The Apollo Theater in the heart of Harlem is one of the world’s most famous live music venues. Some of the biggest names in contemporary music have played the Apollo, including Duke Ellington, Charlie Parker, and the master of soul, James Brown.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1357 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour guide was very informative gospel singers was like watching a broadway show amazing, The soul food brunch was delicious and there was a lot of food .All around great tour

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was the most fun evening we spent in New York. The guide was a delight, very knowledgeable and efficient in making things run smoothly. Harlem is fascinating, I hope they don't ruin it by gentrifying too much. We could have heard more jazz, one set wasn't enough. Next time we will do the gospel tour.

Doing what: Harlem Soul Food and Jazz Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A different, uplifting experience and thoroughly enjoyable. Anthony, our guide was very knowledgeable and gave good tips about restaurants in NYC. We went to a church in the Bronx and were made to feel very welcome. So glad I took the tour.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great ticket, offering so much variety for travel and some let attractions. The narrators on the bus are highly informative, and have a different "pitch" every trip, so you'rerarely hearing the same facts twice.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had an amazing time, our guide Anthony was a font of information, he told us about things we would not have found out in guide books. The church we visited made us really welcome and they were so enthusiastic and friendly and we did not feel under any pressure to part with any money in fact we had to ask how we could make a donation! A really enjoyable morning, thankyou Anthony and the congregation of the Friendly Church in the Bronx

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was extremely good value for money and I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the Big Apple for a short break (we went for 3 nights, 4 days). You have to get yourself to Madam Tussards in Time Square and exchange your voucher for the actual tickets but that was straight forward enough. We used the bus ticket instead of taxis which saved us a fortune as our hotel was on the upper west side and so we just got on and off at the Imagine memorial in Central Park and walked 5 mins to the hotel. We did the updown and downtown tours but didn't have time to fit int he night tour which was a shame. The first tour guide was not great - a lovely chinese lady with such a strong accent that you couldn't really understand her babbling, but the second tour was commented on by a native New Yorker and was very informative. The Ferry pier was quite straight forward to find (after the helpful bus driver told us where to get off) and again was very good value for money. We weren't aware that you had to pre-book to get into the Top of the Rock - we turned up at 5pm expecting to simply walk in but we had to pre-book for the next day which was no hassle and was well worth the wait cos the view at night is simply amazing. I'm glad we opted for the Top of the Rock rather than the Empire State building because seeing the Empire State from our viewpoint was epic - it's such an iconic building so it was good to be able to take photos of it. All in all this tour was excellent value and I'm so glad we did it.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Super Guide !

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful, weould definitely recommend!

Doing what: Harlem Soul Food and Jazz Evening Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Tours very good but priority pass was waste of money.we were not allowed to get on buses before other people.staff didn't seem to know how to deal with the situation

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Very good way to see New York especially the night trip good value for money only gripe was not sure I understood why we then needed to upgrade our tickets for another 25dollars each as felt original price covered what we needed and the young lady spoke so fast and it was so busy so had difficulty hearing her. Also had to stand in line for an hour and a half for the Ellis Island and Statue of Liberty ferry although we had our tickets.Overall was a very good trip.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great trip. Learned a lot. Worth every penny. You get to see a high percentage of the attractions in New York. Get the Upgrade in order to jump on and off the different tours (Buses) If you have 3-4 days take all tours. So much to see. We did not get a chance to see everything. We must come back. If you are in town for a couple of days take one tour. For 3 or more days add more tours. There is no way to see everything in 2 days.
The Top of the Rock tour will require early reservations so, get there early. After 3pm, you will not get in unless you pay another fee for the express tour. Enjoy!

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

good buses were dirty and the evening tour was late - also it was very cold on the night tour and it would of been better if we could of had a covered top deck !!

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Enjoyed the Jazz Club experience but thought the food was not up to standard

Doing what: Harlem Soul Food and Jazz Evening Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Good experience

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message