The 20th-century artwork displayed on the gently inclining white walls of the Solomon R Guggenheim Museum often take second place to the building's landmark Frank Lloyd Wright design. The great architect's last work is an uplifting sight, from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 28 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very convenient way to pre-book all your sightseeing in New York: the accompanying book gives you guidance on how to reclaim your ticket, as sometimes you don't go through the general admissions lines you use the group booking desks.

I saw the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Top of the Rock Rockefeller Center tour, the Guggenheim museum and the Ripley's Believe it or not museum.

Recommended if you don't want the hassle of waiting in lines, or want a bit of guidance on where to see things in NY!

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

Jess G
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I spend 15 days as a lone tourist and managed to use the City Pass efficiently. If you are not in a rush and spending at least 9 days in NYC, this is worth it to buy. Although some museums included in this has a "pay what you wish" option, buying this pass will let you avoid the awkwardness of "being cheap" situations when paying to get in and you also avoid big crowds in pay-what-you-wish days. Do spend one full day for the big museums. And plan well, especially if you're taking other tours that might already include the other attractions here. I used my City Pass for the Circle Line (instead of the Statue of Liberty, because I already booked another tour with it included) and I upgraded to full island cruise for an additional $5. I used it for the Empire State Building and had it upgraded to access the 102nd floor observatory for $20 (a bit much for an upgrade but you'll forget the cost when you get to the top). I used it for the Metropolitan Museum of Art but ran out of a day to use it for The Cloisters (because it was too far uptown, I decided to skip it and just walk around and let serendipity do its thing). I also used it for The Guggenheim instead of Top of the Rock (which was included in another tour I booked). Guggenheim is very do-able in one hour if you're not an art aficionado/scholar wanting to take your sweet time viewing and immersing yourself in each of the exhibits). I just chose to linger to appreciate pieces that was interesting to me, the others, I just did an "overview". I also used it for MoMA. Do not miss MoMA, spend at least 3 hours here. My favourite pieces are the Van Gogh paintings. The American Museum of Natural History, was I think, the most value for money, because one show is already included in the City Pass (either the space show or imax film), as opposed to paying additional bucks for it. If I ever get the chance to go back, I will definitely buy City Pass again, and explore other areas of the museum I didn't get to see.

Doing what: New York CityPass

Tatu L
Finland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

In my opinion, the New York CityPass is great. First I went to the Empire State Building to change my voucher for the CityPass. I had a great time there, I've never been in such a tall Building before and the views where fantastic, I got some fine photos from up there. On the next day I went to the Guggenheim Museum, day after that to the Museum of Modern Arts and a day after that to the Metropolitan Museum of Arts. Some beautiful art in New York City, pieces of art that can't be seen anywhere else in the World. Finally on weekend I went to see the Statue of Liberty and the Immigration Museum. Nice little cruise that, too. All this with the New York CityPass!

Doing what: New York CityPass

Jennifer P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

saves you a lot of money. some tickets n the book they did not tear out so maybe you could try using them again.
Guggenheim the staircase is closed so no photo opportunities. this was the largest queue and it did not have many exhibits. very pretensious and boring.

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Fantastic trip, with surprising extras. We hand't planned to get mixed up with the Wall Street occupiers but it was the only way through to the theatre. Neither had we planned to join the breast cancer awareness walk but we did. The highlight for my wife was the (free) look around the Chrysler Building foyer. The City Pass worked a treat and we would recommend anyone to use it. The only disappointment was that the Guggenheim was offering such a limited view without notice becuase of refurbishment.

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

We used the pass to go up the Empire State Building and then upgraded for the Skyride. Both were well worth it however I found the skyride image a bit underlit. Maybe a new projector light bulb is in order. Also toured the Guggenheim fulfilling a long time dream. We did not have time for anything else this time around. I would prefer if one did not have to make a choice between certain sites/actiivites but instead have access to all. Would recommend the CityPass to anyone who has at least 2 days to tour.

Doing what: New York CityPass

Jack D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

We arrived at the Guggenheim and it was pouring rain. The line for tickets extended out the door and half a block down the street. We walked in the main enterance showed our tickets, picked up our free audio tour and glanced back at the poor souls getting drenched. No waiting, no standing in line. That single ticket was worth the price of the whole book. Highly recommended.

Doing what: New York CityPass

Igor J
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

We spent 6 days in New York. CityPass was great, allowing us to skip most lines not the security lines.That itself made it worthwhile, even it wasn't cheaper than the individual activities. Took 4 days to get through as we did ESB and Liberty Ellis tour on the one day. Guggenheim only took half day bit of a let-down and only had a half day for MOMA but could have spent longer. Natural History Museum & The Met easily take full days. Had a great time in NYC. Don't forget to buy a 7 day subway ticket - best value to get to everything efficiently, including the odd musical we went to two.

Doing what: New York CityPass

Stephanie V
Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

We enjoyed fast entrance, good service and all that for a nice price. Defenitely worth it! Information was accurate, though Guggenheim was still quite busy on Wednesday.

Doing what: New York CityPass

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

We saw everything necessary with this pass, I just wish we had changed the voucher to ticket booklet in some other place than Empire State Building, we would have benefitted the most (time wise).The easiest and fastest place would have been the Guggenheim info desk (not the ticket line!)

Doing what: New York CityPass

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

The New York City Pass is really a good buy. You get to see so many attractions at a very discounted price. The only comment I have are the options where I have to choose only between Guggenheim AND Top of the Rock and only between Statue of the Liberty/Ellis Island and the Cruise. I wanted all four of them and lesser on the other museums.

Doing what: New York CityPass

soxycat
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Good value, would be better with a few more options. Maybe use 6 of 8 regardless of sites. We wanted Guggenheim and Top of the rock, so was a little frustrating.

Doing what: New York CityPass

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Easy to use as one of the 3 collection points for our pass was just around the corner from our hotel and we visited Moma, Guggenheim and Empire State Building so we only saved £12 between 3 of us, so how much you save depends on where you visit.

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Excellent value for money although the Guggenheim was a huge disappointment..

Doing what: New York CityPass

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

We enjoyed of Our new york city trip! We only did not visit THE history museum. We have choken for THE Guggenheim museum.

Doing what: New York CityPass

Naomi M
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Good options and good value for money. On a personal note, I think it would have been fairer for the and/or optional ticket choice to be between the Guggenheim and MOMA rather than between the Top of the Rock and Guggenheim and the fact that you couldn't get the money off the bus tour until you picked up the booklet from one of the places was a pain, as all the bus tours stop at all these places. So we ended up missing out on this and purchasing tickets anyway in order to get to our first destination.

Doing what: New York CityPass

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

New York CityPass was fantastic, you get to see some of the great sites of New York. I was disappointed that I had to choose between the Guggenheim and the Top of the Rock, they are very different places and I would have liked to have seen both.

Doing what: New York CityPass

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

We have used this pass on previous trips to NY, so no surprises, except: We were disappointed that the ticket for the Top of the Rock was an either/or with the Guggenheim. We were under the impression that we could do both.

Doing what: New York CityPass

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

We were unable to use all of the vouchers in the packet with only 3 full days in NYC, but what we did use saved us money and lots of time. We would have stood in line for well over an hour for the Statue of Liberty tour but the voucher moved us almost to the beginning of the line. Same held true for the Guggenheim where there were 50 people in line to buy tickets and we basically walked in without waiting.

Doing what: New York CityPass

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

tres interessant, dommage qu'il n'y ait pas d'autres muses inclus et qu'on ait a chaoisir entre le Top of the Rock et le Guggenheim les deux sont faire. mais c'est vraiment financierement recommandable.

Doing what: New York CityPass

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

The Empire State Building was great and definately worth the return at night, after 10pm. The Met was very interesting but you need a day to do this, if you have the time. Recommend coffee on the roof terrace with great views over the tops of the trees in Central Park. Walked through Central Park to the Natural History Museum, again could be all day. Whales exhibition at this time well worth it. The Guggenhiem was a great disappointment as the present installation covers the entire central atrium with white fabric, giving a view of changing colours from the bottom only. Having visited before and seen the amaising structure of the building, been able to look down from the roof and look down to the fish eye pond. What a let down. Make sure you check what exhibitions are being shown at the museums before you visit. We paid for the Top of the Rock which was even more fantastic than the ESB. The views over most of the island gave a much better idea of the Big Apple. Overall by this from home for the best deal.

Doing what: New York CityPass

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

With this Pass, tickets to the Guggenheim were included. We paid full price for the tickets and were not informed, half of the museum was closed. After taking the subway across town to the museum, we were rudely told we could use a ticked for Top of the Rock instead. This was a total rip off and no one apologized or offered to make up for it. The staff there was the most rude of any we encountered in New York CIty.

Doing what: New York CityPass

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

Was nice to already have tickets in hand. Still needed to wait in line to get to top of Empire and to wait in line for ferry. Guggenheim was a disappointment, a lot of construction till October (FYI). Would have been nice to have time to utilize all tickets with the time we had.

Doing what: New York CityPass

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2012

The pass is very good for avoiding long lines, as in the Empire State Building and the Guggenhiem, but in the winter so many tours don't run that we had very little choice, and couldn't do the walking/cycling tours we might have enjoyed. Think the pass would be useful in the summer, but wouldn't recommend it for anyone on a winter trip - just get to the events early!

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2011

The ideas presented are great. The only problem is that many museums do not give the pass holder anything to save time at the entrance. The Natural History Museum did have a special guy pulling folks out of the two lines if he saw the pass. The MoMa, Metropolitan and Guggenheim treated us just like those who were buying new tickets. We did not go to the Empire State building. The museums were fabulous. We have nothing but respect for the excellent exhibits, fine docents and the well done displays. We even have pictures where one would not expect to be able to use a camera. A+ to New York.

Doing what: New York CityPass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message