The USA is largely a nation of immigrants, and no site underscores the fact more profoundly than Ellis Island. From 1892 to 1954 the island hosted the main immigration station for entry to America, processing more than 12 million third-class ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 172 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Leah USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We would highly recommend this walking tour and we have been coming to new York city for years and never have seen as much as we did with this tour. We are so glad that we found this tour. Give your self plenty of time to see everything-especially at Ellis Island. We went there years ago, but they continue to improve and change the exposition. Thank you for taking such good care of us.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

neale a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was excellently and expertly guided by Rachel. It was very insightful and entertaining, with many funny anecdotes. From the financial district and the beautiful Federal Building, to the thoughtful remembrance of the World Trade Centre and the incredible new buildings on its site. We were given valuable guidance at all stages and great advice for the subsequent trip over to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. We could not have wished for a better guide than Rachel and she felt like a friend by the end of the trip. We also subsequently did several things based on her recommendations which we were well worthwhile.
It was also excellent value and the tour description did not really do it justice.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

Dezzy United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was brilliant! I didn and #39;t expect what we got, made our way to Clinton castle, there waited Tom, tall guy, pony tail and glasses. He was polite and very knowledgeable, he taught me and my gf a lot about Statue of Liberty and Ellis island. Felt like I was on a school trip - I loved it!! Thanks Tom!!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Steven eunerine s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

very informative tour guide, explaining about wall street and 9/11 memorial side... and very flexible timing to browse and see the Liberty and Ellis Island... very recommended as your first day trip to New York.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

Keith F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour was very enjoyable. Our tour guide was quite knowledgeable and shared a lot of information about the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island that we would not have know about if we didn't take this tour.
He also was a native New Yorker and had a lot of interesting things to add about New York in general.
Great tour!!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Nicie J T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Loved this tour. had a great time visiting the statue of Liberty, and Ellis Island. The boat was nice and clean.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

Nina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We did this our early October. We had Geoff as our guide and he was amazing, not to mention very patient and understanding as we were running late due to the uber ride from hell lol.

Geoff provided us with a very informative tour with tonnes of local knowledge. We loved the ferry ride over there , seeing the Manhattan skyline, New Jersey etc. Geoff even showed us wear to stand on the boat to get the best photos, helped take photos when we got to Liberty Island. Guided us with the museum when we got to Liberty Island, helped us take photos and we walked up into the pedestal to get an even better view. We also did an Ellis Island tour which was really good and I can't wait to go back to spend more time there. You are able to walk around Ellis Island unguided as this is where the tour ends for the Statue of Liberty tour but we had to leave early to go to a 9/11 walking tour. We can't thank Geoff enough for all the help and local knowledge he gave us. Talk to your guides they are the best source of local information!

We also did the 9/11 walking tour this day, I wouldn't recommend doing all of this in one day unless you're short on time. It was a long afternoon, informative but it was quite long and seemed to take a while to get to the actual 9/11 memorial site. We did see lots of New York though and hear lots of stories from our guide another Geoff in a coat and top hat

We really enjoyed this day though and would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour Including Pedestal Access, Lower Manhattan Sightseeing and 9/11 Museum Entry

Brigid B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our tour was outstanding. I live in the area and had been to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island many times. We had a visitor and all the general tickets were sold out. I decided to book the tour because it was the only day we could go. I was so glad! The guide taught me so much that I would recommend that even locals should take this tour!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Jon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Loved this tour! We've been to NYC several times and every time the Statue was closed. So glad we finally got to see her. We also enjoyed the Ellis Island and the Hard Hat Tour was probably my favorite part of the tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island with Hard Hat Tour

Kenneth F. J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We greatly enjoyed our tour. Our tour guide, Rachel, was very good and attentive to the tour members needs. We gained a lot of knowledge about the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Julie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tom was our guide and he made the trip awesome as he had a terrific book and told many stories surrounding the statue and ellis island. Would recommend this trip to anyone!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Julia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a great time!! We learned so much about both Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty!!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Waller T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Brad, our guide, did an excellent job of providing us great information about the financial district and the 9/11 Memorial. He was very engaging, and very warm and friendly to my 11-year old grandson. He also gave us some great tips about visiting the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. I would definitely give the tour a big thumbs-up.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

Jessica S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I had a great day on Liberty Island and Ellis Island. Lovely weather, very friendly people in the group of visitors and a perfect tour guide, Georges.
From there I take back home a lot of wonderfull pictures and rememberings including some group pictures taken by Georges. I learned a lot about NY and the surrounding, about the people and the whole history around it. We can feal what the immigrants made through on Ellis Island and what it means when you look onto the Statue of Liberty.
Thanks to you for the tour, especially to Georges.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island with Hard Hat Tour

Andrew S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Informative tour of Wall St, Trinity Church, Ground Zero and a boat trip to both Liberty and Ellis Islands. Brad, the guide, was very knowledgeable and was excellent in his delivery.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

Stephen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Really enjoyed this trip, to actually see the statue rather than just in films or on TV was great. Ellis Island very interesting. Our guide, George, was very informative and whole tour was excellent.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

M. C. M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tom Schilkie, tall guy with ponytail, proved to be a welcoming, friendly and informative guide from our first meeting at Clinton Fort, Battery Park through the tour of Liberty and Ellis Island. The group was an international mix and Tom directed us all in a courteous and efficient manner. Take Five Tom!
Mags Moran, Dublin Ireland.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Stuart J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This is a worthwhile tour. Tom, our guide, looked after U.S. Very well and provided a lot of historical information about Battery Park, the Statue of Liberty and. Ellis Island.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Fiona R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

this was a great tour with an excellent guide and interesting sights and information. The 9/11 Memorial was amazing and very special, and it was great to see the Statue of Liberty up close, climb the pedestal and visit Ellis Island with its fascinating history. It was a full day but very worthwhile, especially if you have a limited time in New York.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

Bridget V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wonderful tour. Guide was friendly and knowledgable. Loved the hard hat tour and that glimpse into the history of the Ellis Island hospital.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island with Hard Hat Tour

Robert C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This really was excellent from the start to the finish. Knowledgeable and personable guide Mike M made the day seamless and we loved every minute. The sights from the ferry trip were staggering. Next time we would be tempted to have longer at Ellis Island but enough time there for part of a whole day package. Mike personalised sights and the city to make impressions far more vivid, and helped make the afternoon 9-11 Memorial visit particularly interesting and poignant

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour Including Pedestal Access, Lower Manhattan Sightseeing and 9/11 Museum Entry

tracy d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Brilliant day, Rachel our tour guide was excellent, knowledgeable, funny and keen to speak and learn about the tourists. No issues with queues, weather great and both the statute is liberty and Ellis island are a must to visit.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

elena m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

our guide, Nicole, was so informative! really adds dimension to the ellis island/liberty island experience. My one suggestion: I had loafers on, would really recommend trail shoes for the hard hat portion. Lots of waling and standing.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island with Hard Hat Tour

Carol L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great combination of tours! Nicole Kelly was a terrific guide. With her background in theater and history she was able to share some great facts and information about the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. This early morning package was able to beat the crowds at both locations. Would recommend this package to anyone who has a short time in New York. Thank you Nicole!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Sharon P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Loved the tour of the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island, also the ride on the ferry was great. The instructions on where to meet Tom, our tour guide were right on, he was early. He made the tour excellent and fun. He gave us time to shop for souvenirs, which was important to me.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message