New York City ATTRACTIONS See all

Metropolitan Museum of Art

The Met is one of the world's most prestigious cultural hubs, up there with the Louvre, the British Museum, and the Vatican for sheer pulling power. Around five million visitors a year flock here to drink in the rarefied air, rest their legs in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

Jess G
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I spend 15 days as a lone tourist and managed to use the City Pass efficiently. If you are not in a rush and spending at least 9 days in NYC, this is worth it to buy. Although some museums included in this has a "pay what you wish" option, buying this pass will let you avoid the awkwardness of "being cheap" situations when paying to get in and you also avoid big crowds in pay-what-you-wish days. Do spend one full day for the big museums. And plan well, especially if you're taking other tours that might already include the other attractions here. I used my City Pass for the Circle Line (instead of the Statue of Liberty, because I already booked another tour with it included) and I upgraded to full island cruise for an additional $5. I used it for the Empire State Building and had it upgraded to access the 102nd floor observatory for $20 (a bit much for an upgrade but you'll forget the cost when you get to the top). I used it for the Metropolitan Museum of Art but ran out of a day to use it for The Cloisters (because it was too far uptown, I decided to skip it and just walk around and let serendipity do its thing). I also used it for The Guggenheim instead of Top of the Rock (which was included in another tour I booked). Guggenheim is very do-able in one hour if you're not an art aficionado/scholar wanting to take your sweet time viewing and immersing yourself in each of the exhibits). I just chose to linger to appreciate pieces that was interesting to me, the others, I just did an "overview". I also used it for MoMA. Do not miss MoMA, spend at least 3 hours here. My favourite pieces are the Van Gogh paintings. The American Museum of Natural History, was I think, the most value for money, because one show is already included in the City Pass (either the space show or imax film), as opposed to paying additional bucks for it. If I ever get the chance to go back, I will definitely buy City Pass again, and explore other areas of the museum I didn't get to see.

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The Metropolitan Museum of Art is a must see! We cannot wait to go back! The Arms and Armory exhibit was a real surprise favorite (we are not really "weapons" people per se). We especially loved the Japanese arms section! Our skip the line tickets let us do just that.
I wouldn't bother with the audio guides unless visiting the museum alone. They are much too long-winded and I would just rather discuss the exhibits with my partner than walk around listening to headphones.

Doing what: Metropolitan Museum of Art Admission with Skip-the-Line Access and The Cloisters

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

ALTHOUGH AT FIRST WE THOUGHT IT WAS WORTHWHILE, WE DISCOVERED THAT MOST VISITORS AT METROPOLITAN AND NATURAL HISTORY MUSEUMS PAID A TICKET OF 1 DOLLAR, SUGGESTING DONATION!!!! NO WAITING LINES AT METROPOLITAN MUSEUM, MOMMA, TOP OF THE ROCK....BUT REALLY LONG AT THE EMPIRE STATE BUILDING AND NATURAL HISTORY MYSEUM.....I REALLY BELIEVE THAT YOU SHOULD INCLUDE MORE SIGHTS SO AS TO BE COMPETITIVE.......

Doing what: New York CityPass

Tatu L
Finland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

In my opinion, the New York CityPass is great. First I went to the Empire State Building to change my voucher for the CityPass. I had a great time there, I've never been in such a tall Building before and the views where fantastic, I got some fine photos from up there. On the next day I went to the Guggenheim Museum, day after that to the Museum of Modern Arts and a day after that to the Metropolitan Museum of Arts. Some beautiful art in New York City, pieces of art that can't be seen anywhere else in the World. Finally on weekend I went to see the Statue of Liberty and the Immigration Museum. Nice little cruise that, too. All this with the New York CityPass!

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

New York City pass was very easy to use, what was offered was fantastic all the main attractions in New York, loved the metropolitan museum and top of the rocks

Doing what: New York CityPass

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

I didn't experience jumping line stuff. And i think one of the top of rock and Empire building is enough and you don't have to go both. Although Moma sounds popular but it's actually waste of time. I like metropolitan museum though.

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was great to have the tickets and walk straight into the Metropolitan Museum without waiting. Brilliant Museum and we went to the Cloisters on the same day for the one ticket price. Both venues of the Metropolitan are woth a trip to New York. The Cloisters, as well as being a beautiful example of Romanesque architecture, it is a beautiful backdrop for the Medieval art displayed inside.

Doing what: Metropolitan Museum of Art Admission with Skip-the-Line Access and The Cloisters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Excellent value for money, but definitely pace yourself. I only had 2 1/2 days which wasn't enough to get the most out of this deal, But I now know where I want to revisit in more depth in future visits. The Ellis Island audio tour was definitely a highlight and the Metropolitan Museum of Art was amazing. If you are in New York for 3 days plus, then this is a great deal. If not, then you may want to go for deals on specific locations. For the museums, you really need to give yourself at least a half day. Also check which days some of the museums are closed (usually or Monday or Tuesday) as this may influence your choices.

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Great if you plan to visit all the venues like we did. It also is a good aid to help you visit a lot of places while in the City - since you paid for the ticket you will be more inclined to visit the places. Favorite Museum had to be the Metropolitant Museum of Art - dedicate half a day if you plan to just skim through it and a full day if you plan to stop in many exhibits

Doing what: New York CityPass

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2011

The ideas presented are great. The only problem is that many museums do not give the pass holder anything to save time at the entrance. The Natural History Museum did have a special guy pulling folks out of the two lines if he saw the pass. The MoMa, Metropolitan and Guggenheim treated us just like those who were buying new tickets. We did not go to the Empire State building. The museums were fabulous. We have nothing but respect for the excellent exhibits, fine docents and the well done displays. We even have pictures where one would not expect to be able to use a camera. A+ to New York.

Doing what: New York CityPass

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

Only the Metropolitan Museum, Semi Circus Cruise and Empire Building we enjoyed.

Doing what: New York CityPass

Richard B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Good value and brilliant for beating the queues. Best bet is to go to the Metropolitan Museum to exchange your voucher and if from the UK take photo id with you.

Doing what: New York CityPass

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2007

I really liked it but I think card should include the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Doing what: New York CityPass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message