• USD ($)
  • English
A gracefully gentrified neighborhood in South Brooklyn, Carroll Gardens was originally considered part of more working-class Red Hook, just a few blocks to the south across the Brooklyn-Queens Expressway. First settled by Dutch farmers, then Irish, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 19 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I really enjoyed this tour. I got to see a really cool part of Brooklyn, Carrol Gardens, that as a tourist I probably would never otherwise get to. The food and drinks were tasty, but even better was the stories that went with the places we visited. We heard some really interesting and personal stories from the owners and really got a good appreciation of their passion for their food and/or shops and the local community. Joe the tour guide was very knowledgeable of the places we went to and also passionate about the community and supporting local businesses. Thanks Joe. There was a good and friendly mix of people on the tour. Being a walking tour meant that we were always on the go and seeing, tasting or learning something - not stuck in traffic between destinations. Highly recommended and will try other tours when next in NYC.

Doing what: Local Flavors of Brooklyn Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Terrific! Our guide Natalie was super. Loved her genuine enthusiasm for the people and the place. A thoroughly memorable and lasting experience! We we caught in a torrential downpour, but we ducked into a unsuspecting restaurant and were generously received. That's Brooklyn for you!

Doing what: Local Flavors of Brooklyn Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We absolutely loved the tour! Not only was our tour guide, Karen, fabulous...... the the other members of our group were interesting and social. We thought the info presented was informative plus we enjoyed the anecdotes Karen shared about the Brooklyn area. Of course the food and drinks were outstanding...we were sorry that we ate a bagel in the neighborhood before the tour.....Warn the tour members to "come hungry!" Next time we are in NYC we will book the Brooklyn Bridge tour with Karen! Thanks for the charming intro to Brooklyn and inspiring us to become "locovores!" Sincerely, Eric and Volena from Rochester, NY

Doing what: Local Flavors of Brooklyn Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My friend and I have been going to NYC every year at the same time for 16 years. We do a good tour every year so have experienced many different tours, tour guides and companies. This guide and tour company was one of the best. We had a wonderful experience on this tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the area and had a great relationship with everyone on the tour. We received very personalized treatment from everyone. I wouldn't change a thing about our tour and highly recommend it! We will be back on another of their tours next year.

Doing what: Local Flavors of Brooklyn Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Natasha was an excellent guide.

Doing what: Local Flavors of Brooklyn Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Such a wonderful experience! We were late and assumed we had missed the whole experience, but when we arrived at the designated meeting place, they were still there chatting and enjoying the atmosphere of Stnky's Cheese! Thank you!! My first impression of Brooklyn -- "It's sooo quite". I felt like I was on a TV set. The neighborhoods are just like The Huxtables!. We walked to several family owned businesses - a pub, a cookie shop, a bakery. We had pork slidders where the sauce is made from scratch, and the coffee comes from the coffee bean roasting business on the next block. We went to the Italian pastry baker, got lemon drop cookies, and took them across the street to D'aminco's Foods and ate them with DAmico's fresh roasted coffee!! Where in the world can you buy food from one place, take it across the street to eat with their coffee?? Only in America - and Brooklyn. I loved this tour and would highly recommend it to everyone!

Doing what: Local Flavors of Brooklyn Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

the tour was excellent, we had a good time with Joe the tour guide. He was very informative and fun.

Doing what: Local Flavors of Brooklyn Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Tour guide was friendly and very knowledgeable. Business owners were hospitable and engaging. And the cuisine was outstanding. Definitely would recommend.

Doing what: Local Flavors of Brooklyn Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Excellent tour and outstanding guide. Brooklyn is a lively interlinked business community. The store proprietors are friendly and you get to find out about how their business came about. You also get to sample some nice things, Stynkey and One Girl Cookies are great. The tour company Urban Oyster are professional and would recommend them. We had great Saturday afternoon, getting back to New York was though was a bind. Don't bother with the subways, for us they did not work! This is nothing to do with the trip we would like to state...

Doing what: Local Flavors of Brooklyn Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Yippee we had Brian again on this tour. We had the most amazing toasted cheese sandwich ever at Stinky's and tasting our first egg cream at Farmacy was an experience we will never forget. A great way to see and hear about Brooklyn.

Doing what: Local Flavors of Brooklyn Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Yippee we had Brian again on this tour. We had the most amazing toasted cheese sandwich ever at Stinky's and tasting our first egg cream at Farmacy was an experience we will never forget. A great way to see and hear about Brooklyn.

Doing what: Local Flavors of Brooklyn Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Our tour guide, Alison was fantastic! She packed us with the history of city, food, and culture of Brooklyn. My friend who lives in Queens and works in Brooklyn didn't know many establishments we visited and appreciated the selection. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Local Flavors of Brooklyn Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Fantastic way to get to know the Brooklyn area. Small group size made for a more personable tour as well. Brian was knowledgeable and friendly. He took great care to make this tour a wonderful experience. All the entrepreneurs took time to make us feel special. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Local Flavors of Brooklyn Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Another tour that gave us a very special insight into Brooklyn life. We then ventured back a few more times to experience the food and drink of the areas we were taken . Loved Seersucker and Local 61.

Doing what: Local Flavors of Brooklyn Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

A great day! We had so much fun!!

Doing what: Local Flavors of Brooklyn Small-Group Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message