The legendary borough of Harlem has been a famous name in New York City since the 1920s, when it was dubbed the 'black capital of the world'. Today Harlem is an increasingly gentrified area of classic brownstone townhouses, iconic jazz clubs, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 157 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Loved this tour. Booked after a recommendation from a friend. Harlem was not anything like I expected but the area, the church and gospel service were wonderful. Loved the atmosphere and welcome from the congregation. Shame was we were called out of the church after an hour for the next part of the tour. Would have liked to stay longer to hear more.

Damian our guide was full of interesting facts all the way around the tour. He was enthusiastic and engaging.

Lunch wasn't the soul food experience I was expecting.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

What a wonderful experience! Lots of great information was gained about Harlem, but the visit to the Green Pastures Baptist Church in the Bronx, was the highlight!!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was everything I hoped for and more. We learned a lot about Harlem and had a couple stops along the way to see the sites. The finale at the Baptist Church for their Praise and Worship service was amazing! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide was excellent - so interesting while we were travelling around Harlem and Brooklyn. I was surprised when we got to the Church that our group made up the bulk of the congregation so that it felt like we were attending a performance rather than a church service.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The walking tour was really a bus tour with a few stops but the gospel service was terrific. The congregation welcomed us warmly and the service was very real and moving. The singing was great and the children's choir was delightful with full encouragement from the people at the service. Important to wear reasonable clothes on the tour to avoid embarrassment as the congregation were extremely well dressed. The rest of the tour was informative and gave quite a good understanding of the history of the Harlem area - enough for me to want to study it further.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

very good tour, nice experience. I had done it before and included a main street with wall paintings that we didn t see on this ocation. also a flee market at harlem and we visited a farm house. on this opportunity we did not see those things. I missed them for my children.
Besides, always extremely nice and diffent to see a Gosspel ceremony. all on time, good bus and good tourism guide.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved this tour. It was amazing. Harlem was not anything like I expected but the church and gospel service were wonderful. Loved the atmosphere and welcome from the congregation. An experience I will always remember. Shame was we were called out of the church and back on the bus much too quickly. Would have liked to stay longer.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was amazing our guide (Glenn) was so knowledgeable as he grew up in Harlem and we walked around the neighbourhood and then attended a service. The Service was amazing and they included you all of us in it. It was fantastic, such amazing voices, we left on a high and enjoyed the lunch at Sivlia's for some soul fold. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Guides knowledge was fantastic, great insight into Harlem.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We loved our trip to Harlem and the tour guide was excellent. The church we went to was rather empty so we didn't get the full experience however the people were lovely. Lunch was a bit rushed but atmosphere really good. All round we really enjoyed this side of New York.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Loved this tour! Peggy was our guide and she was funny and so informative. Anyone visiting NYC should do this tour - it combines some fascinating history on Harlem and jazz, delicious mouth watering soul food, amazing music, singing and entertainment. I would do this tour again and recommend it to anyone. You don't need to frequent jazz clubs or have any jazz records to get 100% enjoyment out of this evening.

Doing what: Harlem Soul Food and Jazz Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was really fun. Dinner was very generous and good. Seeing the sites of Harlem was very enlightening and informative. Also, the Cotton Club was a surprise. I was expecting "heavy" jazz, but was delighted that it was a softer, more bluesy show. I would recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Harlem Soul Food and Jazz Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The experience was excellent! We took the spanish tour and it was wondeful. I don't remember the name of our guide but he was excellent: once we left the meeting point at Times Square, he started explaining everything that was in our way to Harlem/Bronx. He gave us very good information in general about NYC and specially about the neighbourhoods we visited. The gospel ceremony was excellent and interesting to have the chance of seeing a part of the culture that you rarely could see in other way. I would definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our tour guide, Alvin, was fantastic. I never knew anything about Harlem before this tour and learned so much about the rich history that borough has. The Gospel Church was amazing to see! They had such energy and spirit! Truly a unique tour that I would highly recommend!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We wanted to see Harlem and had limited time. this was a great way to explore the area by bus, learn about its history and architecture. The tour guide did a great job, the sunday service was very unique, and the brunch with entertainment was great.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message