The Apollo Theater in the heart of Harlem is one of the world’s most famous live music venues. Some of the biggest names in contemporary music have played the Apollo, including Duke Ellington, Charlie Parker, and the master of soul, James Brown.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1341 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent tours of New York marvellous value for money for what was included. Definately recommended

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent a grat experience, made to feel very welcome.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Cecilia C
Argentina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour was great. Our guide Damian not only explained us about Harlem, the Gospel service and the things we were seeing, but about New York city history and other emblematic places as well. It was a difficult day for driving in the city, due to the 42km Marathon, but the driver and the guide managed the situation very professionally and we had a great day!. The Sunday morning Gospel service was very interesting and amusing. The whole tour was an experience to open our minds. Don't miss it !!. Cecilia

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

We took this tour in late October. It rained both days. We simply were to cold to take the boat tour. We are from California and it was in the mid 80's when we left. Except for the weather it was a nice time. The buses came pretty often. We found plenty of people at the stops to help us. We also got pretty lucky that all the buses we took were covered. The tour guides were all different but pretty knowledgeable. If you haven't visited New York you should know that you can't even see most of it in 2 days but this tour was a good way to at least lay eyes on the important parts. Even with this tour we walked and walked so expect to do some walking. Most of the bus stops are marked but some are not but the map was right. All in all I would book this tour again it was well done.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Harbor Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

We really enjoyed the gospel singing. The tour guide was well informed and there were no real glitches except that the bus couldn't get around a tight corner on which someone had parked illegally. The lady bus driver did an awesome job.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

The Gospel performance was phantasmic!

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Used the buses for 2 days and did the Liberty island and the Top of theRock too.A really great way to see all the sights and hop off when you want an in depth view of a sight.Very convenient stops and all the guides were great

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

The value itself is good - I would still recommend it. It goes all over and covers tons of ground. For the most part, I learned a great deal about New York - got to see the Statue of Libery, and went to the top of the rock. It was awesome.

I docked 2 stars for two reasons:
(1) the guides weren't that great. We had a couple really, really good guides. But we also had a few guides who were not very accurate, or consistent; and sometimes cited some very questionable facts. Overall you still learn from it.

(2) Most of the buses were not 2-level, they were upper-deck, open-air seating only. We went the 3rd week of October, and unfortunately it was 50F and raining both days. We only found one bus that had lower-level seating. By the way - I understand the reason for not having lower-level seating, which is because you can't see much above you; but, I would still find value in the tour, on the lower-level when it's cold and pouring down rain. As least as a means of transportation.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2014

The bus took just on two hours to go from Midtown to Battery Park without us getting off and on - seems a long trip for such a relatively short journey. We planned to feet off the bus at stop 14 and were told to get off the bus and re-alight over the road, no mention of the tour terminating. Further time problems getting the return bus - nearly an hour went by before a bus was seen and it turned out to be full so we had another wait. Long queues to get the tickets in the first place and only choice of one vendor to exchange my voucher. Didn't not her using the bus again, the underground was far more efficient.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Extremely happy with the availability of busses. Only thing I didn't enjoy was the tour guides voicing their political views or their disdain for other boroughs (other than Manhatten). Would highly recommend using the hop-on hop-off in any city! You see so much more than you could on your own!

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great time on the Hop-on Hop-off bus. We paid extra for the VIP passes and it was definitely worth the extra $25 per person. Many times there were long lines for the bus, so with the VIP passes we were the first to get any available seats. Most of the tour guides were funny and informative. We had a couple who were maybe having a bad day, as they sounded like they were reciting a textbook. But others were lively and funny. One of the bus loops went right by our hotel, so when we were done for the day we would hop on at Times Square and get off the bus a few miles down the road. Sure saved us on cab fares!
We went to the Empire State Building and it was nice being able to miss the line to buy tickets. However, we still had to wait in line for the elevators. But the wait time was minimal.
The 90-minute harbor cruise was well worth the time and effort. The location (Pier 78) is a bit out of the way...we walked from Times Square and were in a less desirable area which made us feel we weren't very safe. I would suggest taking a taxi or public transit bus to the pier. The cruise itself was wonderful, with loads of information being imparted. And...they take you right up to the Statue of Liberty island for great photo opportunities. We never used the water taxi (which is a one-time use only...not hop-on/hop-off situation which the tour description intimated. However, it was good for 72 hours (from the time you pick up your tickets) so, overall, it was a good value for us.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The Hop on Hop of was the best thing we did on our trip to NYC. The tour guides were great and they run every 15 minutes or so. We had a 3 day pass and that was just right for the things we wanted to see and do.Would definetly recommend. We were very pleased with the service we received.
Thanks for a very pleasant experience.
Dick

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Perfect for our needs. We were first time visitors to NY. This bus ride will take you to all that you want to see in New York. Well recommended.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

An amazing way to see Harlem and try some soul food!! Fabulous trip if you like blues you will love this

Doing what: Harlem Soul Food and Jazz Evening Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message