Ground Zero is the 16-acre site on Lower Manhattan that, until the tragic events of September 11, 2001, was home to the twin towers of the World Trade Center. America's most sacred ground is now a construction site, as the frames of the Libeskind ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 652 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved it from start to finish. Annie was our tour guide on the 1st July 2014 and gave so much insight into the 9/11 event as well as the aftermath. It was fantastic and would recommend to anyone who is thinking about this tour.

Doing what: World Trade Center Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

As a group of 3 adults we really enjoyed the walking tour. Our tour leader Allie (aspiring Barbara Streisand) was extremely charismatic, enthuthiastic and knowledgeable which made the tour very enjoyable. The only improvement we suggest is to allow longer time at the 9/11 memorial, as we felt the allocated 10 minutes was not long enough. We would recommend this walking tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We weren't going to visit ground zero as I thought it would be too upsetting but we decided that we couldn't go to New York and bury our heads about this. This turned out to be the most amazing experience. Our guide was informative and sensitive in his delivery of the events and repercussions of 9/11. The museum was incredible -so well done with the dignity of the victims of this tragedy upheld throughout. We took over 5 hours in total and it flew by. I cannot recommend this highly enough.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was amazing Ami (Barbara Streisand) was incredible and very entertaining tour guide and made everything so interesting. I learn't a lot about Wall street. The 9/11 memorial was very poignant and lear't many things

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was the best we've ever been on. Our guide, Debbie, brought the entire 9/11 experience to life with her personal accounts and the wealth of information she provided. St. Paul's church, the towers, Battery Park, the pools, and so much more. We never would have known about a lot of these sites had she not informed us. It is so worth while to experience this tour . Thank you Debbie, we highly recommend.
Nancy and Carl

Doing what: World Trade Center Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent. Our guide was Tom (a student at the time of 9/11) he explained what it was like during 9/11 and the days that followed. He took us on a tour from the church that escaped destruction to the memorial and museum. He had numerous photos showing the devastation at various sites and then asked us to look around as we stood on those sites. He told many stories of heroics and loss, including that of Sirius the dog (very sad). The memorial and museum were very tastefully constructed.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This was a good tour but now that the 9/11 Memorial museum is open that would be a great addition to the tour. It was informative and covered alot of the things you want to do in New York... The cost was very reasonable and I have no hesitation in recommending it to all..

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Unfortunate for us we had a really cold snowy day for our trip but it didn't dampen our spirits. We had an excellent tour guide who was very informative and pleasant. My only negative comment is that we only had 15 mins to look around the 9/11 memorial as we had a 10am entry for this followed by a 11am ferry ticket for the statue of liberty. Allowing for the security involved it left us very little time which was a shame as it was the one place we really wanted to look around.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback! We're sorry to hear that you didn't get as much time at the 9/11 memorial as you would have liked. Occasionally the security at the 9/11 memorial can generate some long lines, though our tour operator does try to give you as much time there as they can. We do hope this information helps, and hope that you had a wonderful time on your trip.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Of the 3 or so hours of this trip, only about 15 minutes is spend at Ground Zero. The rest was a history tour of the Financial District of NYC, and a quick 10 minute visit to a church. Not what it says on the tin.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback! We wanted to comment on the itinerary for this tour, as you mentioned it in your review. As listed on our website, this tour includes:

Certified guided walking tour of Ground Zero and the 9/11 Memorial
Be captivated by first-hand stories of 9/11 from your guide, who has a personal connection with the event
Gain an understanding of the tragedy and heroism of that fateful day
Explore Manhattan’s Financial District including Wall Street, Federal Hall, the World Financial Center and the New York Stock Exchange
Upgrade to add admission to the 9/11 Museum to see artifacts associated with the events of 9/11

We have also been notified by the tour operator that they end the tour at the Memorial to give you a chance to pay your respects, or visit at your leisure. We do hope this helps you, and future travelers in understanding what's included in this tour, and making the best possible decisions for what tour you would like to take! Thank you again for your feedback, and Happy Travels!

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Walking trip started at 10:30 and included a lot of information, guide was knowledgeable, BUT, we did not get into the 9/11 Museum until 12:30. The museum was wonderful and very emotional as we were searching for a deceased friend. However, it was after 2:30 when we left the museum and did not have enough time to do the Statue of Liberty (which we had tickets for). Wish we had known how long the tour was beforehand.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We met outside the Empire State Building at 7.15 in the morning so this is not for the faint hearted. JP our tour guide was brilliant from start to finish. It was great to avoid the queues by being the first people in. JP explained where everything was and obliged taking photos of people when asked. The bus tour was informative and took us around mid Manhattan. The Intrepid and submarine tour touched on everything we wanted to see and again we avoided all the queues. The boat trip was great with good views from the water to the Manhattan skyline. The tour with JP ended at the 9/11 memorial. I can honestly say that his input made this trip even better and I even won one of his badges!!! Superb guide, superb tour. However it does not finish there, as you can then use your water taxi ticket to go back uptown. The boat crew was great giving fantastic views of the statue of liberty and hanging around enough so that you all got great pictures. Well worth the money as we saw so much of Manhattan in a condensed time. Thanks JP.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was our first time to NYC, so we took this tour because we were able to see a lot in a short
space of time which would have taken us forever to see.
Our tour guide was excellent (Patrick) who was very passionate and made our trip very interesting.
His account of 9/11 was emotional and we were very humbled about his own personal story.
We recommend this tour and thank Patrick for making it extra special.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

One of the highlights of our visit to New York, unforgettable. Our tour guide was a guy called Tony, a native New Yorker who is absolutely passionate about his city. The tour started at the New York Stock Exchange with Tony giving all the facts and history of all the major sites along the way to the 9/11 Memorial. Tony spoke with passion, emotion, comedy and occasional sarcasm and was an excellent guide. One of the highlights was sitting in St Pauls Chapel (The Little Church That Stood) before moving on to the 9/11 Memorial. The tour was very interesting and emotional and I would highly recommend it. Here's to NYC and its people.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was so worth the money. Actually it was a bargain!! Our tour guide Remmi was out of this world. Knowledgeable, funny, great personality. I would want him again and would recommend him to anyone considering this tour. I did not think that it was too much walking and I am 61 yrs old. I hope they can put together a tour that will include the 9/11 museum. Just not enough time for it this time around but next trip for sure. Thank you for making my first trip to New York so fun and enjoyable. We were running a little late and Remmi even called to see where we were at and let us know where to catch them in the tour. We arrived just about 5 minutes late and found them easily. Now how's that for customer service!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Kate was knowledgeable, well-organized, very personable, and funny! She created a wonderful experience for us to tour Wall Street, 9/11 memorial. Thank you!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message