• USD ($)
  • English
A gracefully gentrified neighborhood in South Brooklyn, Carroll Gardens was originally considered part of more working-class Red Hook, just a few blocks to the south across the Brooklyn-Queens Expressway. First settled by Dutch farmers, then Irish, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 16 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My friend and I have been going to NYC every year at the same time for 16 years. We do a good tour every year so have experienced many different tours, tour guides and companies. This guide and tour company was one of the best. We had a wonderful experience on this tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the area and had a great relationship with everyone on the tour. We received very personalized treatment from everyone. I wouldn't change a thing about our tour and highly recommend it! We will be back on another of their tours next year.

Doing what: Local Flavors of Brooklyn Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Natasha was an excellent guide.

Doing what: Local Flavors of Brooklyn Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Such a wonderful experience! We were late and assumed we had missed the whole experience, but when we arrived at the designated meeting place, they were still there chatting and enjoying the atmosphere of Stnky's Cheese! Thank you!! My first impression of Brooklyn -- "It's sooo quite". I felt like I was on a TV set. The neighborhoods are just like The Huxtables!. We walked to several family owned businesses - a pub, a cookie shop, a bakery. We had pork slidders where the sauce is made from scratch, and the coffee comes from the coffee bean roasting business on the next block. We went to the Italian pastry baker, got lemon drop cookies, and took them across the street to D'aminco's Foods and ate them with DAmico's fresh roasted coffee!! Where in the world can you buy food from one place, take it across the street to eat with their coffee?? Only in America - and Brooklyn. I loved this tour and would highly recommend it to everyone!

Doing what: Local Flavors of Brooklyn Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

the tour was excellent, we had a good time with Joe the tour guide. He was very informative and fun.

Doing what: Local Flavors of Brooklyn Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Tour guide was friendly and very knowledgeable. Business owners were hospitable and engaging. And the cuisine was outstanding. Definitely would recommend.

Doing what: Local Flavors of Brooklyn Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Excellent tour and outstanding guide. Brooklyn is a lively interlinked business community. The store proprietors are friendly and you get to find out about how their business came about. You also get to sample some nice things, Stynkey and One Girl Cookies are great. The tour company Urban Oyster are professional and would recommend them. We had great Saturday afternoon, getting back to New York was though was a bind. Don't bother with the subways, for us they did not work! This is nothing to do with the trip we would like to state...

Doing what: Local Flavors of Brooklyn Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Yippee we had Brian again on this tour. We had the most amazing toasted cheese sandwich ever at Stinky's and tasting our first egg cream at Farmacy was an experience we will never forget. A great way to see and hear about Brooklyn.

Doing what: Local Flavors of Brooklyn Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Yippee we had Brian again on this tour. We had the most amazing toasted cheese sandwich ever at Stinky's and tasting our first egg cream at Farmacy was an experience we will never forget. A great way to see and hear about Brooklyn.

Doing what: Local Flavors of Brooklyn Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Our tour guide, Alison was fantastic! She packed us with the history of city, food, and culture of Brooklyn. My friend who lives in Queens and works in Brooklyn didn't know many establishments we visited and appreciated the selection. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Local Flavors of Brooklyn Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Fantastic way to get to know the Brooklyn area. Small group size made for a more personable tour as well. Brian was knowledgeable and friendly. He took great care to make this tour a wonderful experience. All the entrepreneurs took time to make us feel special. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Local Flavors of Brooklyn Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Another tour that gave us a very special insight into Brooklyn life. We then ventured back a few more times to experience the food and drink of the areas we were taken . Loved Seersucker and Local 61.

Doing what: Local Flavors of Brooklyn Small-Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

A great day! We had so much fun!!

Doing what: Local Flavors of Brooklyn Small-Group Walking Tour

Ivan A
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

We enjoyed this tour despite the rain. Brooklyn is a greta city to see and smell. the guide was great and the places visted werre all unique. It gave you a sense and feel of what foodies really like in Brooklyn. It allowed us to explore Brooklyn at a later date and time and not just food places.Yes and we found a decent coffee, something the Americans have no idea about other than flavoured milk in large containers. Alleuhia. definitely recommend.

Doing what: Local Flavors of Brooklyn Small-Group Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Great tour of the local food hang outs in Brooklyn - The store owners were very generous with their time and business experiences - Food overall was awesome -
Would like to have mixed a few more savoury hang outs and maybe micro brewery but great guide and highly recommend

Doing what: Local Flavors of Brooklyn Small-Group Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

The tour was excellent and good value for money. The places that we visited were good, the food was excellent. The tour guide is knowledgeable about the area. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Local Flavors of Brooklyn Small-Group Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message