A welcome patch of green in Downtown Manhattan, Union Square is one of New Yorkers’ favorite city squares. It’s the place for public gatherings, yoga and exercise classes, and for people from all walks of life to take a break and catch some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 217 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tour was beyond our expectation. Our tour guide Tyler was outstanding.. Her knowledge of everything New York was very evident. The tour covered a lot of ground in 5.5 hours. Including Central Park, Times Square, 9/11 memorial, Wall Street, Rockefeller Centre, and more... The tour also included a view from the river via a 45 minute Water Taxi tour.

We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: New York in One Day Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent. Although we had to wait in line for a bit to get a bus in Time Square, it was well worth it. Our tour guide, Ira, was fantastic. Lots of knowledge of downtown tour. There was upstairs and downstairs seating. Lots of traffic on a Friday afternoon, but Ira managed to fill that time with lots of facts of NYC. We really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Big Bus New York Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This trip from the Manhattan at Time Square to the airport was pleasant and very safe. The driver make our trip to the airport a pleasant one. He was calm, relaxed and a very safe driver. I tipped him well because of the experience I had from the airport to the hotel Thursday, 8/6. I will explain more about it in detail when rating that driver.

Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to have a safer ride from the hotel to the airport on 8/10. The driver is to be commended for a job well done. New York is a busy place and the streets are horrific. I must say, I was rather afraid of facing the driver on Monday, but he was an exceptional driver. We weren't thrown from one side to the other and didn't have to be fearful of our ride. It was an extremely safe and pleasant one. Thank you for asking for my opinion. Teryion Shelby, a happy passenger!

Doing what: Shared Departure Transfer: Hotel to New York City Airports

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My family and I took this tour last Friday as we had limited time in NYC and it was the perfect choice! We met the air conditioned tour bus near to our Times Square hotel and were met with a wonderful tour guide whose knowledge of NYC was amazing and her personality kept everyone engaged throughout the tour.
We covered all the major sites across NYC Rockefeller Center, Ground Zero and 9/11 Memorial site, Empire State Building, Little Italy, Chinatown, New York Court House, Wall Street, Central Park and the Statue of Liberty accessed via a water taxi which was a personal highlight for me. The weather was very hot but we were kept cool on the bus and were given complimentary water bottles all day. There are ample opportunities to disembark and take pics of places of interest and we were given lots of choice when we stopped for lunch only 30 mins. Our tour guide Tyler was a star! She had so much knowledge of her city she was from Brooklyn and had lots of entertaining facts and stories to share while we navigated through the streets of NYC. The tour overran slightly due to traffic but dropped us back near to our hotel in Times Square. There is a fair bit of walking on this tour but suitable for all ages. I would definitely do this tour again and recommend to friends and family!

Doing what: New York in One Day Guided Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

At first sight this tour is quiet expensive, but I must say it was totally worth it. The Falls are, of course, breathtaking. Also the pick up, the flights with the jet and everything were very well organised. I chose the US side. We left from Times Square at 6:10 am and arrived in Niagara Falls shortly after 9 am, so we had enough time to do all the sightseeing. I enjoyed this tour and would like to recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Niagara Falls Day Trip from New York by Private Plane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Linda was very lively and informative which made the walking tour a fantastic experience! I thoroughly enjoyed it and recommend it to anyone who wants to learn about Times Square and theater history.

Doing what: NYC Walking Tour: Broadway History and Culture

Dacz B
United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

If you're travelling solo, or with a special someone, or with a friend or group of friends for that matter, this tour is worth it especially if time in New York is very limited. In the 3 hours, we covered significant places - Times Square, The Plaza Hotel, Central Park South, Grand Central Station, Brooklyn Bridge, Financial District and the One World Trade Center. We walked and took subways in between. Marc, our New Yorker guide/photographer was very helpful in giving us tips on how to go around the city in our spare time.

Doing what: Private New York Walking Tour with a Personal Photographer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What an amazing experience, possibly the best day of my life so far. The alarm was set for 4.30, we walked up to Times Square to meet the bus for 6am. The bus was gorgeous, leather seats, air con, luxury! It took just over an hour to drive up to Farmingdale, where we were delivered to the bottom of the stairs to our private plane. I am not a very confident flyer, and these little planes are not for the faint hearted. Altogether there were 7 of us on this trip. When we left NYC, the weather was stunning and set to be 30 degrees that day. We landed in Niagra, and it was pouring down. Thankfully we made a last minute raincoat purchase in Macy's the night before. When we got off the plane, our bus was waiting for us. We dropped off 2 people at the American side, and made our way to the border - our bus driver who was amazing prepared us for a potentially long wait - I don't think we were sat at the border for more than 10 minutes. Then just the other side, we are in the falls. All in all, i reckon it took 25 mins from airport to the Canadian side. Luckily as the weather was so bad, the falls were very quiet. We did all the activities, and were collected at 3.30pm. Back in NYC for about 7pm.
This was by far the best experience I have ever had - if you go to NYC and you can afford to... do NOT hesitate to book this tour!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Niagara Falls Day Trip from New York by Private Plane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great views of the city. Pretty well organized at the site to get people up to the top and back down. Would advise getting there early in the day to get a ticket time close to the time of your arrival at the Center. We had about an hour and 10 minute gap between our arrival and our appointment time so walked to Times Square to pick-up our hop-on-hop-off bus tickets.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Private transfer collected us from Times Square at the time arranged. If you are thinking of using this service allow plenty of time to get to Airport , as the traffic in Times Square is manic!
Great service would highly recommend it with very comfortable vehicles.

Doing what: Best New York City Airport Private Departure Transfer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I can see why Big Bus and NY Water Taxi are the two preferred companies for touring NYC- the buses are newer than the other tour bus tours and it is nice to have live guides telling stories every guide adds their own urban legends or personal experiences, and they all talk about some different aspects of the city, so you never feel like you're doing the same tour twice. I recommend it, especially for the first-time visitor or for those who want to spend less time in the subway. Easy way to get from Harlem to Times Square and hop off at museums and Central Park- the water taxi is especially good for Lower Manhattan and Brooklyn. I don't understand why people were bothered by the ticket agents you just keep walking people are always trying to sell you stuff in NYC get used to it. If you buy your ticket in advance it saves you hassle. Some people have said the boat made them feel sick- I was on it four different days, all of which were quite breezy and if those conditions make people seasick I wouldn't want to see them on a 10-day cruise... best for people who are that prone to motion sickness to avoid boats altogether.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Ultimate New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour by Bus and Boat

Mark L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great show. Theatre is in the middle of time square and easy to find. Seating is a little cramped by Australian standards, but overall, a great experience. Excellent time had by everyone.

Doing what: Disney's Aladdin on Broadway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Brilliant only a short wait for our pick up at Newark airport to hotel in Times Square even though it was St Patrick's day and very busy. Pick up our return journey was actually early. Would recommend this method of transfer,

Doing what: Shared Departure Transfer: Hotel to New York City Airports

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent time had by all, hotel in middle of Times Square was clean and comfortable. I would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Shared Departure Transfer: Hotel to New York City Airports

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was extremely good value for money and I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the Big Apple for a short break (we went for 3 nights, 4 days). You have to get yourself to Madam Tussards in Time Square and exchange your voucher for the actual tickets but that was straight forward enough. We used the bus ticket instead of taxis which saved us a fortune as our hotel was on the upper west side and so we just got on and off at the Imagine memorial in Central Park and walked 5 mins to the hotel. We did the updown and downtown tours but didn't have time to fit int he night tour which was a shame. The first tour guide was not great - a lovely chinese lady with such a strong accent that you couldn't really understand her babbling, but the second tour was commented on by a native New Yorker and was very informative. The Ferry pier was quite straight forward to find (after the helpful bus driver told us where to get off) and again was very good value for money. We weren't aware that you had to pre-book to get into the Top of the Rock - we turned up at 5pm expecting to simply walk in but we had to pre-book for the next day which was no hassle and was well worth the wait cos the view at night is simply amazing. I'm glad we opted for the Top of the Rock rather than the Empire State building because seeing the Empire State from our viewpoint was epic - it's such an iconic building so it was good to be able to take photos of it. All in all this tour was excellent value and I'm so glad we did it.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

New York City decided to rain on our parade during our visit, and right there was the TV & Movie tour to the rescue. It was the perfect tour for a rainy day, with a cozy bus, a witty tour guide with acting dreams, and movie clips that showcased the filming locations of my favorite movies and TV shows. The stops we made during the tour were well thought out - a quick wander around Washington Square Park, a stop to gawk at the apartment building where my favorite show Friends was filmed, a stop in SoHo, and a stop in TriBeCa at the famous fire station used in multiple films. I highly recommend this tour to any one spending an afternoon in NYC.

Doing what: New York TV and Movie Sites Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide for the morning was Patrick and he was so friendly, informative and very interesting. A born and bred New Yorker, he knew everything there was to know about New York. Our tour started outside Empire State Building at 7.30am. We still had to queue for a while for entry and security checks but it was only our group and another small group. It was a sunny morning but pretty misty so visibility wasn't great but it was pretty with the sun shining, if not pretty chilly on the 86th Floor. Next stop was the opened top tour bus which was running late due to traffic in Times Square. Nothing we could do but wait and eventually it arrived and we headed off to the Sea, Air and Space Museum. My husband was slightly disappointed that we didn't spend a lot of time in the Museum but we did go in the submarine and we saw the Space Shuttle and our beloved Concorde. Next, we headed to the Ferry terminal to take us round to Wall Street for the walking part of our tour. Most of the time, Patrick had his headphones and mic on with useful information and telling us about the history of New York. The Financial District was very interesting and all the family loved this part of the tour. We ended our tour with Patrick, outside the 911 memorial as some of us were going to the 911 museum and others weren't. As we had opted for the 911 museum, our ferry ticket lasted for two days rather than just the one. We used the ferry after the 911 museum and went round the Statue of Liberty which was great and we used it the next day and saw Patrick again, this time as ferry boat guide so we learnt another load of useful facts about New York. If you go on this tour and you are lucky enough to get Patrick, you won't be disappointed. Great value for money.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had an amazing time with Kennedy. He knows where go and how to get there. He is friendly and funny and works really hard a taking great pictures. We even got one with the NYPD in times square. We had a blast! Great memories and a wonderful way to see the city with someone who knows about it.

Doing what: Private New York Walking Tour with a Personal Photographer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Hotel Eddison was one of the best and cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in, the staff could not do enough to make our visit the best ever.
Times square was fantastic although they had building and road works going on you felt safer than walkink down our own high street, i have never seen a city so clean and litter free.

Doing what: Circle Line: Harbor Lights Night Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Well worth every penny. We met the luxury coach in Times Square and after about an hour we pulled up by the side of the plane. The stewardess looked at our passports and we got on, no long queues! We were soon taking off, breakfast was a sandwich yoghurt etc. which was very acceptable, you don't do this for a slap up breakfast!! The journey was very good, bit noisy but you got used to it. We soon arrived and there was another luxury coach waiting to take us to the Falls, again no queues straight out of the airport. We chose to go to the Canadian side and was glad we did, from that side you can see both the American and Canadian Falls, you don't get such a good look at the horseshoe falls from the American side. We did everything we were supposed to do including the boat trip, all in the price and we had a brilliant time. A few hours later we were picked up and taken back to the plane again straight through the gate to the steps. What a way to travel, well worth the price. Thank you to everyone concerned , I would highly recommend this, don't think about it just do it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Niagara Falls Day Trip from New York by Private Plane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The best tour i ever had! Boston is so beautiful - learned a lot of interesting facts from the guide, enjoyed walking on a ship and Harvard ground, loved the market place and the central square. The only negative thing is the long journey to the place of destination - we had some problems due to traffic jams when leaving NY - but we watched a film on our way back and relaxed a bit. So i will definitely recommend to buy this tour. A very nice idea to see the city and decide whether you want to come back to stay there a bit longer - and this is what i will do - go and see Boston once again.

Doing what: Boston Freedom Trail Day Trip from New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great time on the Hop-on Hop-off bus. We paid extra for the VIP passes and it was definitely worth the extra $25 per person. Many times there were long lines for the bus, so with the VIP passes we were the first to get any available seats. Most of the tour guides were funny and informative. We had a couple who were maybe having a bad day, as they sounded like they were reciting a textbook. But others were lively and funny. One of the bus loops went right by our hotel, so when we were done for the day we would hop on at Times Square and get off the bus a few miles down the road. Sure saved us on cab fares!
We went to the Empire State Building and it was nice being able to miss the line to buy tickets. However, we still had to wait in line for the elevators. But the wait time was minimal.
The 90-minute harbor cruise was well worth the time and effort. The location (Pier 78) is a bit out of the way...we walked from Times Square and were in a less desirable area which made us feel we weren't very safe. I would suggest taking a taxi or public transit bus to the pier. The cruise itself was wonderful, with loads of information being imparted. And...they take you right up to the Statue of Liberty island for great photo opportunities. We never used the water taxi (which is a one-time use only...not hop-on/hop-off situation which the tour description intimated. However, it was good for 72 hours (from the time you pick up your tickets) so, overall, it was a good value for us.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and Top of the Rock or Empire State Building

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent, do it.
Kennedy provided us with an excellent collection of photos. Something you can't achieve when there is just the two of you. We took the early morning tour which appeared to be the best time, this mainly being due to absence of people in Time Square and utilising the sub way. Kennedy's pace is quick, in order that you visit all the available sites. He is also cursed with being tall and appears to have legs longer than most humans.
All in all, excellent well worth just wish the service was available in other city's.
Regrets, not booking a longer tour.

Doing what: Private New York Walking Tour with a Personal Photographer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An amazing day out ..... early pick up near Times Sqaure but everything worked smoothly - after a quick passport check on the bus we were driven right up to the plane at Farmingdale and in the air by 0800 ... completely avoided all the airport waiting and crowds. There was only 26 of us and the plane was great - breakfast was served and we got incredible views of Manhattan as we turned North and the pilot gave us an incredible fly by of Niagara on the way in from 4,000ft - awesome is the only word!! After drop off for those visiting the US side we crossed into Canada and were given our tickets ... and then we had 5 1/2 hours free time to explore - this for me is one of the highlights ... no “follow the tour guide” , just do the day the way you want to. Hornblower was brilliant- queues werent too bad and Falls were fantastic. We decided not to go to the White Water Walk – instead I had booked tickets for the Skylon Tower. It’s only a few minutes walk from the main road and the view across both sets of Falls and down the Niagara River is amazing.
Lunch in the Hard Rock Café – very friendly and then we wanted to do the Walk Beneath the Falls – the lift had been out of operation in the morning but we had seen people there when we were on Hornblower – sadly the lift was out of order all afternoon and we weren’t able to descend – this was our only disappointment of the day. We went to Niagara’s Fury which was fun to finish with. The freedom to enjoy the views, to go to the Skylon and Hard Rock was brilliant – much better than a fully guided tour.
Customs back in to the US took a while but the journey home was right on time and after the main drop off in Times Square we were dropped in Park Avenue close to our hotel …. Brilliant day, brilliant experience …. The private jet was well worth the cost !!! Thanks to our guides, pilots and to Heidi our cabin crew.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Niagara Falls Day Trip from New York by Private Plane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic experience and booking!! Worth every penny paid and would defiantly recommend this. Very friendly staff, who provided free transport after boot tour from docking area to Times Square for all 6 members of our party in a limousine. Very impressed by this and made the experience even more magical.
Great service at the helicopter port, helpful staff who guided us through all safety instructions. Flight was amazing, great views and brilliant pilot who gave us a detailed commentary of sightings.
Boot cruise was brilliant, great journey and experience seeing NYC over sunset. Again, very friendly staff with strong knowledge of main buildings and landmarks. Boot stopped close to status of liberty so all guests could get great photos.
Overall, the best experience in NYC and would recommend to all.

Doing what: Viator VIP: NYC Night Helicopter Flight and Statue of Liberty Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message