Arguably the most luxurious department store in the city, Saks Fifth Avenue is the result of a partnership between two powerful New York City department store families: the Saks’ and Gimbel Brothers. In September 1924, Horace Saks and Bernard Gimbel ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 112 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

vwms217

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I purchased the four day pass for myself and my son. This was our first trip to New York. Super easy getting our VIP passes to wear around our neck when boarding the bus at the Visitors Center in Times Square. I found the guides on the buses very knowledgeable and helpful. Some were more helpful than others. My favorite guide was a female on May 12th around 7pm. She was very good with historical facts and had a dry sense of humor. The itinerary stated the last bus was at 5:30 but we wrote the last one at 7:30pm. We had just finish another tour that was all day and ended by St. Paul Chapel. We were just getting ready to call a taxi and notice our bus was still picking up passengers. We were very happy to get on the last bus going to Times Square, and close enough to walk to our Hotel. The First day in NY we rode the bus to the Empire State Building. The next day we had to take a taxi to our Statue of Liberty Ellis Island tour because the tour started earlier than the bus started picking up passengers. Our third day we went to Harlem. It was raining on that day. It was the first time we did not sit at the top. They provided yellow ponchos. A lot of people sat in the rain. I just was not feeling sitting in the rain so I sat down stairs for the first time. I loved the tickets to the Top of the Rock. The view was breathtaking. I also liked all the nice shops and the whole NBC thing there not to mention the shops. I was very happy with this tour and if I am ever in New York again (next year) I will Hop on and Hop off again.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Shopping and Top of the Rock

Janet C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A must for everyone visiting NYC

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Shopping and Top of the Rock

Peter G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We only went on the bus once during the four days because of choosing taxi, subway and walking a lot. The guide was very enthusiastic and educated. The trip to the Worlds biggest outlet was great. Six hours of shopping at great prices. Empire State Building at night is magical.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Shopping and Top of the Rock

George C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Thoroughly enjoyable trips on the Uptown and Downtown tours. On top of the bus freezing but well wrapped up - our guides were very knowledgeable and made the experiences more interesting.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Shopping and Top of the Rock

Elizabeth A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a great time loved the tours we did them all apart from the harbour cruise we just didn't have the time

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Shopping and Top of the Rock

n_floman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was excellent. We even upgraded to a VIP pass because the person who gave us our ticket was really nice and friendly. He deserves a commendation but unfortunately, i was not able to get his name. This is really worth getting before a trip. Thanks a lot Viator!!!

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Shopping and Top of the Rock

Carol T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Just love the hop on bus tours. We paid the extra dollars for the VIP Passes which were good. First in line and no queuing at Hard a Rock a Cafe. Only disappointment was our guide on the Bronx tour as she didn't speak very good English.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Shopping and Top of the Rock

Ashley M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The boat tour was fantastic and when there they let us choose Empire State or RF centre. Woodbury common was great and bus was great. The bus tour was good too just avoid the busses with a cover over the front as it's hard to see through but generally very enjoyable.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Shopping and Top of the Rock

Josie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This is a great way to get around.We found all the guides really helpful and informative.Would definitely
recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see everything.The Woodbury Common tour was great as there are so many departure and return times. The buses are very frequent, we didn't wait more than 10 mins. for any bus.Would definitely buy again. Thank you City Sites .

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Shopping and Top of the Rock

Mark L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent trip. Guides very informative. Paid extra $25/person for the VIP passes which allowed us to skip the queues at the busiest stops and also to use the "Gray Line" tour busses as well. Uses mos tof the Tours, some more than once and enjoyed the harbour cruise, shopping and Top of the Rock (although the queue was quite long for Top of the Rock, as it was after dark). Would thoroughly recommend this as a way to see New York.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Shopping and Top of the Rock

Elizabeth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Great value for money. Trip to Woodbury Common was brilliant though I would advise taking an empty case to carry shopping! All the tours were brilliant and the guides very knowledgable. The night tour to Brooklyn showed the skyline magnificently. Only downside was still having to wait in a long queue to collect tickets in Madame Tussauds despite having per booked.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Shopping and Top of the Rock

SHS Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Top rate tours. Well worth getting the tours altogether even thpough we were unable to do everything due to time. Tour guides were mostly excellent however a couple were over the top especially the guy on the cruise. Spoke too fast. .

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Shopping and Top of the Rock

Patricia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Excellent way to see so many of the famous sights. Top of the Rock was amazing as was the city night tour. Wouldn't recommend the shopping trip.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Shopping and Top of the Rock

Julio M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

the tour is amazing , great Staff during the complete tour and you get to know NY in very different way.
Highly recommended!!!!!!!

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Shopping and Top of the Rock

Eman A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It's a great way to see New York.. It shows all the attractions plus the outlet

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Shopping and Top of the Rock

shannabery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Night tour is awesome. Definitely go out to the Outlets to shop. Top of the Rocks is spectacular and used 2 days of the 3 day hop on hop off. Great way to get to 9/11 site and Battery Park

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Shopping and Top of the Rock

SJC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great way tp see the city on a short time frame. Guides were very informative and plenty of buses especially if you upgrade to vip.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Shopping and Top of the Rock

Gail C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This is the way to go to familiarise yourself with NY. I advise to do all hop-on, hop-off tours. Get a 7day pass, and go back to places you want to visit. Had some great guides on the buses. You can use their earphones or I chose to use my ipod earphones.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Shopping and Top of the Rock

Sharon P United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Hop-on/off buses are a great way to see the city, Top of the Rock has stunning views and Woodbury Common is fantastic, got some amazingly good buys!!!

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Shopping and Top of the Rock

Jane P Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

This tour is great value! Woodbury Common shopping was unbelievable, great bargains, great shops and great service. Top of the Empire State Building was fantastic! The tour guides were very informative, good value.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Shopping and Top of the Rock

Christine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This was a great value for money tour - we used all tickets - except museum - and thoroughly enjoyed them all.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Shopping and Top of the Rock

PAUL O Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Great value package. Paid 156 euro for the 4 day package for 2 people. Top of the rock is 25dollars Woodbury Common bus about 42 dollars so that's 134 dollars or just over 100 euro for that component. Guides each brought a different perspective. Did the night-time tour, downtown tour with 3 different guides ( all informative and entertaining) Did a short portion of the uptown touron way to Century 21 (not worth going to- just a TK Maxx type place)

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Shopping and Top of the Rock

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message