Greenwich Village is one of the most charming residential locales in New York City. The quarter’s reputation for the bohemian persists, but these days only the affluent can afford to live in these sought-after leafy streets. In the west side of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

Sorry did not enjoy this tour. It should be renamed 'History tour of Greenwich Village'. The tour took us around all of Greenwich Village, which is beautiful and well worth a visit, but its not a Ghost tour. The guide takes you to different houses where famous people have died! The only positive thing to come from this tour was we got to see Greenwich Village, which we probably would not have visited. I would highly recommend a visit to Greenwich Village with it lovely Bistro's and streets but make the trip yourself, not on this Ghost Tour, sorry.

Doing what: Ghosts of New York Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Used it a lot-a major part of our holiday.Great guides except once when he didn't say this is Greenwich Village stop and we were unawhere until the next stop and missed it!! Other than that -Great.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

This tour was excellent for seeing parts of New York we wouldn't have visited. We loved Greenwich Village.

Doing what: Private Tour: New York City by Jeep SUV

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

If you are looking for something a little different to do, this is it. I enjoyed touring Greenwich which was a great neighbour to visit. Molly's was my favorite stop. Although I am a huge gelato fan didn't love the mango gelato, but otherwise everything else was great, including our tour guide Mallory!!

Doing what: Dessert Walking Tour in New York City: Cupcakes, Cookies and Gelato

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

Good to walk around Greenwich with a purpose, especially to freshen up after arriving from the UK. Tour guidewas uninteresting in the main and was not a good orator sowe drifted off after an hour. Overall ok but not the most interesting talk.

Doing what: Ghosts of New York Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

This tour was an unmitigated disaster. I have to give it one star because the system demands it; it does not deserve any stars..We did our trip end of November, when it was quite cold, so sitting on the upper deck was not an option. It started when we were directed to the wrong 'start' stop - a block and a half from where we should have been. Then, because we started the tour later in the afternoon, we confirmed with the guide that we would be able to go around one and half times - to insure we could debark in Greenwich. Well we found out at the end of our first round trip that we had to debark at Times Square because they were not going around again. We were the last trip of the day. Then to add insult to injury, because the windows are coated in advertising and because it was twilight, we could barely see out the windows. We have done hop on hop off before and have never been so disappointed with a trip as we were with this one. Do not take this trip in the winter and do not take it at the end of the day!

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Although we were slightly unlucky with the weather, the bus tour was a perfect introduction to Manhattan. Serge - our guide - gave an excellent commentary with the just the right injection of humour. The meal in Little Italy, complete with a quick coffee at Caffe Roma, was very enjoyable. The boat trip was excellent - again complete with a good commentary with a humorous slant. This tour covers most of the places that you would expect. It only misses out Soho/Greenwich Village and the Meat Packing District - I suppose that the streets are too narrow.

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Luxury Coach

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

A lovely tour guide and a great way to see Greenwich Village! Probably one Cup cake too many on the tour, meaning you will need to go for some more exercise afterwards to burn the calories off lol. Its different and that's why we did it!

Doing what: Dessert Walking Tour in New York City: Cupcakes, Cookies and Gelato

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This tour was worth every single dollar! The tour guide, the coach and the visits to some of New York's most famous landmarks were simply amazing. It was a full day going from Brooklyn to Ground Zero, Greenwich to Chinatown and driving down the most amazing Avenues. The lunch in Little Italy (included in the tour) was great and so was the restaurant, Grant's Tomb, the Cathedral and Central Park were very memorable as was the view from the 'Top of the Rock', but Dave (our tour guide) was incredible. His versatility, friendliness and knowledge was a credit to the tour company and so was the driver. Don't miss this trip!

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Luxury Coach

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

Great fun trip for anyone with a sweet tooth. Quite a lot of walking involved and end up finishing in Greenwich Village. In a few of the shops, you are not allowed to select what you want, but taste the cupcake of the month or special for that time. Brilliant way to visit most famous cupcake bakeries.

Doing what: Dessert Walking Tour in New York City: Cupcakes, Cookies and Gelato

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

We were driven in the car pictured by Isaac, who is very knowledgeable about the car and the city. He even recommended a great restaurant in Greenwich Village. As it was during a heatwave, he ensured we had plenty of bottled water - thanks Isaac. Will definitely recommend.

Doing what: New York City Tour by Classic Car

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

I love Greenwich Village! It is a great place to stay (and eat and drink) in New York City, and it doesn't have the madness of the crowds that you get up around Midtown and Times Square. You can spend hours just hanging out in Washington Square Park, watching the world go by. I'll be back!

Stefan S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

As a child of the sixties and a lifelong music fan, the areas of Greenwich Village and the East Side of NYC were as well known to us in the UK as the Haight-Ashbury of San Fransisco, but in those days only through the eyes of the music press and a few fleeting glimpses on television. Many of my favourite bands emerged from New York, among them Mountain and the great Leslie West. To walk through the Village a few years ago without really "seeing" anything was an experience in itself, and it was truly fantastic to walk in the steps of Dylan and Hendrix on that vist. What it lacked was expert guidance and a guide's bag full of memories and personal stories to bring it to life and light up the area and show it to our wonderous eyes in all its aspects of gore and glory. He sure knows his stuff, and one thing I liked was his easy approachable manner to the questions he must have answered a thousand times, yet answered with the enthusiasm of someone just hearing the question for the first time. Highlights: Everything, whether you are a fan of the sixties, seventies, whatever, there is something in this tour for you. If you love music, you'll love this. For us the walk around revealed the Fillmore East site and Zeps Physical Graffiti building and other personal gems; for you it will be something else. Just turn up, tune in and turn on to the wonderful sights and sounds of the NYC scene on a journey of musical discovery. This tour is a must!

Doing what: New York City Original Rock 'n' Roll Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

This is a great way to see the top sites easily. We hopped off at The Dakota, strolled through Central Park, hopped back on at Dakota, hopped off at Guggenheim and walked to the Met. The next day, we hopped back on at Times Square and hopped off at Greenwich Village, strolled through SoHo, hopped back on at the World Trade Centre, and hopped off at Rockefeller Centre. Only problem is not always able to get a bus seat up top, and the seats down below are impossible to see anything from. Also, the tour guides were hit-or-miss. Some were funny and entertaining, but one guy was so grating I wanted to stand up and knock myself out on a traffic light just to keep from hearing his whiney voice! Other than that, the hop on hop off tour has a great value and is a great way to see the sites.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

J A G
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2008

We got really excellent guides on both the uptown which takes you around Central Park and downtown loops which takes you through Greenwich Village and down to The Battery. The ones we heard bits of on the 2nd day when we were just using it as a bus service were good, just not quite as good as the first two. If it's your first time in NY I'd definitely recommend this.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message