New York City ATTRACTIONS See all

Rockefeller Center

For a memorable dose of Art Deco design in all its glory, immerse yourself in the 1930s Rockefeller Center. A complex of 19 buildings and gardens, the Rockefeller Center is where you'll find the famous ice rink and Christmas tree, Radio City ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 605 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

gap64

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Definitely worth doing this if visiting New York. We went to the top of the Rock early evening and New York in the dark was amazing. No doubt equally wonderful during the day. If you turn up early you can book the time you want to go up. The lift to the top is quick and the Observation Decks offer great views of the whole of New York. Safe for all the family. Despite not liking heights the Observation Decks allow cowards to sit inside ... the brave could wander around outside and take great photos. Would recommend.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Linda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The idea of having a pass ahead of trip was great and saved hassle. However we had a very bad experience at the Empire State Building who tried to charge us extra for fast track, we had to queue for hours and then had to wait for a refund. It was chaotic and the staff were not very helpful. However the remaining trips were fine - the Rockafeller was a completely different experience - it was stress free and the staff were lovely. We also went on the Movie and TV tour - loved it!

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

Linda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The pass was easy to collect and it was great having paid for it up front. We had a very bad experience though at the Empire State Building where we were charged extra for fast track, queued for hours and then had to wait a very long time for the refund as we should not have been charged extra. The experience was not great - it was chaotic crowded and the staff were clearly under pressure. The trip to Rockafeller was however completely different and was well organised and the staff were lovely. We also went on the Movie and TV Tour which was great fun!

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

Joyce W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

staff at madame tussauds were helpful and curteous when buying the bus tour tickets. No problem with vouchers at empire state bldg and the rockefeller Center tour of the Rock was OUTSTANDING!!!
The tour guides on the buses are very courteous, entertaining, and helpful. The bus for hop on-hop off in lower Manhattan was a little disappointing: Waiting for a bus at the beginning of tour to get on bus was 40 minutes waiting on the bus when transferring to the last half of the same tour was almost 30 minutes. Round trip took almost 3 hours.

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

Steven L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fab views from Top of the rock !!! X

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Stephthisway United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was very easy to use the Viator voucher to get our tickets for the Top of the Rock. Once you exchange the voucher, you then receive your timed pass and can enter the building. Do not show up more than 5 minutes early - you will not be permitted into the tour space. After a quick security check, you then go up the elevator to the observation decks. Definitely get the map so you can identify all of the buildings. Great views of the city and at night, it is spectacular. Three different viewing levels, all offering a great outlook. Our group had a small child and a senior citizen and they both had a great time.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Mark N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We followed the historical sites mentioned in the book The Harbinger first St. Paul's Chapel at ground zero, George Washington's church where the first members of Congress dedicated America to God of the Bible, the sycamore tree, the memorial and the finale was going to the Top of the Rock which puts many things in context. Beautiful views of all the buildings man has made and the creation of a beautiful city. The amazing thing was how it could all be gone in a moment and made us reflect on what is really important in our lives. Some things we take with us when we leave earth and others we can never take with us. Very sobering in the context of God's creation, purpose and significance for each life. Also our starting point in history living in a country that has been blessed and where we are today as a country who has turned away from God.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Mark W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

Top of the Rock was great, go early by 10am before the lines BUT VIATOR booking was HORRIBLE ! The failed to use the voucher provided and billed my credit card instead...they now have failed to return any of my emails.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Rachael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great way to see the city, I would definitely recommend this to anyone travelling to NYC, the night tour is great, the use of the ferry is great, and we chose to go up to the Top of The Rock, we did it at night so you saw the city all lit up, which included the Empire State Building. A must buy, but if you are going to the Statue of Liberty, make sure you pre-book that too, you can not buy tickets when you get there.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

Jojo T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

With coupon from Viator, visiting Top of The Rock was a breeze. I recommend going up the Rock at sunset to see the spectacular view. Wait til the city dazzles as it becommes all lit up! wonderful!

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Kimberly N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Even though the visibility was at 50 when we went up it is spectacular! We failed to print our vouchers from Viator and the staff at Top of the Rock could not have been more helpful. We emailed the confirmation to them and they printed them for us. We went about 4:30 just as the sun began to go down and saw the lights coming on all over the city.
Definitely do this!

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Carmen A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Very disappointing. We did this tour on our first trip to NYC and we found it very useful in assisting us to get our bearings. The guide then was very informative and pointed out landmarks and places of interest.
This time the headphone sound came and went and when we could hear the guide it appeared he was giving a one to one tour to a couple on the lower deck. Some people asked to get off the bus and the general feeling on the top deck was that this tour was a waste of money.
Transport to the outlet was good however as there were at least four bus loads of people in front of us when we wanted to go home we decided to pay for a private taxi back to NYC. Surely extra buses could be put on for peak times.
Top of the Rock was fun.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Shopping and Top of the Rock

claudeyburke

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Five star value here! We thought this was the Best Buy of our trip and we didn't get time to do all we could. This package gave us such good value for money. We got to see loads more than we ever could have accomplished on foot. Take full advantage of it! The tour guides are great and very knowledgeable, the hop on and off nature of it gives you the freedom to tailor your own trip and the ferry ticket that lets you get off on both Liberty and Ellis Island is great. Getting to go up the Empire State Building or the Top of the Rock is a great bonus. For us both to do all this by paying on the day would have cost a fortune and we would never have done so much.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

Renee G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I love the Rock, so much more than the Empire State Building, not as crowed. The views were awesome!!! Will definitely go again and again.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Norm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Top of the Rock - Top event of the Holiday

This booking was so simple to redeem and book, we headed on the tour at 4 and was on the deck at 5.15 to watch the sun go down and the city light up, couldn't recommend it highly enough and better than the Empire state as from the top of the rock you can see the Empire state, WTC, and Statue of liberty all in one pic.
Highly recommended!

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Diane Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour was great, and the guide made it special. We were never rushed, had a wonderful lunch in Little Italy, Grants tomb, Top of the Rock, 911, the ferry ride was awesome with the NYC skyline. Everything was the best!!!!

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Luxury Coach

Patrick D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Great tour. Top of the Rock was only disappointment.

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Luxury Coach

Susan S

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Enjoyed the tour but it was not by luxury coach but open top bus which may not suit everyone. Informative guide but not too well organised when walking as a group and couldn't always hear what he said. Rockafellar building excellent but lunch very mediocre.

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Luxury Coach

Zach M USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

This was disorganized and not as good of an experience as the Empire State Building. We did both and the Empire State experience is much better value. Top of Rock does not provide much history or information. When reaching the top, there is not any information on what you are looking at. Upon exiting the elevator, you are inside and there is confusion on how to get outside. Then upon going outside it takes a while to realize that there are actually 3 levels.

Do Empire State building over this tour. You will learn a lot in the history section and then also enjoy the view.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

James G. S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

I signed my husband and I and son and daughter in law for your 8.5 tour by luxury coach. None of us had been to New York before and this was our first tour there. A main reason I chose this tour was the reviews and how people raved about their guide. The tour guide makes or breaks the experience. We only had 2 days in New York and our first full day was a disappointment beyond belief. James badge 225 was so hard to hear, tried to figure out what he was talking about as he sat in the front with his back to us every minute talking about a building, with us wondering which one he was talking about, spoke in a monotone, had no sense of humor or enthusiasm, and no energy. We got to know our fellow tourists and enjoyed lunch, the sightseeing cruise and the ONE guided walk to the tree at the 9/11 memorial. We don't want to affect Jame's life in a negative way, but he and your company cheated us from what you stated was in the tour, an informative guide, plus an enjoyable relationship with the tour guide as described in so many of your reviews! He dropped us off at 3 p.m. at the Rockefeller Center and we were on our own he had given us our tickets. without any of the guided walks except at 9/11 I think we got the 6 hr. tour RIDE ONLY with virtually little from our guide My husband noted as James read our tickets with a magnifying glass, that this has to be straight out of a Seinfeld series. We will always use this experience in talking about our VIATOR tour. How can a tourist be assured they are given what YOU describe. Will this review be included in your reviews for potential customers? Was I misled? James slept on the table while we were on the sightseeing cruise. He does not seem healthy at all. Everyone said it was an exceptionally busy weekend. Were you short guides? We were there and ready

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Luxury Coach

Mark H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We visit the Rock every time we go to NYC. The views are exceptional

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Mark M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This trip was so awesome! It lasted 5 1/2 hours and included so much for 95 that we can't stop telling people about it. From touring the city by bus, walking a section of the Hi-Line, experiencing the 1 hour boat tour which included a sunset view of the city and Statue of Liberty, eating at a restaurant in Little Italy and finally viewing the city from the Top of Rock, this trip has provided us with memories that will last a very long time. Try it, you'll like it!!!

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

Clare M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a great night out with a good mix of things to see and do. Our tour guide, Jorge, was funny and informative.The mini bus was brand new with comfy leather seats. Walking along the Hi Line was lovely. The views whilst on the boat trip were fantastic and also from the Top of the Rock at the end of the evening. The Italian meal wasnt bad. I would definitely recommend this trip.

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

Galiena R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I absolutely loved it. I was up there for 2 hours on all 3 observation decks. I had a beautiful day to be able to take pictures which is a hobby of mine. So I took plenty of pictures from every view possible. As well as had the time and opportunity to take in the view of the amazing city. And on top of all that I was at the right place at the right time to be able to witness a couple get married on Top of the Rock Observation deck. So that was a pleasant surprise. Soothing you for allowing me this opportunity.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Catherine G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

We took this tour our first night in NYC. Great way to get an introduction to the city.
Loved the boat ride. Restaurant was nice. Food choices were ok. Top the Rock view beautiful.

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message