New York City ATTRACTIONS See all

Rockefeller Center

For a memorable dose of Art Deco design in all its glory, immerse yourself in the 1930s Rockefeller Center. A complex of 19 buildings and gardens, the Rockefeller Center is where you'll find the famous ice rink and Christmas tree, Radio City ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 613 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anne R United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great experience, having a ticket meant we missed the queue. Love the view from the top of the rock, and the photos that they take of you are a great reminder of the trip.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Catherine J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Top of Rockefeller is the only observation deck that has a 360 view. We were able to see both side. We moved in and out very quickly. Wish the weather would have been a little clear.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabulous! I wish I could remember our tour guides name as she was hilarious I know she had come at the last minute to cover for someone, she made the tour even better! We went to Grey Line Visitors Centre 30 minutes before the trip to get our tickets, there was about 30 people in total so they split us into 2 smaller groups, I think you get a much better experience this way.

We were given a tour of the High-Line and an unexpected tour of Chelsea Markets where we spotted a couple of famous faces before we boarded the ferry. We got skip-the-line boarding just as daylight was fading and got to experience sunset while on the Hudson! Our guide took photos of us in front of the Statue of Liberty and then we headed back.

In little Italy we were seated and served in record time and the meal was lovely. The Top of the Rock tickets were good for 2 days so our tour guide gave us the choice to be dropped off at our hotels on the way and use the tickets the next day if we wanted, a couple of people chose that option but we decided to continue and the night time views are truly spectacular!

Our hotel was in times square and it only took us 10 minutes to walk back. Even at 11pm you feel completely safe in the city.

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

Nikki P

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Had a brilliant time in NYC. With out Explorer Pass we went up the Statue of Liberty, to the Top of the Rock and 911 Memorial. All the trips living up to my expectations. Thank-you Viator.

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

Nigel B

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Good value - we just didn't get time to use the bus ticket as much as we would have liked as we were only there for 3 days, and weather wasn't brilliant for sitting a-top a double decker bus. We used the Top of the Rock and Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket. Possibly next time we would just get separate tickets, but if there for longer than 3 days I think it would be good value.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

Russ

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Start of the tour was an absolute fiasco, tour guides bickering who to take, mini bus didn't turn up' too many for seats on buses arranged so re arranged an open top tour bus to accommodate 30 of us. Not quite sure what happened to second tour guide! Suffice to say tour started 30 minutes late, it was cold, cruise was great, sights were explained well but traffic awful. Italian meal OK but were moved twice to accommodate larger group. Bought a pint of peroni in bar over and about free soft drink and was charged tax and service charge of almost 2.00....rip off. Good thing we were able to save Top of the Rock voucher for the following day.

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

Georjana S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Our tour guide's behavior was SO odd, had to only give 2 stars. He made us uncomfortable, banging on the windows of the inside of the tour bus to shout at women on the street HEY - She's a model! bang bang Look over here, you! We were the only ones on the tour and although we really enjoyed the East River water taxi that goes by the Statue of Liberty and the dinner in Little Italy, actually we ended the tour early without going to the Top of the Rock because we didn't want to get back on the van with the guide. We wanted to stay in Little Italy and enjoy a bottle of wine so we did. He was a nice enough guy but he made strange comments to passerby like asking some boys at High Line Park Are you taking naughty pictures? when they were simply taking a photo of a tree from ground level. We could tell they were uncomfortable being asked that by a stranger and it altered the evening we didn't feel comfortable or relaxed on the Night on the Town Tour. However our highlight was certainly the champagne toast cruising past the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. Thanks-

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

O Lam Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our tour guide Dave is very knowledgeable with a plethora of interesting information on anything and everything about NYC. The minibus was very comfortable and lunch at Little Italy was enjoyable. We had more then enough time for lunch and we felt a little bit rushed along Wall Street. The Ferry was enjoyable, however in the winter time it does get very cold and windy on the top deck. Access to the Top of the Rock in the afternoon provided spectacular views of the sunset across the buildings.

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Minibus

JennyC United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I visited the Top of the Rock on my recent visit to NYC and I loved it.. The views are amazing and there are 3 stories of viewing platforms. Easy to find, the staff were very accommodating - what more can you ask for?

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Michelle D USA

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

good tour overall. I've done this tour in the past with my son and this time wanted to take my daughter. Right off the bat, there was an issue with the number of tickets sold and they had to change from the nice coach bus they normally use to an open top double decker bus. Of course this upset people because although you're inside and warm forgot to mention that it was 30 degrees and getting colder you don't sit high enough to enjoy the views around the city. We chose to sit up top where about 3 rows were covered. There were poor souls having to sit out in the open literally freezing imagine 30 degrees and now add the wind chill in an open top bus. We were rushed thru Chelsea Market, but I was glad to see it. Also rushed thru Hi-Line. The scenic boat ride was beautiful and long enough to enjoy and spent quite a bit of time allowing everyone to get plenty of state of Liberty pictures. Dinner was fabulous, we ate quickly but didn't feel rushed and the food was wonderful. The end was Top of the Rock which had wonderful view. Just an FYI the tour ends by dropping you off at Top of the Rock with a voucher to enter. You have as much time at the top as you'd like. You need to find your way back home/hotel on your own afterwards.

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

gap64

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Definitely worth doing this if visiting New York. We went to the top of the Rock early evening and New York in the dark was amazing. No doubt equally wonderful during the day. If you turn up early you can book the time you want to go up. The lift to the top is quick and the Observation Decks offer great views of the whole of New York. Safe for all the family. Despite not liking heights the Observation Decks allow cowards to sit inside ... the brave could wander around outside and take great photos. Would recommend.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Linda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The idea of having a pass ahead of trip was great and saved hassle. However we had a very bad experience at the Empire State Building who tried to charge us extra for fast track, we had to queue for hours and then had to wait for a refund. It was chaotic and the staff were not very helpful. However the remaining trips were fine - the Rockafeller was a completely different experience - it was stress free and the staff were lovely. We also went on the Movie and TV tour - loved it!

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

Joyce W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

staff at madame tussauds were helpful and curteous when buying the bus tour tickets. No problem with vouchers at empire state bldg and the rockefeller Center tour of the Rock was OUTSTANDING!!!
The tour guides on the buses are very courteous, entertaining, and helpful. The bus for hop on-hop off in lower Manhattan was a little disappointing: Waiting for a bus at the beginning of tour to get on bus was 40 minutes waiting on the bus when transferring to the last half of the same tour was almost 30 minutes. Round trip took almost 3 hours.

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

Steven L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fab views from Top of the rock !!! X

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Stephthisway United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was very easy to use the Viator voucher to get our tickets for the Top of the Rock. Once you exchange the voucher, you then receive your timed pass and can enter the building. Do not show up more than 5 minutes early - you will not be permitted into the tour space. After a quick security check, you then go up the elevator to the observation decks. Definitely get the map so you can identify all of the buildings. Great views of the city and at night, it is spectacular. Three different viewing levels, all offering a great outlook. Our group had a small child and a senior citizen and they both had a great time.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Mark N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We followed the historical sites mentioned in the book The Harbinger first St. Paul's Chapel at ground zero, George Washington's church where the first members of Congress dedicated America to God of the Bible, the sycamore tree, the memorial and the finale was going to the Top of the Rock which puts many things in context. Beautiful views of all the buildings man has made and the creation of a beautiful city. The amazing thing was how it could all be gone in a moment and made us reflect on what is really important in our lives. Some things we take with us when we leave earth and others we can never take with us. Very sobering in the context of God's creation, purpose and significance for each life. Also our starting point in history living in a country that has been blessed and where we are today as a country who has turned away from God.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Mark W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

Top of the Rock was great, go early by 10am before the lines BUT VIATOR booking was HORRIBLE ! The failed to use the voucher provided and billed my credit card instead...they now have failed to return any of my emails.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Rachael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great way to see the city, I would definitely recommend this to anyone travelling to NYC, the night tour is great, the use of the ferry is great, and we chose to go up to the Top of The Rock, we did it at night so you saw the city all lit up, which included the Empire State Building. A must buy, but if you are going to the Statue of Liberty, make sure you pre-book that too, you can not buy tickets when you get there.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

Jojo T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

With coupon from Viator, visiting Top of The Rock was a breeze. I recommend going up the Rock at sunset to see the spectacular view. Wait til the city dazzles as it becommes all lit up! wonderful!

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Kimberly N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Even though the visibility was at 50 when we went up it is spectacular! We failed to print our vouchers from Viator and the staff at Top of the Rock could not have been more helpful. We emailed the confirmation to them and they printed them for us. We went about 4:30 just as the sun began to go down and saw the lights coming on all over the city.
Definitely do this!

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Carmen A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Very disappointing. We did this tour on our first trip to NYC and we found it very useful in assisting us to get our bearings. The guide then was very informative and pointed out landmarks and places of interest.
This time the headphone sound came and went and when we could hear the guide it appeared he was giving a one to one tour to a couple on the lower deck. Some people asked to get off the bus and the general feeling on the top deck was that this tour was a waste of money.
Transport to the outlet was good however as there were at least four bus loads of people in front of us when we wanted to go home we decided to pay for a private taxi back to NYC. Surely extra buses could be put on for peak times.
Top of the Rock was fun.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Shopping and Top of the Rock

claudeyburke

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Five star value here! We thought this was the Best Buy of our trip and we didn't get time to do all we could. This package gave us such good value for money. We got to see loads more than we ever could have accomplished on foot. Take full advantage of it! The tour guides are great and very knowledgeable, the hop on and off nature of it gives you the freedom to tailor your own trip and the ferry ticket that lets you get off on both Liberty and Ellis Island is great. Getting to go up the Empire State Building or the Top of the Rock is a great bonus. For us both to do all this by paying on the day would have cost a fortune and we would never have done so much.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

Renee G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I love the Rock, so much more than the Empire State Building, not as crowed. The views were awesome!!! Will definitely go again and again.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Norm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Top of the Rock - Top event of the Holiday

This booking was so simple to redeem and book, we headed on the tour at 4 and was on the deck at 5.15 to watch the sun go down and the city light up, couldn't recommend it highly enough and better than the Empire state as from the top of the rock you can see the Empire state, WTC, and Statue of liberty all in one pic.
Highly recommended!

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Diane Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour was great, and the guide made it special. We were never rushed, had a wonderful lunch in Little Italy, Grants tomb, Top of the Rock, 911, the ferry ride was awesome with the NYC skyline. Everything was the best!!!!

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Minibus

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message