Designed in the late 1860s by architects Calvert Vaux and Frederick Law Olmstead and as part of their “Greensward Plan” to beautify a then-young Central Park, this turret-topped castle of schist and granite stands atop Vista Rock, looking out on the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 22 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Tour was good, the professional photographer allowed you to try your own thing but also gave good advice and tips. Good range of places visited and photographed. The afternoon just disappeared, an enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an awesome Tour! Zim is very knowledgeable and my daughter enjoyed the tips. The small group was nice as well. Lots of one on one attention

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

the staff were great, no problem's at all.

Doing what: Central Park Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I really enjoyed my Photo Walking Tour through Central Park. I received personal attention from the instructor to improve my photographs. I was given a goal to photograph a sight. She reviewed the picture and then gave me tips on how to improve the composition and use the functions of my camera. I then re-shot the same picture getting the results I was trying to get. This was so valuable. I am no longer making the same mistakes over and over hoping for a different outcome. Now before I take a picture, I hear, Zim, my instructor say..."get into it, find the picture". It was great fun and I have some fantastic pictures to remember my day in Central Park.

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Zim was an excellent safari leader. Her guidance and advice will influence my photography in the future.

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I really enjoyed the experience. The other guests were great company and Rocco our guide was very friendly and very experienced. He taught us a number of things and even though our experience varied we all gained photographic knowledge whilst enjoying the fantastic sights of NY. I went on my walking tour at the start of my visit and was able to use the experience during my stay, getting some great results. Thanks Rocco.

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Zim provided terrific personal feedback coupled with practical suggestions. Some great learnings included: (1) Ask yourself what are you photographing? (2) Less is more when you are shooting. Fun and great camaraderie..

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I enjoyed the Iconic New York photo safari so much with Zim that I took a second tour with her - the Metropolitan Museum. She is just terrific. She is very articulate, can explain complex concepts clearly, and does it in a fun way. She freely shares her knowledge, photography tips, and advice. She ensured that all tour participants were successful. She seemed full of boundless energy, was patient and just a joy to be around. Really, really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Really enjoyable tour . Zim was very knowledge and entertaining . Was able to cover a range of experience from complete beginner (myself ) to much more experienced . Central Park is a beautiful venue to learn in

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I was on the Rockefeller Center tour. There were only 3 students. Our instructor was a professional photographer who's loves sharing her considerable knowledge with others. She was enthusiastic, informative, patient and fun. She showed us how to use features on our cameras that we either didn't know about or were unsure when or how to use them. She covered camera composition. She gave us photo assignments and then critiqued our photos. It was a GREAT training session, and on my next trip to NYC, I'll be taking another photo tour with Photo Safari.

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Wonderful experience.Zim assessed what we were looking for and helped us get some fabulous shots.Many thanks

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was great. It was roughly 2 hours from when we got our bikes to when we gave them back. The initial pick up was very smooth and simple. We started a couple blocks from the park and rode slowly up the sidewalk to the park. Our guide was very knowledgable about the history of the park and some of the historic buildings around it. The pace was a bit higher than we had expected and the park did have a few minor hills to climb up. We typically rode for a period of time, and then stopped for more information about the park, then rode again. There was little to no communication while riding so no need to stay right behind or beside the guide. I thoroughly enjoyed it but did work up a sweat in the June heat and humidity.

Doing what: Central Park Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Great experience. I learned a lot and Zim really knows her stuff. She gave me some good pointers which will stick with me as long as I'm taking photos. With the tour only being 3 hours I felt it was over so quickly, I could have gone for another 3 hours! There is just so many fantastic locations that I suppose you have to limit it. With such a small group of 2 I was able to get one on one time which was extremely valuable. I would recommend this tour to any visitors to NYC who are keen on photography and want to extend their skills.

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This was a stress free experience to register, get the bikes and get to the park. Once there the wonderful guide, Stan, was fun and very interesting, he shared so many fun facts about the places we stopped to see along the way through the park. My only suggestion for improvement is that it is hard to hear the guide speak while riding, he did have a speaker but said it is not permitted for the riders to have headphones while riding in the park - perhaps they could offer something for just 1 ear so you don't miss anything interesting the guide is saying and can still hear the traffic around you. But trust me, this did not change the fact that this was a wonderful few hours to spend in Central Park. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Central Park Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Very cool experience! Guide was a little goofy!

Doing what: Central Park Bike Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed the photography walking tour (The Upshot) and learnt a few things about photography that I did not know as an amateur. My guide was a very nice lady.

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

very interesting and enjoyable - great guide

Doing what: Small-Group Photography Walking Tour of NYC

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

It was nice to cycle around Central Park, although we found the Tour Guide a little under-whelming!
The time actual spent on the bike was an hour and quarter only.

Doing what: Central Park Bike Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

The bike pickup process was chaotic with many people picking up and returning at the same time, although it's hard to see how this could be avoided. We were sensibly advised to wear helmets but when too few could be found we were advised that the slow pace of the meant that a helmet was not essential. It took around 30 minutes to pick up the bike, listen to the intro and wheel the bikes from the pickup location to the start of the tour. The tour itself was leisurely and informative, although it does not cover a huge amount of ground. Overall it was OK but next time I would simply hire bikes and do our own thing.

Doing what: Central Park Bike Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

By the time you get to the park 30 minutes is gone. The guide neglected to give any safety review regarding bike lanes or walking bikes in certain places. Guide got into argument with another guide from same company over where bikes should be parked at a particular stop. Can't hear the guide when on the bikes unless you ride close to him so his discussion is meaningless unless you are at a stop and huddle. They need an audio system badly due to noise and size of groups 15 riders. Apparently they don't want to spend the money. I would recommend renting the bikes and not doing a tour. Spend your time riding with a little map and enjoy the great park.

Doing what: Central Park Bike Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2014

we had 2 flat tyres in the group and the guide made us push our bikes just to stick together
total disappointment
won't recommend it

Doing what: Central Park Bike Tour

Note from Viator: Thank you for sharing your experience. The local operator does inspect all their bicycles for problems such as this and when the bikes were returned they did discover broken glass embedded in the tires. It is hard to guard against hazards such as these within the park. We hope that despite this unfortunate incident that you were able still able enjoy the tour narrative of Central Park.

We always appreciate feedback such as yours. Best regards and happy travels.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2014

So bad. Started to rain so no photo stops- had no idea who was in group. Kept talking about his wife. Left at almost 2 for 1.30 start. Back before 3.30 for so called 2 hour ride. He also asked for tips! Got few...

Doing what: Central Park Bike Tour

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry to hear that this tour didn't live up to your expectations. Unfortunately, we heard from the tour operator that the tour finished a little early on account of unsafe weather. We simply wanted to comment and explain that the safety of passengers is paramount in the eyes of the tour operator. We do hope this information helps. Thank you again for your feedback, and Happy Travels.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message