The Statue of Liberty guards the entrance to New York Harbor on Liberty Island. A gift from France to commemorate the 100-year anniversary of the signing of the Declaration of Independence, Lady Liberty has been a symbol of democracy and hope since ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 407 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It was great and I loved seeing the statue of liberty but didn't get off the ferry because we would have missed the last bus so start early. Watch out for the people claiming they have tickets for the ferry. Some people people paid them and couldn't get on tip your tour guide they will help

Doing what: New York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour including Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had a great tour guide, nicole. It was a very cold day, but she made it fun for our whole family. We saw all the sights, plus we were able to go in an old church and the building that was the first White House. She dropped us off at the ferry where we could see the Statue of Liberty! Thanks

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A must see tour! Thie Statue of Liberty as thousands and thousands newly arrived immigrants would have first laid eyes on her. First hand accounts at Ellis Island and having the opportunity to "research" names made the trip even more memorable.

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Tour is well organised except not sure why you pay for the 9/11 memorial which is actually free.disappointed the tour bus left without us as we got held up in the queues in the Empire State Building buying photos .river cruise to see Statue of Liberty was fabulous.much cheaper buying before travel

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Have just returned from New York having really enjoyed this tour. Remy and Nicole were superb guides and very informative. The 9/11 memorial was so wonderful to see. Since I visited in 2010 the Memorial fountains and museum have been built. What a moving and wonderful place to visit. Really enjoyed Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island too. You must do this tour. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My husband, 13 year old son and I had a wonderful time on this tour. Linda, our tour guide was entertaining and quite knowledgeable, being a native New Yorker. Her antidotes and experiences lent a personal touch to the tour instead of just a standard lecture about the areas we visited. The in depth walk through the Financial District was interesting and the 911 Memorial was very moving to us. We would have loved to have he take us around the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island, but she left us at Castle Clinton as mentioned in the tour description and then we took the ferry to the Statute where you have a self guided audio tour. Ellis Island is more of a self guided tour, or you can talk to the park rangers there. We had a hard time trying to select a tour for the limited time we would be in New York City, but we chose wisely, as this was a winner! My family enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone interested in the history of the Lower Manhattan area. A wonderful added bonus was that she took group photos and emailed it to anyone in the group who was interested in having a keepsake of the tour!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was fantastic! Our guide Tom was extremely knowledgeable, informative and fun. He kept everyone engaged with stories not just about the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island, but also about the history of the harbor and lower Manhattan in general. He was also really great with kids - there were three on the tour, including my 8-year-old son, who had a blast. The tour was well organized, the views of Manhattan were amazing, and the history and information provided were fascinating. Highly recommended for first-time or returning visitors!

Doing what: Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We highly recommend this tour, it was fantastic with very good guides who knew New York very well. We did the top of the rock, top tip, collect your ticket and book a slot at busy periods. We also did the night tour, the harbour cruise and the ellis island statue of liberty tour, all very very good. top tip for statue of liberty, if you want to go up the statue you must prebook, and we were told you need to prebook a few weeks in advance. We used the hop on hop off bus to get around also. Very good value, good guides, and a great way to see new York in 72 hours.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Heidi our tour guide was awesome! I wish I would have had more time at the 9 11 muesem because we rushed back to get the last ferry to do the Statue of Liberty your. we ended up going back the next day to 9 11 Muesem and took at least 4 hours there. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Good tour from Remy and we've really enjoyed the fast track line for our Statue of Liberty visit. There was a huge queue and we would have never gone for it if we wouldn't have had the skip the line tickets

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

I think the guide could have made better use of the time and not waited in the shadow of the cemetery wall and told stories and jokes. Why didn't we go to the front of Trinity Church in the warm sunshine and see the site where Wall St starts.
Also, repetitive instructions only made them confusing.
Also, the tour name is title is misleading when the tours does not go to the Statue of Liberty.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

The clear benefit of this tour is getting to bypass lines. The drawbacks outweigh the positives. 1. You do not visit the Statue of Liberty, you get a drive by and only an up close view if you board at a specific dock. Mentioning the Statue of Liberty is simply, false advertising. Driving by Central Park is not the same as visiting Central Park. 2. The hop on and hop off water taxi cut their operating hours short without any notice. No sign, nothing. The line of customers standing at Battery Park waiting for the taxi that would never arrive was quite telling about the tour operator. When I called to find out if they would be coming, I was told very politely, no and when I asked if this was common, the reply was unfortunately yes. 3. Once a group exceeds a certain number the ability of the guide to properly attend to each member is significantly diminished. Our guide walked fast and didn't do a very good job of making everyone feel included. My impression was that her need to be the center of attention was strong. She was rather intolerable and minced no words when she berated myself and another for not meeting at the appointed time INSIDE the Intrepid museum area, instead we were right at the exit, re-entering required another spin through security. The seven minutes that we delayed the group she demonstrated by showing us her watch was rather moot, we had a five minute walk to the taxi - with a 15 minute wait. I felt like I was back in parochial school and being scolded by one of the Nuns. Read the reviews carefully and give the negatives some consideration. I waited a full week before I sat down to write this review.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Justina was a great tour guide, we enjoyed the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island also

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Justina was a great tour guide, we enjoyed the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island also

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

My family really enjoyed our tour with Jared. He was very knowledgeable about the history of the buildings we saw and gave us great tips on how to make the most of our experience to the Statue of Liberty. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

we did the walking tour of wall street and the 911 memorial along with the statue of Liberty and Ellis Island tour. Our tour guide, Remy, was fantastic. He knows his history and made it very entertaingin

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour excited us, starting with the walking tour of Wall St. To the 9/11 Memorial then the fun cruise to to the Statue of Liberty and a visit at Ellis Island on the return cruise. Educational and fun-filled sight-seeing alll the way. Just loved it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We met our tourguide, Rachel, in front of the New York Stock Exchange. From the moment we met her, we knew this would be a great experience. Despite being a brutally cold, windy day, she was extremely enthusiastic about showing us New York. The history we learned far exceeded our expectations - we would have never learned as much if we would have visited the sites on our own. The 9/11 Memorial is humbling; the personal experiences Rachel shared with us from people she's had on her tours really made it more memorable. Two things to be aware of: these are CLEARLY pointed out on the tour's description, but I want to reinforce them here. The guide does not accompany you out to the Statue of Liberty. We would have loved to have had her insights on that piece of the tour too. More importantly, when they say this is a walking tour, it's really a WALKING tour! We had several older ladies with us who had a hard time keeping up toward the end. Rachel kept us moving, but we never felt rushed. She handled our "straglers" very professionally. If you have someone in your party who may not have the stamina for a 2-3 hour outdoor adventure, you may want to look for another option. However, if you are capable of walking several miles do not miss this tour. It was a great value for the money and we highly recommend it!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic thing to experience. .helicopter flight was great and compare on the river taxie trip to statue of liberty was wasted on there he was so funny and quick witted. . Fantastic only criticism would be of the helicopter staff could have been more pleasant

Doing what: Viator VIP: NYC Night Helicopter Flight and Statue of Liberty Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A tremendous tour, guide Patrick was superb.He was highly motivated on a very cold Sunday morning.
Tour started at 9.00AM and lasted to 11.30AM. We met just outside Wall St and walked through this district to 9/11 and then onto the drop off at the ferry for the Statue of Liberty.Guide was highly imformative not only on the main attractions but on other areas of interest on our walk.
Remember to tip the guide,Patrick deserved it on this trip,unfortunately we were the only ones who did!!!
Only 12 people on trip so there was a nice friendly atmosphere within the group.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We enjoyed the trip it was informative and interesting. The tour guide was really nice and cheery. We went onto liberty Island and got lovely picture of the Statue of Liberty. We also took the boat to Ellis Island which was nice. It helped that it was a lovely but cold day. Would recommend this trip.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Really fine two day view of key sights on Lower Manhattan. Getting into Empire State early is worth the whole price. Adding the 9/11 memorial and boat taxi to Statue of Liberty even made it better. Tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. Only complaint was short amount of time at Aircraft Carrier

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

All arrangements were taken care of which was expected but still very nice. I don't know how we would've gotten inside The Statue of Liberty base otherwise. Ferry arrangements went smoothly as well. would highly recommend

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our tour guide was excellent. We truly enjoyed seeing the 911 site and learning about it. The Statue of liberty was fantastic too.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Totally incredible boat trip. Especially at the Statue of Liberty when we stopped. The view of it as the music was overwhelming. It s one of life's "moments."

Doing what: Statue of Liberty Evening Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message