The legendary borough of Harlem has been famous in New York City since the 1920s, when the Harlem Renaissance brought about a cultural revolution among African-Americans in New York with a focus on the arts. Today Harlem is an increasingly ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 228 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Paul G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour exceeded our expectations at every turn. Sheila our guide was knowledgeable, witty and charismatic. Her commentary on the rich and diverse history of Harlem was extremely informative and insightful. The highlight was being able to attend Sunday service in a small neighborhood church, a truly uplifting experience and one we will never forget.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Simon P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

The was a whirlwind tour of Harlem consisting of commentary from the guide. Attending the church service was interesting. However, there was an expectation for us to donate money during the service. There was also the expectation to provide a gratuity to the guide on top of the tour price.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Joanne R S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was great as we explored Harlem. Our tour guide was full of information . Church service was an experience, one never to forget. A great experience for all ages,

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Judith F

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was a lovely tour. We were well received at the church and I would have liked to stay there longer. Dinner and show at the cotton club were wonderful - the singer was superb. The tour of Harlem itself was however somewhat dissappointing. I came away feeling that I did not get a real feel of the neighborhood. I think too much time was spent on previous centuries and present times say past 20 years slightly glossed over.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

odessey

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was good but restrictions on being able to take photos in the Church was disappointing. The guide was excellent and was very informative about New York as we travelled from downtown Manhattan to Harlem. The lunch at The Cotton Club was a bonus with the singer and jazz trio supplying the wonderful music !!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Janna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Perfect Sunday Morning! We had full coach of 50 guests. All guides have charisma and fantastic sense of humor! Our tour took us to Bronx instead of Harlem but Church we visited was large and they welcomed us with open arms! None minded to go to Bronx instead of Harlem even we drove through Harlem which was obviously packed with some street fair.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Jesse J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great experience. We had an excellent guide and learn much about the history of Harlem. We even had an opportunity to visit one of the local churches to hear a gospel choir. It was comfortable and timely. We would do it again when in New York!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Ann L H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Enjoyable tour. Guide very informative about the history of Harlem.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Sandrine D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Le guide est vraiment très sympa Ulrich et le tour très intéressant. La messe a été très agréable mais il est dommage de ne pas être dans le quartier de Harlem mais assez loin' dans le Bronx.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Carol M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

My husband and I enjoyed our tour of Harlem, but were disappointed that one of the advertised Highlighted stops Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture was not included. This should be taken off the web-site, if it is not included. The ARC Gospel singers were wonderful and very uplifting. They were the HIGHLIGHT of the tour.
I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Lou M

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Good tour - informative. Unfortunately there was a lot of traffic the morning of our tour which made us late for the gospel service and saw us cut our visit short. The guide was good, but also repeated items a number of times. A good way to get a taste of Harlem

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Jonathan F

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This was an interesting and varied tour. I'm very glad I did it. Seeing Harlem and the Bronx was great. I really got a perspective of the areas and I had no idea how close they were to the heart of New York. The church visit was also very moving. Worth doing.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

ERIK A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a very interesting tour through Harlem, stopping at The Apollo Theater, The Morris-Jumel Mansion. Our excellent guide talked about the history of Harlem, and its transformation from a place for summer homes, its decline, and resurrection. The tour then continued to the Bronx, and the South Bronx, where we attended the sermon and gospel singing at the Green Pasture Baptist Church which was joyful, loud, and marvelous!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Shirley T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic experience! The food was excellent and the tour guide. I would recommend this tour to anyone who wants to experience Harlem.

Doing what: Harlem Soul Food and Jazz Evening Tour

Tiboutetbm

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Authentic church service and good tour of Harlem with very knowledgeable local guide

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Melanie O

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very good evening and great way to see Harlem. Alvin, our guide, was extremely knowledgeable and passionate about both the music and New York - he was excellent. The meal was great and the tour round Harlem was very interesting. We went on a Monday so finished at the Cotton Club and were particularly impressed with Solomon King, a 20 year old blues guitar player, who was brilliant. The tap dancer, whose name we did not get, was equally talented and impressive. A great evening to spend in Harlem!

Doing what: Harlem Soul Food and Jazz Evening Tour

deb.ramage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was unexpectedly amazing. Harlem was totally unlike what I expected, very pretty, lots of interesting stuff. Singing in service was great but service very stuffy! No photos allowed. Soul food brunch was fabulous, amazing food, great atmosphere, had a fab time. The gospel singing here was out this world.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Denise L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My tour was outstanding. the tour was given by Grand Master Caz who was the best. As an member of the Cold Crush Brothers an original Hip Hop group he was extremely knowledgeable. We had teenagers with who are still talking to the friends about the tour. As an adult who comes to Harlem frequently, I learned so much.

Doing what: Harlem Hip-Hop Walking Tour

Jill B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour of Harlem was quite informative. The church experience was fantastic!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

arec607.ysmtkhr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I had enjoyed very much the tour. The guide who knows many things about Harlem and NYC taught many valuable things for us.
I'm a Japanese who speaks English a little, but I'd been able to understand almost things what she was speaking. Easy to hear for everyone.
Highly recommended for Everyone!!!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Mary K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent guide! Learned all bout the history of Harlem. The service was wonderful. Beautiful voices. I would recommend this to everyone.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Jacqueline H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was a fun way to spend a Sunday morning. The guide was very lively and she was full of information about the places we visited and the famous entertainers/revolutionary statesmen who lived in Harlem. We spent an hour at the Paradise Baptist church where the Pastor and the congregants were very welcoming to us. The choir was small but energetic and the tour members were encouraged to join in at various points. I highly recommend this tour to any adult who is interested in the history of Harlem and who enjoys Gospel singing.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Claus M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I’ve been to NYC many times and wanted to do a gospel tour since long – yet never managed for lack of time. During my recent visit, just before Christmas, together with my wife I finally had a go. And then it all began with a mistake. I had booked the tour on a Sunday, but then realised that we would have to cut it short, as we needed to head for the airport for our transatlantic return flight earlier than I’d thought. I contacted VIATOR by mail about the options. VIATOR replied, first by mail and subsequently by phone, recommending me to change the booking to the Wednesday tour. I took their advice and appreciated the extra mile in the personal phone call.

In the morning we made the way to the 690 8th Avenue meeting point (not really easy to find – the office is located in the first floor and the street-level entrance is, diplomatically put, quite modest), but we were welcomed by some very nice people and the tour bus left shortly afterwards, taking us through Harlem, including a visit to the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. And then the church service at the Greater Central Baptist Church on the corner of 5th Avenue and the 132nd street. The tour guide was brilliant – probably the best, I’ve ever encountered. He made everyone feel like a very special guest and was extremely well informed about the places and the history of New York and Harlem in particular.

The church service left a big impression on us. Most of the guests were like us – tourists. Yet it was not a show. It felt genuine, honest and heart-warming. It was simply a great experience.

The tour included a ‘brunch’. To be honest, we’d expected lunch bags or some simple food, so we were surprised to be taken to Sylvia's Soul Food restaurant on Lenox Avenue. I wouldn’t describe the food there as a culinary highlight, but portions were massive and the restaurant cosy and very interesting. A member of the Wood’s family entertained us at our table about the history of the place, and we will k

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

John m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide Alvin was terrific. We learned so much about the history and architecture of Harlem. The gospel service was so uplifting and wonderful. A great way to wrap up our trip!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Tina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Do it!! Go on this tour, you wont regret it!

My daughter and I went on this tour 15.2.14, the coldest Sunday morning ever. We went to the office to change our tickets, and to get instructions about the bus. The young people in the office where all kind, smiling and serviceminded. ( we even bought Shuttle back to JFK there).

Our guide, Duane, gave us informations about the buildings we passed, stories about celebritys, stories about "old and new" and was very well informed about Harlem and Manhattan. Even the story of why The Bronx are named The Bronx he told. He made everyone to feel special and welcome. Thank you Duane for that!

Our visit in the church was very special experience. The song and music, where as we expected. Great! I got tears in my eyes when all members in church one by one, came, took our hand looked us in our eyes and welcomed us.....

After church we went to Sylvias Soul Food Restaurant, to eat brunch, off course there was song all the time, - just like we have seen on TV. And again: An excellent experience!

Do it! Take the tour, you get an experience for life :0))

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message