Designed in the late 1860s by architects Calvert Vaux and Frederick Law Olmstead and as part of their “Greensward Plan” to beautify a then-young Central Park, this turret-topped castle of schist and granite stands atop Vista Rock, looking out on the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 19 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Tour was good, the professional photographer allowed you to try your own thing but also gave good advice and tips. Good range of places visited and photographed. The afternoon just disappeared, an enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an awesome Tour! Zim is very knowledgeable and my daughter enjoyed the tips. The small group was nice as well. Lots of one on one attention

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

the staff were great, no problem's at all.

Doing what: Central Park Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I really enjoyed my Photo Walking Tour through Central Park. I received personal attention from the instructor to improve my photographs. I was given a goal to photograph a sight. She reviewed the picture and then gave me tips on how to improve the composition and use the functions of my camera. I then re-shot the same picture getting the results I was trying to get. This was so valuable. I am no longer making the same mistakes over and over hoping for a different outcome. Now before I take a picture, I hear, Zim, my instructor say..."get into it, find the picture". It was great fun and I have some fantastic pictures to remember my day in Central Park.

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Zim was an excellent safari leader. Her guidance and advice will influence my photography in the future.

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I really enjoyed the experience. The other guests were great company and Rocco our guide was very friendly and very experienced. He taught us a number of things and even though our experience varied we all gained photographic knowledge whilst enjoying the fantastic sights of NY. I went on my walking tour at the start of my visit and was able to use the experience during my stay, getting some great results. Thanks Rocco.

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Zim provided terrific personal feedback coupled with practical suggestions. Some great learnings included: (1) Ask yourself what are you photographing? (2) Less is more when you are shooting. Fun and great camaraderie..

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I enjoyed the Iconic New York photo safari so much with Zim that I took a second tour with her - the Metropolitan Museum. She is just terrific. She is very articulate, can explain complex concepts clearly, and does it in a fun way. She freely shares her knowledge, photography tips, and advice. She ensured that all tour participants were successful. She seemed full of boundless energy, was patient and just a joy to be around. Really, really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Really enjoyable tour . Zim was very knowledge and entertaining . Was able to cover a range of experience from complete beginner (myself ) to much more experienced . Central Park is a beautiful venue to learn in

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I was on the Rockefeller Center tour. There were only 3 students. Our instructor was a professional photographer who's loves sharing her considerable knowledge with others. She was enthusiastic, informative, patient and fun. She showed us how to use features on our cameras that we either didn't know about or were unsure when or how to use them. She covered camera composition. She gave us photo assignments and then critiqued our photos. It was a GREAT training session, and on my next trip to NYC, I'll be taking another photo tour with Photo Safari.

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Wonderful experience.Zim assessed what we were looking for and helped us get some fabulous shots.Many thanks

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Great experience. I learned a lot and Zim really knows her stuff. She gave me some good pointers which will stick with me as long as I'm taking photos. With the tour only being 3 hours I felt it was over so quickly, I could have gone for another 3 hours! There is just so many fantastic locations that I suppose you have to limit it. With such a small group of 2 I was able to get one on one time which was extremely valuable. I would recommend this tour to any visitors to NYC who are keen on photography and want to extend their skills.

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This was a stress free experience to register, get the bikes and get to the park. Once there the wonderful guide, Stan, was fun and very interesting, he shared so many fun facts about the places we stopped to see along the way through the park. My only suggestion for improvement is that it is hard to hear the guide speak while riding, he did have a speaker but said it is not permitted for the riders to have headphones while riding in the park - perhaps they could offer something for just 1 ear so you don't miss anything interesting the guide is saying and can still hear the traffic around you. But trust me, this did not change the fact that this was a wonderful few hours to spend in Central Park. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Central Park Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Very cool experience! Guide was a little goofy!

Doing what: Central Park Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed the photography walking tour (The Upshot) and learnt a few things about photography that I did not know as an amateur. My guide was a very nice lady.

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message