Top of the Rock provides breathtaking views of New York City from the top of 30 Rockefeller Plaza in Midtown Manhattan. Formerly the RCA Building (and now the GE Building), the famous Art Deco building is at the heart of Rockefeller Center.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 326 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a wonderfull day at New York and Top of the Rock is for sure one of the higlights.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Unforgettable experience. I went to the tour with my brother and his wife. We all remember it very fondly. The guide was very intelligent, he told us many interesting stories and the driver was very helpful. We went to visit Chelsea Market and I bought the best hand-made glasses there. The cruise was interesting, we heard many great stories about New York, but unfortunately it was raining and it was cold, so we didn't go out to take a picture with the Statue of Liberty. The fish in Grotta Azzura was excellent. Also there was a Festival in Little Italy that day, so it was a very interesting visit to that area. We decided not to go to the Top of the Rock that day because it was foggy (but we received tickets from the organizer to be able to see it later).

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide Steve was great and entertaining! It was a great night on the town! I loved the walk on the highline area. It was a beautiful walk with great views of the city and Hudson River and various bridges. The cruise on the river was great and the narrator of the tour was great and entertaining too! The views on top of the Rock was beautiful. Dinner was intimate, although the food was just ok. Highly recommend guided tours if you have never been to the city. This was our first trip and we had little time to explore the city so a guided tour is a must.

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

Paul L
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a great tour. Considering my time in NYC was short, I was able to make the most of it by taking the bus tour. I also recommended it to a family friend who took the same tour this past Monday.
Manhattan, Little Italy + lunch, Columbia, 9-11 site, Top of the Rock, and the boat tour. I forgot a few things but it was excellent. Highly recommended.

Doing what: New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Luxury Coach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We went up, even though we were advised that visibility was zero and couldn't see anything due to low cloud. However we were fortunate enough to have time on December 4th and thought the views were terrific. We thought the Top of the Rocks staff were very fair, as they did offer us the opportunity to use our tickets another day. Well done!

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour is a must for a truly unique New York Experience. The views at the Top of the Rock are just breathtaking. There is an enclosed observation deck with loads of space to move around and the 360 degree view lets you take in the entire city. We went at night and you could make out all the landmarks, even Lady Liberty in the harbor. One more short escalator ride up brought you to the rooftop where you could view the skyline out in the open without the glass panels surrounding you. Great photo op. Atruly memorable experience

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

LOVED IT! ice skating was fun staff where lovley and top of the rock was amazing!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Rockefeller Center Ice Skating Experience and Top of the Rock Observation Deck

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was my second trip to the Top of the Rock and I would recommend it to anyone who loves to photograph things from a great height. I love New York and in particular Central Park so I was able to get lots of close-ups of the parts of CP I was interested in. Don't worry about the getting in line. Get there early and go up. It's fabulous.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great visit. While a bit pricey, the views of the entire City are phenomenal and not to be missed. Loved being able to see ALL of Central Park, the Empire State Building, and the Statue of Liberty, as well as the rest of the City from all four corners of Top of the Rock. Definitely worth the time and money to visit. Everyone should see these views at least once.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I love Top of The Rock! Much better than Empire State Building. You have a view of Central Park and The Empire State Building.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

loved top of the rock .. very well organised great views

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very fun skating experience. Cool to be right there in front of the Rock Center christmas tree. Access was easy and quick. No wait. Service was nice. Afterwards, got directly in line and right to top on Rock Center. Overall, very fast and nice way to see the Rockefeller building and Top of the Rock and a twist with the ice skating added in.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Rockefeller Center Ice Skating Experience and Top of the Rock Observation Deck

Jess G
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I spend 15 days as a lone tourist and managed to use the City Pass efficiently. If you are not in a rush and spending at least 9 days in NYC, this is worth it to buy. Although some museums included in this has a "pay what you wish" option, buying this pass will let you avoid the awkwardness of "being cheap" situations when paying to get in and you also avoid big crowds in pay-what-you-wish days. Do spend one full day for the big museums. And plan well, especially if you're taking other tours that might already include the other attractions here. I used my City Pass for the Circle Line (instead of the Statue of Liberty, because I already booked another tour with it included) and I upgraded to full island cruise for an additional $5. I used it for the Empire State Building and had it upgraded to access the 102nd floor observatory for $20 (a bit much for an upgrade but you'll forget the cost when you get to the top). I used it for the Metropolitan Museum of Art but ran out of a day to use it for The Cloisters (because it was too far uptown, I decided to skip it and just walk around and let serendipity do its thing). I also used it for The Guggenheim instead of Top of the Rock (which was included in another tour I booked). Guggenheim is very do-able in one hour if you're not an art aficionado/scholar wanting to take your sweet time viewing and immersing yourself in each of the exhibits). I just chose to linger to appreciate pieces that was interesting to me, the others, I just did an "overview". I also used it for MoMA. Do not miss MoMA, spend at least 3 hours here. My favourite pieces are the Van Gogh paintings. The American Museum of Natural History, was I think, the most value for money, because one show is already included in the City Pass (either the space show or imax film), as opposed to paying additional bucks for it. If I ever get the chance to go back, I will definitely buy City Pass again, and explore other areas of the museum I didn't get to see.

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

the View from the top of the rock was breath taking
a must for everyone

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

My husband and I lived in the Bronx but moved to Eastern Connecticut 40 years ago. We spent a few days in the city last week and were amazed at how much it has changed. Since we had limited time,we decided to take the tour!. As Damian drove the little bus through the city traffic with skill Ronnie filled us in on interesting history about the neighborhoods . We went through Chelsea Market and were amazed at the wonderful shops located there. Then a ride past the new World Trade Center and on to South St. where we boarded a boat out into the harbor. The ride was great and Amy(I think that was her name) pointed out all the sites with commentary and humor. It was a clear night and the boat trip was beautiful! Then we rode through the city to Little Italy for dinner. Little Italy is almost gone now. The meal was alright. We were then dropped off at Rockafeller Center and given tickets to the top of the Rock.It was about 10:30pm and there were still hundreds of people there! It was well orginized and we moved along steadily to the observation tower. The views were awesome! It was a great tour!

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message