The legendary borough of Harlem has been famous in New York City since the 1920s, when the Harlem Renaissance brought about a cultural revolution among African-Americans in New York with a focus on the arts. Today Harlem is an increasingly ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 167 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I’ve been to NYC many times and wanted to do a gospel tour since long – yet never managed for lack of time. During my recent visit, just before Christmas, together with my wife I finally had a go. And then it all began with a mistake. I had booked the tour on a Sunday, but then realised that we would have to cut it short, as we needed to head for the airport for our transatlantic return flight earlier than I’d thought. I contacted VIATOR by mail about the options. VIATOR replied, first by mail and subsequently by phone, recommending me to change the booking to the Wednesday tour. I took their advice and appreciated the extra mile in the personal phone call.

In the morning we made the way to the 690 8th Avenue meeting point (not really easy to find – the office is located in the first floor and the street-level entrance is, diplomatically put, quite modest), but we were welcomed by some very nice people and the tour bus left shortly afterwards, taking us through Harlem, including a visit to the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. And then the church service at the Greater Central Baptist Church on the corner of 5th Avenue and the 132nd street. The tour guide was brilliant – probably the best, I’ve ever encountered. He made everyone feel like a very special guest and was extremely well informed about the places and the history of New York and Harlem in particular.

The church service left a big impression on us. Most of the guests were like us – tourists. Yet it was not a show. It felt genuine, honest and heart-warming. It was simply a great experience.

The tour included a ‘brunch’. To be honest, we’d expected lunch bags or some simple food, so we were surprised to be taken to Sylvia's Soul Food restaurant on Lenox Avenue. I wouldn’t describe the food there as a culinary highlight, but portions were massive and the restaurant cosy and very interesting. A member of the Wood’s family entertained us at our table about the history of the place, and we will k

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide Alvin was terrific. We learned so much about the history and architecture of Harlem. The gospel service was so uplifting and wonderful. A great way to wrap up our trip!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Do it!! Go on this tour, you wont regret it!

My daughter and I went on this tour 15.2.14, the coldest Sunday morning ever. We went to the office to change our tickets, and to get instructions about the bus. The young people in the office where all kind, smiling and serviceminded. ( we even bought Shuttle back to JFK there).

Our guide, Duane, gave us informations about the buildings we passed, stories about celebritys, stories about "old and new" and was very well informed about Harlem and Manhattan. Even the story of why The Bronx are named The Bronx he told. He made everyone to feel special and welcome. Thank you Duane for that!

Our visit in the church was very special experience. The song and music, where as we expected. Great! I got tears in my eyes when all members in church one by one, came, took our hand looked us in our eyes and welcomed us.....

After church we went to Sylvias Soul Food Restaurant, to eat brunch, off course there was song all the time, - just like we have seen on TV. And again: An excellent experience!

Do it! Take the tour, you get an experience for life :0))

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The tour of Harlem and the Gospel Service in the Bronx were excellent. The Soul Brunch was Ok but less good value for money as the food was less than outstanding and the music session quite short only about 5 numbers.
Chris from UK

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

To be noted: the tour takes you to a small church so different from the most popular one in Harlem. Singing was still very good.
Worth going on that tour!
Anne

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was the most fun evening we spent in New York. The guide was a delight, very knowledgeable and efficient in making things run smoothly. Harlem is fascinating, I hope they don't ruin it by gentrifying too much. We could have heard more jazz, one set wasn't enough. Next time we will do the gospel tour.

Doing what: Harlem Soul Food and Jazz Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

As one familiar with gospel music, I appreciate the effort of the church we visited. Furthermore, the pastor and congregation reached out to us and allowed us to feel as though we were part of their congregation.The choir was great. We were given a short tour of Harlem, that included a few historical tidbits, it was a bonus. We had a great time at the restaurant, as the host interacted with us and led a singing extravaganza that allowed our participation.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Cecilia C
Argentina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour was great. Our guide Damian not only explained us about Harlem, the Gospel service and the things we were seeing, but about New York city history and other emblematic places as well. It was a difficult day for driving in the city, due to the 42km Marathon, but the driver and the guide managed the situation very professionally and we had a great day!. The Sunday morning Gospel service was very interesting and amusing. The whole tour was an experience to open our minds. Don't miss it !!. Cecilia

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

An amazing way to see Harlem and try some soul food!! Fabulous trip if you like blues you will love this

Doing what: Harlem Soul Food and Jazz Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The Harlem Gospel Tour was excellent. The vibe inspiring, buzzing and lots of fun. I really appreciated the fact that the purpose of the choir was for drug rehabilitation and that the members were voluntary. It was truly an uplifting experience and the soul food at Sylivia's was definitely worth the extra money. I even bought her Soul food cookbook! Thoroughly enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very informative tour - began with a tour of Harlem and then a visit to a wonderful, welcoming Gospel church. Guide was excellent and very knowledgeable. Highly recommended,

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

WONDERFUL tour guide, Duane! Gave so much great info on not only Harlem but Manhattan and Bronx, too. The church was most welcoming and a very enjoyable hour. Architectural highlights in Harlem were wonderful. Excellent tour, would recommend to a city visitor.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved this tour. Duane was very knowledgeable and interesting. We saw lots of sights of Harlem and many lovely areas and buildings. But the highlight of the tour was at the Great Universal Baptist Church service in the Bronx. It was a wonderful experience and everyone was so welcoming. I found the whole experience very humbling and emotional and would recommend a visit there to everyone.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved the tour, the guide was very informative and helpful. Loved the Gospel Tour and also enjoyed the tour around Harlem.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was a worthwhile experience, not only for the music at the church but for showing us interesting places in Harlem and the Bronx.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message