New York City ATTRACTIONS See all

Empire State Building

It has its rivals, but when most people say the words 'New York observation deck' and 'skyscraper', the 102-story Empire State Building immediately springs to mind. The world's tallest building from 1931 to 1977, the Empire State is currently the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 766 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

As it turned out we really did not need to buy the ship the line--so probably money wasted there, but the Empire State Bldg once again amazing

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Worked brilliantly, good service, frequent buses and jumped all the queues at the Empire State as just go the tour office ther to pick up the ticket

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A fantastic trip and one that I would really recommend if you are, like we were, staying in NYC for a relatively short period of time. This trip allowed you to see and experience many of New Yorks iconic sights in a day.
Excellent host, Bob Or Jim was it? Anyhows, very good, some useful perspectives for us Northern Irish travellers - and I got all his jokes, even if the kids didn't!!
Early start and beating the queues up the Empire State, worth it, you can really see the difference in crowd numbers when you come back down. The Intrepid museum? Now I'm guessing that wouldn't be up there in most peoples NYC trip itinerary - but again, well worth the flying visit, and hey, not every day you get to see a space shuttle and a Concorde up close and personal. Really good, and again, you beat the queues.
Water taxi trip allows really special views of Manhattan skyline and I was impressed how close we got to the Statue of Liberty, got some really good pics on this part of the trip, and the female host on the boat name escapes me again, very informative with humourous perspectives too! We didn't do the 9/11 museum trip in full, just visited the memorial - but again the freedom afforded to us to do our own thing later in the day, also a bonus. Again, our host gave us great info and the 'survivor tree' story is really special.
Highly recommend it, worth the money and great value for couples or families of all ages.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Love, love, love this tour!! Patrick is an amazing tour guide. He knew his facts, kept the group in schedule and together. The tour starts at the Empire State Building at 7:30 am, don't let the early time scare, you it's well worth it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was our second trip to NYC but our first visit to the Empire State building. We took the audio tour which was very informative. We then took the lift to the observation deck and wow what a view. the weather was hot and sunny and we could see for miles. Even though it was busy we took lots of photos and would highly recommend this trip. We are planning another trip but this time considering doing a night time visit.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Had a great evening at the Empire State Building, was definitely worth a visit. Would suggest if you are pushed for time that the VIP option was worth while. We arrived, skipped the queues and were at the top within 10minutes. One lady said they had waited for 2 hours!!!

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour with some of the best highlights of New York! Debby is really the best guide we could wish for, she is very friendly, enthousiastic and a great photographer too! The only thing that could be improved is the tempo, there wasn't really much time at the Empire State building and the Air and Space Museum. We would have stayed a little longer if we could. The tour ended at 2pm, so maybe lower the tempo just a little? But that's just a detail, this tour is highly recommended!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had an amazingly good and informative tour with our guide Heidi
she was so engaging and gave us so much background on our destinations -- as well as was amenable to taking photos, etc!
I am not a real fan of tours, but since it was my first time visiting New York City, I wanted to see as much as possible, without standing in lines,etc.
This tour began at the Empire State Bldg -- before any of the crowds arrived! -- and continued to the Air and Space Museum, followed by a water ferry to the Battery and walk up to the WTC memorial and museum.
I would absolutely recommend this tour to anyone -- and it would be to their advantage to get Heidi as their tour guide!!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour! Our tour guide was friendly and informative and it was awesome walking right into the Empire State Building and bypassing the lines at the Intrepid.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Despite this being an early start 7.30am meeting time, it was well worth it.
Our tour guide Jim was very funny, upbeat and very informative. He had us laughing from the start, and continued till he waved goodbye.
We started by going up to the observation deck of the Empire State building. We were first up and had amazing views of a beautiful morning across Manhattan. We left there and went on a short open top bus tour through Manhattan till we got to the Intrepid museum. We had time for a quick snack before it opened and then we were 'skip the line' into the museum and first through the submarine. Jim made sure we were first through despite some competition from other groups!!
After the Intrepid, we got on a water taxi which took us to Battery Park, where Jim explained the history behind the area and landmarks as we wandered through the financial district finishing at the 9/11 Memorial Museum, which we had entry tickets for as part of the tour. This is where Jim left us.
This was a great day, made even better by our tour guide Jim. I hope you manage to get Jim if you book this!
It would have been good to have had more time in the Intrepid, as there is a lot to see, but overall a fantastic day!
A bonus about this tour is you have access to the NY Water Taxi the rest of the day and all the next day with your ticket. We used it later that day to go via the Statue of Liberty and a little water cruise.
10 out of 10!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Having been to the Empire State building before getting the Skip the Line Tickets made it an enjoyable experience. We breezed past others and felt like royalty. Would highly recommend people to spend a little more and do this. We also with shortly after the building opened in the morning and at that time did see the regular line building.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was great! And, by buying through you, we weren't ripped off by the street people selling tickets to the Empire State Building with all their comments about how we were going to stand in lines for over 45 minutes , etc. I will definitely use your site in the future as your promises met my expectations and....we waited in line for approximately 5 five minutes!

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

excellent no problems at all with the citypass got the pass from the empire stare building easy

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide, Patrick, was absolutely fantastic and made the whole experience superb. As a wheelchair user i was really happy that all places catered brilliantrly to my needs. Empire State first trip 7.30 is highly reccommended. Water taxis were also a great way of getting around.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This pass was a great find and saved loads of money and time. There were 5 of us and we would have spent a fortune and waited hours if it hadn't been for these passes. We picked the booklet up on our first day at the Top of the Rock. We did the Empire State during the day and second visit free in the evening...was amazing although some staff are grumpy and quite rude. We did the 2.5hr boat trip the first day which was really good, we did up grade and paid an extra 5 more but the tour guide told us lots of tips about New York ie tipping, places to go etc and was extremely informative on the tour pointing out every building, landmark etc. The Tope of the Rock is also a great experience. We did a helicopter ride, which we booked separately which was amazing, then used the passes for the 9/11 tour. An amazing and emotional experience. We spent a lot of time looking round and the grounds around are a real tribute to those whose lost their lives here. We visited the Natural History Museum and could have done with more time...you could spend all day in here. We didn't wait in any queue longer than about 20 minutes, well run, present the voucher which they tear out and your in. We visited Woodbury Common outlet ....a must for shoppers and we saved sooooo much money in comparison to what we spent. You need to book this or get tickets there around 40 for a return coach from Port Authority but well worth it, take a suitcase and go for the whole day!

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour was fantastic!!! The guide went above and beyond to make the tour informative and enjoyable. I had my four kids with me and unfortunately one of them got really suddenly ill at the empire state building. Our guide was so great in handling that too so we could continue the tour. He was amazing!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great way to fast track your way around Manhattan. Got in before the queues for amazing views at Empire State Building. Competent guide leads a well structured and informative tour incorporating walking, open top bus ride and ferry service. An amazing experience highly recommended.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Top tour. Empire State building, Visit of the Submarine and Intrepid aircraft carrier, cruise on the harbour including thd Statue of Liberty, site of the new trade centres all supported by a very knowledgeable guide.
Well worth the money.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

we used all but one pass. I was museumed out. The Rockefller ,Empire state building and the 911 museum were all very good.

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great tour for seeing New York, we were taken around by Heidi our tour guide who seems to be well known in the City, she kept us informed without saying too much that we got fed up. As said a great tour for seeing the City and learning how to get about, Its great to see the Empire State building and go on to the Navy Aircraft carrier and submarine, a point to note I did get a discount on photos for being a UK veteran, It was then on a water taxi to battery park, we were taken on a slightly longer walk to the 9/11 Memorial, for me it was a very sad place as I had been up one of the twin towers sightseeing and it tends to make you think, now I don't want to put down the museum but It did'nt get it right to me, that said it is a must see, Heidi was a bit shocked that I carry my ticket from my first trip and took a photo of it, even though she needed a translator for us we're from Yorkshire she was great fun and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Patrick met us as planned at 07.30 in the Empire State Building reception area. He was friendly and welcoming and that set the tone for the whole tour. It was brilliant. Everything happened punctually as planned, the organisation was excellent and Patrick was informative, attentive and helpful throughout. What a gem you have there! He was able to answer every question and threw in many interesting titbits about buildings used in films, explanations of statues and pointed out things we would have missed without him. He was so helpful, we cannot thank you enough. Should we return to New York at some future time, I would certainly book another tour with you and hope to have Patrick again. Many thanks indeed to one and all.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Heidi was fantastic - we were first up the Empire State and everywhere we went was highly organised and very informative.
Would really recommend this tour

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Last year we visited Top of the Rocks and now the Empire State Building and we must say the Empire State Experience is the best! Not only because of the beauty of this classical building also the views are better and more intense.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Everything went smoothly and with express tickets we bypassed the lines and had a great time.Recommend express tickets to anyone planning to visit Empire State Bldg

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had an even better time than expected. Thanks Viator. I highly recommend your app. Did not have to wait in line throughout out tour of the Empire State Bldg

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message