The Statue of Liberty guards the entrance to New York Harbor on Liberty Island. A gift from France to commemorate the 100-year anniversary of the signing of the Declaration of Independence, Lady Liberty has been a symbol of democracy and hope since ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 571 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great time on the Hop-on Hop-off bus. We paid extra for the VIP passes and it was definitely worth the extra $25 per person. Many times there were long lines for the bus, so with the VIP passes we were the first to get any available seats. Most of the tour guides were funny and informative. We had a couple who were maybe having a bad day, as they sounded like they were reciting a textbook. But others were lively and funny. One of the bus loops went right by our hotel, so when we were done for the day we would hop on at Times Square and get off the bus a few miles down the road. Sure saved us on cab fares!
We went to the Empire State Building and it was nice being able to miss the line to buy tickets. However, we still had to wait in line for the elevators. But the wait time was minimal.
The 90-minute harbor cruise was well worth the time and effort. The location (Pier 78) is a bit out of the way...we walked from Times Square and were in a less desirable area which made us feel we weren't very safe. I would suggest taking a taxi or public transit bus to the pier. The cruise itself was wonderful, with loads of information being imparted. And...they take you right up to the Statue of Liberty island for great photo opportunities. We never used the water taxi (which is a one-time use only...not hop-on/hop-off situation which the tour description intimated. However, it was good for 72 hours (from the time you pick up your tickets) so, overall, it was a good value for us.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour is a must-do on your Wish List. Excellent night views of the island of Manhattan plus Statue of Liberty. Our boat captain was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Circle Line: Harbor Lights Night Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Remy was our tour guide and he was wonderful. He really made the experience memorable, especially 9/11 Memorial. Walking along Wall Street, Stock Exchange explaining in detail very interesting things you normally would miss. We boarded the ferry to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island with a great view. There is audio equipment provided to enjoy the history of both landmarks. Definitely worth the money.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We took the sunset cruise our first night in New York City---it was fantastic! Beautiful views of the city and the Statue of Liberty. The sunset was gorgeous and then as darkness set in to see the 2 beams of light from the twin towers was incredibly touching. The crew and captain were very capable as well as entertaining. I would highly recommend this cruise to anyone visiting New York.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty Tall Ship Sailing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great evening cruise as we went on the 7.30 cruise and it had just got dark so the night skyline of New York was all out. Luckily the night we went was very warm so we were able to sit on the open top of the boat. The boat trip was only an hour but was long enough to go from Brooklyn bridge around to the Statue of Liberty (stop for a short while for pictures) and back going under Brooklyn Bridge and back to mooring space. The guide was very informative on all the different buildings that we sailed pass on the way to the Statue of Liberty.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty Evening Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Overall a great tour and well worth the money, you get to visit many different places in one day which helps plan your overall visit to New York. I recommend adding the 9/11 museum tour to your package as this was a moving yet special place to visit. We also liked the use of the water taxis to see New York from a different perspective especially when the taxi passes the statue of liberty as opposed to the unnecessary need to go onto the statue of liberty island, this method gives you all the views and photo opportunities you need. Also the tour guide was very friendly and informative being a local new yorker.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A VERY PLEASANT and WELL INFORMED TOUR GUIDE, THOROUGH WALK AROUND WALL STREET, and 9/11 MEMORIAL AND A WONDERFUL INCLUSIVE TRIP TO THE STATUE OF LIBERTY AND ADMISSION INTO THE STATUE AND A RIDE UP TO TOP OF PEDESTAL WHERE THE VIEW WAS AWESOME! THANKS FOR MAKING NYC EASY AND EDUCATIONAL!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had the mot exciting time in New York , our hop-on and hop-off experience gave us a great insight of all the places to visit. Our uptown trip it was raining but the guide supplied us with ponchos and we carried on regardless. The ferry trip took us right along side Statue of Liberty and we got some great photos also from the top of the Rock

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Saw the city at day and night from the Empire State Building. Go early to avoid the queues. Did the river tour which was a great way to see the city and the Statue of Liberty from the water, particularly if you have limited time. Great informative tour guide. Did the upgraded tour which made for a pleasant cruise. Recommended.

Doing what: New York CityPass

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Well worth it folks, this is the best way to learn about the history of NYC, and includes the bonus of a ferry ride to Statue of Liberty and other great sights. Well worth the money. We did a 3 day and got to see everything we wanted.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Really enjoyed walking part of tour- was with my 16 and 12 year olds who agree!
Remy was an excellent guide, knowledgable and very helpful.
However, did not enjoy ferry, statue of liberty etc.as much, much too busy, hence the 3 stars.
Would suggest in future you offer just walking part of tour and leave out ferry etc.
Best wishes, Alastair N Palin

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My guide was JP. He was really good and efficient. Saw everything that i was meant to and felt safe, in control and included in the group as a solo traveler. I'd recommend this tour to my friends. End of tour is not where it started but I felt confident to navigate my way back home using the water taxi service via the statue of liberty..

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A day to experience , we enjoyed the tour on submarine and intrepid ,air craft carrier ,the early start to the top of empire building was an eye opener, the harbour cruise was good and allowed plenty of time to view Statue of Liberty

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Although and early start, well worth it, straight up the empire states at 8.00am, we had a clear day with excellent views. I hadn't realised that the trip included a Red bus trip to take us to the Intrepid, which again gave us the opportunity to see a bit more. Taxi boat from the intrepid, round the Statue of Liberty up to the Battery Park, walk up wall street, seeing Trinity church beautiful, seeing the memorial for the Twin Towers which I found to be respectfully sombre and so glad we saw this. The guide was Kernan, his knowledge was brilliant, he stayed with us until the tour finished at the Twin Towers, he gave us instructions how to get back on the Taxi boat which we took again. VIP part of this trip was we were first in the Empire States, no cue at the Intrepid and first on the taxi boat that does get very busy.
My tips for you would be:-
*Take a snack/drink as you start early and didn't finish till 1ish and we were all starving especially our kids.
*Be aware the there is a fair bit of walking again tired kids!
*jump off the taxi boat in the afternoon and visit the famous Julianas or Grimalldi pizza restaurants over on the Brooklyn side or we had homemade ice cream as well here.
This was our first trip to NY, it helped with getting our bearing, also with the time zone difference the early start did not matter at all as we were all wide awake at the crack of dawn!!
Suppose the only negative was some if it was a little rushed, so much to pack in.... however if you want to go back to the intrepid or take the taxi boat then you could. I was recommended this by friends and would recommend to my friends. Also pack some tip money!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great experience. Our guide Kate was brilliant as she took us around Wall Street and the 9/11 Memorial. Going to the Statue of Liberty was wonderful. Great views from the boat and statue.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message