The USA is largely a nation of immigrants, and no site underscores the fact more profoundly than Ellis Island. From 1892 to 1954 the island hosted the main immigration station for entry to America, processing more than 12 million third-class ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 68 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Despite Subway faults and chilly weather, we managed to arrive on time and our guides (who obviously had the same issues to deal with) were there waiting for us. Even though we were a small group, we ended up with TWO guides! Rachel M and Linda were both great hosts and kept up the energy and non-stop facts throughout.

Although the subject matter of 9/11 may be a little dour for some, our guides kept things respectful without bringing the mood down and explained the decisions behind this fascinating memorial. They both also shared personal stories which helped bring home the human element and made this tour even more memorable.

I would certainly recommend this tour as it will give you an insight into the financial district, a new perspective on 9/11 and the Liberty and Ellis island aspects of the tour can be done at your leisure.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

irishgirl8191
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The guides were informative and entertaining. I would recommend this tour. Only bummer part was we didn't have time to go to Ellis Island, only got to the statue. But other than that, great tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a highlight of our trip to NYC. The tour was amazing, informative and pleasant. Remy, our guide was fantastic!!! Funny and informative. We arrived a bit late, but a phone call and a quick walk and we joined the group. They had already called looking for us and made joing in easy. the 9/11 Memorial was awe inspiring and the tour was excellent. Despite it being 33 degrees we loved the tour. Added at the end was the trip to Ellis Island and the Statue. Tickets to the boat were VIP and easy. The trip was great and we loved the whole experience.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

Jess G
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour guide, Rachel M, made this tour awesome. She was very warm, welcoming and animated in her telling of the stories and facts about Wall Street. You could really sense she loves being in New York and that made her more loveable!

The meeting place was easy to get to and easy to spot, near the New York Stock Exchange. We first went to where the original "Wall" foundations were, and was shown the marks left on a building wall by the first terrorist attack in the city, was shown around Federal Hall and then we went to Trinity Church then walked around 9/11 Memorial. We were told anecdotes about key some key people instrumental to the success/progress of Wall Street and the city. The bathroom breaks were adequate and we were not at all rushed. We went our separate ways upon entering the screening area for the State Cruises.

This tour is worth-it not only because of the walking tour but because of the pedestal access ticket. Keep in mind that once you get to Liberty Island, you can roam around in the grounds and follow the audio guide and spend time indoors in the museum then head up to the pedestal. Allot at least a whole day for this tour to really appreciate it. I think the pedestal access made it special because not all can enter the pedestal. If you are physically able to climb stairs, I recommend that you actually climb up 125 or so steps. You can rest in between landings and just take your time. The view from the pedestal is great. Plus, you can snap a different view of Lady Liberty, up close!

When you're booking, check weather forecasts frequently as your booking date nears. On my tour date, I was aware it was going to rain and snow later in the afternoon. The snow came a little early than I anticipated from the forecast. By around 3pm, I was wet, cold and kind of tired because of the weather. I chose not to go to Ellis Island anymore. But I was really glad I took this tour! I just had some bad luck with the weather!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour around the Financial District and to 9/11 Memorial. Our guide (Remmy) provided plenty of information, history, answered all our questions, all with a fantastic sense of humour. We booked this tour for Day1 of our New York weekend and found it a great combination. The trip over to the Statue or Liberty and Ellis Island is a must. Views of the city from the ferry/island amazing. Remmy had organised the ferry/entry tickets and we could skip the line (always a plus!).

Thoroughly recommend this tour and the tour guide.

BTW - We popped back to see inside the 911 museum another day. I'm glad we did it that way.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an amazing day and our guide was very passionate and informative. She made us feel what it would have been like in the early days of New York. The visit to the 9/11 Memorial was almost surreal. We feel that the monument has been very tastefully done and that it is a peaceful place for reflection. We liked the fact that a white carnation is placed on the memorial of each person on their birthday. Our visit to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island was also most enjoyable and we gained an insight to how the early New Yorkers lived and worked.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

9/11 Memorial was amazing and our tour guide gave us a lot of information of what happened on the day and how now all are remembered. A very moving part of the tour. Statue of Liberty great, had our own time to wander on our own and catch the ferry back when we wanted. Also stopped and had a quick look at Ellis Island and were able to check records to see if there were any family connections. Good day out.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Remy was just full of interesting facts and background information. His love of the city's history was so apparent in his presentation. He allowed us just the right amount of time each place we stopped. Our time was limited because of being on a cruise ship so we weren't able to take full advantage of the time at the Statue of Liberty and we weren't able to visit Ellis Island at all.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

My wife and I found the tour excellent. Our guide Remi was superb providing information and humour as we went on our walk around the Financial District to 9/11 Memorial. Do not be put off by the walk, it is done at a leisurely pace all on level ground. Seeing New York from the water is spectacular and Ellis Island is a must. I would recommend this tour and hope you get Remi.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great overview tour - saw the main Wall Street sites then headed to the 9/11 memorial - very emotional and then headed for the Statute of Liberty and Ellis Island boat tour. Tour guide was excellent and very informative.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Pay attention to your tour guide and what they recommend. Our guide Patrick told us that after we got done at Ellis Island to come back to the 9/11 museum and the line would be down significantly. There were only 2 people ahead of us in line and we got our tickets at 5 minutes to 5:00 and walked right into the 5:00 tour. Out total time in line and in the door was less than 5 minutes.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide Remy was brilliant, knowledgeable and passionate about the city.
The 9/11 monument is extremely moving and there is so much more to it than we realised.
Amazing views from Liberty although the views of Liberty herself from the column are limited.
Ellis Island was very moving but possibly more relevant to those from or linked to the USA.
Overall an excellent tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Remy was our tour guide and he was wonderful. He really made the experience memorable, especially 9/11 Memorial. Walking along Wall Street, Stock Exchange explaining in detail very interesting things you normally would miss. We boarded the ferry to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island with a great view. There is audio equipment provided to enjoy the history of both landmarks. Definitely worth the money.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This walking tour of Wall st business area along with the 911 memoral site was guided by an excellent guide with a wealth of knowledge about the history of America, New York and 911. We were left at the ferry terminal at the end of the tour to cross to Liberty Island to see the statue and then to Ellis Island where thousands of migrants were processed for entry to the US. Lots of history. Although the crowds were herded a bit like cattle onto the ferries, everyone got to see and take photos where appropriate and nobody missed out at either the Statue or Ellis Island. Well worth the money for both the walking tour and the Statue.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour, Remy our guide was very articulate, charming and knowledgeable about the tour as well as answering other questions we had about New York in general. Wall Street was very interesting and 9/11 well worth the visit. Statue and Ellis Island worth doing while you are there too.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message