Top of the Rock provides breathtaking views of New York City from the top of 30 Rockefeller Plaza in Midtown Manhattan. Formerly the RCA Building (and now the GE Building), the famous Art Deco building is at the heart of Rockefeller Center.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 292 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was a great sight of New York City from a bird's eye view. Top of the rock was a great experience. The check in was easy and the wait to get to the top was a breeze. I would highly recommend this trip for anyone even youngsters in the family.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great views from on top of the rock. No lines, straight up and straight down. Just don't forget to print your voucher prior to going!

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great way to see the highlights on a first trip. We started at Top of the Rock ticket area (after we'd checked into our hotel mid-afternoon), where we were guided to the correct window and exchanged the voucher for booklets. Best to go to Empire State and Statue of Liberty a little before earliest opening to avoid long queues. Otherwise, any time seemed to work well for the other places as CityPass helped avoid the ticket queues everywhere but be prepared for queues for security checks.

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My college friend and I LOVED our visit to the Top of the Rock to watch the sunset. We never felt rushed to leave and enjoyed the breathtaking views of Manhattan and the neighboring boroughs. The lines moved quickly and organized well by the building docents. The gift shop was a nice touch. We would recommend going between 8 and 9 pm because the lines were very long when we were leaving at 10 pm. The visitors were respectful of others when trying to take photos near the windows and made room for everyone to take their turn. I enjoyed taking photos of other families so everyone could be included.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I cannot recommend this tour highly enough, particularly if your time in NYC is limited. Without this tour we wouldn't have seen a fraction of the things we did, not to mention learn about the city. Our guide and driver were friendly, informative and funny. Most of the tour is by coach though there is some walking around involved so you don't feel cooped up all day. The highlights for me were the cruise on the Hudson and The Top of the Rock. If you are considering taking this tour, do the full day...it's worth it!

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Luxury Coach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Top of the rock at the Rockafella centre is well worth a trip even if you've done the Empire State Building. This was really special at night as it's open til midnight. The picture wasn't cheap at $40 but it's a beautiful frame and worth the money.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Amazing! This is far better than the Empire State Building and I am so glad we did it. The tour guide was fun and it was fast paced and he crammed a lot of information in in one hour. The Top of the Rock is a must, the photo the staff take of you beforehand is fun - expensive to purchase but is in a nice presentation folder and you get the choice of colour and black and white. The views are fantastic and you get to be outside and there is plenty of room so no one is shoulder to shoulder.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Does what it says , you observe from the top of the rock.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

It was a very nice view and I did not have to wait the long times for the Empire State Building which would have been my #1 choice except for the long lines I heard of. I was able to go quickly to the Top of the Rock.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This was a great pass to have for our week long trip to New York. We used the Empire State building pass, the Top of the Rock, The MET, the Liberty/Ellis Island Pass and the Macys' 15% discount. Overall, we found it easy to acquire our tickets at each venue and lines were minimal.

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We went this June for the first time in NY and Top of the Rock was on our list.
We've bought the tickets online and it didn't took us much to go up.

The view was amazing as we have chosen to see the city on the day light.
What we liked the most was the fact that there are glasses so it is easier to see everything and you can even go a little higher an there is no window so the pictures are wonderful.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were only in NYC for 12 hours between flights so were tight for time. Because we had booked our tickets in advance, we were able to skip the long queue which was great. The views from the Top of the Rock are spectacular, especially the view of the Empire State Building. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

For a senior couple, quite unfamiliar with Manhattan, the 8-hr tour is ideal. The guide Serge, along with driver Reggie, performed professionally with a great sense of humor. We enjoyed their approach. The breaks and the luncheon were well selected and well timed. The flexibility allowed for using the Top of the Rock ticket fit our plans well (we used it the clear night before the tour).

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Luxury Coach

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Interesting tour. Good to see NY at night. The harbour cruise unfortunately was the same one we had done the day before so had heard all the commentary before. The meal was good with a good choice and although we had less than an hour in restaurant, we never felt rushed.The tour leaves you at Top of the Rock, very close to closing, so time at top was a bit rushed. Well worth seeing however.

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This tour was more than we ever expected, we initially thought we were just going to be shown around the main building, instead we were taken on a guide around various buildings and told several interesting facts about the Rockefeller empire and wealth of the family, on top of the rock gave again absolutely amazing views of NY by night.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message