Ground Zero is the 16-acre site on Lower Manhattan that, until the tragic events of September 11, 2001, was home to the twin towers of the World Trade Center. America's most sacred ground is now a construction site, as the frames of the Libeskind ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 675 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I went to NYC before 9/11 so had a really interest it what happened to the people and how things had changed. Our guide was outstanding, he was there and spoke from the heart. He did go out of his way to upset or shock us on the tour but he did not sugar coat how it was. His knowledge of the day and the way he articulated that was outstand, unfortunately it's been 4 weeks and we only got back yesterday, I can not remember his name..........just that he had worked in one of the towers, but at time work in a different building in the area. If this is the quality of all their guides this is one to do :)

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I went to NYC before 9/11 so had a really interest it what happened to the people and how things had changed. Our guide was outstanding, he was there and spoke from the heart. He did go out of his way to upset or shock us on the tour but he did not sugar coat how it was. His knowledge of the day and the way he articulated that was outstand, unfortunately it's been 4 weeks and we only got back yesterday, I can not remember his name..........just that he had worked in one of the towers, but at time work in a different building in the area. If this is the quality of all their guides this is one to do :)

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour, Remy our guide was very articulate, charming and knowledgeable about the tour as well as answering other questions we had about New York in general. Wall Street was very interesting and 9/11 well worth the visit. Statue and Ellis Island worth doing while you are there too.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great experience. Our guide Kate was brilliant as she took us around Wall Street and the 9/11 Memorial. Going to the Statue of Liberty was wonderful. Great views from the boat and statue.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We were not sure what to expect, we knew it would be an emotional day, but the walking tour with the museum upgrade was better than we could have imagined. We were so glad that we did both, some people in our group only did the walking tour, I would have been very dissappointed it we hadn't decided on both. Our tour guide was a very nice man who had a great personal story of his own experience of 9/11. Not only did he give us the facts of the horrific day, he also helped us to understand what it was like to be a New Yorker during that time. He did a great job. The museum is so well laid out, with so many pictures, artifacts and recordings, even having seen so many documentaries about that day, there is still so much to learn. It was a long day, and we could have stayed in the museum even longer, but we are so glad we spent so much time there remembering that day and all the fallen.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

All good except they leave you at the 9/11 pools of remembrance and you still need to get back to the ferries either to Battery Point or walk over Brooklyn Bridge if you want to see the Statue of Liberty. They should do that first and then let you loose.
Anyway I suggest you walk back to Battery Park as the walk over Brooklyn Bridge took us over an hour and it was very crowded with pedestrians and cyclists having to share a very narrow pathway.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

The walking tour was horrible. I didn't expect to get a history lesson about George Washington nor did I expect to hear all about the guide's personal views on why it shouldn't be called ground zero. Much time was spent on non-relevant issues including personal facts about the guide. It became a walkingf tour of what New York has to offer, how wonderful it is to live in Brooklyn etc. We didn't tour anything and stood for endless minutes listening to very boring stories about everything but 9/11.This was a complete waste of $35 as anyone could tour the church and the memorial pools and enter the museum without having to stand for 90 minutes listening to information that I truly don't remember today. This event is not a tour.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved it from start to finish. Annie was our tour guide on the 1st July 2014 and gave so much insight into the 9/11 event as well as the aftermath. It was fantastic and would recommend to anyone who is thinking about this tour.

Doing what: World Trade Center Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The guide was very informative, the 9/11 memorial part was very emotional, speedy boarding to liberty island was well worth it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

As a group of 3 adults we really enjoyed the walking tour. Our tour leader Allie (aspiring Barbara Streisand) was extremely charismatic, enthuthiastic and knowledgeable which made the tour very enjoyable. The only improvement we suggest is to allow longer time at the 9/11 memorial, as we felt the allocated 10 minutes was not long enough. We would recommend this walking tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We weren't going to visit ground zero as I thought it would be too upsetting but we decided that we couldn't go to New York and bury our heads about this. This turned out to be the most amazing experience. Our guide was informative and sensitive in his delivery of the events and repercussions of 9/11. The museum was incredible -so well done with the dignity of the victims of this tragedy upheld throughout. We took over 5 hours in total and it flew by. I cannot recommend this highly enough.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was amazing Ami (Barbara Streisand) was incredible and very entertaining tour guide and made everything so interesting. I learn't a lot about Wall street. The 9/11 memorial was very poignant and lear't many things

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was the best we've ever been on. Our guide, Debbie, brought the entire 9/11 experience to life with her personal accounts and the wealth of information she provided. St. Paul's church, the towers, Battery Park, the pools, and so much more. We never would have known about a lot of these sites had she not informed us. It is so worth while to experience this tour . Thank you Debbie, we highly recommend.
Nancy and Carl

Doing what: World Trade Center Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent. Our guide was Tom (a student at the time of 9/11) he explained what it was like during 9/11 and the days that followed. He took us on a tour from the church that escaped destruction to the memorial and museum. He had numerous photos showing the devastation at various sites and then asked us to look around as we stood on those sites. He told many stories of heroics and loss, including that of Sirius the dog (very sad). The memorial and museum were very tastefully constructed.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing and so was our guide Heidi. Very informative and takes you to all of the major tourist sites, including the Empire State Building, the Intrepid sea, air and space museum, the Statue of Liberty on a water taxi, the Wall Street district, and the 9/11 memorial. Could not have asked for anything better. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message