New York City ATTRACTIONS See all

Empire State Building

It has its rivals, but when most people say the words 'New York observation deck' and 'skyscraper', the 102-story Empire State Building immediately springs to mind.  The world's tallest building from 1931 to 1977, the iconic skyscraper is topped ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 831 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Juelle E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We used our City Pass in the Museums, 9/11, Met Museum of Art, Empire State Bldg, Top of The Rock,. All were amazing experiences and great for my 13 yr. old grand daughter too.

Doing what: New York CityPass

Melissa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent experience. Strongly recommend purchasing the VIP tixs to see the Empire State. We walked right in and went straight to the two elevators to the top. No lines at all. Cost a bit more but well worth it. Had we not purchased VIP tixs, our wait time would have been 90+ minutes.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

rkmfraser USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved this tour. Got VIP treatment and went to the top of the Empire State Building bypassing the long lines. The views are amazing and the building takes you back in time.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Gordon N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Empire State Building just has to be done and if you can afford the skip the line pass it is well worth the extra. We made it to the top of the building in about 10 minutes. The staff were extremely helpful and polite and we had plenty of time at the top.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Denise L M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent no question this is the best way to do Empire building no waiting for hours straight to the front xx

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

julia.birkett

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent tour with Debbie M. Early meeting at 07:30, but we packed a lot into the 5 hours. Trip to 86th Floor of the Empire State Building, a trip to the Intrepid front of line meant we were first into the submarine Growler and it was interesting to see the prototype shuttle Enterprise. Finally the 9/11 memorial was very thought provoking. We chose not to add on the 9/11 Museum, which is a separate addition. Also you don't visit the Statute of Liberty but sail on by if you reboard the Water Taxi at Battery Park but I think that was quite clear in the instructions. Overall a nice day of snippet visits, plus some time in a bus and a Water Taxi too. Good value for money and a must if this is your first or second visit to the NYC. Beware though I did 18,000 steps or around 7 miles of walking so be prepared and wear comfy shoes!. Thanks Debbie.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Emma M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved the Empire State !, big queue's but not for us, get that VIP wrist band and jump every line all the way to the top ! Brilliant !

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

AM

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I've been to New York several times, but this was my first time up the Empire State Building. The weather was perfect and we were able to see all over Manhattan and beyond. We went around noon and got through the line pretty quickly. Also had a celebrity sighting up there - DNCE had performed and was up there for a photo!

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Christian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great to have the ability to skip the line and safe time entering the Empire state building. It make things so much easier.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

martinsell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

An early morning start but wow what a day!
Interesting information provided by our tour guides all day.
First visitors up the Empire State Building - a beautiful iconic building and wow what amazing views. There followed an open top bus ride to the Intrepid Museum where again we were the first visitors - this time into the Growler guided missile submarine. Then a walk round the aircraft carrier before entering the Space Shuttle Pavillion - oh and there's a Concorde there as well.
A trip on the Water Taxi took us to Battery Park where we visited the 911 Memorial - a very special place.
We were then free to ride on the Water Taxi for the rest of the day thus seeing the Brooklyn Bridge, Governors Island, the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island.
A tiring but great day. Thoroughly recommended.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

linda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide Debbie was fantastic. She was friendly, helpful, funny and extremely well informed. Unfortunately our view from the top of the Empire State Bldg. was non-existent because of weather, but Debbie came through with her IPad and many pictures. When our tour was over we felt we learned a great deal about the NY experience during and after 9/11. The Memorial pools and the museum were particularly difficult but so necessary to see. I would highly recommend this tour and especially our guide Debbie. She made us feel like old friends.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Caron T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great taster tour of some areas we may not have seen - our guide Jim was fantastic and made it so interesting with all his facts. The Empire State Builidng and Intrepid parts did feel rushed but we had a lot to pack in. Our highlight was seeing Ground Zero and the Water Taxi round trip was excellent with great views of the Statue of Liberty!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Lesley P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a perfectly fantastic day! Met by a very entertaining guide, Jim, who was well organised and funny! Full on but the early start is worth it when there are only about 20 of you going up the Empire State Building, the weather helped, it was beautifully sunny, views fantastic. Next to the Endeavour and a trip into a submarine...would have missed this if I had not been on the trip. Onto 9/11 Memorial by water taxis where Jim left us.We made our own way back via Statue of Liberty on the return water taxis and then a free bus Uptown. Absolutely great value for money!!! A must for first time visitors like us.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

John F F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My children were enthralled with the Empire State Building as were my wife and I.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide Debbie met us at the Empire State Building, what this lady doesn't know about New York isn't worth knowing! We got first entry on to the deck so no queueing, the views were fantastic and Debbie gave us the fascinating history of the building. We then took a guided bus ride to the Intrepid Sea, Air and Space Museum and got skip-the-line entry. Debbie gave us information on the museum and then gave us time to explore ourselves I recommend the submarine,

Next we got on-board the New York Water Taxi at pier 79 to battery park, where squirrels will actually come over and sit on your lap. Debbie gave us all the information about the area and then treated us to an impromptu tour of Wall Street. The guided part of the tour ended at the 9/11 memorial, a beautiful and serene place in the centre of all the hustle and bustle.

The New York Water Taxi was good for 2 days and we took it back from battery park, it stopped in front of the Statue of Liberty for photo ops and returned us to pier 79 where they provided a free bus transfer back to most areas of NY.

If you could choose your guide I would definitely recommend Debbie, she went above and beyond all our expectations. She was funny, friendly, answered every question and taught us so much about all the places we visited and all those we passed through. Lovely lady and a fantastic day.

Heather and Mike

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

rvonchossy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

we found it a good opportunity to see a lot of stuff in a short time. You should though pick up the booklet in advance in one of the sights were the queues are not so long. We picked it up at the empire state building where we had to queue a lot to get the booklet. If we had picked it up in advance we could have skipped the line.

Doing what: New York CityPass

christinebarrett7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Met our tour guide Jim, on time at 07.30am outside the Empire State Building. He was wide awake, we were still half asleep! Had only arrived in NYC a few hours beforehand. Jim was amazing throughout the tour, he explained everything and also gave us many tips and advice for our 5 day stay .. This tour is well worth the money and if you are lucky enough to get Jim as your guide, it will st you up for your stay in the city. Thanks Jim Bob you are the best and we loved the way that we were greeted by everyone at all the sites, just because we were with you. Xx

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Malcolm A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We booked the VIP Empire State Building and 9/11 Memorial, only downside is in your title you have the Statue of Liberty which is not entirely correct, you don't go to it only dropped off at Battery Park with the statue in the distance, apart from that the whole tour from start to finish was excellent, our guide was Joey who was fantastic at keeping 40 odd people together and negotiating the fast track, if you book this tour it is definitely worth paying the extra to go to the 9/11 Museum. Long and tiring day but very much worth it, thank you!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Mark S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We would highly recommended this tour that takes in a number of attractions. An early start at the Empire State at 7.30am where we met our guide Jim. First group to go up the building which was great. You are then bussed to the Intrepid carrier which is a great attraction with Concorde, a Space Shuttle all on an aircraft carrier. You the take the yellow water taxi to Battery Park with Jim explaining the history etc with great knowledge and humour.
We would highly recommend the 9/11 memorial which is very sensitively done and moving. If you include this your boat ticket is also valid for the next day which we used to see the Statue of Liberty.
Many thanks to Viator and Jim for two very memorable days which our family enjoyed immensely.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Barbara R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Jim was awesome! He provided great information and injected just the right amount of humor! Getting into the Empire State Building before it opened to the public is well worth it! Timed entry into 9/11 museum is highly recommended as well!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

LouAnn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Loved the tour! It was awesome to be at the top of the Empire State building the first thing in the morning! We LOVED Heidi! She was great! Would do the same tour again if she was our guide!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Felicity F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We bought skip the line tickets and there were no lines on the day we visited. But the Empire State Building staff still treated us as VIPs.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

cupcake

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

First time visiting The Empire State Building. Was a worthwhile and great tour.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Catherine K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Brilliant tour. Heidi was our guide and she was superb!Really knowledgable and so funny! A real Brooklyn lady! Empire State building awesome despite my major fear of hights. Heidi reassuring and encouraging. Bus tour really interesting. Intrepid museum great too.space shuttle and submarine etc. River trip to Battery Park good chance to see NY from river. 911 memorial very sobering. Bitterly cold day before the snowstorm but loved it! This and bateaux dinner cruise and the snow in Central Park were our highlights.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

P L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I just love visiting the Empire State Observatory - this was my fourth time and just as good as the others! We were extremely lucky with the weather and very little queuing short lines. A

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message