
Anne

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Group to big, very passionate tour guide about Harlem and there history, church visit in the Bronx is worth to do

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

The first bus was manned by a very unfriendly driver - it was absolutely disgusting and the guide was not very informed about the route. The bus was like a very dodgy nightclub with rubbish all over the floor which the guide and driver just kicked to one side

The other bus tours were good.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

We had long waits and often buses with only outside seating. Tour guides were occasionally rude. One bus blew right past us as we waited at the stop. We ran after the bus trying to get the guides attention and she told us we were waiting for a different bus (why would she think that?). She was very rude, but finally let us on. Another day, after waiting forever, a bus finally arrived (the last bus of the day) and we were told there was no room. We had one great tour guide, Josh. He was friendly and informative and helpful. We've used Viator before and have been very happy with the company, so very disappointed with this trip.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

tour wouldn't let me book and pay for my family without being the lead traveler. I'm local and had no interest to go. It prompted to continue to book and request name change through viator-Simple right? Never got a response. worse, the bus is open top so lots of fun in 25 degrees. Waste of 350 dollars.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Harbor Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour guide was very informative gospel singers was like watching a broadway show amazing, The soul food brunch was delicious and there was a lot of food .All around great tour

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was the most fun evening we spent in New York. The guide was a delight, very knowledgeable and efficient in making things run smoothly. Harlem is fascinating, I hope they don't ruin it by gentrifying too much. We could have heard more jazz, one set wasn't enough. Next time we will do the gospel tour.

Doing what: Harlem Soul Food and Jazz Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A different, uplifting experience and thoroughly enjoyable. Anthony, our guide was very knowledgeable and gave good tips about restaurants in NYC. We went to a church in the Bronx and were made to feel very welcome. So glad I took the tour.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great ticket, offering so much variety for travel and some let attractions. The narrators on the bus are highly informative, and have a different "pitch" every trip, so you'rerarely hearing the same facts twice.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had an amazing time, our guide Anthony was a font of information, he told us about things we would not have found out in guide books. The church we visited made us really welcome and they were so enthusiastic and friendly and we did not feel under any pressure to part with any money in fact we had to ask how we could make a donation! A really enjoyable morning, thankyou Anthony and the congregation of the Friendly Church in the Bronx

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was extremely good value for money and I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the Big Apple for a short break (we went for 3 nights, 4 days). You have to get yourself to Madam Tussards in Time Square and exchange your voucher for the actual tickets but that was straight forward enough. We used the bus ticket instead of taxis which saved us a fortune as our hotel was on the upper west side and so we just got on and off at the Imagine memorial in Central Park and walked 5 mins to the hotel. We did the updown and downtown tours but didn't have time to fit int he night tour which was a shame. The first tour guide was not great - a lovely chinese lady with such a strong accent that you couldn't really understand her babbling, but the second tour was commented on by a native New Yorker and was very informative. The Ferry pier was quite straight forward to find (after the helpful bus driver told us where to get off) and again was very good value for money. We weren't aware that you had to pre-book to get into the Top of the Rock - we turned up at 5pm expecting to simply walk in but we had to pre-book for the next day which was no hassle and was well worth the wait cos the view at night is simply amazing. I'm glad we opted for the Top of the Rock rather than the Empire State building because seeing the Empire State from our viewpoint was epic - it's such an iconic building so it was good to be able to take photos of it. All in all this tour was excellent value and I'm so glad we did it.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Super Guide !

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful, weould definitely recommend!

Doing what: Harlem Soul Food and Jazz Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Alvin was great and informative. The service was amazing.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message