• USD ($)
  • English

New York City ATTRACTIONS See all

Empire State Building

It has its rivals, but when most people say the words 'New York observation deck' and 'skyscraper', the 102-story Empire State Building immediately springs to mind. The world's tallest building from 1931 to 1977, the Empire State is currently the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 678 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My trip to NYC was all I imagined and more. I am so happy I added the NY Skyride and Empire State Building Observatory to my itinerary. Looking at the city from such heights is indescribable, it's a must do. I highly recommend it to anyone, and hope you enjoy it as much as I did!!!

Doing what: NY SKYRIDE and Empire State Building Observatory

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour guide Heidi Benedict was amazing! It is a MUST DO tour if you want to feel at ease making your own way around NYC. The tour started out front of the Empire State Building, but we waited inside for about 30 minutes before going up. I was staying on 51st St and caught the subway ($2.50ish ticket) downtown to 33rd St, and just walked around the corner. I was a solo traveler and Heidi helped break the ice and got us chatting throughout the tour, making it much more fun!! It was very cold up the top of the ESB (and there as lots of fog over the city), so I would suggest some gloves/beanie/scarf/jumper at this time of year. The Intrepid museum was the highlight for me. We walked through Battery Park to Broadway, up to Wall St then Trinity Church before the 9/11 memorial where we parted ways. Unfortunately I had only been in the country 6 hours and didn't have any currency to be able to tip Heidi, but she was definitely a very fun, helpful, enthusiastic guide who also ran to the top of World Trade Centre tower 4 in 17mins (or 7 in 14mins?)! After the tour I was left to find my own way home. So I walked around for a bit and then caught the water taxi from battery park, past brooklyn bridge and the statue of liberty then back to Intrepid. From there (W 46th st), I walked 3kms back to E 51st st to my hotel room. I wouldn't have felt comfortable doing that without having done this tour! The next day I walked 12kms around midtown and central park. Heidi and Viator were instrumental in boosting my confidence of being able to get around NYC by myself! Thanks!!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was our first trip to New York and I can't recommend this tour highly enough. What we saw in 5 hours probably would have taken us 2 days to sort out ourselves. Our tickets were ready for each part of the tour, Laurie our guide was fabulous, knew her stuff and always happy to answer questions. It was great being the first people of the day at the Empire State Building, no queueing. Also the tickets that we had for the water taxi were valid for the rest of the day so we made use of that which enabled us to walk across Brooklyn Bridge and spend longer in the Financial District. Had a great lunch out too. Just make sure you have a bottle of water and a couple of snacks with you to keep you goingl.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Based on the regular price, we saved buying these thru Viator. We opted not to take the elevator for the final 6 flights to the observation deck (line was too long) so we huffed and puffed our way up the stairs (which was probably good for us!!). It was crowded but space at the edge opened up easy enough on all four sides. Great views at about 1pm on a spectacular 70 degree day in April. No complaints at all, the staff at the Empire State Building were all very nice (there sure are lots of people working there though!).

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Absolutely fantastic, such wonderful views from the 86 floor Empire State Building!

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

If you go to New York you will go up the Empire State Building so please use this tour ,its a fast track to the top plus no waiting and it includes the SKYRIDE

Doing what: NY SKYRIDE and Empire State Building Observatory

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Unbelieveable!!!!! Wonderful history, architecture and views!!!! I went to visit the Empire State Building in the evening and it was breathtaking. A must do if you're ever in New York.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour was brilliant. The tour guide Jim was very knowledgeable, comical and helpful. We were fortunate that it was a clear dry day although bitterly cold as the view from the top of Empire State Building was amazing. You could see for miles. We skipped the queues and went straight up to the view. Afterwards a bus picked us up and took us to the harbour where we visited the Intrepid museum. You get the opportunity to go inside and walk through the submarine as well as spending time within the ship museum looking at exhibits and taking part in the interactive ones. You can also visit the cafe and shop. Next, off to Battery Park via boat to the 9/11 memoriaI. You are left here by the tour guide to look around and can either walk over Brooklyn bridge and get the boat back to Manhatten or go back where you got off to begin with. The boat on the way back goes via the Statue of Liberty and although you can't get off to go onto the island the crew are brilliant and stop directly in front so you can take photos. I would really recommend this tour as it includes a lot for the money and you can make a full day of it sightseeing in Brooklyn in the afternoon before you head back to Manhatten by boat.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A good time was had by all our party. The staff at he Empire State were very helpful and advised us to change our visit to the following day when the sun was out and visibility was great.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Excellent trip for our first full day in NYC. Took us around all the major sights and really helped us get our bearings. JD (might have been JP...oops!) was an excellent guide and really knew his stuff, always clear and articulate and happy to answer any of our questions.

Only downside was the day we went up to the empire state observation deck it was foggy we could barely see our hands in front of our faces.... in hindsight i wish I'd kept the ticket for another day.In the end it didn't matter too much as we went up to Rockerfeller center on a really clear day, so got excellent views from there.

But thoroughly recommended!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Unfortunatley the weather let us down for our tour but this did not detract from the overall experience. Empire State and Intrepid were great but then the rain set in which didn't add to the enjoyment sadly. In saying this, I would have no hesitation in recommending this tour to first time NY goers. Patrick our guide was great and obviously knew his stuff, being a native New Yorker. We would probably do this tour again in the summer when we return.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Value for money, particularly with the Empire State and Statue of Liberty free tickets, lots of routes to choose from that give access to all the top attractions

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I highly recommend this tour! You start early, but it's worth it. We were first to the top of the Empire State Building, first onto the Intrepid, and moved quickly into the 9/11 Memorial. I visit NY often, but it was the first trip for my Brother and his son---the sights and pace worked well for both of us! Ask for JP, he was a great quite.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was amazing! Would never ever do the Empire State without a skip the line pass and have told all my friends about this pass.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

i would thoroughly recomend this tour particulary if it your 1st time in the city,it is fantastic value for money. Pay for everything individually and including the cost of travel it would be a lot more money. We arrived at -the Empire state building at 7-15am ,15 mins early our guide Joey was already there to greet us, he told us where to go and what would happen and we were 1st in the queue,the view on the 86th floor was fantastic even though it was quite foggy.After an hour we were on our way on an open top bus trip with Joey explaining the various land marks, on to the intrepid sea,air and space museum where the space shuttle is housed,concorde and the massive aircraft carrier intrepid.. From there we boarded the new york ferry on to lower manhattan, to have our guide show us round wall street ,battery park the surrounds then finally onto the 911 memorial where Joey left us. I have to say our guide Joey was absolutely brilliant,very knowledgeable in his history of new york and his over all general knowledge we could ask him anything he was very informative.After the sad 911 memorial we boarded the new york ferry again which took us under the brooklyn bridge then on to the statue of liberty where we took lots of photos.finally we were taken back down the hudson river to our starting point of pier 84,being informed and entertained along the way back by our on board guide. A fantastic day we will never forget a big thank you to everyone involved.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message