New York City ATTRACTIONS See all

Empire State Building

It has its rivals, but when most people say the words 'New York observation deck' and 'skyscraper', the 102-story Empire State Building immediately springs to mind.  The world's tallest building from 1931 to 1977, the iconic skyscraper is topped ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 812 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lesley P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a perfectly fantastic day! Met by a very entertaining guide, Jim, who was well organised and funny! Full on but the early start is worth it when there are only about 20 of you going up the Empire State Building, the weather helped, it was beautifully sunny, views fantastic. Next to the Endeavour and a trip into a submarine...would have missed this if I had not been on the trip. Onto 9/11 Memorial by water taxis where Jim left us.We made our own way back via Statue of Liberty on the return water taxis and then a free bus Uptown. Absolutely great value for money!!! A must for first time visitors like us.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

John F F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My children were enthralled with the Empire State Building as were my wife and I.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide Debbie met us at the Empire State Building, what this lady doesn't know about New York isn't worth knowing! We got first entry on to the deck so no queueing, the views were fantastic and Debbie gave us the fascinating history of the building. We then took a guided bus ride to the Intrepid Sea, Air and Space Museum and got skip-the-line entry. Debbie gave us information on the museum and then gave us time to explore ourselves I recommend the submarine,

Next we got on-board the New York Water Taxi at pier 79 to battery park, where squirrels will actually come over and sit on your lap. Debbie gave us all the information about the area and then treated us to an impromptu tour of Wall Street. The guided part of the tour ended at the 9/11 memorial, a beautiful and serene place in the centre of all the hustle and bustle.

The New York Water Taxi was good for 2 days and we took it back from battery park, it stopped in front of the Statue of Liberty for photo ops and returned us to pier 79 where they provided a free bus transfer back to most areas of NY.

If you could choose your guide I would definitely recommend Debbie, she went above and beyond all our expectations. She was funny, friendly, answered every question and taught us so much about all the places we visited and all those we passed through. Lovely lady and a fantastic day.

Heather and Mike

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

rvonchossy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

we found it a good opportunity to see a lot of stuff in a short time. You should though pick up the booklet in advance in one of the sights were the queues are not so long. We picked it up at the empire state building where we had to queue a lot to get the booklet. If we had picked it up in advance we could have skipped the line.

Doing what: New York CityPass

christinebarrett7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Met our tour guide Jim, on time at 07.30am outside the Empire State Building. He was wide awake, we were still half asleep! Had only arrived in NYC a few hours beforehand. Jim was amazing throughout the tour, he explained everything and also gave us many tips and advice for our 5 day stay .. This tour is well worth the money and if you are lucky enough to get Jim as your guide, it will st you up for your stay in the city. Thanks Jim Bob you are the best and we loved the way that we were greeted by everyone at all the sites, just because we were with you. Xx

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Malcolm A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We booked the VIP Empire State Building and 9/11 Memorial, only downside is in your title you have the Statue of Liberty which is not entirely correct, you don't go to it only dropped off at Battery Park with the statue in the distance, apart from that the whole tour from start to finish was excellent, our guide was Joey who was fantastic at keeping 40 odd people together and negotiating the fast track, if you book this tour it is definitely worth paying the extra to go to the 9/11 Museum. Long and tiring day but very much worth it, thank you!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Mark S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We would highly recommended this tour that takes in a number of attractions. An early start at the Empire State at 7.30am where we met our guide Jim. First group to go up the building which was great. You are then bussed to the Intrepid carrier which is a great attraction with Concorde, a Space Shuttle all on an aircraft carrier. You the take the yellow water taxi to Battery Park with Jim explaining the history etc with great knowledge and humour.
We would highly recommend the 9/11 memorial which is very sensitively done and moving. If you include this your boat ticket is also valid for the next day which we used to see the Statue of Liberty.
Many thanks to Viator and Jim for two very memorable days which our family enjoyed immensely.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Barbara R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Jim was awesome! He provided great information and injected just the right amount of humor! Getting into the Empire State Building before it opened to the public is well worth it! Timed entry into 9/11 museum is highly recommended as well!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

LouAnn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Loved the tour! It was awesome to be at the top of the Empire State building the first thing in the morning! We LOVED Heidi! She was great! Would do the same tour again if she was our guide!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Felicity F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We bought skip the line tickets and there were no lines on the day we visited. But the Empire State Building staff still treated us as VIPs.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

cupcake

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

First time visiting The Empire State Building. Was a worthwhile and great tour.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Catherine K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Brilliant tour. Heidi was our guide and she was superb!Really knowledgable and so funny! A real Brooklyn lady! Empire State building awesome despite my major fear of hights. Heidi reassuring and encouraging. Bus tour really interesting. Intrepid museum great too.space shuttle and submarine etc. River trip to Battery Park good chance to see NY from river. 911 memorial very sobering. Bitterly cold day before the snowstorm but loved it! This and bateaux dinner cruise and the snow in Central Park were our highlights.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

P L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I just love visiting the Empire State Observatory - this was my fourth time and just as good as the others! We were extremely lucky with the weather and very little queuing short lines. A

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

georgia g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Gorgeous views. Who wouldn't love the Empire State Building? We even found a pigeon on the wall up on the 86th floor.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Simon F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This is the way to see the Empire State - by-passed all the queues. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Elizabeth P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

First stop Empire State Building where we received our 'booklet' of vouchers. Really easy to use and so glad I organised the NY City Pass before we went!

Doing what: New York CityPass

Nina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Depending on which attractions you're wanting to see will depend on the value of this. We used ours at Top of the Rock and Empire State and one other location. Easy to use and pick up. You can collect it at any of the attractions. It's good value if you don't want to pay to see the sites/attractions individually.

Doing what: New York CityPass

Florence R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I took my granddaughter to NYC for her 18th birthday. She absolutely loved the Empire State building. Buying the tickets with the optional skip the line tickets was the way to go. Gorgeous day and we could see forever. We bought the additional ticket at the 86th floor to go up to 102. Well worth it.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Kathleen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This trip was amazing we met our guide Debbie wjo was a lovely chatty lady who put you at ease with a relaxed atmosphere.
The views from the empire state building are wonderful and we were first up so not fighting will others yo see every thing. Then we walked a little to a tour bus to take us to the entrepid all the while pointing out things of interest from street to street very Debbie is very informative lady and could answer any questions thrown at her. The Intrepid was also fascinating with loads of history behind it could have stayed longer it was so big but we had an itinerary to stick to. Then it was on the water bus to Battery Park again full of history then seen a structure that was the only thing to survive the 9/11 blast. Then on to the memorial itself this is also an emotional experience as the names of the dead are all around it and a wonderful tribute to all the fire fighters who perished.
In my opinion this is well worth the money and with such a wonderful guide Debbie a wonderful experience and trip out.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Patricia l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Loved the ability to skip the line. It saved us a lot of time. The views from the Empire State Building were beautiful!

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Miriam K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We visited the Empire state building at night... There was a full moon and clear skies that night so the queues were very long... thankfully I had bought vip tickets and we were up at the top within 10 minutes... I felt a bit guilty bypassing the people standing in line but it was worth every penny to be able to jump the queue and the views were spectacular that evening... definitely a must do for any visitor to NYC

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

Rachael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great way to see the city, I would definitely recommend this to anyone travelling to NYC, the night tour is great, the use of the ferry is great, and we chose to go up to the Top of The Rock, we did it at night so you saw the city all lit up, which included the Empire State Building. A must buy, but if you are going to the Statue of Liberty, make sure you pre-book that too, you can not buy tickets when you get there.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

Richard F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide, Heidi, was great. We packed a lot into 5 1/2 hours. The Empire State Building, short open top bus ride, tour of sub and ship, boat ride around Manhattan and the Statue of Liberty, and finally the World Trade Center. Only complaint, it wasn't clear we couldn't stop at Statue of Liberty. Only one boat company has that contract Even with that, it was a great tour and was well worth the cost.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Kevin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We meet the NYC 'vip by-pass Allll the lines' water taxi tour guide at 7:30 a.m. at the Empire State building...the guide, JIM, was a graduate of the Woody Allen/Larry David school of Comedy and was both sincerely informative , obviously in love with New York and most a witty fellow grown in the Bronx...Uppp to the top of the empire state bldg where we walked 360 degrees around for half an hour with Jim pointing out sights ... and then to ddown to an open double decker bus for a ride to times square and points of interest , with excellent dialogue from Guide JIM, to the Intrepid Carrier Museum, down into a Submarine , up onto the Carrier and though out command stations, the hanger decks and quarters ... and around the Space shuttle Enterprise Museum.....and meet the Water Taxi for a ride down the Hudson at about 11 a.m.....
Phew
Tour guides were grrrreat and in love with New York as we went down the Hudson , where the water taxis helped rescue the folks on that plane flight that landed safely in the river .... to Battery park ...where the guide continued enlightening us as to the history of the area ... as we walked past the MIB Headquarters, the Financial district Bull , and onto National September 11 Memorial and Museum /World Trade Center... were we rebuild in strength and in honor ... paying our respects we walked through the museum. Our Guide , JIm , told us even though it was 1:20 oclock that we could still get into the museum with a 2 o'clock ticket and we DID!!!
So now its after 2 pm and we are without a walking Tour Guide as planned and with great directions back to the water taxi... we grab a NYC Hot dog and back to the water taxi with our all day pass ... ride under the Brooklyn bridge , short tour up the coast with the water guide chatting most of the time and out to ride around and park at the Statue of Liberty and Views of Manhattan , back up the Hudson , disembark and a quick cab ride back to the hotel by 4:15 .....
Thanks Jim NYCWT

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Gary T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We have used Viator previously for other city tours and have been extremely pleased with the content/timings, efficiency and value for money, so had no hesitation in booking when travelling to New York. We were certainly not disappointed with this tour as it delivered everything that was promised and our tour guide Heidi was very informative and had a great sense of humour. We were lucky with the weather and got great views at the Empire State and having VIP access to beat the queues was a bonus. We even enjoyed the visit to the Intrepid Museum much to our surprise. Would definitely recommend this tour and we will certainly be using Viator in the future.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message