Walking tours are a great way to get the family oriented in Big Apple. While you can cover more ground on a bus, walking tours allow you to experience life as New Yorkers do, and appreciate the details you'd otherwise miss from a speeding bus. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 316 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a wonderfull day at New York and Top of the Rock is for sure one of the higlights.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Unforgettable experience. I went to the tour with my brother and his wife. We all remember it very fondly. The guide was very intelligent, he told us many interesting stories and the driver was very helpful. We went to visit Chelsea Market and I bought the best hand-made glasses there. The cruise was interesting, we heard many great stories about New York, but unfortunately it was raining and it was cold, so we didn't go out to take a picture with the Statue of Liberty. The fish in Grotta Azzura was excellent. Also there was a Festival in Little Italy that day, so it was a very interesting visit to that area. We decided not to go to the Top of the Rock that day because it was foggy (but we received tickets from the organizer to be able to see it later).

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide Steve was great and entertaining! It was a great night on the town! I loved the walk on the highline area. It was a beautiful walk with great views of the city and Hudson River and various bridges. The cruise on the river was great and the narrator of the tour was great and entertaining too! The views on top of the Rock was beautiful. Dinner was intimate, although the food was just ok. Highly recommend guided tours if you have never been to the city. This was our first trip and we had little time to explore the city so a guided tour is a must.

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

Paul L
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a great tour. Considering my time in NYC was short, I was able to make the most of it by taking the bus tour. I also recommended it to a family friend who took the same tour this past Monday.
Manhattan, Little Italy + lunch, Columbia, 9-11 site, Top of the Rock, and the boat tour. I forgot a few things but it was excellent. Highly recommended.

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Luxury Coach

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

My husband and I lived in the Bronx but moved to Eastern Connecticut 40 years ago. We spent a few days in the city last week and were amazed at how much it has changed. Since we had limited time,we decided to take the tour!. As Damian drove the little bus through the city traffic with skill Ronnie filled us in on interesting history about the neighborhoods . We went through Chelsea Market and were amazed at the wonderful shops located there. Then a ride past the new World Trade Center and on to South St. where we boarded a boat out into the harbor. The ride was great and Amy(I think that was her name) pointed out all the sites with commentary and humor. It was a clear night and the boat trip was beautiful! Then we rode through the city to Little Italy for dinner. Little Italy is almost gone now. The meal was alright. We were then dropped off at Rockafeller Center and given tickets to the top of the Rock.It was about 10:30pm and there were still hundreds of people there! It was well orginized and we moved along steadily to the observation tower. The views were awesome! It was a great tour!

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Top of the Rock is great and I would recommend. I didn't use the bus so cannot comment. The shopping trip however was badly organised and it was a nightmare getting a bus back as there were too many people for the buses. I would not use this again, I would choose a different company.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Shopping and Top of the Rock

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This pass was a great deal and really helped us plan out our trip well. We bought the 3 event pass and managed to squeeze everything in to the 2 days we were here, but it was a lot of intense running around. If you'd like a more laid back trip, you might want to plan for one event a day. We did the Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry the first day, which, as the other reviews suggest, is pretty confusing with this pass but totally worth it in the end. Because instructions on how to get tickets with the EP are impossible to find, I'll lay out the details regarding what you should do if you plan for this here so you don't get lost like we did: when you pick up your Explorer Pass from one of the locations (do this as early as possible so you can get your event booklet and decide ahead of time what you want to do), tell them you'd like to do the Statue/Ellis ferry ride and they will give you ticket vouchers. Once you have those vouchers, take them to Battery Park. At the edge of the park, near the bus stations at the base of the tall black building on State Street there will be a few people in red jackets. Take your vouchers to these people and they will give you your tickets (if this is confusing, just ask one of the security guards near the boats. Tell them about your pass and vouchers and they should be able to direct you). Once you have your tickets, hop in the security line and you'll be good to go! Dress warm, the top of the ferry offers great views but it's chilly up there!

On our second day we did the TV/Movie bus tour and the Top of the Rock. We needed to get tickets for the TV/Movie tour ahead of time, so we picked those up after our ferry ride on the first day. It's a ways away, so plan ahead. Call the office if you are confused. For the Rock just show up with your EP and they send you right up, you can skip the line! Both events were wonderful--the Rock had breathtaking views and the movie tour is great for both TV and film enthusiasts!

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Note this tour is in a luxury minivan rather than coach. Guide Nick (and the driver) were both great. Nick was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Was hoping that a walking tour of Wall Street was included but this wasn't the case. Great tour to see lots of NY in one day. Vouchers for Top of the Rock were sorted by Nick at end of tour enabling the queueing process to be speeded up.

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Luxury Coach

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

We had a lovely evening and our guide was very knowledgeable. The walk on the High Line was lovely. Seeing the Statue of Liberty up close at night was special. The meal was in a great atmosphere restaurant but the portion sizes were on the small side for the men in the group. Luckily there was time after dinner to visit a great bakery next door where deserts were purchased to fill the holes. Enjoyed the view from the top of the Rock.

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

First time on Top of the Rock - well worth doing, better than the Empire State Building in my opinion.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Everything was fine, no problems getting on Top of the Rock and the price I paid was unbeatable! Great!

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

What an experience. The views for top of the rock were AMAZING, breath taken and we had such a beautiful day for photos. This was one of my favourite!

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great trip up to the top of the Rockefeller Plaza. Highly recommended. Very efficient and pleasant staff. Only small complaint would be lack of pricing in the gift shop at the top. A lot of people were waiting to go up but it was well organised without any problems. Great views at the top with plenty of space on three floors.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My family and I really enjoyed this tour. The Statue of Liberty was beautiful at night, and the food at the restaurant in Little Italy was delicious. We liked the Top of the Rock too.

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

After living in New York for most of my life, this was this first time up to the Top of the Rock. I have to say, I was completely blown away.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message