Insider's Guide to

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Located on the southern tip of Manhattan, Battery Park is a 25-acre public park sitting right on the New York Harbor. The attraction is named after the artillery batteries that were once positioned there for protection. When visiting, it’s enjoyable ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 5441 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had an amazingly good and informative tour with our guide Heidi
she was so engaging and gave us so much background on our destinations -- as well as was amenable to taking photos, etc!
I am not a real fan of tours, but since it was my first time visiting New York City, I wanted to see as much as possible, without standing in lines,etc.
This tour began at the Empire State Bldg -- before any of the crowds arrived! -- and continued to the Air and Space Museum, followed by a water ferry to the Battery and walk up to the WTC memorial and museum.
I would absolutely recommend this tour to anyone -- and it would be to their advantage to get Heidi as their tour guide!!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was a wonderful experience to fly over NY in a helicopter. I will recommend it to everyone I know.
Viator did great!

Doing what: Big Apple Helicopter Tour of New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour! Even with a surprise parade happening in lowertown - driver and guide navigated through the city to avoid any major delays! Our tour guide, Serge, was very personable and knowledgeable!

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Luxury Coach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was a surprise for wife and two daughters and a surprise it was!! Great NY weather and Manhattan Tours played there part. Arrived 20 mins earlier than book in time, not a problem as they found an earlier slot. All the team very professional. The ride itself was the best way to see NY that you could want, knowledgable and very witty Captain which allowed us to enjoy the sights. These sort of trips are well worth it for the memories alone of a truly sensational skyline.

Doing what: New York Helicopter Flight: Grand Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

OMG...LOVED this. You should see NYC from the water.

Doing what: Circle Line: New York Landmarks Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Yes we enjoyed all sightseeing in New York on Hop-on-Hop-off during day time. Also at night time we had tour sightseeing to.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Debbie was our guide. She shared lots of great information with us. Some thought she shared and promoted herself and her many business adventures to much.Highly recommend. The view from the 86th floor was absolutely breath taking.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was amazing. Very knowledgeable and had a wonderful personality. It was HOT as all get out and she made sure we walked the shade as much as possible and even snuck us into some AC building along the walk.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Cathy
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My 14 year old son and I loved this tour. Heidi was a fantastic guide, funny, informative and a true New Yorker. I lived in New York many years ago and mainly booked the tour to introduce my son to this great city, but I thoroughly enjoyed it - a great mix of sights, local stories, and really helpful and funny local advice. My son also loved it Heidi also convinced him that a visit to the 9/11 museum was a must, so we went back to it and he learned so much.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great experience. Worth every penny.

Doing what: New York Helicopter Flight: Grand Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

First trip to NYC and it was awesome! The man doing the tour was very informative and entertaining. Can't wait to go back.

Doing what: Circle Line: NYC Liberty Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our tour with Debbie. She personalized New York with her stories which made it very interesting. She is extremely informative and much more fun than the recorded tours.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The best part about this tour was that it was a small group of people. Lunch in little Italy was fantastic. The only regret we had was that we didn't get to go into Central Park at all, we wanted to see strawberry fields. 9 /11 site was included and the river cruise to see the Statue of Liberty was

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Luxury Coach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Well done, perfect pace, excellent information, great guide Bob, no sorry Jim.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We wish to congratulate you for the very professional manner in which you handled the different levels of our tour. The personnel was couteous, well trained, and above all were very careful in the security through out the tour. Will recommend your services to our friends.

Doing what: New York Helicopter Flight: Grand Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour! Our tour guide was friendly and informative and it was awesome walking right into the Empire State Building and bypassing the lines at the Intrepid.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Despite this being an early start 7.30am meeting time, it was well worth it.
Our tour guide Jim was very funny, upbeat and very informative. He had us laughing from the start, and continued till he waved goodbye.
We started by going up to the observation deck of the Empire State building. We were first up and had amazing views of a beautiful morning across Manhattan. We left there and went on a short open top bus tour through Manhattan till we got to the Intrepid museum. We had time for a quick snack before it opened and then we were 'skip the line' into the museum and first through the submarine. Jim made sure we were first through despite some competition from other groups!!
After the Intrepid, we got on a water taxi which took us to Battery Park, where Jim explained the history behind the area and landmarks as we wandered through the financial district finishing at the 9/11 Memorial Museum, which we had entry tickets for as part of the tour. This is where Jim left us.
This was a great day, made even better by our tour guide Jim. I hope you manage to get Jim if you book this!
It would have been good to have had more time in the Intrepid, as there is a lot to see, but overall a fantastic day!
A bonus about this tour is you have access to the NY Water Taxi the rest of the day and all the next day with your ticket. We used it later that day to go via the Statue of Liberty and a little water cruise.
10 out of 10!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide Heidi was fantastic. Great personality and great knowledge. Would recommend this 6 hour tour. It is a must in New York!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was one of the highlights of our visit to NYC!
In amazing weather, our tour guide Joe D was excellent. He was informative and friendly and made sure we felt safe when riding our bikes on the streets of Manhattan and Brooklyn. As we stopped along the way, he told us accurate historical facts about the areas we were travelling through.
We cycled along the East river, through Chinatown and then across the Manhattan Bridge. Joe kept a good pace for us all in the family. We then cycled through Brooklyn and along the East river where we could look back over to the Manhattan skyline. We saw the amazing iconic sight of the Brooklyn Bridge from Brooklyn, as seen in many films such as Once Upon a Time in America. Amazing!!
Cycling over the Brooklyn Bridge was fantastic, and we stopped in the middle to take pictures and take in the sights.
Once back in Manhattan, we cycled through TriBeCa and Battery Park.
I would thoroughly recommend this 3 hour bike tour to anyone who can ride a bike. I haven't been on one for a couple of years and managed fine, even going up the slopes to get onto the bridges!
Joe D is a great guide and I would definately do it again next time.
10 out of 10!!!

Doing what: Brooklyn Bridge Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is so worthwhile...we were so lucky to have Heidi take us around the sites and speak with such passion about NYC...we learnt so much more than if we just schlepped around by ourselves..and a nice small group. She really made it memorable for us. We had never done a guided tour of any sort so were abit suspect...so glad we were proven wrong...if you want to see the heart of NYC ...do this tour! Worth every penny

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tour guide was great! I think her name was Raphaella.

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Luxury Coach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Brilliant - well organised with a really informative guide. Teenagers loved it - they even stopped checking their phones, so enough said!

Doing what: Circle Line: NYC Liberty Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highlight of our New York experience
There is no better way to get your bearings and see the infamous Manhatton skyline
Fabulous experience

Doing what: Manhattan Sky Tour: New York Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Thanks to Red Debra we had a wonderful day trip around the city, this was our last full day so some of the itinerary we had already visited but to have someone with her knowledge gave us a new meaning to some of the sights. We went on the 8hour trip so lunch, walking, boat trip and Top of the Rock were all included as well as loads more. I would recommend this tour

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Luxury Coach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great views and very organised

Doing what: Manhattan Sky Tour: New York Helicopter Flight

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message