A welcome patch of green in Downtown Manhattan, Union Square is one of New Yorkers’ favorite city squares. It’s the place for public gatherings, yoga and exercise classes, and for people from all walks of life to take a break and catch some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 279 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dezzy United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Arrived at JFK, used the phone to dial the number given, 5mins later, car arrived ready to take us to our hotel in Times Square. Guy was polite, and even pointed some things out on way back. Perfect

Doing what: Private Economy Arrival Transfer: New York Airports to Manhattan Hotels

fall987

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

if u have never been to nyc this tour gives u a great taste of the many sites to see here. i liked the idea of the smaller bus, maybe 25-30 people instead of the usual 50 on bigger tours. the driver was able to scoot in and out of traffic easier. the seats were clean and roomy as well as the windows being clean to look out of and take pictures as u drove by certain sites on the tour. gil our tour guide was great very professional and knowledgeable concerning nyc history and sites. we stopped at rockefeller center to tour around. a quick tour of the world trade center area although not in the museum itelf. a ferry ride in the harbor with a pretty close look at the statue of liberty and wonderful views of the nyc skyline we stoped at central park to see the john lennon memorial. we took a break at the fulton market where there was an extensive buffet of hot and cold foods, freshly made sammies and seating. we drove through to see all the major areas of the city including. wall street, times square, central park, lower manhattan, empire state building, etc. from this tour we were able to decide what areas we would like to focus on in a future trip, but like i said it gave a nice overview if u only had one day or were not up to extensive walking required by many tours.

Doing what: New York in One Day Guided Sightseeing Tour

Don

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Absolutely loved this tour. Given that we were only in NY for a few days, it was the best choice of many tours on offer. It gave us a glimpse of the many wonderful places and sights that NY has available. From that we were able to choose the places we'd like to go back to for a better look on our remaining days Empire State Bld, Times Square etc. We would recommend this tour and our especially guide Jay to an out-of-towners. It was awesome.

Doing what: New York in One Day Guided Sightseeing Tour

keith a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We were met at the arrivals gate and taken to the car for transportation to Times Square. Very straight forward and good.

Doing what: New York City Airport Private Arrival Transfer

Roy A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our walking photo tour of New York. Kennedy, our guide and photographer was superb. As soon as we met, he made us feel very welcome with his calm friendly manner. Immediately he started taking a few shots as we made our way to Times Square. We practically had the Square to ourselves as it was quite early. We were lucky with the weather as it was dry and quite bright. Kennedy was very knowledgeable and told us things and stories that we wouldn't have known ordinarily about various places we were seeing. We took the two hour tour. The time flew by as we visited Times Square, Central Park, the Metro and Brooklyn Bridge. Also it was my birthday, so it made the day even more special. We enjoyed every moment and when Kennedy left us he gave us clear advice on how and where to get back to the area of our hotel, plus other areas which are not so widely known for us to get good photos. Kennedy real made the day special and was a real highlight of our trip to New York. We received over 140 photos which can be obtained quite easily, all of which we were very happy with. Thanks you Kennedy from Roy and Debbie.

Doing what: Private New York Walking Tour with a Personal Photographer

Sheila

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our Flight was late, changed and swapped. The Car company was understanding, easy to contact and tracked our flight status. We had to change flights at the end and it took us to a different baggage area and the driver came down to where we were without us having to ask or call. We were taken from JFK to our Hotel in Times Square during rush hour traffic and it only took him 45 minuts! I felt safe and comfortable and extremely impressed. I highly recommend! Based on my trip back to JFK during non rush hour traffic I wish we would have used this service again. Next time it will be automatic to contact Viatar and this service!

Doing what: New York City Airport Private Arrival Transfer

Maria R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Soooo happy I did this it was the best decision I made regarding tours. The bus takes you to all the points of interest you can possibly think of and there's always one coming. I didn't have any issues waiting for one, and the guides were very friendly and knowledgeable. As far as buses, this is the one to go with. The only other buses I saw were from City Sightseeing, but the Big Bus I think outnumbered them. Don't think twice about it, you will not regret it. You basically redeem your voucher at the Time's Square stop, they print out a receipt that shows what you paid for, and how many days it's valid, and you just show them that receipt before hoping on whenever you want to catch the bus to the next stop. Very easy, don't forget to grab a map and headphones to plug and hear all the commentary regarding the city.

Doing what: Big Bus New York Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Betty Heinz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Scott was our driver and guide on this Washington DC Day Trip from NYC. Pickup time was early at 5 a.m. from our hotel at Times Square. He was there ahead of time, all smiles and welcoming. The tour was well organised and Scott was a very good guide. He gave us sufficient time to stop and see things and did not rush us. On the way back to New York, we were caught in traffic but Scott was very patient. Dspite running late, he still drove us to Phillips Seafood in Maryland for dinner. There was a bit of extra road to travel but he didn't mind, just because we indicated in the morning that he wanted seafood for dinner. We appreciated his professionalism and good company. WE totally enjoyed the tour. Without Scott, we would not have been to see so much of DC in one day. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Catharine T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We were meted and greeted at the airport which was just what we wanted after a long plane journey. We were then taken to our driver who was very pleasant and chatty and took us to our hotel on Times Square. He was very informative on the journey,pointing out various places and made our initial first view of New York very pleasant and exciting. Very good firm to use,would recommend them highly

Doing what: New York City Airport Private Arrival Transfer

Kevin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We meet the NYC 'vip by-pass Allll the lines' water taxi tour guide at 7:30 a.m. at the Empire State building...the guide, JIM, was a graduate of the Woody Allen/Larry David school of Comedy and was both sincerely informative , obviously in love with New York and most a witty fellow grown in the Bronx...Uppp to the top of the empire state bldg where we walked 360 degrees around for half an hour with Jim pointing out sights ... and then to ddown to an open double decker bus for a ride to times square and points of interest , with excellent dialogue from Guide JIM, to the Intrepid Carrier Museum, down into a Submarine , up onto the Carrier and though out command stations, the hanger decks and quarters ... and around the Space shuttle Enterprise Museum.....and meet the Water Taxi for a ride down the Hudson at about 11 a.m.....
Phew
Tour guides were grrrreat and in love with New York as we went down the Hudson , where the water taxis helped rescue the folks on that plane flight that landed safely in the river .... to Battery park ...where the guide continued enlightening us as to the history of the area ... as we walked past the MIB Headquarters, the Financial district Bull , and onto National September 11 Memorial and Museum /World Trade Center... were we rebuild in strength and in honor ... paying our respects we walked through the museum. Our Guide , JIm , told us even though it was 1:20 oclock that we could still get into the museum with a 2 o'clock ticket and we DID!!!
So now its after 2 pm and we are without a walking Tour Guide as planned and with great directions back to the water taxi... we grab a NYC Hot dog and back to the water taxi with our all day pass ... ride under the Brooklyn bridge , short tour up the coast with the water guide chatting most of the time and out to ride around and park at the Statue of Liberty and Views of Manhattan , back up the Hudson , disembark and a quick cab ride back to the hotel by 4:15 .....
Thanks Jim NYCWT

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Mrs b h o'farre O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Six of us took the guided sightseeing tour last Saturday with Tyler as our guide and lloyd as our driver. They were fab. Tyler was so knowledgeable and proud of the city she called home. We saw so much on our trip and as first timers to NYC it was a fab snapshot of the city. From Times Square, to Wall Street from world trade centre to Empire State Building and Central Park. The ferry trip to see the Statue of Liberty was great keep wrapped up though pretty chilly out there. Look out for the charming Charles on the ferry who will encourage you to view the statue from the front of the ferry when you get closer to the island. Lloyd managed to navigate his way Around the v busy streets of New York with ease and always seemed to be at the right place at the right time to pick us up and drop us off! There was about 30 of us tourists in the mini bus and Tyler made us all feel v welcome and because there was only 30 of us we were able to hear all she was telling us and kept us moving along . The tour was just under 6 hours and was the very best way to get an idea of the size scale and key sight seeing landmarks of the city. Was very good value for money. Would Highly recommend this trip to anyone visiting NYC for the first time.

Doing what: New York in One Day Guided Sightseeing Tour

Cyndi R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The most important thing is what a deal this pass was I always look for great deals before going to NYC and this surpassed them all. Easily redeemed vouchers both at the bus line agent location and the attractions...I did three meals note that some restaurants include tip when you use and you may double tip if you don't realize The bus tour is always great while in NYC. Madame Trussaud's ALWAY'S MY FAMILY'S MUST DO and the new SNL experiences THIS WAS SUCH A STROLL DOWN MEMORY LANE! Buca di Beppo is a great reasonable meal option right in time square DID THIS TWICE FOR THE CONVIENCE and next door is Planet Hollywood was okay a little overpriced. Both had no waiting if you go around 2-4 pm.

Doing what: New York City 3-Day Hop-On Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

Cyp C Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We joined this one-day Washington DC trip as we had only got six days in NYC but would still like to visit the US Capital, partly to add something educational for the kids in this summer trip and partly to achieve the goal in our travel book. Time control and tour plan of this trip is excellent. We started at 7am, boarding the bus near Times Square. As our hotel was nearby and there's a long coach trip to rest, an early start of the day is just fine. The staff were very helpful to lead us to the coach. The tour guide lady is a very professional and knowledgeable one, telling us the right amount of history and politics in the US whilst giving us a pleasant introduction of the places along the trip. There were reasonably enough photo time after a brief yet comprehensive introduction of the memorials and places at each of the stops. Casual meals were taken along the trip, but that's not a key part of this short day trip. We made seven stops at the Capital finally and departed DC at around 4:30pm. Arrived at NYC nearly 9pm, a little bit later than expected due to a car accident and traffic jam along the highway. This one-day trip is highly recommended if you can't afford much time to visit the DC. Certainly it would be better if there are 2 to 3 days to spend in the Capital, but well, somehow we've got the maximum fun within our constraints. My family enjoyed this trip very much. Special thanks to the professional tour guide lady too!!

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Aletheia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I am actually ashamed that I am now only putting a review on this tour. It's been a month since our New York Trip and I still can't stop thinking about it.

Me, my fiance and my best friend only had three days in NY. So we tried to do as much as we can. And this tour helped out a lot. You get to see the major things you need to see in NY. In this tour, you have to be bright and early. Everyone meets in front of Empire State Building before it opens. So around 7:3ish. When we went, it was a little foggy so we had a very limited view but it wasn't as bad. But you get to stay up there for about 30 minutes or so, so the sunrise will make the view better. And it was amazing up there. After that, everyone will meet downstairs, and go to the bus stop. You get to ride big bus. And the tour guide will let you know a little about history and about the city and this is on the way to the intrepid museum. Which I thought I would not enjoy, but this one was fun as well. My fiance had a blast. And after this one, there will be a little walking to ride the water taxi, to go to Bryant Park and see the World Trade Center and the 9/11 memorial. Feels. You also get to see and walk through Wall Street and see the bull. The tour kind of ends there but you pretty much get the whole day to ride the water taxi so what we did is we walked around, went to china town and brooklyn bridge. and rode the water taxi on the way back which stops at the Statue of Liberty and head back to where you started, which is about 20 minute walk to Times Square.

This is definitely one of the best tours to purchase. Our tour guide Jim was amazing, funny and informative. And we definitely had such a great time and were able to take amazing pictures. And made a whole bunch of friends.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Razzell88

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was our favorite in NYC. We booked the two day hop on and off tour. We got off in Little Italy, ate lunch and did a little shopping in Chinatown. Caught another bus back into Times Square area without a problem. We liked the tour guide audio that came with this tour which we thought was very informative of the Manhattan area. The next night we took the night bus tour into Brooklyn and back. Great way to see this area at night and leave the driving to someone else.

Doing what: Big Bus New York Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Fae W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The Open Loop NIght Tour was a perfect ending to a busy day and the most enjoyable way to traverse Times Square I can think of. Our guide, Bryant, was knowledgeable and entertaining throughout the trip. He is an great ambassador for the city and offered pearls of wisdom for visitors!

Doing what: New York At Night Open Top Bus Tour

Lindsey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Tyler was an excellent tour guide. She is constantly smiling and has a great attitude. She knows so much and in addition to all of the tour information, she gave us great tips too that led us to an awesome lunch later on in our vacation, and a great score on tickets to Broadway from the non-Times Square ticket booth. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: New York in One Day Guided Sightseeing Tour

Jay S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tour was beyond our expectation. Our tour guide Tyler was outstanding.. Her knowledge of everything New York was very evident. The tour covered a lot of ground in 5.5 hours. Including Central Park, Times Square, 9/11 memorial, Wall Street, Rockefeller Centre, and more... The tour also included a view from the river via a 45 minute Water Taxi tour.

We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: New York in One Day Guided Sightseeing Tour

Sharon T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent. Although we had to wait in line for a bit to get a bus in Time Square, it was well worth it. Our tour guide, Ira, was fantastic. Lots of knowledge of downtown tour. There was upstairs and downstairs seating. Lots of traffic on a Friday afternoon, but Ira managed to fill that time with lots of facts of NYC. We really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Big Bus New York Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Teryion S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This trip from the Manhattan at Time Square to the airport was pleasant and very safe. The driver make our trip to the airport a pleasant one. He was calm, relaxed and a very safe driver. I tipped him well because of the experience I had from the airport to the hotel Thursday, 8/6. I will explain more about it in detail when rating that driver.

Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to have a safer ride from the hotel to the airport on 8/10. The driver is to be commended for a job well done. New York is a busy place and the streets are horrific. I must say, I was rather afraid of facing the driver on Monday, but he was an exceptional driver. We weren't thrown from one side to the other and didn't have to be fearful of our ride. It was an extremely safe and pleasant one. Thank you for asking for my opinion. Teryion Shelby, a happy passenger!

Doing what: Shared Departure Transfer: Hotel to New York City Airports

Julia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My family and I took this tour last Friday as we had limited time in NYC and it was the perfect choice! We met the air conditioned tour bus near to our Times Square hotel and were met with a wonderful tour guide whose knowledge of NYC was amazing and her personality kept everyone engaged throughout the tour.
We covered all the major sites across NYC Rockefeller Center, Ground Zero and 9/11 Memorial site, Empire State Building, Little Italy, Chinatown, New York Court House, Wall Street, Central Park and the Statue of Liberty accessed via a water taxi which was a personal highlight for me. The weather was very hot but we were kept cool on the bus and were given complimentary water bottles all day. There are ample opportunities to disembark and take pics of places of interest and we were given lots of choice when we stopped for lunch only 30 mins. Our tour guide Tyler was a star! She had so much knowledge of her city she was from Brooklyn and had lots of entertaining facts and stories to share while we navigated through the streets of NYC. The tour overran slightly due to traffic but dropped us back near to our hotel in Times Square. There is a fair bit of walking on this tour but suitable for all ages. I would definitely do this tour again and recommend to friends and family!

Doing what: New York in One Day Guided Sightseeing Tour

Haitao L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

At first sight this tour is quiet expensive, but I must say it was totally worth it. The Falls are, of course, breathtaking. Also the pick up, the flights with the jet and everything were very well organised. I chose the US side. We left from Times Square at 6:10 am and arrived in Niagara Falls shortly after 9 am, so we had enough time to do all the sightseeing. I enjoyed this tour and would like to recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Niagara Falls Day Trip from New York by Private Plane

Maury W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Linda was very lively and informative which made the walking tour a fantastic experience! I thoroughly enjoyed it and recommend it to anyone who wants to learn about Times Square and theater history.

Doing what: NYC Walking Tour: Broadway History and Culture

Dacz B United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

If you're travelling solo, or with a special someone, or with a friend or group of friends for that matter, this tour is worth it especially if time in New York is very limited. In the 3 hours, we covered significant places - Times Square, The Plaza Hotel, Central Park South, Grand Central Station, Brooklyn Bridge, Financial District and the One World Trade Center. We walked and took subways in between. Marc, our New Yorker guide/photographer was very helpful in giving us tips on how to go around the city in our spare time.

Doing what: Private New York Walking Tour with a Personal Photographer

Darren W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What an amazing experience, possibly the best day of my life so far. The alarm was set for 4.30, we walked up to Times Square to meet the bus for 6am. The bus was gorgeous, leather seats, air con, luxury! It took just over an hour to drive up to Farmingdale, where we were delivered to the bottom of the stairs to our private plane. I am not a very confident flyer, and these little planes are not for the faint hearted. Altogether there were 7 of us on this trip. When we left NYC, the weather was stunning and set to be 30 degrees that day. We landed in Niagra, and it was pouring down. Thankfully we made a last minute raincoat purchase in Macy's the night before. When we got off the plane, our bus was waiting for us. We dropped off 2 people at the American side, and made our way to the border - our bus driver who was amazing prepared us for a potentially long wait - I don't think we were sat at the border for more than 10 minutes. Then just the other side, we are in the falls. All in all, i reckon it took 25 mins from airport to the Canadian side. Luckily as the weather was so bad, the falls were very quiet. We did all the activities, and were collected at 3.30pm. Back in NYC for about 7pm.
This was by far the best experience I have ever had - if you go to NYC and you can afford to... do NOT hesitate to book this tour!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Niagara Falls Day Trip from New York by Private Plane

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message