The Apollo Theater in the heart of Harlem is one of the world’s most famous live music venues. Some of the biggest names in contemporary music have played the Apollo, including Duke Ellington, Charlie Parker, and the master of soul, James Brown.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1332 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Extremely happy with the availability of busses. Only thing I didn't enjoy was the tour guides voicing their political views or their disdain for other boroughs (other than Manhatten). Would highly recommend using the hop-on hop-off in any city! You see so much more than you could on your own!

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great time on the Hop-on Hop-off bus. We paid extra for the VIP passes and it was definitely worth the extra $25 per person. Many times there were long lines for the bus, so with the VIP passes we were the first to get any available seats. Most of the tour guides were funny and informative. We had a couple who were maybe having a bad day, as they sounded like they were reciting a textbook. But others were lively and funny. One of the bus loops went right by our hotel, so when we were done for the day we would hop on at Times Square and get off the bus a few miles down the road. Sure saved us on cab fares!
We went to the Empire State Building and it was nice being able to miss the line to buy tickets. However, we still had to wait in line for the elevators. But the wait time was minimal.
The 90-minute harbor cruise was well worth the time and effort. The location (Pier 78) is a bit out of the way...we walked from Times Square and were in a less desirable area which made us feel we weren't very safe. I would suggest taking a taxi or public transit bus to the pier. The cruise itself was wonderful, with loads of information being imparted. And...they take you right up to the Statue of Liberty island for great photo opportunities. We never used the water taxi (which is a one-time use only...not hop-on/hop-off situation which the tour description intimated. However, it was good for 72 hours (from the time you pick up your tickets) so, overall, it was a good value for us.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The Hop on Hop of was the best thing we did on our trip to NYC. The tour guides were great and they run every 15 minutes or so. We had a 3 day pass and that was just right for the things we wanted to see and do.Would definetly recommend. We were very pleased with the service we received.
Thanks for a very pleasant experience.
Dick

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Perfect for our needs. We were first time visitors to NY. This bus ride will take you to all that you want to see in New York. Well recommended.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

An amazing way to see Harlem and try some soul food!! Fabulous trip if you like blues you will love this

Doing what: Harlem Soul Food and Jazz Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had the mot exciting time in New York , our hop-on and hop-off experience gave us a great insight of all the places to visit. Our uptown trip it was raining but the guide supplied us with ponchos and we carried on regardless. The ferry trip took us right along side Statue of Liberty and we got some great photos also from the top of the Rock

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The Harlem Gospel Tour was excellent. The vibe inspiring, buzzing and lots of fun. I really appreciated the fact that the purpose of the choir was for drug rehabilitation and that the members were voluntary. It was truly an uplifting experience and the soul food at Sylivia's was definitely worth the extra money. I even bought her Soul food cookbook! Thoroughly enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a super day. The guide was really informative and made everybody feel at home.

We went to some interesting places before the service.

The service was vibrant and we were made to feel welcome. Such an uplifting experience.

Food at Sylvia's was terrific and plentiful. Chicken-fish-ribs- wonderful potato salad-rice.
Great singer there - again everybody was friendly .

Would recommend this trip to anybody.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour-excellent guide and lots of interesting facts. The Gospel church experience was amazing and we also were given an opportunity to do a little shopping.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very informative tour - began with a tour of Harlem and then a visit to a wonderful, welcoming Gospel church. Guide was excellent and very knowledgeable. Highly recommended,

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

WONDERFUL tour guide, Duane! Gave so much great info on not only Harlem but Manhattan and Bronx, too. The church was most welcoming and a very enjoyable hour. Architectural highlights in Harlem were wonderful. Excellent tour, would recommend to a city visitor.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was the highlight of my recent trip to NYC! The tour guide was very informative about all areas that we travelled through. The church that we were privilidged to visit, was wonderful. They welcomed us at a certain point in the service. The energy from the congregation was infectious. From the older members down to the youngest of the young their involvement in the service was absolute! I would definitely want to go back to this church on my own to enjoy the warmth of the congregation.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved this tour. Duane was very knowledgeable and interesting. We saw lots of sights of Harlem and many lovely areas and buildings. But the highlight of the tour was at the Great Universal Baptist Church service in the Bronx. It was a wonderful experience and everyone was so welcoming. I found the whole experience very humbling and emotional and would recommend a visit there to everyone.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved the tour, the guide was very informative and helpful. Loved the Gospel Tour and also enjoyed the tour around Harlem.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message