• USD ($)
  • English
Ground Zero is the 16-acre site on Lower Manhattan that, until the tragic events of September 11, 2001, was home to the twin towers of the World Trade Center. America's most sacred ground is now a construction site, as the frames of the Libeskind ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 508 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We met outside the Empire State Building at 7.15 in the morning so this is not for the faint hearted. JP our tour guide was brilliant from start to finish. It was great to avoid the queues by being the first people in. JP explained where everything was and obliged taking photos of people when asked. The bus tour was informative and took us around mid Manhattan. The Intrepid and submarine tour touched on everything we wanted to see and again we avoided all the queues. The boat trip was great with good views from the water to the Manhattan skyline. The tour with JP ended at the 9/11 memorial. I can honestly say that his input made this trip even better and I even won one of his badges!!! Superb guide, superb tour. However it does not finish there, as you can then use your water taxi ticket to go back uptown. The boat crew was great giving fantastic views of the statue of liberty and hanging around enough so that you all got great pictures. Well worth the money as we saw so much of Manhattan in a condensed time. Thanks JP.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I brought guests from the Midwest and California to see the 9/11 Memorial. Tony, our guide, prepared us well from the St. Paul Chapel site, accommodated our senior guests well and gave a riveting, first hand account and then gave facts throughout the walk into the site. Excellent, recommended.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

This was our 4th hop on hop off tour. All the rest have been very pleasant and informative. However, this one was not. First, the driver hollered at my Grandson for having his arm out of the bus and he did not. I was sitting right behind him. He was not doing anything. When his Father and Mother defended him the driver said he was just giving a warning and did not mean that anything was done wrong. My Grandson was at the point of tears so at the next stop, my daughter went forward a couple of seats to try and console him. When the guide came back upstairs and saw her coming back to her seat, the guide yelled at her to take her seat. When my daughter and son-in-law tried to explain what happened, the guide argued with them. Several passengers had asked to be notified at the 9/11 memorial stop and the guide forgot to do that and had the bus stop in the middle of the street to let passengers off.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

The tour guide, Mary, though pleasant, was ill prepared for this activity. She kept referring to her notebook and told us that she had to do that in order to provide the right information! There should be a test given to the guides concerning the information that they must know. Her presentation was erratic and mediocre because she was not well-schooled in her topic. She did not share her personal experiences and feeling about that day of days. She did not control the group but allowed a young boy to monopolize the presentations with his incessant comments and questions. When we finally reached the 9/11 Memorial is was anti-climatic instead of being the emotionally charged experience we expected. I believe this was due to her lack of enthusiasm and preparation. May I strongly recommend that your guides use a flag or some other more professional looking device to lead the group. This guide held up her black notebook that had a plain white sheet of paper in the cover. It was not good.
I anticipated a tour that was well-worth the expense of a 3 day trip to NYC. This trip was 14th birthday gift for my twin grandsons. I really liked that your company kept in touch with me with updates, etc. I expected a first class presentation but was very disappointed.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

1 stars is ONLY for the Water Taxi-great view of the NYC skyline and close-up photo op at Statue of Liberty-excellent boat guide’s commentary-Highly recommend Water Taxi. The hop-on bus part is horrible. Prior to trip thru Internet I found out the bus is by Open Tour. Called and they said you can only turn in your Viator voucher at the Water Taxi office at Pier 79 as indicated on the voucher so you must make your way there. Water Taxi employees did not recognize this combo ticket. Finally found it on their computer. They kept our vouchers and gave us a ticket for the Water Taxi but had no way to print a ticket for the bus. So they printed an extra ticket and wrote the word “bus” on it. Did not have map of the bus stops so told us to ask at one of their stops. Got a map at the 3rd stop. Map only gives cross streets-no signs at the stops. Waited at corner indicated for 45 min and no bus. During that time we saw 2-3 buses from other bus cos. go by every 15min. Took a taxi to the 9/11 Memorial and waited an hour at the corner indicated . The bus finally came but would not accept our tickets. We explained what had happened at Water Taxi office and pointed out the ad for this dual tour on their map. They said ride with us and a supervisor at the next stop might help us. After calling the home office, he said he could not help us. They let us stay on that bus but we could not get off because we couldn’t get back on. You must exit at Empire State stop and board a new one for the 2nd half. Great employee named Bernard said he would stay with us and put us on that bus so we could continue the tour and get back to the area of our hotel. Asked why they have so few buses and they said only have 15 buses for all of Manhattan. Commentary is thru earbuds and was worthless. 80 % was dreadful music and rest was a man and a woman not saying much about the sites you are seeing. Bus driver does not announce the bus stop name or mention sights near it. Also driver was not following the course on the map. On

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Ultimate New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour by Bus and Boat

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

The guide spent the majority of the tour talking about everything but what happened on 9/11. We started outside the church he spoke 15 minutes we went through the church 10 minutes and 40 minutes later we were still on the side of the church. We got to the memorial with 10 minutes left on the tour.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

We have gone on many European tours with Viator and expected the same quality. First, there were no sound enhancements (headsets); so very difficult to hear. The tour was slow and dragged out; seemed like she was trying to fill time. We expected to see the museum and to hear in depth about the construction of the new building at ground zero. I appreciate trying to put a "positive" spin on this terrible event....but please, just report the facts not a flowery spin. Wouldn't recommend this to anyone.

Doing what: World Trade Center Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

As it was my first trip to New York, booked this tour which was excellent and informative. Empire State building and 9/11 memorial amazing. Special thanks to Patrick our tour guide, very professional and informative, would definately recommend this tour to anyone thinking of visiting New York. Thank you Viator and would definately book with you again.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was a good tour, albeit quick walking portion (wife and I are 75 yrs. old). Tour guide (actor-singer) was pleasant. Ground Zero Museum dedication took place the day we went. Museum opened after we left town.
Ferry-ride to Liberty Island was quick. We strolled leisurely around island, took pictures, bought souvenirs, then ferried to Ellis Island. We liked Tour because it contained what we wanted to see.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour around Wall Street and 9/11 Memorial with our guide Ali who was very knowledgable and entertaining., followed by a trip to The Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island where headphone tours were available free of charge. Boats across are regular and convenient. Highly recommend this trip

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very enjoyable with a knowledgeable guide who was himself on the twin towers on 9/11. Visited the little church which played a big role in the aftermath and we would not have known about this without a guide. It is quite a long tour (2.5-3 hours) but we enjoyed it. Tony (the guide) also took some nice pictures of us.
If you are interested in the background of the whole thing then this is a good tour to do. If you just want to see the memorial then its not necessary as you can now just walk around it without booking. The museum is separate and we did not visit that.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour. Our guide, I've forgotten his name (a photojournalist), was wonderful. Very informative and interesting since he was there on 9/11. Would recommend.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Tony, our tour guide was superb. He made the whole tour extremely interesting. His knowledge and personal insight into the events that day made the tour unforgetable. This comes highly recommended. Visited the 9/11 museum same day and it was great, but the tour was best! Thanks Tony.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was the high light of our trip to NYC! We booked months in advance using Viator and the process was smooth and stress free! We would recommend this sight to all our friends and relatives!
The actual tour was totally AMAZING and we cannot express enough how great our guide was -Debbie Mason.
Debbie showed passion not just for the facts of the tour for 9/11 but for all the other information on NYC itself .. Her knowledge is outstanding. The actual 9/11 tour was told to us in such a compassionate and factual way .. Debbie did not glamourise or dramatise the information.. She gave us the facts in a touching human way that at one point there was not a dry eye, the use of iPad with the photos of before and after made the tour extra special and helped us to try and comprehend the horror and tragedy of that sad day!
Debbie is a multi talented guide with many strings to her bow! She offer other tours such as photography tours, pub crawl tours to storm chasing tours!
Debbie comes with a 100% recommendation to all who are thinking of booking this tour!
Thank you Debbie and Viator for making our first trip to NYC so special!
Emma and Mick Mason - Mead

Doing what: World Trade Center Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Debbie was our guide tour she is very passionate and knowledgable. The tour was worth the early start, we had VIP passes which allowed us to go straight to the front of each line. 9/11 was quite a moving experience which you need to visit on your trip. All in all a great day out.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message