New York City ATTRACTIONS See all

Empire State Building

It has its rivals, but when most people say the words 'New York observation deck' and 'skyscraper', the 102-story Empire State Building immediately springs to mind. The world's tallest building from 1931 to 1977, the Empire State is currently the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 801 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was totally amazing. I was with a group of friends and we did both top of th rock and empire. We all thought the empire was by far the most superior. I would 100 recommend the empire state building.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

If you have more than 3 days, this is wonderful! We used the passes for the Rockefeller Center, Empire State building, and then again at the Empire State Building at night, for the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island and the 9-11 Memorial and Museum but if we had more time, it is well worth the price because we would have visited more Museums.

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We were in New York November 2014 and booked a couple of trips through Viator. I am so glad we did as they were amazing we were at the top of Empire State Building first and the views are spectacular, our tour guide Heidi was brilliant very knowledgeable and funny. We then had a bus tour to the intrepid air museum and on to the 9/11 memorial which we also booked the extra option of tickets round the museum. I would highly recommend booking any trip through Viator, they are very good value for money.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Please buy these Empire State building skip the line tickets! Upon arrival, the line for entry was wrapped around the building and estimated at over 3 hour wait. With these express tickets we went straight to entry door, showed tickets to every employee along the way and was at the top in 13 min!

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was great. We started at 7:30am and finished around 1:30pm. We signed up for the optional 2pm 9/11 Museum Tour, which was definitely worth it. We ended up using our 2-day Water Taxi (ferry) pass the next day, since there was too much to see the first day.

It was great to bypass the Empire State Building lines to visit the top (we came around Christmastime and the lines were soooo long!!). The bus ride was great and very informative. The Intrepid Museum was awesome and I liked how the time was limited so I didn't have to stay too long (my husband would have wanted to stay for hours!). The ferry ride was fun (a bit windy and cold!) but very informative. Visiting the 9/11 Memorial and Museum was very memorable. Great walk through the streets for more info about the city's history.

Would highly recommend this tour and especially our wonderful tour guide, Heidi! We enjoyed her informative presentations, her upbeat personality, and great sense of humor.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Wow. We visited the Empire State Building at night and the views were stunning. We made use of the skip line tickets as it was very busy and it is well worth doing thus during holiday peak times.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our best investment for visiting a top sight in New York! The Skip the Line ticket allowed us to skip 4 lines (entrance to the building, ticket purchase, security line and elevator line), saving us hours! The staff was very good at shuffling us around the process. And the skip the line is also valid when you are ready to go - really unexpected and totally awesome, given the queues of people waiting to leave. Views from the Empire State Building are great, and we were there right after the sunset, when the lights are starting to come on and contrast against the dark night. The Empire State Building is obviously such a big part of NYC history than you feel you steps by in time. Definitely worth it!

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The day we visited the Empire State Building we really did not need the skip the line ticket because there were no lines. We were very impressed with our visit to this icon of American ingenuity! We loved all the views of NYC and the explainations we received via audio.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent tour, a must do. Guide was very good (Mr Kerwan), cared for the entire group...we had a couple with two young ones who kept lagging behind but he kept looking out for them. Empire State Building views are AWESOME. There's enough time provided for pictures and taking the time to enjoy every site visited.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Jess G
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I spend 15 days as a lone tourist and managed to use the City Pass efficiently. If you are not in a rush and spending at least 9 days in NYC, this is worth it to buy. Although some museums included in this has a "pay what you wish" option, buying this pass will let you avoid the awkwardness of "being cheap" situations when paying to get in and you also avoid big crowds in pay-what-you-wish days. Do spend one full day for the big museums. And plan well, especially if you're taking other tours that might already include the other attractions here. I used my City Pass for the Circle Line (instead of the Statue of Liberty, because I already booked another tour with it included) and I upgraded to full island cruise for an additional $5. I used it for the Empire State Building and had it upgraded to access the 102nd floor observatory for $20 (a bit much for an upgrade but you'll forget the cost when you get to the top). I used it for the Metropolitan Museum of Art but ran out of a day to use it for The Cloisters (because it was too far uptown, I decided to skip it and just walk around and let serendipity do its thing). I also used it for The Guggenheim instead of Top of the Rock (which was included in another tour I booked). Guggenheim is very do-able in one hour if you're not an art aficionado/scholar wanting to take your sweet time viewing and immersing yourself in each of the exhibits). I just chose to linger to appreciate pieces that was interesting to me, the others, I just did an "overview". I also used it for MoMA. Do not miss MoMA, spend at least 3 hours here. My favourite pieces are the Van Gogh paintings. The American Museum of Natural History, was I think, the most value for money, because one show is already included in the City Pass (either the space show or imax film), as opposed to paying additional bucks for it. If I ever get the chance to go back, I will definitely buy City Pass again, and explore other areas of the museum I didn't get to see.

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This our was brilliant! I would recommend to anyone who wants to see the sights-got to the empire state building before anyne so was lovely to not have loads of people up there, The tour guide was very helpful, friendly and was very imformative. Everythinng was kept to schedule and we really enjoyed our experience and would def use this again. Thanks for a wondeful tour

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

You must use this skip the line offer. It takes hours off of your
sightseeing time. Only way to go to the Empire State Building

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A really great day out! Unfortunately due to the weather we couldn't go up the Empire State Building. However we got to keep out tickets and go the following morning which was amazing. The rest of the tour was great, Debbie made it really fun and gave us a good insight into New York. Recommended!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This sight was very easy to use,I down loaded my tickets ,took them to the Empire State building ,there was a two hour wait so I was glad I'd bought priority tickets went in showed my tickets we were taken straight through, we were on the top of the empire state building within 10 minutes would certainly use this sight again

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

When we arrived at the Empire State, we went through the customary security checks, and once we had shown our fast track voucher, it was like being on the red carpet, as we were ushered past all the queues and into the 1st available elevator. My wife said she felt like Royalty, but it was worth it. Excellent.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message