New York City ATTRACTIONS See all

Rockefeller Center

For a memorable dose of Art Deco design in all its glory, immerse yourself in the 1930s Rockefeller Center. A complex of 19 buildings and gardens, the Rockefeller Center is where you'll find the famous ice rink and Christmas tree, Radio City ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 630 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

janie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A highlight of our recent visit and a good value, enjoyed with my husband and 2 adult kids. Tip: eat a late lunch glad we did that day, as it was 9 pm before we got to the restaurant. Tour guide was a character, worked very hard to engage and entertain us and had expert knowledge of the city. At first was disappointed that our group was too large for the Mercedes bus as promoted, but on the plus side our group was quite small 14 for the open-top double-decker that we rode instead and we really did get a great view of sites and it helped that the weather was good. High Line walk was very brief, might have enjoyed a few more minutes there. The boat ride was fabulous, views of the bridges, Manhattan skyline and Lady Liberty just as the sun was setting, will remember those images in my mind for a good long time and got some fabulous pictures. For a 99 buck tour, the champagne was not Dom Perignon but a nice touch. All of us enjoyed our dinner, didn't have exceptional expectations, this is an evening tour on a schedule, after-all. Top of the Rock was icing on the cake - more spectacular views, pictures and memories for a lifetime. Our hotel was an enjoyable stroll away. Perfect way to spend an NYC evening!

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

Eloise T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I have been to NYC a number of times, but this tour was a first. Our guide was so informative with such a sense of humor. Loved learning the history of Rockefeller Center.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

vwms217

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I purchased the four day pass for myself and my son. This was our first trip to New York. Super easy getting our VIP passes to wear around our neck when boarding the bus at the Visitors Center in Times Square. I found the guides on the buses very knowledgeable and helpful. Some were more helpful than others. My favorite guide was a female on May 12th around 7pm. She was very good with historical facts and had a dry sense of humor. The itinerary stated the last bus was at 5:30 but we wrote the last one at 7:30pm. We had just finish another tour that was all day and ended by St. Paul Chapel. We were just getting ready to call a taxi and notice our bus was still picking up passengers. We were very happy to get on the last bus going to Times Square, and close enough to walk to our Hotel. The First day in NY we rode the bus to the Empire State Building. The next day we had to take a taxi to our Statue of Liberty Ellis Island tour because the tour started earlier than the bus started picking up passengers. Our third day we went to Harlem. It was raining on that day. It was the first time we did not sit at the top. They provided yellow ponchos. A lot of people sat in the rain. I just was not feeling sitting in the rain so I sat down stairs for the first time. I loved the tickets to the Top of the Rock. The view was breathtaking. I also liked all the nice shops and the whole NBC thing there not to mention the shops. I was very happy with this tour and if I am ever in New York again (next year) I will Hop on and Hop off again.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Shopping and Top of the Rock

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Serge and Robert, the driver, gave us an exceptional tour of New York City. There was actually too much to see in even an 8-hour tour but that's New York. Noteworthy were the tour of 1 World Trade Center and the Memorial recommend a visit to the museum as a separate event, the harbor cruise, and the Top of the Rock. Good time.

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Minibus

bazzer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour is the best value tour I have ever been on as not only was it a great night, it was also fantastic value for money. When Bonnie our excellent tour guide took us first of all to the Chelsea Market and a brief walk along the new 'High Line' garden walk, I had a feeling we were in for a good night. We were then taken to the harbour for a an evening cruise on the Hudson River going under the Brooklyn Bridge and then onto the Statue of Liberty where the sun was setting right behind it for some great photographs. Another highlight of the boat trip were the great views of the city. We were then taken for what turned out to be an excellent meal at a lovely restaurant in Little Italy. Bonnie recommended if you were a fish lover to have the Basa fish dinner, and indeed it was an excellent meal. I must admit I was not expecting such a fine dinner on a tour, as other trips that I have been on that include a meal the food in general was very average. We were then taken to the Rockefeller Center for a trip to the 'Top of the Rock' for some awesome views of the city at night. If you take this trip you must be aware that you have to make your own way back to your hotel from the Rockefeller Center, one of the reasons for this is that you can take as long as you want and are not restricted to a set time, and it would be difficult for a guide and the driver to wait for everyone to get back down again.

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

Mhairi C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We took the three attraction option and used it for a bus trip which was excellent, Top of the Rock which we really enjoyed and Ground Zero. Ground Zero came with a pass for a museum. We assumed this was for the big museum but it was in fact for a much smaller one with a talking tour included. This is not normally my thing but the volunteer on the tour was amazing and had actually been involved with the rescues etc. Amazing, insightful and sensitive - definitely highly recommend

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

Lisbeth B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Beautiful day in NYC with a great view at the Top of the Rock!

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Pamela M O

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great 360 views in New York on a great day. The tour of the Rockefellar Centre and surrounds was also great. Gave me another view of that area. Very good can recommend.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Allytia United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great tour in the main and good value. So much packed into the evening. Full commentary as we Drove to the old meat packing district which houses the Chelsea Market - this is in the old Nabisco building which takes up a full block and the ground floor now houses lots of little restaurants and artisan shops - we are going back to spend more time here. Onto the High Line, the old elevated railway which has been renovated to become a green park area, so cool, going back here too! Then a tour on the river around the Statue of Liberty. Felt really special here, tour taken to front of queue, straight on this lovely boat given a glass of champagne. Time spent to allow both sides of the ship to take photos then back on the coach to the Little Italy district with commentary on the way. Meal here was ok, nothing special and a little rushed, only 45 minutes allowed, need to allow at least an hour so the food can be placed on the table, ours was just thrown there, not impressed with service. Back on the coach to go to Top Of the Rock, taken to the front of the queue again, straight through security and up to the top, amazing. Tour guide left us here and we made our way back to hotel. Very good, informative and packed tour. Would recommend for anyone, but possibly not young children.

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

Patricia D

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Looked a great tour and don't get me wrong it does tick many of the boxes. Organisation poor though. Instructions are to go to the Grayline tours bout 5.30 to collect the tickets. I went at 5.15pm. There isn't a separate collection point so you have to join a very long queue line to collect. If I'd known, I would have collected the day before or gone even earlier. Only when the tour guide arrived looking for people did we get to jump the queue to collect. Remember to take photographic ID with you.

Evening guided tour of New York City by climate-controlled sprinter minibus - good
Explore the High Line Park on a fully-guided walking tour - you only see a very short section so make sure you have time elsewhere in your trip if you want to see it all
See NYC from the water on a one-hour Manhattan Harbor cruise - very good and get to board the boat first a definite bonus
Enjoy a traditional Italian dinner at Grotta Azzurra, - food quick and nice
Toast your evening with a glass of champagne under the Statue of Liberty! - very good
Ascend to the Top of the Rock Observation Deck for panoramic views of New York City at night - poor

For the trip I was on, this is where is was drastically let down. We got there after entrance was technically closed though our guide did manage to get us in eventually. We got split up from our friends and not sure the hour queueing was actually worth it. It was a very quick up in the elevator, a quick walk outside and then back down again.

On the whole the tour is worth doing but I felt let down by the organisation at the start and the end

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

Caroline A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Disappointed in this. Firstly we nearly missed this tour as where we were told to stand and wait was in fact the wrong place, we stood for 30mins once we figured this out and got to the correct spot, they had overbooked and the tour guides were arguing with one another in front of everyone, refusing to lay on another bus etc, this took quite a while not a good start! Our tour guide was ok, but felt she really couldn't be bothered. Felt everything was rushed. The HighLine tour was meant to last about 45mins, this lasted about 10mins, if that. The meal you are given a deadline to eat up and get out indigestion!!. Boat tour was good. Did not go up the top of the rock as guide said it was too overcast and we wouldn't get to see anything but you can keep your ticket for this and use it another day. Basically we could have done all this on our own without a tour use our NYC City Pass and had a more relaxing time doing it.

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

Ken

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

This tour is not recommend if they sit you in the back of the Minibus, which happened to 4 people on our tour. The first 9 seats have window clearance 12 inches or more above eye level. There is a step-up in the bus beyond those seats. From that point forward the top of the window is at eye level. You end up with a view of NYC sidewalks. It was not possible to view any signage to identify buildings from those seats. The view is better from a car or taxi than from the back of the minibus.

Also most tours return you to the starting point. This tour left us at Rockefeller Plaza without bringing us back to 777 8th ave where we started.

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Minibus

Arlene S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Hands down worth the time, money. Our guide was informative, professional, Mercedes Benz bus was comfortable, walking tour was impressive (the history of the meat market district), breathtaking cruise to Liberty at sunset, ambiance at Little Italy was unique and the Top of the Rock, and #39;just rocked. and #39;

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

Rachel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We went at night time with our voucher. We didn't have to wait long and the whole experience was enjoyable. The weather wasn't great so we were told the views were 50 visibility but we still went up and was very pleasantly surprised. The views were clear and fantastic at night. We did the Empire State in the day but the top of the rock gives you the view of the Empire State which is brilliant and a better view of Central Park also. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

martinsell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We exchanged our tickets for a night time visit to the Top of the Rock - wow! - photos just don't do the incredible view of the lights of New York justice.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

WILMA G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour and worth every cent. Tour guide was informative and the transport was comfortable. Highlight of the night was top of the rock with fab views.

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

Kimberly A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Top of the Rock had awesome views. best time to go is close to closing...not to many people
Wish we had more time to go to the Statue of Liberty...
Hop on Hop off was cool, just get you tickets there. Not enough time to get the whole benefit of the 3 days.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

Anne R United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great experience, having a ticket meant we missed the queue. Love the view from the top of the rock, and the photos that they take of you are a great reminder of the trip.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Catherine J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Top of Rockefeller is the only observation deck that has a 360 view. We were able to see both side. We moved in and out very quickly. Wish the weather would have been a little clear.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabulous! I wish I could remember our tour guides name as she was hilarious I know she had come at the last minute to cover for someone, she made the tour even better! We went to Grey Line Visitors Centre 30 minutes before the trip to get our tickets, there was about 30 people in total so they split us into 2 smaller groups, I think you get a much better experience this way.

We were given a tour of the High-Line and an unexpected tour of Chelsea Markets where we spotted a couple of famous faces before we boarded the ferry. We got skip-the-line boarding just as daylight was fading and got to experience sunset while on the Hudson! Our guide took photos of us in front of the Statue of Liberty and then we headed back.

In little Italy we were seated and served in record time and the meal was lovely. The Top of the Rock tickets were good for 2 days so our tour guide gave us the choice to be dropped off at our hotels on the way and use the tickets the next day if we wanted, a couple of people chose that option but we decided to continue and the night time views are truly spectacular!

Our hotel was in times square and it only took us 10 minutes to walk back. Even at 11pm you feel completely safe in the city.

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

Nikki P

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Had a brilliant time in NYC. With out Explorer Pass we went up the Statue of Liberty, to the Top of the Rock and 911 Memorial. All the trips living up to my expectations. Thank-you Viator.

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

Nigel B

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Good value - we just didn't get time to use the bus ticket as much as we would have liked as we were only there for 3 days, and weather wasn't brilliant for sitting a-top a double decker bus. We used the Top of the Rock and Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket. Possibly next time we would just get separate tickets, but if there for longer than 3 days I think it would be good value.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

Russ

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Start of the tour was an absolute fiasco, tour guides bickering who to take, mini bus didn't turn up' too many for seats on buses arranged so re arranged an open top tour bus to accommodate 30 of us. Not quite sure what happened to second tour guide! Suffice to say tour started 30 minutes late, it was cold, cruise was great, sights were explained well but traffic awful. Italian meal OK but were moved twice to accommodate larger group. Bought a pint of peroni in bar over and about free soft drink and was charged tax and service charge of almost 2.00....rip off. Good thing we were able to save Top of the Rock voucher for the following day.

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

Georjana S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Our tour guide's behavior was SO odd, had to only give 2 stars. He made us uncomfortable, banging on the windows of the inside of the tour bus to shout at women on the street HEY - She's a model! bang bang Look over here, you! We were the only ones on the tour and although we really enjoyed the East River water taxi that goes by the Statue of Liberty and the dinner in Little Italy, actually we ended the tour early without going to the Top of the Rock because we didn't want to get back on the van with the guide. We wanted to stay in Little Italy and enjoy a bottle of wine so we did. He was a nice enough guy but he made strange comments to passerby like asking some boys at High Line Park Are you taking naughty pictures? when they were simply taking a photo of a tree from ground level. We could tell they were uncomfortable being asked that by a stranger and it altered the evening we didn't feel comfortable or relaxed on the Night on the Town Tour. However our highlight was certainly the champagne toast cruising past the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. Thanks-

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

O Lam Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our tour guide Dave is very knowledgeable with a plethora of interesting information on anything and everything about NYC. The minibus was very comfortable and lunch at Little Italy was enjoyable. We had more then enough time for lunch and we felt a little bit rushed along Wall Street. The Ferry was enjoyable, however in the winter time it does get very cold and windy on the top deck. Access to the Top of the Rock in the afternoon provided spectacular views of the sunset across the buildings.

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Minibus

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message