New York City ATTRACTIONS See all

Museum of Modern Art (MoMA)

The world's premier modern art gallery, MoMA provides visitors with a master class in modernist and contemporary art. The collection numbers more than 150,000 works of art, along with a sizable film and photography collection. Familiar standouts ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jess G
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I spend 15 days as a lone tourist and managed to use the City Pass efficiently. If you are not in a rush and spending at least 9 days in NYC, this is worth it to buy. Although some museums included in this has a "pay what you wish" option, buying this pass will let you avoid the awkwardness of "being cheap" situations when paying to get in and you also avoid big crowds in pay-what-you-wish days. Do spend one full day for the big museums. And plan well, especially if you're taking other tours that might already include the other attractions here. I used my City Pass for the Circle Line (instead of the Statue of Liberty, because I already booked another tour with it included) and I upgraded to full island cruise for an additional $5. I used it for the Empire State Building and had it upgraded to access the 102nd floor observatory for $20 (a bit much for an upgrade but you'll forget the cost when you get to the top). I used it for the Metropolitan Museum of Art but ran out of a day to use it for The Cloisters (because it was too far uptown, I decided to skip it and just walk around and let serendipity do its thing). I also used it for The Guggenheim instead of Top of the Rock (which was included in another tour I booked). Guggenheim is very do-able in one hour if you're not an art aficionado/scholar wanting to take your sweet time viewing and immersing yourself in each of the exhibits). I just chose to linger to appreciate pieces that was interesting to me, the others, I just did an "overview". I also used it for MoMA. Do not miss MoMA, spend at least 3 hours here. My favourite pieces are the Van Gogh paintings. The American Museum of Natural History, was I think, the most value for money, because one show is already included in the City Pass (either the space show or imax film), as opposed to paying additional bucks for it. If I ever get the chance to go back, I will definitely buy City Pass again, and explore other areas of the museum I didn't get to see.

Doing what: New York CityPass

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The sites were ones we wanted to see. We still had to wait in lines to get access. At MOMA we waited at least half hour to get into Matisse cutout exhibit.

Doing what: New York CityPass

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

You really need to like museums and art galleries to get the best value from the City Pass otherwise it would be better just to visit various NYC sights that appeal to you as an individual or family. We visited the Museum of Natural History and the Museum of Modern Art. These both require a lot of time to fully appreciate their content which is extensive. The food outlets at the Museum of Natural History were poor in the quality of food offered. By contrast the MoMA restaurant was excellent. We visited both Top of the Rock (by day) and the Empire State (at night). Entering the Empire State was slow and involved a lot of queues. However both sites provide the exciting views of NYC that tourists expect. We attempted to take the tour to Liberty Island but when faced with a huge line up that would have meant standing in the hot sun for an hour or more we decided to forget it since we had already had excellent close ups of the Statue of Liberty on the Dinner Cruise.

Doing what: New York CityPass

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

City pass is good, enjoyed the Statue of Liberty and Empire, Moma good too.

Doing what: New York CityPass

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

I didn't experience jumping line stuff. And i think one of the top of rock and Empire building is enough and you don't have to go both. Although Moma sounds popular but it's actually waste of time. I like metropolitan museum though.

Doing what: New York CityPass

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Super smart. Almost no line to get your tickets (Rockefeller and Empire State Building and you can enter MoMA with your city pass directly - no line). But be sure to see as many of the 6 attractions as possible.

Doing what: New York CityPass

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

I think we had to line up 50 percent of the time, to make it good value for money all venues should scan tickets like moma. I think we did not use all the vouchers as they weren't really for children.

Doing what: New York CityPass

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

Not quite as good as expected as we still had to queue for some of the attractions e.g Empire State. Also it pays to still book ahead for some activities rather than just turn up for a scheduled trip as on the Liberty Cruise. Worked well for MOMA. Met and Nat Hist Museum.

Doing what: New York CityPass

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Easy to use as one of the 3 collection points for our pass was just around the corner from our hotel and we visited Moma, Guggenheim and Empire State Building so we only saved £12 between 3 of us, so how much you save depends on where you visit.

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

Zig
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Thought that this was really good value for money. We used the MET, MOMA, and Natural History Museum ticket, together with Top of the Rock and Empire State Building and the circle line cruise. If we had purchase tickets separately would have cost twice what we paid. We had 8 nights in New York so felt that it was good value for money.

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Do not go to NYC without the NYC Pass! When it says you go to the front of the line, no kidding, YOU GO TO THE FRONT OF THE LINE! There was at least a two-hour line at The Empire State Building, with this pass, swoosh, right up to the top, wait time: 10 minutes. Same at MoMA and everywhere else we went. It was so worth it!

Doing what: New York CityPass

Naomi M
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Good options and good value for money. On a personal note, I think it would have been fairer for the and/or optional ticket choice to be between the Guggenheim and MOMA rather than between the Top of the Rock and Guggenheim and the fact that you couldn't get the money off the bus tour until you picked up the booklet from one of the places was a pain, as all the bus tours stop at all these places. So we ended up missing out on this and purchasing tickets anyway in order to get to our first destination.

Doing what: New York CityPass

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2011

While I enjoyed the activities I chose (Top of the Rock, a Twilight Boat cruise and MOMA) I didn't feel it was great value for money - we had to chose carefully to make sure we 'spent' the cost of the Explorer Pass. Also, I wasn't aware that we avoided any queues - still had to queue for Top of the Rock. So I wouldn't buy a pass again, sorry!

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2011

The ideas presented are great. The only problem is that many museums do not give the pass holder anything to save time at the entrance. The Natural History Museum did have a special guy pulling folks out of the two lines if he saw the pass. The MoMa, Metropolitan and Guggenheim treated us just like those who were buying new tickets. We did not go to the Empire State building. The museums were fabulous. We have nothing but respect for the excellent exhibits, fine docents and the well done displays. We even have pictures where one would not expect to be able to use a camera. A+ to New York.

Doing what: New York CityPass

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Really glad I was tipped off about this, a definite must for first timers to NYC. Bit disappointing that it didn't grant priority access to the Statue of Liberty cruise (it says you can use the reserve line, but that is no longer accurate): the main queue was 2-3 hours just to board the boat. A real plus everywhere else though - we walked straight into MOMA!

Doing what: New York CityPass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message