Top of the Rock provides breathtaking views of New York City from the top of 30 Rockefeller Plaza in Midtown Manhattan. Formerly the RCA Building (and now the GE Building), the famous Art Deco building is at the heart of Rockefeller Center.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 284 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great way to see the highlights on a first trip. We started at Top of the Rock ticket area (after we'd checked into our hotel mid-afternoon), where we were guided to the correct window and exchanged the voucher for booklets. Best to go to Empire State and Statue of Liberty a little before earliest opening to avoid long queues. Otherwise, any time seemed to work well for the other places as CityPass helped avoid the ticket queues everywhere but be prepared for queues for security checks.

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My college friend and I LOVED our visit to the Top of the Rock to watch the sunset. We never felt rushed to leave and enjoyed the breathtaking views of Manhattan and the neighboring boroughs. The lines moved quickly and organized well by the building docents. The gift shop was a nice touch. We would recommend going between 8 and 9 pm because the lines were very long when we were leaving at 10 pm. The visitors were respectful of others when trying to take photos near the windows and made room for everyone to take their turn. I enjoyed taking photos of other families so everyone could be included.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We went this June for the first time in NY and Top of the Rock was on our list.
We've bought the tickets online and it didn't took us much to go up.

The view was amazing as we have chosen to see the city on the day light.
What we liked the most was the fact that there are glasses so it is easier to see everything and you can even go a little higher an there is no window so the pictures are wonderful.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were only in NYC for 12 hours between flights so were tight for time. Because we had booked our tickets in advance, we were able to skip the long queue which was great. The views from the Top of the Rock are spectacular, especially the view of the Empire State Building. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

For a senior couple, quite unfamiliar with Manhattan, the 8-hr tour is ideal. The guide Serge, along with driver Reggie, performed professionally with a great sense of humor. We enjoyed their approach. The breaks and the luncheon were well selected and well timed. The flexibility allowed for using the Top of the Rock ticket fit our plans well (we used it the clear night before the tour).

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Luxury Coach

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Interesting tour. Good to see NY at night. The harbour cruise unfortunately was the same one we had done the day before so had heard all the commentary before. The meal was good with a good choice and although we had less than an hour in restaurant, we never felt rushed.The tour leaves you at Top of the Rock, very close to closing, so time at top was a bit rushed. Well worth seeing however.

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This tour was more than we ever expected, we initially thought we were just going to be shown around the main building, instead we were taken on a guide around various buildings and told several interesting facts about the Rockefeller empire and wealth of the family, on top of the rock gave again absolutely amazing views of NY by night.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Perfect introduction to an amazing city.
Booked the 8.5 hour tour for our first full day in NYC. So glad we did. We got to see everything and more. And helped us work out where everything was for the remainder of our stay. Serge/io and Reggie were fantastic hosts with superior knowledge and shared in a very interesting way.
Would totally recommend it. The 8 hour tour includes a trip up to the top of the Rockefeller, which as we had evening plans, we couldn't do and we were able to use the tickets the next day (available to use up to 2 weeks after tour).
A great way to see an absolutely amazing place.

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Luxury Coach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Would definitely do this tour again. Tour guide pointed out so many different sites as we traveled by bus and by foot. The New York skyline is beautiful at dusk. Only disappointment was that we were unable to do the Top of the Rock that evening as all timeslots for the evening was filled and we were flying out the next morning.

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Amazing view of New York. Had breakfast at Rock City Cafe and then went right on to our tour. No waiting, no lines, interesting film. Sorry I have waited so long to visit Top of the Rock. Best view of NYC!!

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

A must for all. I love going to the top of the rock instead of the Empire, because you have such great pictures of the Empire along with the rest of Manhattan. We had to wait until the last day to do this due to weather. I recommend going here first (if weather permits). It give you such a great idea of how large the island really is, besides how beautiful it is to be up so high. The views are increadible.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Overall great tour, tour guide Serge and driver Reggie were great! Top of the Rock was last but we couldn't go up because it was full so although we could use the pass another day but if that was what you had planned or were leaving NY you missed out.

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Luxury Coach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Amazing View! I went around 7 pm during March Break. There was a lineup at the lobby but I didn't wait long (about 15 min) to get to the top.
What a breathtaking view of the sunset and night time of the city! The view of the north side was not as good as the other sides. I couldn't see the Central Park because it was too dark. You have to go in the morning order to see the amazing Central Park.
I just wished it was warmer the night I went so I could stay longer at the Deck. Overall, I had a great experience and I would highly recommend Top of the Rock Observation Deck.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The Top of the Rock Observation deck was amazing!! I would advise everyone to do this! We did our tour at sundown, couldn't of asked for it to be any better!

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

It was a great idea to get a CityPass! I enjoyed having all the top destinations selected for me. I wouldn't have gone to the "top of the rock" if it hadn't been in the booklet and it turned out to be very cool. Since I was travelling alone with my 3 children, I wouldn't have gone to the museums if the passes hadn't been included in the booklet. And those were quite memorable even though we only went in very quickly. I liked having the tickets to use at my leisure and not be locked down to a specific time. The only things I did outside of the booklet was Central Park Zoo and the Ground Zero Memorial. Oh, another thing that I liked was that the tickets were interchangeable. This flexibility was nice since I was able to invite various family members to use my 1 extra ticket, since my husband did not arrive until the last day when we did the Statue and Ellis Island.

Doing what: New York CityPass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message