Ground Zero is the 16-acre site on Lower Manhattan that, until the tragic events of September 11, 2001, was home to the twin towers of the World Trade Center. America's most sacred ground is now a construction site, as the frames of the Libeskind ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 796 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Rob our tour guide was excellent very knowlegable and gave us many insights to 9/11 from his own first hand experiences as a journalist in NYC that horrible day!!

Very emotional afternoon/evening

9/11 Museum is brilliant....highlight of our time in NYC

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Despite Subway faults and chilly weather, we managed to arrive on time and our guides (who obviously had the same issues to deal with) were there waiting for us. Even though we were a small group, we ended up with TWO guides! Rachel M and Linda were both great hosts and kept up the energy and non-stop facts throughout.

Although the subject matter of 9/11 may be a little dour for some, our guides kept things respectful without bringing the mood down and explained the decisions behind this fascinating memorial. They both also shared personal stories which helped bring home the human element and made this tour even more memorable.

I would certainly recommend this tour as it will give you an insight into the financial district, a new perspective on 9/11 and the Liberty and Ellis island aspects of the tour can be done at your leisure.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was an incredible insight to a horrific day for the individuals who live / work in New York. Our tour guide Debbie was so honest and shared her own insights and experience not only from the 9/11 terrorist attack but also the 1993 attack and the aftermath since the 9/11 attack and the dramatic change that has had on NYC. We as Brits cannot even come close to imagining exactly what that day was like when near 3000 people lost their lives but thankfully from Debbie's heartfelt insights we came somewhat close to envisioning the traumas which developed that day. We begun learning about the surrounding area and the way it had developed. If you are visiting NYC visiting the World Trade Centre is a must but if you do not do an actual tour you are only visiting the building and the museum of what us as Tourists would be gobsmacked to see however with a tour especially from Debbie herself you get to feel a small part of you was there that day. Thank you so much Debbie for everything. Have a great birthday HAPPY BIRTHDAY from Nathan and Rachel x

Doing what: World Trade Center Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our tour guide was great and really had a contagious passion history! Patrick was a wealth of knowledge and answered everyones questions with great enthusiasm! We learnt lots about the historical buildings and had a very touching experience at the 9/11 memorial! Statue of liberty was very cool too!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This is a great introduction to Lower Manhattan, starting from Wall Street, where our guide gave us "gossips" and "inside stories" about the famous financial institution. We visited Federal Hall, which has a strong history back to George Washington. We then made our way to Trinity Church, featuring a beautiful interior with tall arches and fine stain glass windows. Our next step was very emotional, as we reached the World Trade Center plaza. Our guide stopped there for a moment, letting us walk around the twin pools, the 9/11 Memorial Museum and the new One World Trade Center, a time for reflection. After a while, we crossed Battery Park to embark on the ferry to Liberty Island. Our tickets were skip the line, saving us waiting time, though the security lines were still quite long. The ferry crossing was nice, giving us opportunity to enjoy NYC Skyline, and provided good photo opps of the Statue of Liberty as we were getting closed to the island. The ticket allowed Platform entrance, definitely recommended, just to see the inside of the statue. Included in the ticket is an audio guide, a good way to learn about the story of the Statue. Our return ferry stopped on Ellis Island - we had to cut our visit short as we had an evening activity but it is worth spending several hours. Though I had send Ellis Island through documentaries and movies before, I was moved by the stories of the migrants, stepping in their steps across the big hallways. The tour took us the full day, and we were enjoyed it

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We were greeted around 9am next to the NY Stock Exchange by our friendly guide who then led us for the guided part of the tour through a few streets of lower Manhattan. She narrated history, facts and anecdotes of the area, stopping at different points of interests: NYSE, the Federal Hall, Trinity Church, the World Trade Center and 9/11 memorial and plaza, to end up on Battery Park around 10. The guide's explanations brought a definitive extra dimensions to the area compared to simply walking around. Despite the priority boarding tickets, getting on the Liberty Island Ferry took a good 1h because of security. The Statue of Liberty is much bigger than it looks from far away!! We spent quiet some time in and around the statue, following the nice audio guided tour and enjoying the cold, beautiful weather and views of Manhattan skyline but had to cut it short in order to see a bit of Ellis Island before the last Ferry at 5:30. I'd definitely like to go back to climb up to the crown. Ellis island is also a very interesting part of the tour, providing a very real perspective on the history of immigration in the early 19th century.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

This was a good tour, tour guide brilliant and very funny. It is tiring but you cover a lot of things so make sure you have good walking shoes on. I would recommend you allow time to see St Pauls church whilst you are in the 9/11 area. Only down side was that it would have been better if we had more time on the Intrepid, did not have time to see half that was there.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

9/11 museum is a must but be wary of the long queues if you go at busy times. We were delayed by half an hour which can affect the water taxi times if not careful.They were only running them every 90 minutes which means you dont get time to get off and see the other stops. Check times early dont rely on the times on the website. That said it goes really close to the statue of liberty which is of course an iconic monument. Its worth the time but plan carefully.

Doing what: New York Harbor Hop-on Hop-off Cruise including 9/11 Museum Ticket

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

All the reviews say it's worth but it's whatever. I think the only convenience is not waiting in ticket lines and only paying once versus at multiple locations. Picking it up at one of the 5 locations was a pain and we got there pretty late. We used this at the Natural History Museum and it only allowed for a basic ticket. We weren't allowed to see the 3-D shows there nor could we pay the $5-10 difference to add that on. They wanted us to buy new tickets at that price to see the 3-D shows. Such a bummer! Had I known, I would have used the 3rd tour for something else. We knew the 9/11 Museum closes at 8 or 9pm and it says 6pm suggested arrival. We got there at 7pm and their ticket booths are pretty much CLOSED! So don't even bother. They should take out the word SUGGESTED for 6pm and just say, ticket booths close at 6pm. So another tour eliminated from our choices. Ha! Empire State Building- is worse than a ride at Disneyland. They said it would only be a 40min wait time but it was 90min. The line to get the tickets wasn't even that bad 5-10min, so you don't need this pass, it doesn't help you at all. Get your tickets there. The express line is $50, not sure how valuable your time is, it would save you 60 out of those 90mins... So there's a line to get to the ticket booth, a mile line to the elevator, then another mile line to another elevator. It's insane. View is nice. If I was staying in NYC for longer, this pass might have been used to it's fullest potential, but there were too many inconveniences, so I wouldn't recommend it.

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

it was a great experience but I should have just purchased the entrance to the museum which was $24.00 instead of the whole tour for 3 people - it was expensive for just having a tour guide walking us to ground zero site which I knew where it was ., the tour cost is not worth that expense it something you could do on your own.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wall Street, 9/11 and Statue of Liberty tour very interesting - especially with Bobby our guide. He was full of information, gave us time to look around and kept us entertainedtentertained. Be aware that once you go on the ferry you are on your own which suited us as you can then decide on your own timings on the islands. Great tour. Would recommend - especially with Bobby!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

we found this tour to be really informative and our guide was an excellent young man who truly was passionate about NY and what had happened on 9/11

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing ! Out guide was very knowledgable , and gave us a personal accounting of that day . We would recommend this to anyone who wants to visit the 9/11 Memorial and Meseum . No waiting in line to get into the Museum !

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A day we will never forget. Our previous knowledge and experience of 9/11 had been long distance and via television. To actually be there where this terrible event happened was surreal yet uplifting at the same time. Our tour guide, who had been there on that day, recalled the events in extraordinary detail. We went into St Paul's before the tour started (allow 1 hour) and afterwards we visited the 9/11 museum (allow 3 hours) - please do not miss either. This is so much more than a tour.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour of Memorial and Ground Zero plus Museum. Guide was outstanding, very knowledgeable and was prepared with photos. Would recommend to everyone.

Doing what: 9/11 Memorial and Ground Zero Walking Tour with Optional 9/11 Museum Upgrade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message