Ground Zero is the 16-acre site on Lower Manhattan that, until the tragic events of September 11, 2001, was home to the twin towers of the World Trade Center. America's most sacred ground is now a construction site, as the frames of the Libeskind ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 871 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I have taken many tours in my life of 58 years and I have never met a tour guide as knowledgeable and informative as Tony. He was able to give the group a real life account of the events of 9/11 plus a thorough history of New York in general. Thank you for taking this wonderful tour to the next level. The museum is great and this is a must tour for anyone visiting the New York area.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This pass was a great find and saved loads of money and time. There were 5 of us and we would have spent a fortune and waited hours if it hadn't been for these passes. We picked the booklet up on our first day at the Top of the Rock. We did the Empire State during the day and second visit free in the evening...was amazing although some staff are grumpy and quite rude. We did the 2.5hr boat trip the first day which was really good, we did up grade and paid an extra 5 more but the tour guide told us lots of tips about New York ie tipping, places to go etc and was extremely informative on the tour pointing out every building, landmark etc. The Tope of the Rock is also a great experience. We did a helicopter ride, which we booked separately which was amazing, then used the passes for the 9/11 tour. An amazing and emotional experience. We spent a lot of time looking round and the grounds around are a real tribute to those whose lost their lives here. We visited the Natural History Museum and could have done with more time...you could spend all day in here. We didn't wait in any queue longer than about 20 minutes, well run, present the voucher which they tear out and your in. We visited Woodbury Common outlet ....a must for shoppers and we saved sooooo much money in comparison to what we spent. You need to book this or get tickets there around 40 for a return coach from Port Authority but well worth it, take a suitcase and go for the whole day!

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful tour. Starting early was perfect and made everything move along quickly. Heidi was a great guide. Skipping the lines was the key to getting everything done. We added the 9/11 which was so worth it...and allowed for a second day with the water taxi.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Rob, our tour guide, was FANTASTIC! Rob, a photo-journalist himself at the time of 9/11, was excellent--both personable and informative. He made the event come to life as he shared his personal experiences of that day as well. The memorials are absolutely beautiful ... such a serene, peaceful and reflective memorial and surrounding grounds. The museum was amazing we spent 2-3 hours there and still feel like we need to go back to see it again. VERY well done!!

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide, Jared, was fantastic. His knowledge of the history of Wall Street and his humor made the tour go much to fast. I could have listened to him all day long. He showed respect when talking about 9/11 and gave fist bumps for correct answers when not talking about the sensitive subject of 9/11. Great tour.

Doing what: New York City Wall Street Insider Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was an excellent tour. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and personable. She had good personal stories and was very keen. I would recommend this tour highly for anyone wishing to see Ground Zero and learn some of the history. Thank you very much.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Rob our tour guide was excellent!! This tour was very eye opening on what New York went through during and after the 9/11 attack!! It was an emotional tour but I was very happy to pay my respects to all that who lost their lives in this tragic event!! I will always recommend this tour to anyone I know who will be visiting New York!

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Met and exceeded our expectations! Remmy did a great job. The 9/11 Memorial was so moving it brought tears to my eyes. Beautiful. Thank you.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Definitely worthwhile and the 9/11 Memorial despite being a very sad place was absolutely amazing

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Despite this being an early start 7.30am meeting time, it was well worth it.
Our tour guide Jim was very funny, upbeat and very informative. He had us laughing from the start, and continued till he waved goodbye.
We started by going up to the observation deck of the Empire State building. We were first up and had amazing views of a beautiful morning across Manhattan. We left there and went on a short open top bus tour through Manhattan till we got to the Intrepid museum. We had time for a quick snack before it opened and then we were 'skip the line' into the museum and first through the submarine. Jim made sure we were first through despite some competition from other groups!!
After the Intrepid, we got on a water taxi which took us to Battery Park, where Jim explained the history behind the area and landmarks as we wandered through the financial district finishing at the 9/11 Memorial Museum, which we had entry tickets for as part of the tour. This is where Jim left us.
This was a great day, made even better by our tour guide Jim. I hope you manage to get Jim if you book this!
It would have been good to have had more time in the Intrepid, as there is a lot to see, but overall a fantastic day!
A bonus about this tour is you have access to the NY Water Taxi the rest of the day and all the next day with your ticket. We used it later that day to go via the Statue of Liberty and a little water cruise.
10 out of 10!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Cathy
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My 14 year old son and I loved this tour. Heidi was a fantastic guide, funny, informative and a true New Yorker. I lived in New York many years ago and mainly booked the tour to introduce my son to this great city, but I thoroughly enjoyed it - a great mix of sights, local stories, and really helpful and funny local advice. My son also loved it Heidi also convinced him that a visit to the 9/11 museum was a must, so we went back to it and he learned so much.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Remy is a fantastic guide. Nice easy walk thru the Wall Street area and over to the 9/11 Memorial. Saved time by being able to bypass some of the Statue of Liberty line to board the ferry. Would recommend to all.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

A good snapshot of different places in NYC with Kernan who was informative and funny. Recommend doing the 9/11 museum tour as you get the next day to venture on the water taxi.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Good value if you want to see most of the attractions within the pass. But we didn't find the queues were any shorter - so many people have these passes that the queues are just as long. And watch out the 9/11 memorial museum can only be accessed after 2pm with the New York City Pass and the queues are huge. I wasn't aware of that before hand - it may have been in the small print but it wasn't obvious to me. If you are only there for a couple of days you probably wouldn't get value for money from the pass as there are other offers on individual attractions. No problems getting the pass, just handed in the token to the first attraction we went to. All went smoothly.

Doing what: New York CityPass

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Our guide was Remy. He did a fantastic job of showing us The NYSE, Ground Zero, and leading U.S. To The Statue of Liberty. He clearly knows NYC well along with historical points that the typical citizen would not know.

The few complaints I have are as follows

1. The tour starts at 9:00am. If you are like us, we drove in from Ft. Washington, PA. This is normally a 90 minute Drive to NY. We left at 5:30 am. I put 20 Broad, New York, New York into the GPS. Well, after spending about 40 in Tolls, I ended up in the hood at 20 Broad Ave., New York, New York. A further check on my GPS showed multiple addresses in NY using 20 Broad. After realizing the mistake, I was sent on another 40 minute trip to the correct location. I was able to use the city Manhattan vs. New York as the city. When you get in the general area, just find any parking garage and walk from there. We still made it to the meeting spot with twenty minutes to spare. The other problem is that you are driving in along with other morning rush hour traffic. I'm used to heavy rush hour traffic due to where I am from. If you aren't, you will not enjoy the drive. The one thing I wish I could have added to my tour was the 911 Memorial Museum. If you can, make reservations with the museum online for around 3pm. It should time out well for you. No reservation and you may be standing and waiting for hours before you can get in.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

very good tour -tho if anyone went 2 Empire State @7.30 in morn they would be ahead of crowds - the time spent there on top only about 40 mins-short bus trip to Intrepid good -visit to Intrepid too short /almost running around to see exhibits - water taxi transport terrific- 9/11 easy find by onself

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Do not think that because you purchased a 9/11 Museum ticket you will be dropped anywhere near the museum. It was probably a 10 block walk.....and if you have COPD and it is hot.....it is impossible. Take a taxi and go directly to the 9/11 Museum and skip the cruise.

Doing what: New York Harbor Hop-on Hop-off Cruise including 9/11 Museum Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour! The guide provided information that we would not have known about. He really brought reality to the tour about 9/11

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a great time on this very interesting and moving tour. Statue of Liberty and Ellis island were amazing to visit and very interesting. It was good that you had time to enjoy this part in your own time, so no rush. Ferry over was quick and easy. A great view of the statue. Plenty of photo opportunities. We loved the 9/11 memorial tour which was both interesting and very humbling. Our tour guide Tom was brilliant, very funny, very interesting to listen too with his stories and info. We had a lot of fun, so a big Thank You to him.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Unbelievable. So glad we did it - and our guide was Heidi who was the best there is! She was amusing, enlightening but incredibly aware of the importance of the sites she was taking us through. You're lucky if you get her as your guide. A fantastic way to see New York. What a city. We'll be back! Ground Zero - takes your breath away. The most thought provoking thing we've ever done. God bless America!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Words can not describe what you can feel here... It has to be experienced to believe and relive those moments... You cannot visit NYC without visiting 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour and the 9/11 Museum...

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic tour, worth the upgrade to the 9/11 museum and the two day water taxi so you can hop on and off at your leisure. Very organized and not rushed and highlighted all the must see places, Heidi our tour guide was great, very informative and knew the area very well. Would highly recommend this tour, everything was taken care of.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed our tour. Our guide was great and we enjoyed hearing things from her perspective about 9/11. The tour was very thorough.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

An enjoyable and varied 6 hour tour with some stops, and plenty of time particularly at 9/11 Memorial, where we proceeded on foot to Irish Hunger Memorial before a short stroll to quayside for boat trip. Whole experience made interesting and often amusing by our excellent guide, David. A little disappointed by included lunch in Little Italy, though there was time for additional cost coffe and cheesecake just across the road. Nice small group of 12, comfortable small air conditioned mini-coach. Good value and gave us an excellent overview of the city which helped us to enjoy the rest of our stay.

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Luxury Coach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved It! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and reliving 9/11 and experiencing it from the actual site had a huge impact. Will go again if ever I am in New York.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message