The USA is largely a nation of immigrants, and no site underscores the fact more profoundly than Ellis Island. From 1892 to 1954 the island hosted the main immigration station for entry to America, processing more than 12 million third-class ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 104 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great tour. The local company responsible went over and above to help us connect with our tour group when the train we needed wasn't running that day. The guide Linda was fun, knowledgeable and warm. Recommend you upgrade to the Hard Hat Ellis Island Guided Tour. You're allowed into all of the buildings including the old hospital, morgue and autopsy room. Wear closed-toe shoes. You'll be walking among debris in some spots, some from age decay and some from Hurricane Sandy. Great way to get a more full picture of Ellis Island.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We can thoroughly recommend this tour and the Hard Hat Tour add on was absolutely fantastic and well worth doing if you get the chance. The guide for the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island portions of the tour was informative and friendly and the tour was well organised. We had sufficient time at each location to see everything we wanted to see. In the afternoon we did the Hard Hat Tour with a designated guide, who was again very informative. Being able to see the Ellis Island hospital as it was when it was abandoned was truly a privilege. This portion of the tour gave a real insight to what it was like for immigrants arriving on Ellis Island. I would say if you are unsure whether to go for the standard tour or the Hard Hat Tour then definitely go with the Hard Hat option. Not many people get the chance to go on this, so don't miss the opportunity - you don't know for how long it will run and for how long the building will be in a suitable state to be able to see inside it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island with Hard Hat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An incredible experience with Remy who knew his subjects and delivered them with a personal perspective without offending. Remy balanced the harrowing tour of the 9 11 memorial with sensitive anecdotes and also gave us time for personal reflection.
Together with the guided tour of Wall Street, Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island this tour is exceptional value for money and we unreservedly recommend it.
Remy is a star.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Overall a great way to experience your trip to the Statue of Liberty. Tom, our tour guide, was great and very patient with all our 7 and 9 year old questions. My only negative comment would be more guided time at Ellis island. It just felt like I wanted more information there. Great tour!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour!! My family of four enjoyed this educational and thorough visit to the Statue and Ellis Island. The tour was thorough, our tour guide was awesome, and the opportunity to explore the areas on our own in addition to the guided tour was perfect.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Experience included Wall Street tour, Liberty Island and Ellis Island visitation, plus 9/11 Memorial visit. Guide was most knowledgeable and provided good restaurant tips. The Wall Street info provided early NYC history and development of lower Manhattan. Tour was good value.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a fantastic tour! Tom, our guide was extremely knowledgeable, informative and fun. He kept everyone together and engaged with stories not just about the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island, but also about the history of the harbor and lower Manhattan in general. The tour was well organized, the views of Manhattan were amazing, and the history and information provided were fascinating. Highly recommended for first-time or returning visitors!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful tour with great attention to the needs of the group. We would have been lost without our guide, George . The whole experience was enhanced with his information and guidance. This was especially true for Ellis Island! The past seemed much closer with the details that he added. Bravo!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I've waited along time to see this Lady. Our tour guide, George was extremely informative and allowed plenty of time. The rain was a downer but what can you do? Ellis Island was way more than I expected but kinda pooped out and didn't see everything I wanted. Maybe put this on the tour first/

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a great time on this very interesting and moving tour. Statue of Liberty and Ellis island were amazing to visit and very interesting. It was good that you had time to enjoy this part in your own time, so no rush. Ferry over was quick and easy. A great view of the statue. Plenty of photo opportunities. We loved the 9/11 memorial tour which was both interesting and very humbling. Our tour guide Tom was brilliant, very funny, very interesting to listen too with his stories and info. We had a lot of fun, so a big Thank You to him.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

George was a great guide and had very interesting information to pass on to us. He answered all of our questions and I wish we could have taken him with us to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I loved this tour very much. It was very interesting and the history of Ellis Island is very special

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Our guide Nicole Kelly gave all the details whilst on the walking tour and then we were on our own visiting the Statue of Liberty Pedestal and Ellis Island. Highly recommend you include this tour in your intinerary.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I would highly recommend it. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. Gave us extra advice on things to visit. Having the tickets included in the tour for liberty and Ellis island had us bypassing big lines. It was worth the money. You will do walking so be prepared.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was great. Tickets were tough to come by but Viator was there for us. Our tour guide was great. Would highly recommend to anyone looking to see the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I have been to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island before, but I never learned as much and seen things that I missed before as I did on this tour. Tom was an excellent guide, very knowledable and answered all questions. He made it fun and educational. The Hard Hat tour at Ellis Island was fantastic

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island with Hard Hat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good Trip, Guides very patient and informative. The Hard Hat tour of Ellis Island was excellent, found out many interesting details. Tony, our guide, made the trip very intersting, he brought the island to life ! would recommend this to friends who visit NY in future.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island with Hard Hat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I liked the pace and the size of the tour group. Our guide was Rachael and she was great. Very interesting history of financial district/Wall St area. 9/11 area was very emotional and beautiful and I chose to not do the museum on this visit. You have a ticket then to do the Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island on your own. We went up to the pedestal...lots of steps...but got some great pics from there. We did not do the self-guided audio tour at either spot. Probably would have enhance the experience, but you get a little tour-overloaded after awhile.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A must see tour! Thie Statue of Liberty as thousands and thousands newly arrived immigrants would have first laid eyes on her. First hand accounts at Ellis Island and having the opportunity to "research" names made the trip even more memorable.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide George was incredible. Very engaging and passionate about what he does. We learned so much more about the history of Liberty and Ellis Islands than we would have if we went on our own. We highly recommend this tour and we highly recommend asking for George!!

Rick and Veronica, Chicago Illinois

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It was fun. Great background info. Enthusiastic tour guide. Wish we could have had more info about Ellis Island. But there were headsets available for free to do a self guided tour.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Enjoyed the tour of the financial district and memorial. Allie did a fine job. Liberty Island and Ellis Island were quite neat and the history learned was compelling.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Amazing tour! Highly recommended even for those who have been to Ellis Island before. This should not be missed!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island with Hard Hat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Have just returned from New York having really enjoyed this tour. Remy and Nicole were superb guides and very informative. The 9/11 memorial was so wonderful to see. Since I visited in 2010 the Memorial fountains and museum have been built. What a moving and wonderful place to visit. Really enjoyed Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island too. You must do this tour. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was fantastic! Our guide Tom was extremely knowledgeable, informative and fun. He kept everyone engaged with stories not just about the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island, but also about the history of the harbor and lower Manhattan in general. He was also really great with kids - there were three on the tour, including my 8-year-old son, who had a blast. The tour was well organized, the views of Manhattan were amazing, and the history and information provided were fascinating. Highly recommended for first-time or returning visitors!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message