• USD ($)
  • English
Ground Zero is the 16-acre site on Lower Manhattan that, until the tragic events of September 11, 2001, was home to the twin towers of the World Trade Center. America's most sacred ground is now a construction site, as the frames of the Libeskind ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 579 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The waether was bitter cold in the minus figures, but dry so we layered up for this trip. The subway journey down to Wall Street was very quick - arrived in time to meet our guide at 9am. He was a very good guide, very helpful, funny, imformative and friendly. The visit to Wall Street was very informative including the fact that most of it has transformed into Condo's and Gym's since 9/11 happened.

The walk down to the memorial site took us through Trintiy Church - it was nice to get warmed up before the next outside venture. The guide told us about St Paul's Chapel whci was unharmed in the attack however pointed out that it wasn't covered in this trip but well worth a visit if we had chance.

When we arrived at the memorial, the sun was out and highlighted what a beautiful tribute the pools are. Very meaningful and there were some roses in situ for birthday's etc. Sadly the museum opening had been delayed till 21 May 2014 but on looking through the glass walls, we managed to see the girders which had been left behind when the tragedy happened.

We then walked down to Battery Park to visit the Statue of Liberty - well worth the visit eventhough we didn't go inside as we had already done this in 1995 and guess it hadn't changed much. when we had finished, we got the boat back to the mainland and then set of the visit St Paul's Chapel - WOW !!! That definately hits home what happened to anyone who visits - this is a must. Again we have recomended this to our friends who are travelling to New York in May 14.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our tour guide was GREAT! Next time I come to New York I will definitely book again and I hope to get Tony again. He had so much knowledge of 9/11 and New York. He should get a bonus!!!!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Ground Zero with Optional 9/11 Memorial Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Rob is a wonderful tour guide and just what we were looking for in a walking tour. He gave us a lot of history on NYC. Since he was there on 9/11/01 he gave us firsthand information and his personal experience of that day and the days after. Being a photo journalist during the time, he could tell the story. We had a small group of approximately 10 people which was just perfect. His microphone headset was not working this particular day but he didn't need it with such a small group. We would highly recommend this tour to any family interested in the memorial sight and tour of ground zero. Rob kept our children ages 13 and 15 very interested. We found that we had something in common with Rob. He knew a past high school friend of ours who is a political cartoonist and he worked with him during a presidential inauguration. Thank you Rob and we hope to visit again and see the finished museum. Maybe our paths will meet again. Your friends from Idaho.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Ground Zero with Optional 9/11 Memorial Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour guide Heidi Benedict was amazing! It is a MUST DO tour if you want to feel at ease making your own way around NYC. The tour started out front of the Empire State Building, but we waited inside for about 30 minutes before going up. I was staying on 51st St and caught the subway ($2.50ish ticket) downtown to 33rd St, and just walked around the corner. I was a solo traveler and Heidi helped break the ice and got us chatting throughout the tour, making it much more fun!! It was very cold up the top of the ESB (and there as lots of fog over the city), so I would suggest some gloves/beanie/scarf/jumper at this time of year. The Intrepid museum was the highlight for me. We walked through Battery Park to Broadway, up to Wall St then Trinity Church before the 9/11 memorial where we parted ways. Unfortunately I had only been in the country 6 hours and didn't have any currency to be able to tip Heidi, but she was definitely a very fun, helpful, enthusiastic guide who also ran to the top of World Trade Centre tower 4 in 17mins (or 7 in 14mins?)! After the tour I was left to find my own way home. So I walked around for a bit and then caught the water taxi from battery park, past brooklyn bridge and the statue of liberty then back to Intrepid. From there (W 46th st), I walked 3kms back to E 51st st to my hotel room. I wouldn't have felt comfortable doing that without having done this tour! The next day I walked 12kms around midtown and central park. Heidi and Viator were instrumental in boosting my confidence of being able to get around NYC by myself! Thanks!!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide made the walking tour! He was friendly, knowledgeable and shared his own personal experiences from 9/11.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Ground Zero with Optional 9/11 Memorial Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our tour guide (Tom) was a resident in NYC during the 9/11 tragedy, his description of the actions taken by New Yorkers was beautiful and inspiring. A great tour that I would certainly recommend to others!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Great tour, except we thought we'd see the Statue of Liberty, but we got off the boat at Battery Park to tour 9/11 exhibit - other than that, wonderful experience. Guide was engaging, but needs new material! No, really, he was very personable and easy to be with.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Tour was great. What we saw was good, but our tour guide Tony really made it for us! His first-person stories of how the events of 9/11 unfolded from someone on the ground that day was very moving. He even laid on the wet ground to get our picture with the Freedom Tower in the background! Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Ground Zero with Optional 9/11 Memorial Admission

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Excellent value, guide on boat very good. Visit to 9/11 highlight of trip. Don't get off at Brooklyn as not much to see.

Doing what: New York Harbor Hop-on Hop-off Cruise including 9/11 Memorial Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very much enjoyed it. The 9/11 Memorial fantastic.

Doing what: New York Harbor Hop-on Hop-off Cruise including 9/11 Memorial Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

we had a tour guide called Remy Germinario and he was fantastic very knowledgeable of the 9/11 Memorial and statue of liberty. It was a small group of only 7 people for the tour and he made it very interesting for all of us

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour was brilliant. The tour guide Jim was very knowledgeable, comical and helpful. We were fortunate that it was a clear dry day although bitterly cold as the view from the top of Empire State Building was amazing. You could see for miles. We skipped the queues and went straight up to the view. Afterwards a bus picked us up and took us to the harbour where we visited the Intrepid museum. You get the opportunity to go inside and walk through the submarine as well as spending time within the ship museum looking at exhibits and taking part in the interactive ones. You can also visit the cafe and shop. Next, off to Battery Park via boat to the 9/11 memoriaI. You are left here by the tour guide to look around and can either walk over Brooklyn bridge and get the boat back to Manhatten or go back where you got off to begin with. The boat on the way back goes via the Statue of Liberty and although you can't get off to go onto the island the crew are brilliant and stop directly in front so you can take photos. I would really recommend this tour as it includes a lot for the money and you can make a full day of it sightseeing in Brooklyn in the afternoon before you head back to Manhatten by boat.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Learned a lot about ground zero and what happened that day. We were shown just about everything! Very moving experience!

Doing what: Walking Tour of Ground Zero with Optional 9/11 Memorial Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It was very memorable trip Tom did a great job explaining . His information about the 9/11 memorial will always be with me. He walks a bit fast for the older members in the group but is genuinely informative and fun. Thanmk you for giving us the expeerience in NYC Yes we would use Viator again and also suggest it to a friend. Thank you

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Brilliant. Aside from the cold weather this tour was fantastic - emotional at points (particularly in the Church) but visiting such a scene of devastation and remembrance will be. Our tour guide was Tony and he was fantastic - he had first-hand experience of 9/11 and this really added depth to the tour, allowing us to understand on a level not experienced before what it was like that day and serving as a reminder of the tragedy.
His knowledge of the financial district too was great - my group found this to be a much more interesting portion of the tour than they had expected. All around worth the money and some more!
I've not experienced other walking tours in NYC but would highly recommend.

Doing what: Walking Tour of Ground Zero with Optional 9/11 Memorial Admission

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message