The USA is largely a nation of immigrants, and no site underscores the fact more profoundly than Ellis Island. From 1892 to 1954 the island hosted the main immigration station for entry to America, processing more than 12 million third-class ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 81 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A must see tour! Thie Statue of Liberty as thousands and thousands newly arrived immigrants would have first laid eyes on her. First hand accounts at Ellis Island and having the opportunity to "research" names made the trip even more memorable.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide George was incredible. Very engaging and passionate about what he does. We learned so much more about the history of Liberty and Ellis Islands than we would have if we went on our own. We highly recommend this tour and we highly recommend asking for George!!

Rick and Veronica, Chicago Illinois

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It was fun. Great background info. Enthusiastic tour guide. Wish we could have had more info about Ellis Island. But there were headsets available for free to do a self guided tour.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Enjoyed the tour of the financial district and memorial. Allie did a fine job. Liberty Island and Ellis Island were quite neat and the history learned was compelling.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Amazing tour! Highly recommended even for those who have been to Ellis Island before. This should not be missed!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island with Hard Hat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Have just returned from New York having really enjoyed this tour. Remy and Nicole were superb guides and very informative. The 9/11 memorial was so wonderful to see. Since I visited in 2010 the Memorial fountains and museum have been built. What a moving and wonderful place to visit. Really enjoyed Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island too. You must do this tour. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was fantastic! Our guide Tom was extremely knowledgeable, informative and fun. He kept everyone engaged with stories not just about the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island, but also about the history of the harbor and lower Manhattan in general. He was also really great with kids - there were three on the tour, including my 8-year-old son, who had a blast. The tour was well organized, the views of Manhattan were amazing, and the history and information provided were fascinating. Highly recommended for first-time or returning visitors!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My husband, 13 year old son and I had a wonderful time on this tour. Linda, our tour guide was entertaining and quite knowledgeable, being a native New Yorker. Her antidotes and experiences lent a personal touch to the tour instead of just a standard lecture about the areas we visited. The in depth walk through the Financial District was interesting and the 911 Memorial was very moving to us. We would have loved to have he take us around the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island, but she left us at Castle Clinton as mentioned in the tour description and then we took the ferry to the Statute where you have a self guided audio tour. Ellis Island is more of a self guided tour, or you can talk to the park rangers there. We had a hard time trying to select a tour for the limited time we would be in New York City, but we chose wisely, as this was a winner! My family enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone interested in the history of the Lower Manhattan area. A wonderful added bonus was that she took group photos and emailed it to anyone in the group who was interested in having a keepsake of the tour!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We enjoyed the trip it was informative and interesting. The tour guide was really nice and cheery. We went onto liberty Island and got lovely picture of the Statue of Liberty. We also took the boat to Ellis Island which was nice. It helped that it was a lovely but cold day. Would recommend this trip.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour excited us, starting with the walking tour of Wall St. To the 9/11 Memorial then the fun cruise to to the Statue of Liberty and a visit at Ellis Island on the return cruise. Educational and fun-filled sight-seeing alll the way. Just loved it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

we did the walking tour of wall street and the 911 memorial along with the statue of Liberty and Ellis Island tour. Our tour guide, Remy, was fantastic. He knows his history and made it very entertaingin

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Justina was a great tour guide, we enjoyed the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island also

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Justina was a great tour guide, we enjoyed the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island also

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We were greeted around 9am next to the NY Stock Exchange by our friendly guide who then led us for the guided part of the tour through a few streets of lower Manhattan. She narrated history, facts and anecdotes of the area, stopping at different points of interests: NYSE, the Federal Hall, Trinity Church, the World Trade Center and 9/11 memorial and plaza, to end up on Battery Park around 10. The guide's explanations brought a definitive extra dimensions to the area compared to simply walking around. Despite the priority boarding tickets, getting on the Liberty Island Ferry took a good 1h because of security. The Statue of Liberty is much bigger than it looks from far away!! We spent quiet some time in and around the statue, following the nice audio guided tour and enjoying the cold, beautiful weather and views of Manhattan skyline but had to cut it short in order to see a bit of Ellis Island before the last Ferry at 5:30. I'd definitely like to go back to climb up to the crown. Ellis island is also a very interesting part of the tour, providing a very real perspective on the history of immigration in the early 19th century.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This is a great introduction to Lower Manhattan, starting from Wall Street, where our guide gave us "gossips" and "inside stories" about the famous financial institution. We visited Federal Hall, which has a strong history back to George Washington. We then made our way to Trinity Church, featuring a beautiful interior with tall arches and fine stain glass windows. Our next step was very emotional, as we reached the World Trade Center plaza. Our guide stopped there for a moment, letting us walk around the twin pools, the 9/11 Memorial Museum and the new One World Trade Center, a time for reflection. After a while, we crossed Battery Park to embark on the ferry to Liberty Island. Our tickets were skip the line, saving us waiting time, though the security lines were still quite long. The ferry crossing was nice, giving us opportunity to enjoy NYC Skyline, and provided good photo opps of the Statue of Liberty as we were getting closed to the island. The ticket allowed Platform entrance, definitely recommended, just to see the inside of the statue. Included in the ticket is an audio guide, a good way to learn about the story of the Statue. Our return ferry stopped on Ellis Island - we had to cut our visit short as we had an evening activity but it is worth spending several hours. Though I had send Ellis Island through documentaries and movies before, I was moved by the stories of the migrants, stepping in their steps across the big hallways. The tour took us the full day, and we were enjoyed it

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Very Good Tour. Unfortunately on the day of our tour it wasn't the best weather (snowing) and possibly due to this the other tourists/bookings did not arrive. This proved a bonus for my wife and myself as this meant we had a private tour with our guide - Patrick. During the tour Patrick was informative and amusing. He relished providing us with historical facts about the area and answered any queries we had. We also we able to enter historical buildings we had previously walked past and weren't aware were open to the public. Although there were only myself and my wife on the tour, we were never rushed by Patrick and were allowed as much time as we required in each location before we left to explore Liberty Monument and Ellis Island by ourselves. An aspiring Actor and Opera Singer, Patrick is obviously used to playing in front of larger audiences, however on this occasion he did a great job for an audience of two - greatly appreciated and highly recommended.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Despite Subway faults and chilly weather, we managed to arrive on time and our guides (who obviously had the same issues to deal with) were there waiting for us. Even though we were a small group, we ended up with TWO guides! Rachel M and Linda were both great hosts and kept up the energy and non-stop facts throughout.

Although the subject matter of 9/11 may be a little dour for some, our guides kept things respectful without bringing the mood down and explained the decisions behind this fascinating memorial. They both also shared personal stories which helped bring home the human element and made this tour even more memorable.

I would certainly recommend this tour as it will give you an insight into the financial district, a new perspective on 9/11 and the Liberty and Ellis island aspects of the tour can be done at your leisure.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

irishgirl8191
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The guides were informative and entertaining. I would recommend this tour. Only bummer part was we didn't have time to go to Ellis Island, only got to the statue. But other than that, great tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a highlight of our trip to NYC. The tour was amazing, informative and pleasant. Remy, our guide was fantastic!!! Funny and informative. We arrived a bit late, but a phone call and a quick walk and we joined the group. They had already called looking for us and made joing in easy. the 9/11 Memorial was awe inspiring and the tour was excellent. Despite it being 33 degrees we loved the tour. Added at the end was the trip to Ellis Island and the Statue. Tickets to the boat were VIP and easy. The trip was great and we loved the whole experience.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

Jess G
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour guide, Rachel M, made this tour awesome. She was very warm, welcoming and animated in her telling of the stories and facts about Wall Street. You could really sense she loves being in New York and that made her more loveable!

The meeting place was easy to get to and easy to spot, near the New York Stock Exchange. We first went to where the original "Wall" foundations were, and was shown the marks left on a building wall by the first terrorist attack in the city, was shown around Federal Hall and then we went to Trinity Church then walked around 9/11 Memorial. We were told anecdotes about key some key people instrumental to the success/progress of Wall Street and the city. The bathroom breaks were adequate and we were not at all rushed. We went our separate ways upon entering the screening area for the State Cruises.

This tour is worth-it not only because of the walking tour but because of the pedestal access ticket. Keep in mind that once you get to Liberty Island, you can roam around in the grounds and follow the audio guide and spend time indoors in the museum then head up to the pedestal. Allot at least a whole day for this tour to really appreciate it. I think the pedestal access made it special because not all can enter the pedestal. If you are physically able to climb stairs, I recommend that you actually climb up 125 or so steps. You can rest in between landings and just take your time. The view from the pedestal is great. Plus, you can snap a different view of Lady Liberty, up close!

When you're booking, check weather forecasts frequently as your booking date nears. On my tour date, I was aware it was going to rain and snow later in the afternoon. The snow came a little early than I anticipated from the forecast. By around 3pm, I was wet, cold and kind of tired because of the weather. I chose not to go to Ellis Island anymore. But I was really glad I took this tour! I just had some bad luck with the weather!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour around the Financial District and to 9/11 Memorial. Our guide (Remmy) provided plenty of information, history, answered all our questions, all with a fantastic sense of humour. We booked this tour for Day1 of our New York weekend and found it a great combination. The trip over to the Statue or Liberty and Ellis Island is a must. Views of the city from the ferry/island amazing. Remmy had organised the ferry/entry tickets and we could skip the line (always a plus!).

Thoroughly recommend this tour and the tour guide.

BTW - We popped back to see inside the 911 museum another day. I'm glad we did it that way.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an amazing day and our guide was very passionate and informative. She made us feel what it would have been like in the early days of New York. The visit to the 9/11 Memorial was almost surreal. We feel that the monument has been very tastefully done and that it is a peaceful place for reflection. We liked the fact that a white carnation is placed on the memorial of each person on their birthday. Our visit to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island was also most enjoyable and we gained an insight to how the early New Yorkers lived and worked.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

9/11 Memorial was amazing and our tour guide gave us a lot of information of what happened on the day and how now all are remembered. A very moving part of the tour. Statue of Liberty great, had our own time to wander on our own and catch the ferry back when we wanted. Also stopped and had a quick look at Ellis Island and were able to check records to see if there were any family connections. Good day out.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Remy was just full of interesting facts and background information. His love of the city's history was so apparent in his presentation. He allowed us just the right amount of time each place we stopped. Our time was limited because of being on a cruise ship so we weren't able to take full advantage of the time at the Statue of Liberty and we weren't able to visit Ellis Island at all.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

My wife and I found the tour excellent. Our guide Remi was superb providing information and humour as we went on our walk around the Financial District to 9/11 Memorial. Do not be put off by the walk, it is done at a leisurely pace all on level ground. Seeing New York from the water is spectacular and Ellis Island is a must. I would recommend this tour and hope you get Remi.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message