The USA is largely a nation of immigrants, and no site underscores the fact more profoundly than Ellis Island. From 1892 to 1954 the island hosted the main immigration station for entry to America, processing more than 12 million third-class ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 118 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide Jared was awesome. Our whole family went to this tour. Both my parents do not speak English, and my mom walks a bit slow due to some leg problem. Jared noticed this from very early, and always pay additional attention to us. He tries to make sure my parent were comfortable. He certainly know a hell lot about Status of Liberty and the history of Ellis Island. Every time he talks, he leave me one or two minutes to translate what he said to my parents. My dad said this was the best tour he had during his time in the states. I highly recommend.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Rob, our tour guide, was excellent. He made history come alive. Even our children were interested. I liked how he included his own research into his family history when they came to Ellis Island. Would recommend him highly. Very knowledgeable and made everyone feel comfortable.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour Including Pedestal Access, Lower Manhattan Sightseeing and One World Observatory

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I bought this tour to see the Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island/and 9-11 Memorial. What I did not expect was to enjoy the the walking tour on the city the best. The tour guides stopped at 10-12 smaller destinations and gave really good information. By far an amazing tour and well worth the money!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was great! It hit all the important spots and was very informative. I would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to visit the Statue of Liberty, Ellis Island and the 911 Memorial.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour! Very informative and our tour guide Nichole was awesome. She was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and very friendly. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone, but be prepared to WALK. It was a long day, especially for our 9 yr. old. By the end of the tour, we were very tired. By the time we got to Ellis Island, we were only able to see a brief overview. Ellis Island had an overwhelming amount of information. I would suggest spending a separate day to see that. The ferry boarding on the return trip took a very long time, due to the long lines. Overall, it was a great way to see all the important sites in NYC!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved this tour! I was hesitant to sign up for a guided tour believing that all I needed to know would be written/displayed at the Statue/Ellis Island...NOT so! Our tour guide, Jared was amazing! He gave us a lot of info that we wouldn't have known/seen at the exhibits. There was plenty of time to do your own exploring afterwards. He really helped us navigate the areas so that we would make the most of our time. Money well spent! Make sure when you meet up for the the tour, you go to Battery Park by the Ferry's, not Battery Park City...Otherwise you will have to high tail it south...its a 17 min walk c

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

For the money this was one of the best tours we have ever been on in our travel days. Tony was our tour guide for the morning portion of the World Trade Center and Wall Street. He was so knowledgeable and interesting we could have spent the whole day with him. The Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island portions of our tour were very moving.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Awesome, my 10-yr old and I both were enlightened by our guide Remy. Remy was a wealth of knowledge as we as entertaining, best of luck in his future! We are normally NOT organized tour people however, I'd highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to get a taste of Wall St/911 Memorial and the Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island. We'll be using Viator for tours on future trips to NYC.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide Nicole was extremely knowledgable and made the entire experience of meeting Lady Liberty and viewing Ellis Island interesting and fun.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great tour and our guide, Tom, was very knowledgeable. He shared his own personal experiences in the city along with facts about things we saw along the way. The Hard Hat Tour on Ellis Island is a must see!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island with Hard Hat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

More than I expected. Good lunch at Ellis Island.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great tour. We were able to see things that we had only heard of before. The Ellis Island tour should have been done on a different day to be able to fully take advantage of it. Everyone should see these two landmarks.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a wonderful tour and I would highly recommend it. Our guide, Jeff, was full of information at each site. I took my grandsons to New York and on this tour we did, Statute of Liberty, Ellis Island and the 911 Memorial.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour Including Pedestal Access, Lower Manhattan Sightseeing and 9/11 Museum Entry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great tour. The local company responsible went over and above to help us connect with our tour group when the train we needed wasn't running that day. The guide Linda was fun, knowledgeable and warm. Recommend you upgrade to the Hard Hat Ellis Island Guided Tour. You're allowed into all of the buildings including the old hospital, morgue and autopsy room. Wear closed-toe shoes. You'll be walking among debris in some spots, some from age decay and some from Hurricane Sandy. Great way to get a more full picture of Ellis Island.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We can thoroughly recommend this tour and the Hard Hat Tour add on was absolutely fantastic and well worth doing if you get the chance. The guide for the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island portions of the tour was informative and friendly and the tour was well organised. We had sufficient time at each location to see everything we wanted to see. In the afternoon we did the Hard Hat Tour with a designated guide, who was again very informative. Being able to see the Ellis Island hospital as it was when it was abandoned was truly a privilege. This portion of the tour gave a real insight to what it was like for immigrants arriving on Ellis Island. I would say if you are unsure whether to go for the standard tour or the Hard Hat Tour then definitely go with the Hard Hat option. Not many people get the chance to go on this, so don't miss the opportunity - you don't know for how long it will run and for how long the building will be in a suitable state to be able to see inside it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island with Hard Hat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An incredible experience with Remy who knew his subjects and delivered them with a personal perspective without offending. Remy balanced the harrowing tour of the 9 11 memorial with sensitive anecdotes and also gave us time for personal reflection.
Together with the guided tour of Wall Street, Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island this tour is exceptional value for money and we unreservedly recommend it.
Remy is a star.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Overall a great way to experience your trip to the Statue of Liberty. Tom, our tour guide, was great and very patient with all our 7 and 9 year old questions. My only negative comment would be more guided time at Ellis island. It just felt like I wanted more information there. Great tour!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour!! My family of four enjoyed this educational and thorough visit to the Statue and Ellis Island. The tour was thorough, our tour guide was awesome, and the opportunity to explore the areas on our own in addition to the guided tour was perfect.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Experience included Wall Street tour, Liberty Island and Ellis Island visitation, plus 9/11 Memorial visit. Guide was most knowledgeable and provided good restaurant tips. The Wall Street info provided early NYC history and development of lower Manhattan. Tour was good value.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a fantastic tour! Tom, our guide was extremely knowledgeable, informative and fun. He kept everyone together and engaged with stories not just about the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island, but also about the history of the harbor and lower Manhattan in general. The tour was well organized, the views of Manhattan were amazing, and the history and information provided were fascinating. Highly recommended for first-time or returning visitors!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful tour with great attention to the needs of the group. We would have been lost without our guide, George . The whole experience was enhanced with his information and guidance. This was especially true for Ellis Island! The past seemed much closer with the details that he added. Bravo!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I've waited along time to see this Lady. Our tour guide, George was extremely informative and allowed plenty of time. The rain was a downer but what can you do? Ellis Island was way more than I expected but kinda pooped out and didn't see everything I wanted. Maybe put this on the tour first/

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a great time on this very interesting and moving tour. Statue of Liberty and Ellis island were amazing to visit and very interesting. It was good that you had time to enjoy this part in your own time, so no rush. Ferry over was quick and easy. A great view of the statue. Plenty of photo opportunities. We loved the 9/11 memorial tour which was both interesting and very humbling. Our tour guide Tom was brilliant, very funny, very interesting to listen too with his stories and info. We had a lot of fun, so a big Thank You to him.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

George was a great guide and had very interesting information to pass on to us. He answered all of our questions and I wish we could have taken him with us to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I loved this tour very much. It was very interesting and the history of Ellis Island is very special

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message