New York City ATTRACTIONS See all

Empire State Building

It has its rivals, but when most people say the words 'New York observation deck' and 'skyscraper', the 102-story Empire State Building immediately springs to mind.  The world's tallest building from 1931 to 1977, the iconic skyscraper is topped ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 800 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

P L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I just love visiting the Empire State Observatory - this was my fourth time and just as good as the others! We were extremely lucky with the weather and very little queuing short lines. A

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

georgia g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Gorgeous views. Who wouldn't love the Empire State Building? We even found a pigeon on the wall up on the 86th floor.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Simon F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This is the way to see the Empire State - by-passed all the queues. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Elizabeth P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

First stop Empire State Building where we received our 'booklet' of vouchers. Really easy to use and so glad I organised the NY City Pass before we went!

Doing what: New York CityPass

Nina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Depending on which attractions you're wanting to see will depend on the value of this. We used ours at Top of the Rock and Empire State and one other location. Easy to use and pick up. You can collect it at any of the attractions. It's good value if you don't want to pay to see the sites/attractions individually.

Doing what: New York CityPass

Florence R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I took my granddaughter to NYC for her 18th birthday. She absolutely loved the Empire State building. Buying the tickets with the optional skip the line tickets was the way to go. Gorgeous day and we could see forever. We bought the additional ticket at the 86th floor to go up to 102. Well worth it.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Kathleen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This trip was amazing we met our guide Debbie wjo was a lovely chatty lady who put you at ease with a relaxed atmosphere.
The views from the empire state building are wonderful and we were first up so not fighting will others yo see every thing. Then we walked a little to a tour bus to take us to the entrepid all the while pointing out things of interest from street to street very Debbie is very informative lady and could answer any questions thrown at her. The Intrepid was also fascinating with loads of history behind it could have stayed longer it was so big but we had an itinerary to stick to. Then it was on the water bus to Battery Park again full of history then seen a structure that was the only thing to survive the 9/11 blast. Then on to the memorial itself this is also an emotional experience as the names of the dead are all around it and a wonderful tribute to all the fire fighters who perished.
In my opinion this is well worth the money and with such a wonderful guide Debbie a wonderful experience and trip out.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Patricia l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Loved the ability to skip the line. It saved us a lot of time. The views from the Empire State Building were beautiful!

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Miriam K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We visited the Empire state building at night... There was a full moon and clear skies that night so the queues were very long... thankfully I had bought vip tickets and we were up at the top within 10 minutes... I felt a bit guilty bypassing the people standing in line but it was worth every penny to be able to jump the queue and the views were spectacular that evening... definitely a must do for any visitor to NYC

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Rachael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great way to see the city, I would definitely recommend this to anyone travelling to NYC, the night tour is great, the use of the ferry is great, and we chose to go up to the Top of The Rock, we did it at night so you saw the city all lit up, which included the Empire State Building. A must buy, but if you are going to the Statue of Liberty, make sure you pre-book that too, you can not buy tickets when you get there.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

Richard F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide, Heidi, was great. We packed a lot into 5 1/2 hours. The Empire State Building, short open top bus ride, tour of sub and ship, boat ride around Manhattan and the Statue of Liberty, and finally the World Trade Center. Only complaint, it wasn't clear we couldn't stop at Statue of Liberty. Only one boat company has that contract Even with that, it was a great tour and was well worth the cost.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Kevin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We meet the NYC 'vip by-pass Allll the lines' water taxi tour guide at 7:30 a.m. at the Empire State building...the guide, JIM, was a graduate of the Woody Allen/Larry David school of Comedy and was both sincerely informative , obviously in love with New York and most a witty fellow grown in the Bronx...Uppp to the top of the empire state bldg where we walked 360 degrees around for half an hour with Jim pointing out sights ... and then to ddown to an open double decker bus for a ride to times square and points of interest , with excellent dialogue from Guide JIM, to the Intrepid Carrier Museum, down into a Submarine , up onto the Carrier and though out command stations, the hanger decks and quarters ... and around the Space shuttle Enterprise Museum.....and meet the Water Taxi for a ride down the Hudson at about 11 a.m.....
Phew
Tour guides were grrrreat and in love with New York as we went down the Hudson , where the water taxis helped rescue the folks on that plane flight that landed safely in the river .... to Battery park ...where the guide continued enlightening us as to the history of the area ... as we walked past the MIB Headquarters, the Financial district Bull , and onto National September 11 Memorial and Museum /World Trade Center... were we rebuild in strength and in honor ... paying our respects we walked through the museum. Our Guide , JIm , told us even though it was 1:20 oclock that we could still get into the museum with a 2 o'clock ticket and we DID!!!
So now its after 2 pm and we are without a walking Tour Guide as planned and with great directions back to the water taxi... we grab a NYC Hot dog and back to the water taxi with our all day pass ... ride under the Brooklyn bridge , short tour up the coast with the water guide chatting most of the time and out to ride around and park at the Statue of Liberty and Views of Manhattan , back up the Hudson , disembark and a quick cab ride back to the hotel by 4:15 .....
Thanks Jim NYCWT

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Gary T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We have used Viator previously for other city tours and have been extremely pleased with the content/timings, efficiency and value for money, so had no hesitation in booking when travelling to New York. We were certainly not disappointed with this tour as it delivered everything that was promised and our tour guide Heidi was very informative and had a great sense of humour. We were lucky with the weather and got great views at the Empire State and having VIP access to beat the queues was a bonus. We even enjoyed the visit to the Intrepid Museum much to our surprise. Would definitely recommend this tour and we will certainly be using Viator in the future.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Brian P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The pass was well worth buying and I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting New York. Collecting the pass and then using it at the various sites was easy and the same day night trip up the Empire State was a fantastic bonus.

Doing what: New York CityPass

Aletheia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I am actually ashamed that I am now only putting a review on this tour. It's been a month since our New York Trip and I still can't stop thinking about it.

Me, my fiance and my best friend only had three days in NY. So we tried to do as much as we can. And this tour helped out a lot. You get to see the major things you need to see in NY. In this tour, you have to be bright and early. Everyone meets in front of Empire State Building before it opens. So around 7:3ish. When we went, it was a little foggy so we had a very limited view but it wasn't as bad. But you get to stay up there for about 30 minutes or so, so the sunrise will make the view better. And it was amazing up there. After that, everyone will meet downstairs, and go to the bus stop. You get to ride big bus. And the tour guide will let you know a little about history and about the city and this is on the way to the intrepid museum. Which I thought I would not enjoy, but this one was fun as well. My fiance had a blast. And after this one, there will be a little walking to ride the water taxi, to go to Bryant Park and see the World Trade Center and the 9/11 memorial. Feels. You also get to see and walk through Wall Street and see the bull. The tour kind of ends there but you pretty much get the whole day to ride the water taxi so what we did is we walked around, went to china town and brooklyn bridge. and rode the water taxi on the way back which stops at the Statue of Liberty and head back to where you started, which is about 20 minute walk to Times Square.

This is definitely one of the best tours to purchase. Our tour guide Jim was amazing, funny and informative. And we definitely had such a great time and were able to take amazing pictures. And made a whole bunch of friends.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Anne O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

You have to do the Empire State Building trip and the Optional Skip the Line Tickets are worth it. Just be sure to let the people know you have them :

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Anthony R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A great tour. There was absolutely no waiting to get in to any of the attractions. We were the first tourists to enter the Empire State Building and observation deck on the day of our tour. Heide, our tour guide was great. Very friendly, knowledgeable and entertaining. I'd recommend this tour if you really want to spend your day seeing and experiencing New York as opposed to standing in a que outside.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

claudeyburke

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Five star value here! We thought this was the Best Buy of our trip and we didn't get time to do all we could. This package gave us such good value for money. We got to see loads more than we ever could have accomplished on foot. Take full advantage of it! The tour guides are great and very knowledgeable, the hop on and off nature of it gives you the freedom to tailor your own trip and the ferry ticket that lets you get off on both Liberty and Ellis Island is great. Getting to go up the Empire State Building or the Top of the Rock is a great bonus. For us both to do all this by paying on the day would have cost a fortune and we would never have done so much.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

Mark G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wow - what a day! An early start to get to the Empire State Building was soon forgotten by the warm welcome given by tour guide Debbie - a true New Yorker who obviously loves this city. Weather conditions weren't great but everyone was given the option of going up as planned or leaving the trip for later on in their holiday. We took the gamble and whilst the view wasn't as far reaching as we may have liked - we still got to see most of Manhattan island. A bus ride to the Intrepid followed then a boat trip to Battery Park and a walk up to Ground Zero. Debbie certainly knew her stuff and brought the horrors of 9/11 home to everyone with her personal stories.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Tony V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A very enjoyable yet moving day - loved the views from Empire State building and enjoyed the rip on the Hudson to Statue of Liberty and the Memorial was quite mind boggling

Loved this tour

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Linka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We saw the sun set from the Empire State Building - a dream come true! It's well worth the money to skip the line as there are different lines that you have to stand in and it will take forever to get to the top. Notice that skipping the line also applies on the way down, so take advantage of that. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we had a great day. Remember to take a jacket if you are going to be on top of the building after dark as it gets quite chilly up there.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Joe S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Heidi was a great tour guide. This tour would be great for anyone who has never been a tourist in NYC, and only has a day or two to do so. It packs A LOT into five or six hours. You start at 7:30 am at the Empire State Building, then make your way over to the Intrepid Sea and Air Museum where you tour a submarine, a destroyer, and see the Space Shuttle Enterprise. Then you water taxi down to Battery Park and make your way back up past Wall Street to the 9/11 Memorial. If you add on the 9/11 Museum Tour, that will add at least a couple more hours to the end of the day and it will be depressing to say the least. We took this tour the first day of a six-day visit to the City. Tour Guide Heidi made it enjoyable and very educational, and her witty comedy made the time fly by. However, if you have plenty of time in the City to see the sights, you may want to split this one up over several days rather than trying to squeeze it all in in one day.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Jason A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is excellent. 3 day passes ensure that you get to see everything that you want to see in New York.
There are so many stops and very frequent buses, day and night to see all of the city, including Brooklyn and the Bronx. Tickets for the Empire State building and the statue of Liberty ferry are included as well, so you miss nothing. Highly recommended.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

Cindy O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very nice and smooth entry to the Empire State building. Friendly staff members. Enjoyed listening to the audio tour! Arrived at about 11:30am on a Sunday.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

kim t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This by far has been the best tour so far on our trip. Patrick our guide was so fantastic, full of knowledge and emotion. Wow where to start. Empire State Building what views from a top. Intrepid Air and Space centre was amazing how 88 people could even remotely fit in a submarine. Then the best part. There really is no words to describe the 9/11 tour, so amazing but gut wrenching at the same time. Awesome experience we will never forget.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message