Top of the Rock provides breathtaking views of New York City from the top of 30 Rockefeller Plaza in Midtown Manhattan. Formerly the RCA Building (and now the GE Building), the famous Art Deco building is at the heart of Rockefeller Center.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 390 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The highlight of our trip! The guide was informative. She helped get us first in line for the cruise - to see the Statue of Liberty at Sunset - spectacular! The beauty of the Manhattan/Jersey shoreline at night - can't be beat. Everything I wanted to see - dinner in Little Italy, top of the Rock. Highly recommended

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We had a great visit to New York and used our pass to visit Top of the Rock, Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 memorial. All the sights were amazing and worth a visit. The memorial is beautiful and moving to see. We went up the Empire State at night and the views are wonderful. Would recommend buying the pass before travelling as saves time when you get there. We ran out of time or would have visited the museum of natural history. Love, love, love NYC.

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This pass was a great find and saved loads of money and time. There were 5 of us and we would have spent a fortune and waited hours if it hadn't been for these passes. We picked the booklet up on our first day at the Top of the Rock. We did the Empire State during the day and second visit free in the evening...was amazing although some staff are grumpy and quite rude. We did the 2.5hr boat trip the first day which was really good, we did up grade and paid an extra 5 more but the tour guide told us lots of tips about New York ie tipping, places to go etc and was extremely informative on the tour pointing out every building, landmark etc. The Tope of the Rock is also a great experience. We did a helicopter ride, which we booked separately which was amazing, then used the passes for the 9/11 tour. An amazing and emotional experience. We spent a lot of time looking round and the grounds around are a real tribute to those whose lost their lives here. We visited the Natural History Museum and could have done with more time...you could spend all day in here. We didn't wait in any queue longer than about 20 minutes, well run, present the voucher which they tear out and your in. We visited Woodbury Common outlet ....a must for shoppers and we saved sooooo much money in comparison to what we spent. You need to book this or get tickets there around 40 for a return coach from Port Authority but well worth it, take a suitcase and go for the whole day!

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Good way to get around NYC. Love the night tour. We had 72 hours of hop-on hop-off which was great. Buying the ferry ticket and the ticket to the top of the rock was also useful. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Thanks to Red Debra we had a wonderful day trip around the city, this was our last full day so some of the itinerary we had already visited but to have someone with her knowledge gave us a new meaning to some of the sights. We went on the 8hour trip so lunch, walking, boat trip and Top of the Rock were all included as well as loads more. I would recommend this tour

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Luxury Coach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We decided to take the last tour of the day, as we wanted to go up to the top of the rock as evening was falling, so we could see Manhattan lit up in the dusk.
Our tour guide was friendly, funny and very informative about the history of the Rockefeller buildings and the art on and in them. We have been on this tour before, and enjoyed it so much in a previous visit to NYC, we decided to do it again!
The bonus about the tour is that your guide will get you straight up to the top of the rock, bypassing the queues.
The observation deck of the rock was extremely busy, but we got to see Central Park before is was too dark. It was great to see the Empire State building lit up in red, white and blue.
I recommend this tour to anyone interested in the history of the Rockefeller centre.
10 out of 10!

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

A really interesting trip and the guide Brooks was very knowledgeable. It's amazing what you walk past if somebody doesn't point it out. We also went to the Top of the Rock that gives great views over Central Park.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We were very happy with the explorer pass. We had the pass for 3 Attractions MoMa, Hop On Hop Off Downtown and Top of the Rock. The pick up was easy and the best thing was the fast entry - especially in the Moma we could avoid huge lines in front of the ticket desk!
It was not really much cheaper than buying tickets directly in NY. We paid EUR 70 for the Explorer Pass. Top of the Rock and Moma is ca. 25.00 EUR - and Bus depends on the vendor...

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The view from the Top of the Rock left me and my friends breathless. The uppermost deck without the glass walls is definitely the best part even for someone like me who has acrophobia. I just cant miss that experience. Would want to try this again. Having prepaid the tour saved us precious time.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was a wonderful way to cap off a terrific weekend in New York. Highlights included a relaxing stroll through the High Line, a fantastic harbour cruise to see the Statue of Liberty, a delicious dinner in Little Italy and stunning views from the Top of the Rock. Bonnie was a super tour guide, and really knew her stuff. Thank you for an unforgettable experience!

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Would highly recommend. Liberty and Top of the Rock amazing. Would have preferred to pay a little extra and had a 2 or 3 course meal. There was the option to pay for a dessert but was so busy would not have been time. Overall a great end to a holiday.

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

Kay
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The views from the Top of the Rock are fantastic. We also did the tour of the Rockerfeller Centre which was well worth it. If the weather conditions are not favourable you can change the day/time. A must do activity!

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A great intro to the Big Apple! A smaller group size (13) was personalised and guide Ray with his witty humour provided much history and knowledge. Took the full day option which included hot lunch in Little Italy and Top of the Rock - would definitely suggest this tour as a start to NY !!

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Luxury Coach

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A great way to save money and jump some queues. I would have given 5 stars but some of the places listed are either / or choices which is not made clear on the web page. However, we more than saved the price of our pass by visiting 4 events. Definitely recommend the Top of the Rock experience.

Doing what: New York CityPass

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was a great overview of the city! Our guide was knowledgeable and tailored the tour to include site requests from the group. Our only issue was with the top of the rock tour. It was a rainy day so we opted out of going, thus wasting a big part of the ticket price. Our advice...do the 6 hr.

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Luxury Coach

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Did not have enough time to use all of the tickets, but during the busy tourist time, not standing in line for tickets was wonderful. The pass provided us the basic New York things to do and because it was already purchased, we made an extra effort to see as much as possible. The 9/11 Museum was wonderful and the Top of the Rock was very impressive.

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very convenient way to pre-book all your sightseeing in New York: the accompanying book gives you guidance on how to reclaim your ticket, as sometimes you don't go through the general admissions lines you use the group booking desks.

I saw the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Top of the Rock Rockefeller Center tour, the Guggenheim museum and the Ripley's Believe it or not museum.

Recommended if you don't want the hassle of waiting in lines, or want a bit of guidance on where to see things in NY!

Doing what: New York City Explorer Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We highly recommend this tour, it was fantastic with very good guides who knew New York very well. We did the top of the rock, top tip, collect your ticket and book a slot at busy periods. We also did the night tour, the harbour cruise and the ellis island statue of liberty tour, all very very good. top tip for statue of liberty, if you want to go up the statue you must prebook, and we were told you need to prebook a few weeks in advance. We used the hop on hop off bus to get around also. Very good value, good guides, and a great way to see new York in 72 hours.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Wonderfull vieuw from the top of the rocks.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing views from the top of the rock! Arguably the best in the city! Highly recommend the tour of the Rockefeller aswell!

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

go early to book your slot, we went in first thing in the morning and could only get a 9pm slot. this actually suited us as we got to see New York by day from the Empire State building and by night from the Top of the Rock. Definitely worth a visit!!

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had an excellent tour, although it was cold and raining. The tour was The ending Top of the Rock Tour could have been more organized, but other than that we had an amazing experience.

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely brilliant, do not go to New York without ice skating, it was a lovely crisp November morning and not very busy, you have the use of a cabin which includes drinks and biscuits. Then after the skating you get a ticket to the Top of the Rocks, the views are amazing it was a lovely clear day. Once again I would highly recommend Viator for any trips you may like to do.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Rockefeller Center Ice Skating Experience and Top of the Rock Observation Deck

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great views! Wonderful to see the Empire State Building from that vantage point! Staff at Top of the Rock couldn't have been nicer or more helpful! Very professional staff! Viator was extremely accommodating allowing us to change our booking date due to our friend's flight delays. Thank you for that!

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Went on this tour with my husband for Valentines day. The guide Rafaella really enhanced the whole experience, she was very knowledgable about the city and extremely entertaining with her humour, which kept us going when the ferry wasnt on time and we had to stand in the freezing cold for 45 minutes!

Nice walk through Chelsea Market and up onto the High Line. we didnt spend much time up there, but enough to get photos, plus it really was too slippy to walk far.

The ferry tour was pretty much as expected, nice view of the Statue of Liberty and the Manhattan skyline.
The meal in Little Italy was lovely, but very little time was spent there, however you did have the opportunity to leave the tour and stay there as the Top of the Rock tickets can be used within a couple of days if you didnt wish to do it that night.

As everything had run late because of the Ferry not the guides fault but the ferry companys We skipped the Top of the Rock and were deposited round the corner from our hotel which was very welcome on such a cold night.

Overall, you get to see a lot and do a lot in short bursts and for the cost its excellent value for money and gives you a great chance to see NY at night.

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message