The Apollo Theater in the heart of Harlem is one of the world’s most famous live music venues. Some of the biggest names in contemporary music have played the Apollo, including Duke Ellington, Charlie Parker, and the master of soul, James Brown.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 839 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is the best tour I have ever been on! Worth every dime and truly a unique experience. Not your average tour!

Doing what: Best New York Hip-Hop Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

One of the best tours I have ever gone on.

Doing what: Harlem Soul Food and Jazz Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had an awesome time on this tour - a bit pricey but still worthwhile. Very informative, we learnt alot. The tour was very interactive and we got to see quite a bit of New York which we would not have done by ourselves. Five stars xxxxx

Doing what: Best New York Hip-Hop Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This was an interesting and varied tour. I'm very glad I did it. Seeing Harlem and the Bronx was great. I really got a perspective of the areas and I had no idea how close they were to the heart of New York. The church visit was also very moving. Worth doing.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour and Grand Master Caz and Rayza were excellent guides and hosts.

Doing what: Best New York Hip-Hop Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We are very pleased with both the guide and the gospel experience. Thank you.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a very interesting tour through Harlem, stopping at The Apollo Theater, The Morris-Jumel Mansion. Our excellent guide talked about the history of Harlem, and its transformation from a place for summer homes, its decline, and resurrection. The tour then continued to the Bronx, and the South Bronx, where we attended the sermon and gospel singing at the Green Pasture Baptist Church which was joyful, loud, and marvelous!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic experience! The food was excellent and the tour guide. I would recommend this tour to anyone who wants to experience Harlem.

Doing what: Harlem Soul Food and Jazz Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Extremely uplifting experience. Very welcoming congregation. Our guide was very informative and full of many anecdotes. the brunch at the Cotton club was excellent along with the welcome, and live music. My only criticism is that we didint spend enough time there .

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Best tour I have ever been on. This is a must for any Hip Hop lover, young or old. It gives you a history of the culture of Hip Hop and is all hosted by none other than the legend that is Grandmaster Caz. He is a true artist from Old Skool Hip Hop generation and his local knowledge and enthusiaum makes this trip captivating!

Doing what: Best New York Hip-Hop Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Another great evening hosted by a very personable guide. Good food at Sylvia's and a great little jazz quartet in the pub across the road. Pick up and drop off by the bus was spot on.

Doing what: Harlem Soul Food and Jazz Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My 13 year old son, my husband and I saw, experienced and learned so much on this fun and entertaining tour. The tour exceeded our expectations and ended with a delicious lunch. I highly recommend this memorable tour to anyone who is interested in hip hop culture!

Doing what: Best New York Hip-Hop Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We loved this tour, very informative and fun , lunch at the Cotton Club was super . Sue form Australia

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This was a great option for anyone visiting NYC, but too much to do in one day. If there only one day, buy a smaller tour package from the actual company when you arrive in NYC. It's a 48 hour pass so if there for two days, it's worth it. Each line of the tour there were 4-5 lines takes 2-3 hours if you stay on to hear all the info. Pay VERY close attention to print voucher because we had lots of problems getting it printed when we arrived. Great way to see all of the city w/o the subway or walking everywhere. Would totally do this again when we visit NYC.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Harbor Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Good experience.
The guide was excellent.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Patrick was very knowledgeable, had a good day, thanks

Doing what: Harlem Soul Food and Jazz Evening Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Authentic church service and good tour of Harlem with very knowledgeable local guide

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very good evening and great way to see Harlem. Alvin, our guide, was extremely knowledgeable and passionate about both the music and New York - he was excellent. The meal was great and the tour round Harlem was very interesting. We went on a Monday so finished at the Cotton Club and were particularly impressed with Solomon King, a 20 year old blues guitar player, who was brilliant. The tap dancer, whose name we did not get, was equally talented and impressive. A great evening to spend in Harlem!

Doing what: Harlem Soul Food and Jazz Evening Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Not enough gospel singing. Didn't meet my full expectations.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Selma was terrific. Her attitude was great, EXTREMELY historically knowledgeable.
Tour was informative, bus clean.
The female singer at the cotton club was AWFUL. She did NOT stand on stage and sing, she walked amongst us and huged on all of us and tried to make us sing with her...terrible. Food BAD.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Very disappointed. That guide was pretty good but the church was not what I had expected. I think we could have done better on our own.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Best New York Hip-Hop Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Best New York Hip-Hop Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message