Top of the Rock provides breathtaking views of New York City from the top of 30 Rockefeller Plaza in Midtown Manhattan. Formerly the RCA Building (and now the GE Building), the famous Art Deco building is at the heart of Rockefeller Center.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 402 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

gap64

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Definitely worth doing this if visiting New York. We went to the top of the Rock early evening and New York in the dark was amazing. No doubt equally wonderful during the day. If you turn up early you can book the time you want to go up. The lift to the top is quick and the Observation Decks offer great views of the whole of New York. Safe for all the family. Despite not liking heights the Observation Decks allow cowards to sit inside ... the brave could wander around outside and take great photos. Would recommend.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Steven L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fab views from Top of the rock !!! X

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Stephthisway United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was very easy to use the Viator voucher to get our tickets for the Top of the Rock. Once you exchange the voucher, you then receive your timed pass and can enter the building. Do not show up more than 5 minutes early - you will not be permitted into the tour space. After a quick security check, you then go up the elevator to the observation decks. Definitely get the map so you can identify all of the buildings. Great views of the city and at night, it is spectacular. Three different viewing levels, all offering a great outlook. Our group had a small child and a senior citizen and they both had a great time.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Mark N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We followed the historical sites mentioned in the book The Harbinger first St. Paul's Chapel at ground zero, George Washington's church where the first members of Congress dedicated America to God of the Bible, the sycamore tree, the memorial and the finale was going to the Top of the Rock which puts many things in context. Beautiful views of all the buildings man has made and the creation of a beautiful city. The amazing thing was how it could all be gone in a moment and made us reflect on what is really important in our lives. Some things we take with us when we leave earth and others we can never take with us. Very sobering in the context of God's creation, purpose and significance for each life. Also our starting point in history living in a country that has been blessed and where we are today as a country who has turned away from God.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Nina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Depending on which attractions you're wanting to see will depend on the value of this. We used ours at Top of the Rock and Empire State and one other location. Easy to use and pick up. You can collect it at any of the attractions. It's good value if you don't want to pay to see the sites/attractions individually.

Doing what: New York CityPass

Rachael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great way to see the city, I would definitely recommend this to anyone travelling to NYC, the night tour is great, the use of the ferry is great, and we chose to go up to the Top of The Rock, we did it at night so you saw the city all lit up, which included the Empire State Building. A must buy, but if you are going to the Statue of Liberty, make sure you pre-book that too, you can not buy tickets when you get there.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

Jojo T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

With coupon from Viator, visiting Top of The Rock was a breeze. I recommend going up the Rock at sunset to see the spectacular view. Wait til the city dazzles as it becommes all lit up! wonderful!

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Kimberly N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Even though the visibility was at 50 when we went up it is spectacular! We failed to print our vouchers from Viator and the staff at Top of the Rock could not have been more helpful. We emailed the confirmation to them and they printed them for us. We went about 4:30 just as the sun began to go down and saw the lights coming on all over the city.
Definitely do this!

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

William L USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The CityPASS is a great deal ad lets you see all the highlights of New York. We saved a lot of money by purchasing this! Everything we wanted to do was covered except the One World Observatory -which we purchased separately. The CityPASS really made seeing New York city easy. One note you should be aware of-the description says you can skip the line for all the attractions and that is NOT true. Even though we had the passes to get in, you still have to stand in line to get your actual tickets-there is NOT a separate line at most attractions for people with CityPASS. We had to stand in line for the American Museum of Natural History, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Statue of Liberty ferry and the 9/11 Memorial and Museum. These lines can be very long depending on the time of day you go. The Empire State Building Observatory and the Top of the Rock DO have separate lines for people with passes already and it was nice to do the Empire State Building once during the day and once at night with the CityPASS. All in all this was a very good deal and saved us a lot of money!

Doing what: New York CityPass

claudeyburke

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Five star value here! We thought this was the Best Buy of our trip and we didn't get time to do all we could. This package gave us such good value for money. We got to see loads more than we ever could have accomplished on foot. Take full advantage of it! The tour guides are great and very knowledgeable, the hop on and off nature of it gives you the freedom to tailor your own trip and the ferry ticket that lets you get off on both Liberty and Ellis Island is great. Getting to go up the Empire State Building or the Top of the Rock is a great bonus. For us both to do all this by paying on the day would have cost a fortune and we would never have done so much.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

Ann P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Using CityPASS was very easy. We started at the 911 Memorial. I handed the downloaded papers to the ticket seller. She handed me a City PASS booklet, with the 911 ticket torn out. And off we went. Some places even had separate shorter lines for people who already had tickets or PASS books. Everyone seemed to know what CityPASS was. And we were able to get the 5 discount when we wanted to do both the Guggenheim and Top of the Rock. I will use this again, probably in another city.

Doing what: New York CityPass

Norm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Top of the Rock - Top event of the Holiday

This booking was so simple to redeem and book, we headed on the tour at 4 and was on the deck at 5.15 to watch the sun go down and the city light up, couldn't recommend it highly enough and better than the Empire state as from the top of the rock you can see the Empire state, WTC, and Statue of liberty all in one pic.
Highly recommended!

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Diane Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour was great, and the guide made it special. We were never rushed, had a wonderful lunch in Little Italy, Grants tomb, Top of the Rock, 911, the ferry ride was awesome with the NYC skyline. Everything was the best!!!!

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Luxury Coach

Patrick D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Great tour. Top of the Rock was only disappointment.

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Luxury Coach

Clare M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a great night out with a good mix of things to see and do. Our tour guide, Jorge, was funny and informative.The mini bus was brand new with comfy leather seats. Walking along the Hi Line was lovely. The views whilst on the boat trip were fantastic and also from the Top of the Rock at the end of the evening. The Italian meal wasnt bad. I would definitely recommend this trip.

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

Galiena R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I absolutely loved it. I was up there for 2 hours on all 3 observation decks. I had a beautiful day to be able to take pictures which is a hobby of mine. So I took plenty of pictures from every view possible. As well as had the time and opportunity to take in the view of the amazing city. And on top of all that I was at the right place at the right time to be able to witness a couple get married on Top of the Rock Observation deck. So that was a pleasant surprise. Soothing you for allowing me this opportunity.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Alison B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The view from The Top of the Rock was amazing, we went at night so the city looked dazzling. Don't turn up early and expect to queue as they send you away again until your tour time then it's a free for all to get in. A bit of hassle finding the place as no signs and even with your voucher they send you off to another shop to get tickets then back to where you started to queue up. Once at the top though the sights are worth the hassle.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Richard W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The highlight of our trip! The guide was informative. She helped get us first in line for the cruise - to see the Statue of Liberty at Sunset - spectacular! The beauty of the Manhattan/Jersey shoreline at night - can't be beat. Everything I wanted to see - dinner in Little Italy, top of the Rock. Highly recommended

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

Diane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

First time to the Top of the Rock and loved it. Getting to the top was quick and fun look up, the lines moved quickly and I would visit again.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Fiona M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Just unmissable. We visited the Empire State by day as part of the VIP tour and Top of the Rock by night. Breathtaking views and knowing that we were guaranteed entry with no queues was a great bonus.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Jacqueline A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved the views! We went in the morning to reserve a time and chose 6:30 so that we could watch the sunset. When we arrived we were able to go up right away. We found it very organized. We would highly recommend going to the Top of the Rock!

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

Michelle B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We had a great visit to New York and used our pass to visit Top of the Rock, Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 memorial. All the sights were amazing and worth a visit. The memorial is beautiful and moving to see. We went up the Empire State at night and the views are wonderful. Would recommend buying the pass before travelling as saves time when you get there. We ran out of time or would have visited the museum of natural history. Love, love, love NYC.

Doing what: New York CityPass

Angela J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This pass was a great find and saved loads of money and time. There were 5 of us and we would have spent a fortune and waited hours if it hadn't been for these passes. We picked the booklet up on our first day at the Top of the Rock. We did the Empire State during the day and second visit free in the evening...was amazing although some staff are grumpy and quite rude. We did the 2.5hr boat trip the first day which was really good, we did up grade and paid an extra 5 more but the tour guide told us lots of tips about New York ie tipping, places to go etc and was extremely informative on the tour pointing out every building, landmark etc. The Tope of the Rock is also a great experience. We did a helicopter ride, which we booked separately which was amazing, then used the passes for the 9/11 tour. An amazing and emotional experience. We spent a lot of time looking round and the grounds around are a real tribute to those whose lost their lives here. We visited the Natural History Museum and could have done with more time...you could spend all day in here. We didn't wait in any queue longer than about 20 minutes, well run, present the voucher which they tear out and your in. We visited Woodbury Common outlet ....a must for shoppers and we saved sooooo much money in comparison to what we spent. You need to book this or get tickets there around 40 for a return coach from Port Authority but well worth it, take a suitcase and go for the whole day!

Doing what: New York CityPass

Tracy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Good way to get around NYC. Love the night tour. We had 72 hours of hop-on hop-off which was great. Buying the ferry ticket and the ticket to the top of the rock was also useful. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

Steve

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Thanks to Red Debra we had a wonderful day trip around the city, this was our last full day so some of the itinerary we had already visited but to have someone with her knowledge gave us a new meaning to some of the sights. We went on the 8hour trip so lunch, walking, boat trip and Top of the Rock were all included as well as loads more. I would recommend this tour

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Luxury Coach

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message