Designed in the late 1860s by architects Calvert Vaux and Frederick Law Olmstead and as part of their “Greensward Plan” to beautify a then-young Central Park, this turret-topped castle of schist and granite stands atop Vista Rock, looking out on the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an awesome Tour! Zim is very knowledgeable and my daughter enjoyed the tips. The small group was nice as well. Lots of one on one attention

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

the staff were great, no problem's at all.

Doing what: Central Park Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I really enjoyed my Photo Walking Tour through Central Park. I received personal attention from the instructor to improve my photographs. I was given a goal to photograph a sight. She reviewed the picture and then gave me tips on how to improve the composition and use the functions of my camera. I then re-shot the same picture getting the results I was trying to get. This was so valuable. I am no longer making the same mistakes over and over hoping for a different outcome. Now before I take a picture, I hear, Zim, my instructor say..."get into it, find the picture". It was great fun and I have some fantastic pictures to remember my day in Central Park.

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Zim was an excellent safari leader. Her guidance and advice will influence my photography in the future.

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I really enjoyed the experience. The other guests were great company and Rocco our guide was very friendly and very experienced. He taught us a number of things and even though our experience varied we all gained photographic knowledge whilst enjoying the fantastic sights of NY. I went on my walking tour at the start of my visit and was able to use the experience during my stay, getting some great results. Thanks Rocco.

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Zim provided terrific personal feedback coupled with practical suggestions. Some great learnings included: (1) Ask yourself what are you photographing? (2) Less is more when you are shooting. Fun and great camaraderie..

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I enjoyed the Iconic New York photo safari so much with Zim that I took a second tour with her - the Metropolitan Museum. She is just terrific. She is very articulate, can explain complex concepts clearly, and does it in a fun way. She freely shares her knowledge, photography tips, and advice. She ensured that all tour participants were successful. She seemed full of boundless energy, was patient and just a joy to be around. Really, really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Really enjoyable tour . Zim was very knowledge and entertaining . Was able to cover a range of experience from complete beginner (myself ) to much more experienced . Central Park is a beautiful venue to learn in

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I was on the Rockefeller Center tour. There were only 3 students. Our instructor was a professional photographer who's loves sharing her considerable knowledge with others. She was enthusiastic, informative, patient and fun. She showed us how to use features on our cameras that we either didn't know about or were unsure when or how to use them. She covered camera composition. She gave us photo assignments and then critiqued our photos. It was a GREAT training session, and on my next trip to NYC, I'll be taking another photo tour with Photo Safari.

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Wonderful experience.Zim assessed what we were looking for and helped us get some fabulous shots.Many thanks

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed the photography walking tour (The Upshot) and learnt a few things about photography that I did not know as an amateur. My guide was a very nice lady.

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

very interesting and enjoyable - great guide

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2014

we had 2 flat tyres in the group and the guide made us push our bikes just to stick together
total disappointment
won't recommend it

Doing what: Central Park Bike Tour

Note from Viator: Thank you for sharing your experience. The local operator does inspect all their bicycles for problems such as this and when the bikes were returned they did discover broken glass embedded in the tires. It is hard to guard against hazards such as these within the park. We hope that despite this unfortunate incident that you were able still able enjoy the tour narrative of Central Park.

We always appreciate feedback such as yours. Best regards and happy travels.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2014

So bad. Started to rain so no photo stops- had no idea who was in group. Kept talking about his wife. Left at almost 2 for 1.30 start. Back before 3.30 for so called 2 hour ride. He also asked for tips! Got few...

Doing what: Central Park Bike Tour

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry to hear that this tour didn't live up to your expectations. Unfortunately, we heard from the tour operator that the tour finished a little early on account of unsafe weather. We simply wanted to comment and explain that the safety of passengers is paramount in the eyes of the tour operator. We do hope this information helps. Thank you again for your feedback, and Happy Travels.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message