• USD ($)
  • English
The legendary borough of Harlem has been a famous name in New York City since the 1920s, when it was dubbed the 'black capital of the world'. Today Harlem is an increasingly gentrified area of classic brownstone townhouses, iconic jazz clubs, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 145 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The experience was excellent! We took the spanish tour and it was wondeful. I don't remember the name of our guide but he was excellent: once we left the meeting point at Times Square, he started explaining everything that was in our way to Harlem/Bronx. He gave us very good information in general about NYC and specially about the neighbourhoods we visited. The gospel ceremony was excellent and interesting to have the chance of seeing a part of the culture that you rarely could see in other way. I would definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our tour guide, Alvin, was fantastic. I never knew anything about Harlem before this tour and learned so much about the rich history that borough has. The Gospel Church was amazing to see! They had such energy and spirit! Truly a unique tour that I would highly recommend!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We wanted to see Harlem and had limited time. this was a great way to explore the area by bus, learn about its history and architecture. The tour guide did a great job, the sunday service was very unique, and the brunch with entertainment was great.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We loved this tour. We learned a lot about Harlem and loved worshiping at the Kelly Temple. The congregation was warm and welcoming and the service was lively and uplifting. We would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Harlem Sunday- Morning Gospel tour was fantastic , it was very moving for me. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Harlem Sunday- Morning Gospel tour was fantastic , it was very moving for me. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Harlem Sunday- Morning Gospel tour was fantastic , it was very moving for me. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Harlem Sunday- Morning Gospel tour was fantastic , it was very moving for me. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour, the highlight being the Gospel Choir. It was also great to visit Harlem and see how different it is to what we had thought it woudl be like.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Unforgettable experience! The guide was very helpful and we learned a lot about Harlem. The ceremony was very moving and the people very friendly. A must in NY city.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was excellent. We pre booked before leaving Sydney. The tour guide Ronnie was engaging very knowledgeable and entertained us throughout the tour. On the return trip the bus dropped people off wherever they wanted which was very nice.the tour of Harlem was informative and very interesting. The church we visited was in the Bronx I noticed the queues for Harlem churches which we drove past were very long.
Our church service was at the Green Pastures Baptist Church. We were made very welcome there were two coach tours which supplemented the congregation and added to the atmosphere. The singing was fantastic and the the congregation had both tour groups up on their feet joining in the singing very enthusiastically. There were two collections one for the local poor and one for repairs to the church caused by hurricane Sandy. The damage was quite evident. I would recommend this tour.

Robert and Trisha stark
Cromer Heights
Sydney

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The tour guide was fantastic! Really informative and entertaining. Loved the route the coach took, felt like a tour of New York as well as a Harlem tour which was great.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We enjoyed the tour and getting the history of Harlem. It would have been nice to get inside the Apollo theater and, ideally, to hear some music. The Gospel singing was great and it's obvious that Baptists have more fun in church than long suffering Canadian United Church members.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Great guide who tells a lot of interesting stories. Nice and interesting tour thru Harlem. Also the church was absolutely interesting. Very interesting to see a different kind of service

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

A nice tour through harlem, with some nice stops. The Gospel Choir was very good and we enjoyed it. The tour may include more walking in my point of view.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message