Located at 115 MacDougal Street in Greenwich Village, Cafe Wha? is a historic bar known for being the career birthplace of many well-known musicians and comedians. Open since the 1950s, some artists who consider Cafe Wha? a home include Bob Dylan, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 64 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Really interesting and a very knowledgeable guide. Would thoroughly recommend doing this tour to anyone.

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Could not recommend this tour highly enough
A must for the serious music fan
Bobby is a highly entertaining informative guide and the tour was a very enjoyable part of our trip

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Absolutely fantastic tour, so many wonderfuly sites and great stories to go with them

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This was a great walking tour with a very knowledge and engaged tour guide - Bobby Pin. He comepletely engaged my tow teenage nephews who see themselves as experts on the music of the 60s and 70s. Absolutely a highlight of our trip to NYC - would highly recommended to anyone wanting to know more (and see the actual sights) of so much of the history of rock from this time.

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Really enjoyed this. Thank you

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We had a great time on this walking tour our guide Bobby Pinn was a great guy he was passionate about New York rock and roll and the bands that have made a name for themselves here. He showed the iconic sights and made the tour very interesting. I would recommend this tour for music fans and those who would like to find out more.

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

If you are a fan of contemporary music this tour is a must. Bobby Pinn is literally a walking encyclopedia of not just rock n roll but jazz/blues as well. Lower east side really came alive after this tour

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

A brilliant, informative and personal highlight of my holiday. Bobby Pin was a brilliant tour guide, passionate and knowledgable on the history and area and I cannot wait to return and do the west village tour next year. Oh and his book is awesome. Many thanks.

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

The only tour we had booked in advance! If you are interested in Rock music, Punk, or just want to hear about interesting characters from an excellent, knowledgeable, enthusiastic guide, then this is a MUST! Bobby Pinn could well be a legend in the NY scene.. he has actually 'walked the walk', he's not an outsider reading from a script.. well, ok he has some accompanying visual aids, but he obviously lives, breathes and cares for the stuff he talks about. That was equally as important as the tour itself for us. If you want to know why the New York Dolls posed outside The Gem Spa on the back cover of the first LP then he will tell you. If you want to see where Charlie Parker, Madonna, or Iggy Pop lived then he will show you. You too can see the very wall featured on the cover of the first Ramones LP!. And hearing the story of why it was this wall is pretty funny.... that's what Bobby brings to it, lots of anecdotal stuff along with the 'I Was There' knowledge. You won't resist buying his book which he shamelessly plugged at the end of the tour either, before pointing us in the direction of William Burroughs' old haunt, The Bunker. Can't recommend this enough!!!!!!!!! Oh, and if you're reading this Bobby, we sadly never did get to try an egg cream.... perhaps next time????!!!

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Bobby Pinn is so knowledgable and his tour was one of the highlights of my trip to NY. He made it really interesting by providing photos of the buildings etc as they were back in the day and the 2 hours flew in. He didn't make us feel rushed and didn't bombard us with facts and figures-just enough to get a feel for what he was talking about. I will be recommending this tour to my friends.

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

A fabulous tour! If you want to do something different and have a great experience finding out about the history of rock music in the East Village, then this is the tour for you! Even if you are not a major rock fan, you can still really enjoy this tour. Bobby Pinn is an amazing tourguide. He is so enthusiastic and knowledgeable- he clearly loves music and loves New York. My boyfriend and I were fascinated by everything Bobby told us and showed us. One of the highlights of our week in New York.

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

I did this tour mostly for my husband, but I actually really enjoyed it. The guide, "Bobby Pinn" was very knowledgeable. This was a fun tour! My favorite part was the site of Led Zeppelin's album cover.

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

tour was fantastic, our guide larry was so knowledgeable and made the day really interesting the 2 hour tour nwent ablut 3 hours and we would have continued if we could have . a great time

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

The highlight of our trip to NYC. Truly amazing how many rock and roll icons performed and lived within such a small area. Your guide knows his stuff and encourages coming back to the area to support the local shops. Make sure to get an egg cream drink.

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Really enjoyed this tour, Ron our guide was great, full of rock n roll knowledge, great way of seeing parts of Manhatten that we probably wouldn't have seen if we hadn't done this tour, would highly recommend it.

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message