The USA is largely a nation of immigrants, and no site underscores the fact more profoundly than Ellis Island. From 1892 to 1954 the island hosted the main immigration station for entry to America, processing more than 12 million third-class ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 204 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mja J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour. have been to NY a few times before but never visited Ellis Island. Impressive. Our tour guide Rachel McKinney was super, she made it special with her stories.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Peter R Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a really great way to see the Statue and Ellis island. We were in a small crowd, which we appreciated. Tommy, our guide, was excellent. He was informative, kept the group together and made sure all the logistics were clear to us. He herded us through the rest of the crowds and made sure our vantage points for photos and views were spot on.

Tommy handed us over to the hard hat guide smoothly and this was also an excellent experience. It was another great way to appreciate the background and history of the place. Would recommend as a preferred way to see the Liberty Statue and Ellis Island.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island with Hard Hat Tour

Dave M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We were very pleased with our tour of the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. Our guide Linda did a great of mixing history, general information and humor in her presentation. We have take several tours on our trips across North America and Europe and this was by far one of if not the best and most enjoyable tours we have completed. We would highly recommend this to any one that hasn't seen the Statue of Liberty up close. Well done Linda.
Dave M.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Emmajean Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour! We learned so much about the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. Bobby was knowledgeable and entertaining!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Kylie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour and awesome tour leader. The behind the scenes hardhat tour on Ellis Island is so interesting and well worth the effort.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island with Hard Hat Tour

milly7918

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Tommy was a great guide. He shared excellent information about both the Statue and Ellis Island. Our group of five people enjoyed the tour even in the rain!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

DAWN W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed this trip - our guide Rachel was amazing, very knowledgeable, good fun and also very considerate with all members of the group. There are 198 steps to up the base of the Statue of Liberty but there is a lift which can be used for the less able. Even with the lift though there are still another 24 steps to walk so please bear that in mind when booking. Ellis Island was so interesting and Rachel encouraged anyone with stories of their ancestors to share them with the group. This is a second tour with Viator and it definitely won't be our last!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

ruth.dowdall

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a great way to see the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island and actually find out a bit about the the ides behind the conception of the statue as well as the history of immigrants arriving into America. Tommy our guide was a genuine pleasure to spend the morning with and was extremely friendly, welcoming, and not least interesting. He did a really good job at getting us from the dock to the boat and off again which he had to do twice amongst crowds of people - all the time we felt very much looked after by him. All in all, couldn't think of a better way to experience this must see attraction.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Georgia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was my first time visiting the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. I was traveling with my 12 year old son, and I'm so happy that I booked the guided tour with Viator. Tom, our tour guide, was very informative and pleasant throughout the tour. My son was also very captivated by the whole experience.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We were met inside Castle Clinton by our tour guide Rachael - if you are asking for directions to get here or getting a town car ask for Battery Park as most people don't seem to know Castle Clinton. We got the ferry to Liberty Island where we were given a tour of the museum before we climbed the 192 steps to the pedestal if you can't manage the steps there is a lift that takes you up to the final 25 steps. They only allow 3000 people into the pedestal per day, which may sound a lot but when you consider how many tourists visit its not many at all, so definitely worth pre-booking only 300 are allowed in the crown per day.

From the pedestal you are right at the feet of Lady Liberty and the views of NY are absolutely amazing. We were given time to grab a coffee and use the facilities before getting the ferry to Ellis island.

Rachael gave us a tour of the immigration building before handing us over to John for the hard hat tour of the abandoned hospital. John was a fantastic guide, very informative with a good sense of humour. This tour also has limited daily access and has only been open since late 2014, so we felt quite privileged to be part of it. This part of the tour is fascination and the artwork is incredible, All in all a great day.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island with Hard Hat Tour

S.P. K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Make sure you get Rachel for this trip! She is so enthusiastic and knows a lot about the statue and Ellis Island. And thanks to her we now enjoy wonderful pictures at home!!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Timothy N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really enjoyed tour, helped no end by our great tour guide - Bobby. He certainly knows the interesting facts about both locations, along with some personal history regarding some of his family who came through Ellis Island, when they emigrated to the US. This guide knows how to keep you focused and injects humour into his speeches!

On a safety point he looked after the group of 22 well, checking regularly that we were all still with him and clearly directing us to each meeting point throughout the tour, I would highly recommend this tour and guide.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Jonathan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My family and I really enjoyed this tour. Even though it was a cool day with a steady rain, it was still good. Definitely worth it. Plus, it's a good way to score tickets to the statue of liberty and Ellis Island last minute since they are part of the package.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

Christopher K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour Guide Bobby was awesome. He answered every question in the spot and taught me so much more about Mrs. Liberty and Ellis Island. Very touching and sincere. He actually put me back in time and helped us all experience life back then. So glad I booked through you guys. Can't wait to do it again.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Catherine J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Didn't realize the walking part through Wall Street and the 911 Memorial were a big part of the time. Finally got on the ferry to go to the Statue of Liberty, we were able to spend as much time or as little time at the Statue. The same was true for Ellis Island. Nice to have that option.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

Caroline M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This walking tour of Wall Streeet, 9/11, Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island was superb from beginning to end. The only criticism I would make is that, having met at 8.50am in Broad Street, I don't really understand why we had nearly 2 hrs hanging around Battery Park before we could use our reserved ferry tickets at 1.30. This meant we were hurried on Ellis Island and had to leave before we'd seen everything in order to get the last ferry.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

Anne O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved our tour with Bobby of the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. He was funny, warm and very knowledgeable. We would definitely take another tour with Bobby and hope he will be our host for the two-hour walking tour of Greenwich Village when we book it.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Robin N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Everything with the exception of the Statue of Liberty is available to see with out a tour or additional cost. However you would have no idea about the events that took place that shaped American history. We had an exceptional tour guide, very polite, knowledgeable, and patient. This tour also gets you tickets to the express line to visit the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. Well worth the cost of the Tour, and including all the information and sites that we were included in the walking tour, we felt it to be an exceptional experience.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

lolisa c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Awesome way to see the statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. Linda was our tour guide. she was very knowledgeable, fun, and energetic. she got down on the ground to take a great picture of us in front of the statue. both sites were amazing. we met at 8:30 - perfect - we missed all the long lines. would do it again!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

cipscott

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We took this tour and Tom the guide was incredibly entertaining and informative as he told us the history of Battery Park and Ellis Island. For anyone who has an ancestor who came through, this is a must. Then the tour of the hospital by a park volunteer is almost like a ghost tour. This is for people who have a sense of immigrant history. One of the highlights of our trip.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island with Hard Hat Tour

Oliver W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Would thoroughly recommend this tour - especially liked the hard hat tour on Ellis, a rare chance to see the other side of the island!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island with Hard Hat Tour

Kurt Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

On FEB the 29th. 2016 my wife and I we had the most interesting tour we have ever done. Tom our Tour Guide is very knowledgeable not just about the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island he also told us many interesting thing about Manhattan Island and the NYC harbor. We did have a wonderful tour and enjoyed every minute of it.
Thank You Tom
Kurt and Marlise

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Donna H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I highly recommend this tour to learn about the experience of immigrants who came through Ellis Island and saw The Lady as a symbol of freedom. Rachel, our tour guide was outstanding! It was cold, windy and snowing a bit, but Rachel's positive attitude and fabulous insights made us forget about the weather. I loved how she asked those on the tour if they had relatives come to the US through Ellis Island and share their stories - several did and it truly made history come alive. Thanks to Rachel for a memorable morning!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Adrianna L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A wonderful time on the tour- we started getting interesting information about the city of New York before we even got on the ferry... then a guided tour through the Statue and Ellis Island allowed for a personal and interactive historical experience. Would definitely recommend to others!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Michele F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Awesome trip to Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty. Our tour guide was very personable and a wonderful story- teller with a wealth of knowledge . I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message