Insider's Guide to

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Located at 115 MacDougal Street in Greenwich Village, Cafe Wha? is a historic bar known for being the career birthplace of many well-known musicians and comedians. Open since the 1950s, some artists who consider Cafe Wha? a home include Bob Dylan, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 130 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our pub crawl in Hell's Kitchen was exceptional! Dennis, our tour guide, is a native New Yorker. He was funny, unpretentious, and personable. We especially appreciated his knowledge of history and of the area. The tour began on time, moved at a good pace, and was unhurried. Our tour was the first night of our trip to New York it really helped us get our bearings. The 3 pubs and the beer were good, too! We had a fun evening with Dennis and the other 3 guests.

Doing what: New York Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The rock walk tour with Bobby pinn was awesome, such a cool guy and so much NYC/east village rock and punk history, of you like music be it rock or punk take this tour

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very very good. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and pleasant. He showed us some amazing areas and information about artists, where they lived, their stories and so much about the industry going back decades. There were pictures of places from years back compared to how they look now. It was money well spent and great to do. Thank you.

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Brilliant! Bobby was an excellent tour guide, took us to loads of cool places and had lots of great rock n roll stories about the East Greenwich Village. Well recommended and will do the other tour when I visit next!

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Really interesting and a very knowledgeable guide. Would thoroughly recommend doing this tour to anyone.

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Derek is a very nice guy and he knew a lot, hence making it very much worthwhile. Walking Eastvillage by night is cool. He also led us to some 'secret' locations you wouldn't find if you are not a local. All in all a very interesting tour and I will do it again next time in NYC.

Doing what: New York Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

It was fun

Doing what: New York Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very fun went to places wouldn't normally have seen

Doing what: New York Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the evening, Mike was a excellent guide who gave us a real insight into the history of New York while taking us to some great bars to soak up the local atmosphere. Would recommend to anyone visiting, no matter how short their stay
Once again, thanks Mike, you made our stay that little bit more memorable

Doing what: New York Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Highly recommend this tour. The tour guide was informative and took my husband and I to some wonderful spots we never would have went to on our own. This was our third trip to New York so we have done many tours, but nothing like this one. It was a refreshing change and the streets of The Village, that we visited many times during our days there, are even more charming at night. On our next trip to New York we will definitely book another pub crawl!

Doing what: New York Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Could not recommend this tour highly enough
A must for the serious music fan
Bobby is a highly entertaining informative guide and the tour was a very enjoyable part of our trip

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Great job by this guide. Had a lot of fun.

Doing what: New York Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Michael J, our guide was super informative, friendly and a lovely soul too. This is not your traditional boozy, chug them down aussie pub crawl. Don't get me wrong, you get to drink everywhere you stop, but its sooooo much more than that. After walking this area (greenwich village) with Michael, I felt like we had a more personal level of insight into the village. He spoke also quite abit about the history of NYC AND the buildings, in the early days, which was fascinating. This is a man who clearly enjoys his jobs and loves sharing his city with others. He even escorted me to a pizza shop next door to the pub we had stopped at, so as I could grab a bit to eat before continueing on. Chivalry is not dead. Thanks Michale J for a fab night. Ian and Judy...Australia

Doing what: New York Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Absolutely fantastic tour, so many wonderfuly sites and great stories to go with them

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This was a great walking tour with a very knowledge and engaged tour guide - Bobby Pin. He comepletely engaged my tow teenage nephews who see themselves as experts on the music of the 60s and 70s. Absolutely a highlight of our trip to NYC - would highly recommended to anyone wanting to know more (and see the actual sights) of so much of the history of rock from this time.

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Really enjoyed this. Thank you

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

Biggirl
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a great night,our tour guide took us to a bar were the theatre actors go and we joined in a sing song of all the musicals around a piano,we were only off the plane and a bit tired but i would have stayed longer only i started to flag,great night and the village is beautiful,great tour guide,very informative

Sara and Philip. Stanley and Carol from belfast

Doing what: New York Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

An interesting night with some great venue choices. Went to some places we never would have found on our own and loved Marie's Crisis.

Doing what: New York Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We had an absolute blast during our NY Pub Crawl. Our fellow Pub Crawl buddies were a fun group of people and the host was very knowledgable and informative. Our Pub Crawl went into overtime and we were all out into the middle of the night. Definately well worth the money and one of the most fun nights we had in NY. I would love to do this again next time we visit.

Doing what: New York Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Had a great time. Our guide, Bill, was really great.
very informative and had fun at each bar
well worth the small price ...Greenwich Village was fun

Doing what: New York Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We had a great time on this walking tour our guide Bobby Pinn was a great guy he was passionate about New York rock and roll and the bands that have made a name for themselves here. He showed the iconic sights and made the tour very interesting. I would recommend this tour for music fans and those who would like to find out more.

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

excellent very much enjoyed and great ppl there also and intresting places

Doing what: New York Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

This tour was so good we were out until 2am when it was supposed to finish at 1030pm. The tour guide Michael was great, took us to fun places and gave us history as well. Would definitely do this again!

Doing what: New York Pub Crawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

If you are a fan of contemporary music this tour is a must. Bobby Pinn is literally a walking encyclopedia of not just rock n roll but jazz/blues as well. Lower east side really came alive after this tour

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

We went on the Greenwich Village pub crawl and we had a ball, there were 5 others including the guide. A good eclectic collection of pubs were visited as part of the tour, but we ended up visiting many more in the area - staying out till 3am with the others in the group!!! Would highly recommend.

Doing what: New York Pub Crawl

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message