New York City ATTRACTIONS See all

Empire State Building

It has its rivals, but when most people say the words 'New York observation deck' and 'skyscraper', the 102-story Empire State Building immediately springs to mind. The world's tallest building from 1931 to 1977, the Empire State is currently the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 741 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a great time visiting the Empire State Building in NYC.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was definitely worth it! We bought the 3 day pass but was only there 2 full days so we didn't get to do everything on the tour. You see so much of the city on this tour, we loved the empire state building
! It was nice to ride awhile and not walk too! Loved NYC tour.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great way to see the highlights on a first trip. We started at Top of the Rock ticket area (after we'd checked into our hotel mid-afternoon), where we were guided to the correct window and exchanged the voucher for booklets. Best to go to Empire State and Statue of Liberty a little before earliest opening to avoid long queues. Otherwise, any time seemed to work well for the other places as CityPass helped avoid the ticket queues everywhere but be prepared for queues for security checks.

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We met outside the Empire State Building at 7.15 in the morning so this is not for the faint hearted. JP our tour guide was brilliant from start to finish. It was great to avoid the queues by being the first people in. JP explained where everything was and obliged taking photos of people when asked. The bus tour was informative and took us around mid Manhattan. The Intrepid and submarine tour touched on everything we wanted to see and again we avoided all the queues. The boat trip was great with good views from the water to the Manhattan skyline. The tour with JP ended at the 9/11 memorial. I can honestly say that his input made this trip even better and I even won one of his badges!!! Superb guide, superb tour. However it does not finish there, as you can then use your water taxi ticket to go back uptown. The boat crew was great giving fantastic views of the statue of liberty and hanging around enough so that you all got great pictures. Well worth the money as we saw so much of Manhattan in a condensed time. Thanks JP.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The Empire State Building was fantastic! The audio tour, which came with our package, was a great addition. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This is our second time on the VIP tour in 1.5 yrs/ It was so good the first time that we repeated this with our daughter. JP was our guide for the day- did a nice job! We had a cloudy day so the sights could not been seen very clearly from the Empire State building. One disappointment was the length of time at the Intrepid museum- on our first tour we had more time ( at least 15 mins more) because the ferry dock was closer to the museum- now the walk is 5 mins away. Would recommend skipping the movie and going thru the Intrepid- talk with the volunteers who are veterans who have served on the carrier. They gave a wonderful insight the first time we toured-- unfortunately not enough time to do it all. (You can come back to the Intrepid later in the day on your own- if you are not too tired!) Walking trip to 9-11 museum good.
Trip tip-- Book your ticket to the 9 11 Museum online before you arrive that day- we did the 1:30 entrance time and we had time to catch a bite to eat before we entered the 9 11 grounds. Plan to spend about 2 hours in the museum. Great day- lots of information and the tour is worth it!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Was great! We went up the Empire State at night was amazing to see everything lit up and how big the city was!! Well worth the money would definately recommend :)

Doing what: Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Jim was fantastic. Knowlegdeable with a sense of humor. Tour was value for money. Got to go to the empire state observation deck first thing. Includes entry to intrepid and the tour into the growler submarine was awesome. Ended with water taxi tour to wall street and ground zero.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We booked this VIP tour during our very first visit to New York City. This was worth every penny! We started our day early but were first in line for the Empire State Building. What a view! The tour price covered all our site admissions with front of the line access and the water taxi pass. Our guide Kernan was awesome and knew a lot about each site and New York City in general. Kernan had many tips that allowed us to get the best out of our time at each attraction. The bus and water taxi staff were also great and provide awesome views of the city.

Be prepared...even though part of this tour is on bus and water taxi, there is still quite a bit of walking. Wear your comfortable shoes!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour and a good way to see all the high tourist zone areas. 9/11 a truly amazing experience that will stay with me forever. Express entry into the Empire State was perfect as the lines grow within seconds. Good tour guide

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour. Excellent value for money- total of individual tickets more than we paid for trip. Although visibility from Empire State was lacking - almost zero- it was still worth beating all the queues.Very full and interesting morning. The hop on /off harbour cruise ticket allowed us to continue on the boat for the afternoon.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

As it was my first trip to New York, booked this tour which was excellent and informative. Empire State building and 9/11 memorial amazing. Special thanks to Patrick our tour guide, very professional and informative, would definately recommend this tour to anyone thinking of visiting New York. Thank you Viator and would definately book with you again.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Heidi our tour guide was amazeballs!!! Fantastic tour and value for money. Being first up the Empire State Building and Intrepid was worth the money alone....

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

What a great day the 4 of us had to celebrate our special birthdays .It started with our ascent to the top of the Empire State building and ended with us singing NewYork, New York on the water taxi in front of the Statue of Liberty! Our super guide was J.P and he gave us information throughout the day to make it a truly memorable day.Thanks.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message