The USA is largely a nation of immigrants, and no site underscores the fact more profoundly than Ellis Island. From 1892 to 1954 the island hosted the main immigration station for entry to America, processing more than 12 million third-class ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 224 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Yvette O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic day tour of the Statue of Liberty, Ellis Island, Lower Manhattan including St Paul's Chapel, 9/11 memorial and surrounding areas. Our tour guide Uncle Jeffrey was fantastic. Uncle Jeffrey was very knowledgable about history of New York and the many places we visited throughout the day and ensured the tour group was together at all times all the while having a great sense of humour. The weather on the day was fantastic weather and the views from the pedestal level of the Statue of Liberty were breathtaking. The afternoon tour around St Paul's Chapel and the 9/11 memorial and ending at One World Tower was fantastic. The views from the One World Tower are stunning. I would highly recommend this tour and our tour guide Uncle Jeffrey for anyone wanting to visit these sites in New York. You will have truly memorial day on this tour.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour Including Pedestal Access, Lower Manhattan Sightseeing and One World Observatory

rkmfraser USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. Our excellent guide Brad was very personable while giving our small group really interesting facts about the buildings surrounding Wall Street. At the end he took us to the line that boards the Statue Ferry. The Statue of Liberty is a must see when you go to New York. She's such a wonder to see in person. The ferry then takes you to Ellis Island. The Park service has done a great job creating a place to explore how immigrants came and why they still come to this country.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

Susan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very enjoyable and informative tour. Early start but this turned out to be well worth it because we had a peaceful time on Liberty Island before it got crowded. Rachel, our tour guide, made the museum tour interesting and fun and we were able to climb to the top of the statue base. The Ellis Island immigration building was beautiful and the hard hat tour atmospheric. Rachel and John must have done a good job because I remember everything we were told 3 months later. This tour was well worth booking in advance - I was visiting from the UK with my daughter and granddaughters aged 20 and 15 - and I doubt we would have got round to sorting this trip once we were in NYC.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island with Hard Hat Tour

Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was great. The tour guide Remi was so knowledgeable about the area of Wall Street, broad Street and 911. To see the statue of liberty close up is breathtaking and so surreal. Ellis island was also good to see. The boat rides there and back were also so relaxing on what was a very warm day.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

Joseph S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tom the guide was outstanding with his knowledge and patience answering questions. It was not a large group but he managed to get us around the huge crowds that day and into the attractions. He has an affable personalty and knows much factual information about NYC , Ellis Is. and the Statue of Liberty. Very enjoyable time well spent!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Jorge G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. Would recommend to anyone who wants to learn several amazing historical facts about Lady Liberty and Ellis Island.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Eleonora D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour, takes about 4 hours without considering spending time after in Ellis island outside of the tour. Great to start early to avoid lines. Our guide was the best, Tommy did a great job on keeping us engaged, highly knowledgeable but also sharing stories. My 10 and 7 year old boys loved it!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Jennie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful vip tour for the statue of liberty and Ellis island. Very informative and worth the tour guide with Remy, he was awesome and made it fun. Glad we booked this for our nyc trip.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Anand M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

John was awesome. He provided a lot of history about the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. And this is what made it so entertaining and insightful. Worth the money. Kids Enjoyed and so did we. He also knowledgeable about the New York which helped me get a sense of what New York was about. Worth the money.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

manwen t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Hard hat tour is very cool, it's the best part of the tour!!!!!!!
They take you to unopened buildings on Ellis island where visitors can't go and you get to know the history and mystery of it.
And the view from there is fascinating, you can take wonderful photos without lots of ppl in it.
The important thing is, the money you paid for hard hat tour goes to restoration of the building, which is very meaningful!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island with Hard Hat Tour

Ray B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was well run from beginning to end. Tom, our guide, has a head full of facts and anecdotes that make both the statue and Ellis Island truly come to life. His narrative was always audible and he answered every question cheerfully. It is a very active tour, and involves lots of walking, so you get some exercise as well. Very much recommended.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Linda K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Bobby the tour guide did an outstanding job, from the beginning when met us at Clinton Hall until the very end of the tour at Ellis Island. He was informative answered all questions and was very professional. Great Job Bobby.
Stuart Kryshka

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

vwms217

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If this is your first visit to New York with limited time this is a wonderful tour. We saw and learned more than we could have learned on our own. Our Tour guide Uncle Jeffery was fantastic. He was knowledgeable, had tons of historical facts and had a good sense of humor. He really cared a lot about every one on the tour. I was really impressed how companioned he was. Some people that was not on the tour would ask him for information, he was so helpful.
The ride to Lady Liberty was breath taking as we got closer on the boat, if this was your first time seeing her. I learned so much from our guide. On to Ellis island was very exciting. Uncle Jeffery told us a lot of history that was interesting and sadden.
Our afternoon trip was just as exciting. I rode the subway to St Paul Chapel with Uncle Jeffery assistance. I never would of done it on my own. I really enjoyed The One World Observatory. I thought I was going to get bored with this trip when I first booked it, but it was by far my best tour yet, thanks to my guide.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Tour Including Pedestal Access, Lower Manhattan Sightseeing and One World Observatory

Maxine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Despite the rain, we had such a great experience. This is the perfect way to Explore the Statue and Ellis Island. Our guide Tommy was absolutely full of knowledge and energy and made the tour so very interesting and fun!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Ann D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic Tour
Our tour guide was excellent very helpful and had a vast amount of knowledge to tell us about the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island.
we would highly recommend him and the tour.
well done Tom

Ann and Martin - Sheffield England

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Mja J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour. have been to NY a few times before but never visited Ellis Island. Impressive. Our tour guide Rachel McKinney was super, she made it special with her stories.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Peter R Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a really great way to see the Statue and Ellis island. We were in a small crowd, which we appreciated. Tommy, our guide, was excellent. He was informative, kept the group together and made sure all the logistics were clear to us. He herded us through the rest of the crowds and made sure our vantage points for photos and views were spot on.

Tommy handed us over to the hard hat guide smoothly and this was also an excellent experience. It was another great way to appreciate the background and history of the place. Would recommend as a preferred way to see the Liberty Statue and Ellis Island.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island with Hard Hat Tour

Dave M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We were very pleased with our tour of the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. Our guide Linda did a great of mixing history, general information and humor in her presentation. We have take several tours on our trips across North America and Europe and this was by far one of if not the best and most enjoyable tours we have completed. We would highly recommend this to any one that hasn't seen the Statue of Liberty up close. Well done Linda.
Dave M.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Emmajean Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour! We learned so much about the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. Bobby was knowledgeable and entertaining!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Kylie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour and awesome tour leader. The behind the scenes hardhat tour on Ellis Island is so interesting and well worth the effort.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island with Hard Hat Tour

milly7918

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Tommy was a great guide. He shared excellent information about both the Statue and Ellis Island. Our group of five people enjoyed the tour even in the rain!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

DAWN W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed this trip - our guide Rachel was amazing, very knowledgeable, good fun and also very considerate with all members of the group. There are 198 steps to up the base of the Statue of Liberty but there is a lift which can be used for the less able. Even with the lift though there are still another 24 steps to walk so please bear that in mind when booking. Ellis Island was so interesting and Rachel encouraged anyone with stories of their ancestors to share them with the group. This is a second tour with Viator and it definitely won't be our last!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

ruth.dowdall

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a great way to see the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island and actually find out a bit about the the ides behind the conception of the statue as well as the history of immigrants arriving into America. Tommy our guide was a genuine pleasure to spend the morning with and was extremely friendly, welcoming, and not least interesting. He did a really good job at getting us from the dock to the boat and off again which he had to do twice amongst crowds of people - all the time we felt very much looked after by him. All in all, couldn't think of a better way to experience this must see attraction.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Georgia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was my first time visiting the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. I was traveling with my 12 year old son, and I'm so happy that I booked the guided tour with Viator. Tom, our tour guide, was very informative and pleasant throughout the tour. My son was also very captivated by the whole experience.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We were met inside Castle Clinton by our tour guide Rachael - if you are asking for directions to get here or getting a town car ask for Battery Park as most people don't seem to know Castle Clinton. We got the ferry to Liberty Island where we were given a tour of the museum before we climbed the 192 steps to the pedestal if you can't manage the steps there is a lift that takes you up to the final 25 steps. They only allow 3000 people into the pedestal per day, which may sound a lot but when you consider how many tourists visit its not many at all, so definitely worth pre-booking only 300 are allowed in the crown per day.

From the pedestal you are right at the feet of Lady Liberty and the views of NY are absolutely amazing. We were given time to grab a coffee and use the facilities before getting the ferry to Ellis island.

Rachael gave us a tour of the immigration building before handing us over to John for the hard hat tour of the abandoned hospital. John was a fantastic guide, very informative with a good sense of humour. This tour also has limited daily access and has only been open since late 2014, so we felt quite privileged to be part of it. This part of the tour is fascination and the artwork is incredible, All in all a great day.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island with Hard Hat Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message