• USD ($)
  • English
The Statue of Liberty guards the entrance to New York Harbor on Liberty Island. A gift from France to commemorate the 100-year anniversary of the signing of the Declaration of Independence, Lady Liberty has been a symbol of democracy and hope since ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 496 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great way to see the highlights on a first trip. We started at Top of the Rock ticket area (after we'd checked into our hotel mid-afternoon), where we were guided to the correct window and exchanged the voucher for booklets. Best to go to Empire State and Statue of Liberty a little before earliest opening to avoid long queues. Otherwise, any time seemed to work well for the other places as CityPass helped avoid the ticket queues everywhere but be prepared for queues for security checks.

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We met outside the Empire State Building at 7.15 in the morning so this is not for the faint hearted. JP our tour guide was brilliant from start to finish. It was great to avoid the queues by being the first people in. JP explained where everything was and obliged taking photos of people when asked. The bus tour was informative and took us around mid Manhattan. The Intrepid and submarine tour touched on everything we wanted to see and again we avoided all the queues. The boat trip was great with good views from the water to the Manhattan skyline. The tour with JP ended at the 9/11 memorial. I can honestly say that his input made this trip even better and I even won one of his badges!!! Superb guide, superb tour. However it does not finish there, as you can then use your water taxi ticket to go back uptown. The boat crew was great giving fantastic views of the statue of liberty and hanging around enough so that you all got great pictures. Well worth the money as we saw so much of Manhattan in a condensed time. Thanks JP.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour was really good. Worth the money! You get priority access to the statue of liberty which is great. I would not like to stand in that massive line. The tour in itself does a great job of covering everything.
Particularly Remy (our tour guide)was amazing! He had so much to share with us and made the walking tour memorable. He was so bubbly and lively and kept our energies up. The dude rocks! I am so glad he was our guide. Everything was covered thoroughly and I am glad to have taken this tour!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

If you want to take a tour of NYC this is the way to go!! PATRICK was wonderful. Best way to see the Statue of Liberty, you get to skip all the lines, no waiting. The day went by very smoothly. Great experience and awesome memories made on this tour with my family!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour is top notch. It seems like the tour is free, because all of the attraction fees are included. Plus, we get to go to the front of the line. Our tour guide, Heidi, was great. She was friendly, knowledgeable, and showed us her true love of New York.
The only time we waited for anything was for the Empire State Building to open, then we were the first people up. When the tour was over we asked Heidi for a lunch recommendation, had lunch, then went on our own back to the boat (that was already paid for) and went out to see the Statue of Liberty. The boat has a few stops, so you can stay on until you are close to your destination.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was incredible. Took my adult daughter and we were able to see NYC from tip to tip. We bought the 2 day pass with an included ferry trip to the Statue of Liberty. The line to get back on the the ferry from The Statue was so long we decided to remain on the boat. The view of the statue was still incredulous, as was the view of the city and it was a really nice boat ride. Our pass included a night bus ride--beautiful--and a tour of Brooklyn. I would recommend this company and tour to everyone.

Doing what: New York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour including Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

A very good way to see the sights economically. However, the complexity of process to see Statue of Liberty discouraged us from selecting it as an Explorer Pass choice. We booked it independently.

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I really enjoyed the tour. Remi was very informative and super friendly; great personality. . He is a very good Ambassador for NYC. Unfortunately, my husband got separated from us on the last segment so neither of us got to see The Statue of Liberty. We will have to come back again and do another tour

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Our guide, Remi, was wonderful. The tour through Wall Street and the 9-11 Memorial was great.

I cannot recommend the Statue of Liberty section, though. The line to get on the ferry was long, even though we had the premium access tickets, and the line to get back on the ferry after stopping at the statue, was almost an hour - in the sun! Not your fault - the Park Service should be blamed, but it was a terrible experience.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

We loved the empire state building, but was disappointed that our tour didn't go to the statue of liberty. I was ok with the boat ride, but assumed the tour would actually get you inside the statue of liberty, like it did with the empire state building.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

You really need to like museums and art galleries to get the best value from the City Pass otherwise it would be better just to visit various NYC sights that appeal to you as an individual or family. We visited the Museum of Natural History and the Museum of Modern Art. These both require a lot of time to fully appreciate their content which is extensive. The food outlets at the Museum of Natural History were poor in the quality of food offered. By contrast the MoMA restaurant was excellent. We visited both Top of the Rock (by day) and the Empire State (at night). Entering the Empire State was slow and involved a lot of queues. However both sites provide the exciting views of NYC that tourists expect. We attempted to take the tour to Liberty Island but when faced with a huge line up that would have meant standing in the hot sun for an hour or more we decided to forget it since we had already had excellent close ups of the Statue of Liberty on the Dinner Cruise.

Doing what: New York CityPass

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

The tour guides were all very knowledgable and helpful. In theory this is a great way to get around the city without using a cab. It provides the right balance of walking and riding. The problem we encountered was when we wanted to catch a bus at a stop on the map we hadn't previously been to. In looking at the map if you stand in the location shown it ended up that really isn't the bus stop. And it seemed like none of our agents were ever around to point us in the right location. We usually ended up missing the first bus that came by before we could find the spot we were supposed to be at. And the worst part was trying to find the agent at battery park to exchange the tickets for the ferry ride to Statue of Liberty. We asked about five different people before we finally found it. And even after that we passed the guy and he just happened to see us carrying the tickets and alerted us. More specific locations or landmarks on the maps or more visible agents at all of the stops would make this tour perfect. Until then if you choose to do this tour you should talk to your tour guide about the exact spot to stand in prior to getting off the bus.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

The guide gave very little information and when he did we could not hear him. A couple of ladies were having difficulty walking. They were very upset about the amount and speed of the walking. The title and description of the tour led us to believe it included going to the Statue of Liberty.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

Hey, we didn´t enjoy this tour at all. And we were not the only ones in our group. Very disappointing and overprized.

1.) 50+ppl in our group
2.) Heidi - our guide was not really a good guide
3.) The tour in the bus - failure - no headset, we didn´t hear a word
4.) Statue of Liberty in the name of the tour is such a fail! We saw it for 2min from the Watertaxi. Not really being there.
5.) Walk through the city - short, boring, not hearing the guide again , rushing
6.) Visit in the museum - short and boring
7.) Empire State Buliding was nice however it was not a credit of the tour itself.

Buy something else. This is boring failure.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

1 stars is ONLY for the Water Taxi-great view of the NYC skyline and close-up photo op at Statue of Liberty-excellent boat guide’s commentary-Highly recommend Water Taxi. The hop-on bus part is horrible. Prior to trip thru Internet I found out the bus is by Open Tour. Called and they said you can only turn in your Viator voucher at the Water Taxi office at Pier 79 as indicated on the voucher so you must make your way there. Water Taxi employees did not recognize this combo ticket. Finally found it on their computer. They kept our vouchers and gave us a ticket for the Water Taxi but had no way to print a ticket for the bus. So they printed an extra ticket and wrote the word “bus” on it. Did not have map of the bus stops so told us to ask at one of their stops. Got a map at the 3rd stop. Map only gives cross streets-no signs at the stops. Waited at corner indicated for 45 min and no bus. During that time we saw 2-3 buses from other bus cos. go by every 15min. Took a taxi to the 9/11 Memorial and waited an hour at the corner indicated . The bus finally came but would not accept our tickets. We explained what had happened at Water Taxi office and pointed out the ad for this dual tour on their map. They said ride with us and a supervisor at the next stop might help us. After calling the home office, he said he could not help us. They let us stay on that bus but we could not get off because we couldn’t get back on. You must exit at Empire State stop and board a new one for the 2nd half. Great employee named Bernard said he would stay with us and put us on that bus so we could continue the tour and get back to the area of our hotel. Asked why they have so few buses and they said only have 15 buses for all of Manhattan. Commentary is thru earbuds and was worthless. 80 % was dreadful music and rest was a man and a woman not saying much about the sites you are seeing. Bus driver does not announce the bus stop name or mention sights near it. Also driver was not following the course on the map. On

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Ultimate New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour by Bus and Boat

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message