New York City ATTRACTIONS See all

Ground Zero Museum Workshop

Since 2005 the Ground Zero Museum Workshop in the Chelsea neighborhood of New York City has been showcasing the recovery and rebuilding efforts of the notorious Lower Manhattan neighborhood. Comprised of photos, images and artifacts collected from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1061 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Emanuel T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Jim our tour guide was excellent and strongly recommend this tour for anyone visiting the Big Apple. Been to New York prior to the 9/11 episode and was deeply moved by the account of the castrophe and unnecessary carnage and waste of human life this brought home. I admire the spirit and determination of the American people to move on post 9/11.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Caron T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great taster tour of some areas we may not have seen - our guide Jim was fantastic and made it so interesting with all his facts. The Empire State Builidng and Intrepid parts did feel rushed but we had a lot to pack in. Our highlight was seeing Ground Zero and the Water Taxi round trip was excellent with great views of the Statue of Liberty!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Jack Wag USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Len gives a beautiful summary, full of passion, of the day of 9/11.......the stories he shared were obviously very real to him......I am very happy to have taken the tour not just walked onto the site....thank you, Len....

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

Susan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide Heidi who is a native New Yorker made this tour with her wealth of experience and knowledge. We booked the 9/11 museum and 2 day hop on/off ferry which was well worth the extra money as otherwise would have been too much to see in a day and took our time in the second day going around all the ferry stops and seeing the attractions. Even the ferry had a really excellent tour guide Patrick who was amazing. 9/11 museum may be too upsetting for some people and you may find the experience understandably very emotional. Really excellent tour and I would definately highly recommend. They even put on free buses from the main ferry stop to take you back to where you want to go. Excellent !

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Bec N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Debbie from Water Taxi was amazing, she had so much information and was so friendly. Debbie shared personal stories about her time in New York and what she was doing on 9/11, it really was a nice touch. We would suggest this tour to any of our friends travelling to New York

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Sheila M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

There aren't really words to convey this experience. I am so glad I did this because I learned so much. The 9/11 Museum upgrade is definitely worth it. Plan on spending several hours if you can.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

Zoe P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic value, we saw and experienced so much - thanks to our tour guide Joey. Would highly recommend the trip, put on you walking shoes and if you do the 9/11 museum take a tissue, it's so moving.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Pam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved our tour guide Linda. She knew so much about the events of 9/11 and provided extra detail that made the tour so interesting. She took s group pic of us which was a nice added touch. The 9/11 museum is amazing.. Such a powerful moving experience to walk through it. Everyone was solemn and respectful walking through. So many incredible artifacts and the news clips playing the events of that day really took us back. Everything was so well done we could have spent hours in there. The observatory at one World Trade Center was incredible. Views from every angle were amazing. If recommend this tour to everyone. With this tour you get to skip a lot of the lines. So worth it!

Doing what: All-Access 9/11 Experience: Ground Zero Tour, 9/11 Memorial and Museum, One World Observatory

Barbara R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Jim was awesome! He provided great information and injected just the right amount of humor! Getting into the Empire State Building before it opened to the public is well worth it! Timed entry into 9/11 museum is highly recommended as well!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Caroline M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This walking tour of Wall Streeet, 9/11, Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island was superb from beginning to end. The only criticism I would make is that, having met at 8.50am in Broad Street, I don't really understand why we had nearly 2 hrs hanging around Battery Park before we could use our reserved ferry tickets at 1.30. This meant we were hurried on Ellis Island and had to leave before we'd seen everything in order to get the last ferry.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

Mark S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We would highly recommended this tour that takes in a number of attractions. An early start at the Empire State at 7.30am where we met our guide Jim. First group to go up the building which was great. You are then bussed to the Intrepid carrier which is a great attraction with Concorde, a Space Shuttle all on an aircraft carrier. You the take the yellow water taxi to Battery Park with Jim explaining the history etc with great knowledge and humour.
We would highly recommend the 9/11 memorial which is very sensitively done and moving. If you include this your boat ticket is also valid for the next day which we used to see the Statue of Liberty.
Many thanks to Viator and Jim for two very memorable days which our family enjoyed immensely.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Malcolm A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We booked the VIP Empire State Building and 9/11 Memorial, only downside is in your title you have the Statue of Liberty which is not entirely correct, you don't go to it only dropped off at Battery Park with the statue in the distance, apart from that the whole tour from start to finish was excellent, our guide was Joey who was fantastic at keeping 40 odd people together and negotiating the fast track, if you book this tour it is definitely worth paying the extra to go to the 9/11 Museum. Long and tiring day but very much worth it, thank you!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Carol J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Happy we booked tickets in advance for our first visit last week to the September 11 Museum. Although we had to stand in line to enter, we did not have to stand in an additional line to purchase tickets and then wait to enter at perhaps a much later time. In hindsight, I wish I had booked a guided tour, though our self-guided tour was very satisfactory. So glad we visited the museum to remember those lost, as well as the heroism of so many. A very moving experience at both the museum and Memorial.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial Museum Admission

Judy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Getting an opportunity to visit all three sites was perfect. Our guide, Amy, who had lived in NYC during the crisis was able to relate personal stories and reflections on what it was like to be in the city, emotionally, physically, and spiritually. Each unique location tells, well, the story of 9/11 and how our country came together to overcome the devastating harm that came to so many of our citizens. The Survivor Pear Tree and One World Observatory represent all that is good about the USA, and they are to inspire us all with hope for our future.

Doing what: All-Access 9/11 Experience: Ground Zero Tour, 9/11 Memorial and Museum, One World Observatory

Jackie V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was the way to go to see the most in such a short amount of time for our visit. I have recommended this to several people and will continue to recommend it. We shopped in Chinatown, ate lunch in little Italy, got up close and personal with the freedom tour and the ground zero memorial, saw the Brooklyn bridge, the statue of liberty and learned so much more about the architecture of NYC that we would never have known had we not done this. What a great way to spend the day without killing yourself walking or spending money and time hailing cabs or getting lost on the subways!

Doing what: Big Bus New York Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide Debbie met us at the Empire State Building, what this lady doesn't know about New York isn't worth knowing! We got first entry on to the deck so no queueing, the views were fantastic and Debbie gave us the fascinating history of the building. We then took a guided bus ride to the Intrepid Sea, Air and Space Museum and got skip-the-line entry. Debbie gave us information on the museum and then gave us time to explore ourselves I recommend the submarine,

Next we got on-board the New York Water Taxi at pier 79 to battery park, where squirrels will actually come over and sit on your lap. Debbie gave us all the information about the area and then treated us to an impromptu tour of Wall Street. The guided part of the tour ended at the 9/11 memorial, a beautiful and serene place in the centre of all the hustle and bustle.

The New York Water Taxi was good for 2 days and we took it back from battery park, it stopped in front of the Statue of Liberty for photo ops and returned us to pier 79 where they provided a free bus transfer back to most areas of NY.

If you could choose your guide I would definitely recommend Debbie, she went above and beyond all our expectations. She was funny, friendly, answered every question and taught us so much about all the places we visited and all those we passed through. Lovely lady and a fantastic day.

Heather and Mike

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Eleanor C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide was very personable and extremely well informed - he had experienced 9/11 first hand. He was patient, polite, and willing to answer all questions. My friend Marilyn McLennan and I consider him a first class guide.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional One World Observatory Entrance

stevekuban2h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Hi Viator, I just want to say how great the tours
were last Friday! My wife and I, and our three friends
a pastor from New York, and a rabbi and bishop
from Israel enjoyed two excursions April 15th the 2pm Ground
Zero guided tour, followed by the One World Observatory. They were
fantastic!

Our guide for the 2pm Ground Zero tour, Tony, had first-hand experience of 9/11, and his
personal perspective was poignant and heart-wrenching. On 9/11 Tony worked
atop one of the two World Trade Center Towers. He started the tour by explaining how
on that Tuesday morning of 9/11 he narrowly escaped death, because
he delayed going up the Tower to his workplace by only a few minutes
because the weather was unusually clear and beautiful that fateful day.
But sadly all of his co-workers died instantly when only a few moments later
the hijacked jetliner slammed into his building, right into the very
floor where they all worked, and where Tony 'would have' been, had be followed his normal morning routine. He showed us the names of each of his co-workers and friends engraved on
the 9/11 fountain memorials.

Tony's first-hand knowledge was amazing. He took us around Ground Zero, from place to
place, to several exact spots where full-page photos taken on the morning of 9/11 were taken. We could see in the photos the collapsing buildings, the ruins and destruction, the smoke and horror of those horrific moments. We could see that we were standing at the exact same spots as in the photos. Talk about 'making it real'! Viator, thank you. Tours like this cannot be bought with money. Thank you so much!

PS. Thank you for the 'refer-a-friend' which enabled us to save
10 each. I highly recommend Viator to everyone out there!

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional One World Observatory Entrance

Ira Rees H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved the tour, beat every que we came across and Jim was great and knew everyone. 9/11 is a must for any trip to New York, very sobering amidst all the glitter.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Lesley P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a perfectly fantastic day! Met by a very entertaining guide, Jim, who was well organised and funny! Full on but the early start is worth it when there are only about 20 of you going up the Empire State Building, the weather helped, it was beautifully sunny, views fantastic. Next to the Endeavour and a trip into a submarine...would have missed this if I had not been on the trip. Onto 9/11 Memorial by water taxis where Jim left us.We made our own way back via Statue of Liberty on the return water taxis and then a free bus Uptown. Absolutely great value for money!!! A must for first time visitors like us.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Gary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very easy to use, only disappointment is that the national 9/11 museum is not included, didn't realise this until after we had purchased it. Apart from that we had no problem with using it and saved a lot of money by not buying individual entry tickets.

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

Jasmose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Well organised trip with a knowledgeable guide who explained things in great detail. Enjoyed the visit immensely and the time spent at Ground Zero was most moving. thanks for all the 'jump the queue options' most helpful on a cold April day in NY.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Paul F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed the tour. We have been all over the world with the military and feel that this is one of the best. We were at the tower before it went down and was again here when there was rubble. We have watched the Freedom Tower go up. It was so interesting to hear Len's stories about things and we did learn alot of things. The tour was just fast enough to make sure the elderly could keep up. That makes a big difference because they want to see things too but they can't do it so fast. Len's personality was so good and we laughed with him. He was so informative about everything. WE learned things that we never knew before and we even came back to his brothers house who are New Yorkers and told them things they didn't know. We have been to ground zero more times than they have. Overall I would give them five stars.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

Lee C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was lovely despite the cold day. I though the guide did a very nice job...she may have spent a little too long telling her personal 9/11 story...especially considering the cold conditions...but she was very nice...next time we will do it on a summer day! I would certainly recommend this service to anyone who was making a trip to NYC.

Doing what: All-Access 9/11 Experience: Ground Zero Tour, 9/11 Memorial and Museum, One World Observatory

Yvonne M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Only had 2 days in New York so the hop on bus was just what we needed to get about and see as much as possible. Staff were informative and the buses were fairly regular and well maintained.
We opted for the 3 free excusions and did the rockerfella and empire state observatories, and the 9/11 tribute centre which was really interesting. Word of warning go as early as possible to empire state building as there are long queues. We also got a free ferry cruise and took in the statue of liberty and the natural history museum. So overall a great way to get around and see as much as possible in a short time.

Doing what: New York City 3-Day Hop-On Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message