New York City ATTRACTIONS See all

Ground Zero Museum Workshop

Since 2005 the Ground Zero Museum Workshop in the Chelsea neighborhood of New York City has been showcasing the recovery and rebuilding efforts of the notorious Lower Manhattan neighborhood. Comprised of photos, images and artifacts collected from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1072 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Emanuel T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Jim our tour guide was excellent and strongly recommend this tour for anyone visiting the Big Apple. Been to New York prior to the 9/11 episode and was deeply moved by the account of the castrophe and unnecessary carnage and waste of human life this brought home. I admire the spirit and determination of the American people to move on post 9/11.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Caron T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great taster tour of some areas we may not have seen - our guide Jim was fantastic and made it so interesting with all his facts. The Empire State Builidng and Intrepid parts did feel rushed but we had a lot to pack in. Our highlight was seeing Ground Zero and the Water Taxi round trip was excellent with great views of the Statue of Liberty!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Jack Wag USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Len gives a beautiful summary, full of passion, of the day of 9/11.......the stories he shared were obviously very real to him......I am very happy to have taken the tour not just walked onto the site....thank you, Len....

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

Susan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide Heidi who is a native New Yorker made this tour with her wealth of experience and knowledge. We booked the 9/11 museum and 2 day hop on/off ferry which was well worth the extra money as otherwise would have been too much to see in a day and took our time in the second day going around all the ferry stops and seeing the attractions. Even the ferry had a really excellent tour guide Patrick who was amazing. 9/11 museum may be too upsetting for some people and you may find the experience understandably very emotional. Really excellent tour and I would definately highly recommend. They even put on free buses from the main ferry stop to take you back to where you want to go. Excellent !

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Katie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was great, Very informative would definitely recommend it if it's your first time in New York! The ground zero tribute was beautiful. Such a sad tragedy, beautiful tribute.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

Bec N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Debbie from Water Taxi was amazing, she had so much information and was so friendly. Debbie shared personal stories about her time in New York and what she was doing on 9/11, it really was a nice touch. We would suggest this tour to any of our friends travelling to New York

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Clifford S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The guide was very helpful and very knowledgeable about everything . Regarding ground zero telling the group.about the deverstating day of 9.11. We found the memorial museum to be very upsetting. And very personal to the victims family's. Some people may see this differently. In one way it will give an insight to those who have not seen it. And remember how we as a nation are vulnerable humans. To the crazy evil people who are responsible for murder of all the working people God rest there souls.
The freedom tower was amazing and the dove was very beautiful. As was the memorial site.
Something everyone should experience on there' visit to the city.
Cliff and Josef

Doing what: All-Access 9/11 Experience: Ground Zero Tour, 9/11 Memorial and Museum, One World Observatory

Christine L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Absolutely great! We were impressed with the whole experience of visiting the 9/11 Museum, especially the great sensitivity that was evident in all areas of the exhibition. Having visited New York every 3 or so years since 9/11 it was a great privilege to be able to visit the Museum.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial Museum Admission

linda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide Debbie was fantastic. She was friendly, helpful, funny and extremely well informed. Unfortunately our view from the top of the Empire State Bldg. was non-existent because of weather, but Debbie came through with her IPad and many pictures. When our tour was over we felt we learned a great deal about the NY experience during and after 9/11. The Memorial pools and the museum were particularly difficult but so necessary to see. I would highly recommend this tour and especially our guide Debbie. She made us feel like old friends.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

lizhaworth1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Guide was brilliant and tour was so well done and interesting. My 12 year old who knew very little about 9/11 learnt a lot and was very engaged throughout the whole tour. Would most definitely recommend! Cannot speak highly enough of the guide she did a brilliant job handling very difficult subject matter professionally and sensitively.

Doing what: Official 9/11 Memorial Tour

Melanie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great tour! Our tour guide was knowledgeable and shared many personal stories about 9/11 and what happened here afterwards. My only regret is that we didnt have enough time in the museum before our appointment at One World Observatory.

Doing what: All-Access 9/11 Experience: Ground Zero Tour, 9/11 Memorial and Museum, One World Observatory

Antonio D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

If you go to New York, this is a great way to get around and see some of the sights and attractions. Entry into the 9/11 museum was an added bonus and one place you would not want to miss. There is enough time between stops to explore all the attractions around the 5 or 6 locations you decide to get off at and you can tailor the trip to your own pace, so get back on the ferry when your ready.

Doing what: New York Harbor Hop-on Hop-off Cruise including 9/11 Museum Ticket

Presidents Circle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Highly recommend to every patriotic American.
Our Guide had interesting facts about the towers, financial district and his own personal experience with the 9/11 attack.
The museum is amazing. It is a very emotional experience.

Doing what: All-Access 9/11 Experience: Ground Zero Tour, 9/11 Memorial and Museum, One World Observatory

Lou Ann J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is an excellent way to see ground zero, as the tour guides were all there on 9-11. The little details they recall during the tour makes it all come alive. Very moving.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

Daniel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide, Linda, was fabulous. Made the tour very personal. It's a very sobering and sad event to relive but she helps to let you understand what happened on 9/11.

Doing what: All-Access 9/11 Experience: Ground Zero Tour, 9/11 Memorial and Museum, One World Observatory

Priscilla R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Tour was extremely moving and highly recommend the Museum upgrade for anyone visiting the 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

Sheila M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

There aren't really words to convey this experience. I am so glad I did this because I learned so much. The 9/11 Museum upgrade is definitely worth it. Plan on spending several hours if you can.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

Zoe P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic value, we saw and experienced so much - thanks to our tour guide Joey. Would highly recommend the trip, put on you walking shoes and if you do the 9/11 museum take a tissue, it's so moving.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Pam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved our tour guide Linda. She knew so much about the events of 9/11 and provided extra detail that made the tour so interesting. She took s group pic of us which was a nice added touch. The 9/11 museum is amazing.. Such a powerful moving experience to walk through it. Everyone was solemn and respectful walking through. So many incredible artifacts and the news clips playing the events of that day really took us back. Everything was so well done we could have spent hours in there. The observatory at one World Trade Center was incredible. Views from every angle were amazing. If recommend this tour to everyone. With this tour you get to skip a lot of the lines. So worth it!

Doing what: All-Access 9/11 Experience: Ground Zero Tour, 9/11 Memorial and Museum, One World Observatory

Barbara R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Jim was awesome! He provided great information and injected just the right amount of humor! Getting into the Empire State Building before it opened to the public is well worth it! Timed entry into 9/11 museum is highly recommended as well!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Caroline M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This walking tour of Wall Streeet, 9/11, Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island was superb from beginning to end. The only criticism I would make is that, having met at 8.50am in Broad Street, I don't really understand why we had nearly 2 hrs hanging around Battery Park before we could use our reserved ferry tickets at 1.30. This meant we were hurried on Ellis Island and had to leave before we'd seen everything in order to get the last ferry.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

Mark S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We would highly recommended this tour that takes in a number of attractions. An early start at the Empire State at 7.30am where we met our guide Jim. First group to go up the building which was great. You are then bussed to the Intrepid carrier which is a great attraction with Concorde, a Space Shuttle all on an aircraft carrier. You the take the yellow water taxi to Battery Park with Jim explaining the history etc with great knowledge and humour.
We would highly recommend the 9/11 memorial which is very sensitively done and moving. If you include this your boat ticket is also valid for the next day which we used to see the Statue of Liberty.
Many thanks to Viator and Jim for two very memorable days which our family enjoyed immensely.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Malcolm A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We booked the VIP Empire State Building and 9/11 Memorial, only downside is in your title you have the Statue of Liberty which is not entirely correct, you don't go to it only dropped off at Battery Park with the statue in the distance, apart from that the whole tour from start to finish was excellent, our guide was Joey who was fantastic at keeping 40 odd people together and negotiating the fast track, if you book this tour it is definitely worth paying the extra to go to the 9/11 Museum. Long and tiring day but very much worth it, thank you!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Carol J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Happy we booked tickets in advance for our first visit last week to the September 11 Museum. Although we had to stand in line to enter, we did not have to stand in an additional line to purchase tickets and then wait to enter at perhaps a much later time. In hindsight, I wish I had booked a guided tour, though our self-guided tour was very satisfactory. So glad we visited the museum to remember those lost, as well as the heroism of so many. A very moving experience at both the museum and Memorial.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial Museum Admission

Judy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Getting an opportunity to visit all three sites was perfect. Our guide, Amy, who had lived in NYC during the crisis was able to relate personal stories and reflections on what it was like to be in the city, emotionally, physically, and spiritually. Each unique location tells, well, the story of 9/11 and how our country came together to overcome the devastating harm that came to so many of our citizens. The Survivor Pear Tree and One World Observatory represent all that is good about the USA, and they are to inspire us all with hope for our future.

Doing what: All-Access 9/11 Experience: Ground Zero Tour, 9/11 Memorial and Museum, One World Observatory

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message