The Apollo Theater in the heart of Harlem is one of the world’s most famous live music venues. Some of the biggest names in contemporary music have played the Apollo, including Duke Ellington, Charlie Parker, and the master of soul, James Brown.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1293 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My wife and I enjoyed this tour. The food at Sylvia's was good and our tour guide gave us a lot of historical info throughout the tour. After dinner, we enjoyed listening to jazz at the Cotton Club. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Harlem Soul Food and Jazz Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent especially as we upgraded to the VIP tickets so no queueing and greater choices of buses. Brilliant tour guides, very informative and always willing to answer questions.
The night tour was great to see New York all lit up - amazing.
Great value for money.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Loved this tour. Booked after a recommendation from a friend. Harlem was not anything like I expected but the area, the church and gospel service were wonderful. Loved the atmosphere and welcome from the congregation. Shame was we were called out of the church after an hour for the next part of the tour. Would have liked to stay longer to hear more.

Damian our guide was full of interesting facts all the way around the tour. He was enthusiastic and engaging.

Lunch wasn't the soul food experience I was expecting.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide was excellent - so interesting while we were travelling around Harlem and Brooklyn. I was surprised when we got to the Church that our group made up the bulk of the congregation so that it felt like we were attending a performance rather than a church service.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great tour, great drivers. We really enjoyed it.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Harbor Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Went to a friendly local church in the Bronx area (tours so popular now not enough room for all tourists in Harlem area!!) Was exactly how I pictured it and felt welcomed by the congregation. Wld recommend.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Not great value to much time on bus only stopped at 2 places one Apollo theatre was to long timing wrong caused mix up with next event said we wouldn't be back til 1.30 back by 12 .55 . Guy very knowledgeable

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Took almost half of the day to figure out where to redeem the paper for tickets. Also spent about 2 hours trying to find the bus pick-ups. Once we found everything it was ok. I would do it differently know that I know from experience.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

It was a very good value for the price. We had some issues with the staff and complications and confusion with the tickets and exchange of vouchers.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Guide good.soul food dreadful tasted better kfc.cotton club smells unpleasant

Doing what: Harlem Soul Food and Jazz Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great Tour. Did both the Hop-on and Hop-off Downtown tour and the Ferry Boat tour. Both were excellent.

Thanks from Tennessee!

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Harbor Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was fantastic. Informative, interesting and inspiring. Thanks so much for a great time.
Janet
Australia

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great way to see the sights of new york.highly recomended. Just loved all the tours , we would love to do it again. Guides are so well at giving the history of their city ,making it such an enjoyable experience..just loved it all.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message