Insider's Guide to

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Located at 115 MacDougal Street in Greenwich Village, Cafe Wha? is a historic bar known for being the career birthplace of many well-known musicians and comedians. Open since the 1950s, some artists who consider Cafe Wha? a home include Bob Dylan, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 141 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jewel f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour is for all the old school punk and rock n roll fans ! It was great, very cool :)

Thanks to our tour guide - Bobby Pin

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

Michelle A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our group from Minneapolis booked this tour on a referral from a friend. We highly recommend you add this walking tour to your NYC itinerary. Bobby Pinn is a great tour guide. He's knowledgeable, fun and an overall great guy. This tour enhanced our NYC trip. We had a great time.

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

Leslie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Loved the tour guide- Bobby Pin! really great insight into the East Village!

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

Christoph R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour - fascinating.

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

Linda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour was amazing! The tour guide, Dennis, was super exciting and energetic and informative. I would recommend this tour to anyone who travels to New York. Fantastic@!!!!!

Doing what: New York Pub Crawl

Margaret H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

My group really enjoyed Bobby's tour of the East Village. He was extremely knowledgeable and had a good presentation.

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

Valeria P Argentina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is the best tour in NYC for everyone who loves rock and roll. It was glorious to walk the same streets that many important musicians did years ago, see the places where they used to live and play. Bobby was very knowledgeable and gave us time to take photos. It your are a fan of The Ramones as I am you cant miss it!

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

Kerry L R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very informative tour. Great to see places where music legends lived and played. Wear comfy shoes because you cover a lot of ground.

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

HELEN P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

great insight - very knowledgeable guide

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

Wendy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our pub crawl in Hell's Kitchen was exceptional! Dennis, our tour guide, is a native New Yorker. He was funny, unpretentious, and personable. We especially appreciated his knowledge of history and of the area. The tour began on time, moved at a good pace, and was unhurried. Our tour was the first night of our trip to New York it really helped us get our bearings. The 3 pubs and the beer were good, too! We had a fun evening with Dennis and the other 3 guests.

Doing what: New York Pub Crawl

Scott N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The rock walk tour with Bobby pinn was awesome, such a cool guy and so much NYC/east village rock and punk history, of you like music be it rock or punk take this tour

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

Stephen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very very good. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and pleasant. He showed us some amazing areas and information about artists, where they lived, their stories and so much about the industry going back decades. There were pictures of places from years back compared to how they look now. It was money well spent and great to do. Thank you.

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Brilliant! Bobby was an excellent tour guide, took us to loads of cool places and had lots of great rock n roll stories about the East Greenwich Village. Well recommended and will do the other tour when I visit next!

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

Kay N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Really interesting and a very knowledgeable guide. Would thoroughly recommend doing this tour to anyone.

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

Stefan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Derek is a very nice guy and he knew a lot, hence making it very much worthwhile. Walking Eastvillage by night is cool. He also led us to some 'secret' locations you wouldn't find if you are not a local. All in all a very interesting tour and I will do it again next time in NYC.

Doing what: New York Pub Crawl

Ramon G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

It was fun

Doing what: New York Pub Crawl

Brandon C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very fun went to places wouldn't normally have seen

Doing what: New York Pub Crawl

Kevin D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the evening, Mike was a excellent guide who gave us a real insight into the history of New York while taking us to some great bars to soak up the local atmosphere. Would recommend to anyone visiting, no matter how short their stay
Once again, thanks Mike, you made our stay that little bit more memorable

Doing what: New York Pub Crawl

Hollie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Highly recommend this tour. The tour guide was informative and took my husband and I to some wonderful spots we never would have went to on our own. This was our third trip to New York so we have done many tours, but nothing like this one. It was a refreshing change and the streets of The Village, that we visited many times during our days there, are even more charming at night. On our next trip to New York we will definitely book another pub crawl!

Doing what: New York Pub Crawl

Clive S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Could not recommend this tour highly enough
A must for the serious music fan
Bobby is a highly entertaining informative guide and the tour was a very enjoyable part of our trip

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

Wolfgang T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Great job by this guide. Had a lot of fun.

Doing what: New York Pub Crawl

Jude M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Michael J, our guide was super informative, friendly and a lovely soul too. This is not your traditional boozy, chug them down aussie pub crawl. Don't get me wrong, you get to drink everywhere you stop, but its sooooo much more than that. After walking this area (greenwich village) with Michael, I felt like we had a more personal level of insight into the village. He spoke also quite abit about the history of NYC AND the buildings, in the early days, which was fascinating. This is a man who clearly enjoys his jobs and loves sharing his city with others. He even escorted me to a pizza shop next door to the pub we had stopped at, so as I could grab a bit to eat before continueing on. Chivalry is not dead. Thanks Michale J for a fab night. Ian and Judy...Australia

Doing what: New York Pub Crawl

Nigel T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Absolutely fantastic tour, so many wonderfuly sites and great stories to go with them

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

Diane C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This was a great walking tour with a very knowledge and engaged tour guide - Bobby Pin. He comepletely engaged my tow teenage nephews who see themselves as experts on the music of the 60s and 70s. Absolutely a highlight of our trip to NYC - would highly recommended to anyone wanting to know more (and see the actual sights) of so much of the history of rock from this time.

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

Paula K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Really enjoyed this. Thank you

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message