New York City ATTRACTIONS See all

Empire State Building

It has its rivals, but when most people say the words 'New York observation deck' and 'skyscraper', the 102-story Empire State Building immediately springs to mind. The world's tallest building from 1931 to 1977, the Empire State is currently the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 792 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our best investment for visiting a top sight in New York! The Skip the Line ticket allowed us to skip 4 lines (entrance to the building, ticket purchase, security line and elevator line), saving us hours! The staff was very good at shuffling us around the process. And the skip the line is also valid when you are ready to go - really unexpected and totally awesome, given the queues of people waiting to leave. Views from the Empire State Building are great, and we were there right after the sunset, when the lights are starting to come on and contrast against the dark night. The Empire State Building is obviously such a big part of NYC history than you feel you steps by in time. Definitely worth it!

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The day we visited the Empire State Building we really did not need the skip the line ticket because there were no lines. We were very impressed with our visit to this icon of American ingenuity! We loved all the views of NYC and the explainations we received via audio.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent tour, a must do. Guide was very good (Mr Kerwan), cared for the entire group...we had a couple with two young ones who kept lagging behind but he kept looking out for them. Empire State Building views are AWESOME. There's enough time provided for pictures and taking the time to enjoy every site visited.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Jess G
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I spend 15 days as a lone tourist and managed to use the City Pass efficiently. If you are not in a rush and spending at least 9 days in NYC, this is worth it to buy. Although some museums included in this has a "pay what you wish" option, buying this pass will let you avoid the awkwardness of "being cheap" situations when paying to get in and you also avoid big crowds in pay-what-you-wish days. Do spend one full day for the big museums. And plan well, especially if you're taking other tours that might already include the other attractions here. I used my City Pass for the Circle Line (instead of the Statue of Liberty, because I already booked another tour with it included) and I upgraded to full island cruise for an additional $5. I used it for the Empire State Building and had it upgraded to access the 102nd floor observatory for $20 (a bit much for an upgrade but you'll forget the cost when you get to the top). I used it for the Metropolitan Museum of Art but ran out of a day to use it for The Cloisters (because it was too far uptown, I decided to skip it and just walk around and let serendipity do its thing). I also used it for The Guggenheim instead of Top of the Rock (which was included in another tour I booked). Guggenheim is very do-able in one hour if you're not an art aficionado/scholar wanting to take your sweet time viewing and immersing yourself in each of the exhibits). I just chose to linger to appreciate pieces that was interesting to me, the others, I just did an "overview". I also used it for MoMA. Do not miss MoMA, spend at least 3 hours here. My favourite pieces are the Van Gogh paintings. The American Museum of Natural History, was I think, the most value for money, because one show is already included in the City Pass (either the space show or imax film), as opposed to paying additional bucks for it. If I ever get the chance to go back, I will definitely buy City Pass again, and explore other areas of the museum I didn't get to see.

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This our was brilliant! I would recommend to anyone who wants to see the sights-got to the empire state building before anyne so was lovely to not have loads of people up there, The tour guide was very helpful, friendly and was very imformative. Everythinng was kept to schedule and we really enjoyed our experience and would def use this again. Thanks for a wondeful tour

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

You must use this skip the line offer. It takes hours off of your
sightseeing time. Only way to go to the Empire State Building

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A really great day out! Unfortunately due to the weather we couldn't go up the Empire State Building. However we got to keep out tickets and go the following morning which was amazing. The rest of the tour was great, Debbie made it really fun and gave us a good insight into New York. Recommended!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This sight was very easy to use,I down loaded my tickets ,took them to the Empire State building ,there was a two hour wait so I was glad I'd bought priority tickets went in showed my tickets we were taken straight through, we were on the top of the empire state building within 10 minutes would certainly use this sight again

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

When we arrived at the Empire State, we went through the customary security checks, and once we had shown our fast track voucher, it was like being on the red carpet, as we were ushered past all the queues and into the 1st available elevator. My wife said she felt like Royalty, but it was worth it. Excellent.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The NYC pass was great. We collected it at the Statue of Liberty cruise ticket point which was a good option as the lines were a lot shorter than collecting tickets at the Empire State Building or even the MET.
All of the activities included were amazing and really added to our stay in NYC.

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We visited the empire state building at sunset and were so glad that we had paid the extra for the skip the line tickets as the there was a long queue.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic way to see loads of the City in one day! The tour guide Kernan was brilliant and very knowledgeable. First entry to the Empire State Building was good because the line soon began to grow! We then hopped on a double decker bus and headed across the city towards the Intrepid which, if you are interested in war history, is a must see as well as the submarine and space shuttle. Next was a trip on the water taxi down the Hudson river towards the south end of the city to walk around Wall St towards the 9/11 memorial site. Here I recommend upgrading to the museum entry because it's something everyone should see. This allows for a two day water taxi pass which comes in handy if you plan to visit Brooklyn or spend another day exploring the south end of the city. Overall a fantastic tour!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We were fast tracked past the queues.
The experience of being up the Empire State Building doth spectacular views was amazing. So glad we pre booked with viator. We had a fantastic time.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

we were met by "jim" our tour guide, what can I say he made new York come alive. his knowledge of the city was excellent and his jokes made me and my husband laugh throughout the day. the views from the empire state building are a must, the intrepid was fantastic. the water taxi with Patrick was just as informative as Jim. this tour is a must for seeing some of the great sights of new York and we will definitely be doing this trip again when we return to new York.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We were all waiting at the Empire State building at 7.30 when our guide Heidi turned up. She was brilliant and very personable and informative. She tried to connect with everyone before the tour started which was nice. As we got to the observatory as the first priority booking, Heidi got us all into the best positions for photos and started taking everyones cameras to get the best shots of each of us. She did this throughout the day at all of the venues, which was lovely. She had many stories to tell and kept us all amused. The Intrepid and space museum was superb and the size of everything was stunning. To be under a space shuttle was the stuff of dreams. The ferry trips then took us to the 9/11 memorial where Heidi gave us her personal experiences of helping on the day and in the aftermath. This made the site much more human and poor Heidi was tearful at the end. That was the end for us and we then got the next ferry over to the Statue of Liberty for photo opportunities. A superb tour and if you are lucky enough to get Heidi as your guide ,you are in for a treat. Just don't tell her that you use Starbucks or Macdonalds !!!

Paul and Gaynor. England

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message