A welcome patch of green in Downtown Manhattan, Union Square is one of New Yorkers’ favorite city squares. It’s the place for public gatherings, yoga and exercise classes, and for people from all walks of life to take a break and catch some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 300 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Patricia A L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The traffic congestion in NYC is even worse than when I lived there. It took about 2 1/2 hrs to get from LaGuardia to my Times Square Hotel. Trying to do this by taxi would have cost a fortune, so highly recommend the shuttle transfer. The airport shuttle desk was conveniently located near where I picked up my luggage and it was easy to make the arrangements for the shuttle pickup.

Doing what: New York Arrival Shuttle Transfer: Airport to Hotel

Mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabulous! I wish I could remember our tour guides name as she was hilarious I know she had come at the last minute to cover for someone, she made the tour even better! We went to Grey Line Visitors Centre 30 minutes before the trip to get our tickets, there was about 30 people in total so they split us into 2 smaller groups, I think you get a much better experience this way.

We were given a tour of the High-Line and an unexpected tour of Chelsea Markets where we spotted a couple of famous faces before we boarded the ferry. We got skip-the-line boarding just as daylight was fading and got to experience sunset while on the Hudson! Our guide took photos of us in front of the Statue of Liberty and then we headed back.

In little Italy we were seated and served in record time and the meal was lovely. The Top of the Rock tickets were good for 2 days so our tour guide gave us the choice to be dropped off at our hotels on the way and use the tickets the next day if we wanted, a couple of people chose that option but we decided to continue and the night time views are truly spectacular!

Our hotel was in times square and it only took us 10 minutes to walk back. Even at 11pm you feel completely safe in the city.

Doing what: New York City Night On The Town Tour

indya.biggs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

You would not want to miss this tour. Be ready to indulge in all the sweet goodies that came with the tour. Our guide was excellent, very knowledgeable. She brought us to Bisous, Ciao luxurious and chic French macarons, Magnolia bakery, Molly's Baker, Gelato New York, Milk and Cookies Bakery and Baked by Melissa. My favorite was Bisous, Ciao. The macarons are fluffy in texture but dense in flavor and the balance of the cream and the cookie is excellent.

I have my 10 year old son who was overly ecstatic eating so much dessert for lunch. Our tour started at 12 p.m and ended about 2.00. So if you have kids with you, make sure they are comfortable walking around for 2 hours.

The meeting point is slightly vague, but you'll be okay if you take the subway and get off at the Union Square station.

In all, we extremely enjoyed the tour. We would not think about visiting these bakeries ourselves if we didn't reserve it with Viator.

Doing what: Dessert Walking Tour in New York City: Cupcakes, Cookies and Gelato

James P United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Took this tour on Tuesday March 29th . Our tour guide that evening was tourguide J . Now, Before I go any further let me just say , That I've been on many tours , and in many different states , And NEVER before was I as pleased with our guide as I was with J . He wasn't rushed , he wasn't standoffish , and his personality was just awesome . Now J took us on a walk , Bus , and boat so he covered a lot of ground . One of the cool things that he did was wear a bright red beany , and carried a umbrella so that the tourists like myself would always now where he was , so not to get lost when in a crowd . Good idea!! The tour was AWESOME !!! Let me repeat it was AWESOME!!! We saw a lot ,,, Chelsea Market , Times Square , Rockefeller Center , Grand Central Terminal , Statue Of Liberty , Ellis Island , Brooklyn Bridge,,,,,,,AND SO MUCH MORE !! And again , I can't stress how much more special J had made it , He had a story for everything . Let me put it this way,,,,,If Tourguide J was the guide of a grass growing tour , I'D buy tickets for the tour , He was that good !! He helped take photos for us , and recommended places to go eat and see after the tour . I strongly recommend this tour . We actually took it the same day that we flew into New York and it was well worth it . Now,,,,,,One last thing that I'd like to say . Now I'm normally not one to tell people how to spend there money , But it actually irritated me to see that some in our group didn't bother to tip after the tour was over , C'mon folks , If you go eat out and have great service you tip your server right ?? Well this is the prime rib tour , Don't be cheap,,,,,,,If the guide was awesome , THEN Tip the guy . Personally I gave him 20 from me and my wife . That's 10 each for 4 1/2 hours of pure entertainment,,,,,,,WELL WORTH IT!!! Hope to come back to NY some day , and when I do , I'm looking for another Tourguide J tour . Okay,,,,,Stop reading this and book your NYC at Night: Sightseeing Cruise and Bus Tour

Doing what: NYC at Night: Sightseeing Cruise and Bus Tour

Kristi E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was perfect for me. I had one free evening during a business trip and hadn't seen any of New York beyond the area immediately surrounding my hotel and meeting place. This one tour showed me more of the city in one evening than I likely would have found trying to bumble around by myself. It was a great value for the price. In four hours we hit Highland Trails, Wall Street, a ferry to the Statue of Liberty that provided breathtaking views of the city skyline, Washington Square Park and Grand Central Station. Along the way we passed Times Square, the entertainment district, the old historic tenements, Five Points, China Town and more. Gil, the guide for the tour was fantastic and had a story - history, movie trivia etc, for every place we passed. I would highly recommend this tour as one of your first stops in New York City, because you'll hear about many places that you would like to go back and explore.

Doing what: NYC at Night: Sightseeing Cruise and Bus Tour

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This is an absolutely great way to view and get between 9/11 memorial and Statue of Liberty as well as their points of interest. After guided boat tour, comfortable bus takes you to Broadway/Times Square area which is definitely best visited in the evening.

Doing what: New York Harbor Hop-on Hop-off Cruise including 9/11 Museum Ticket

Tania A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great place to visit whilst in New York. Located in Times Square with some fantastic celebrity lookalikes. Marvel superhero 4d is great too. Fun day for adults and children.

Doing what: Madame Tussauds New York

Karen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was brilliant well worth the money.
Guide met us at the prearranged time in Times Square
What a super day, the guide was a really nice guy. Only 6 of us on the day tour which meant it was much easy to move around. Lots of walking , used subway and ferry.

Doing what: Full-Day NYC Small-Group Tour

Dezzy United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Arrived at JFK, used the phone to dial the number given, 5mins later, car arrived ready to take us to our hotel in Times Square. Guy was polite, and even pointed some things out on way back. Perfect

Doing what: Private Economy Arrival Transfer: New York Airports to Manhattan Hotels

fall987

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

if u have never been to nyc this tour gives u a great taste of the many sites to see here. i liked the idea of the smaller bus, maybe 25-30 people instead of the usual 50 on bigger tours. the driver was able to scoot in and out of traffic easier. the seats were clean and roomy as well as the windows being clean to look out of and take pictures as u drove by certain sites on the tour. gil our tour guide was great very professional and knowledgeable concerning nyc history and sites. we stopped at rockefeller center to tour around. a quick tour of the world trade center area although not in the museum itelf. a ferry ride in the harbor with a pretty close look at the statue of liberty and wonderful views of the nyc skyline we stoped at central park to see the john lennon memorial. we took a break at the fulton market where there was an extensive buffet of hot and cold foods, freshly made sammies and seating. we drove through to see all the major areas of the city including. wall street, times square, central park, lower manhattan, empire state building, etc. from this tour we were able to decide what areas we would like to focus on in a future trip, but like i said it gave a nice overview if u only had one day or were not up to extensive walking required by many tours.

Doing what: New York in One Day Guided Sightseeing Tour

Don

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Absolutely loved this tour. Given that we were only in NY for a few days, it was the best choice of many tours on offer. It gave us a glimpse of the many wonderful places and sights that NY has available. From that we were able to choose the places we'd like to go back to for a better look on our remaining days Empire State Bld, Times Square etc. We would recommend this tour and our especially guide Jay to an out-of-towners. It was awesome.

Doing what: New York in One Day Guided Sightseeing Tour

keith a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We were met at the arrivals gate and taken to the car for transportation to Times Square. Very straight forward and good.

Doing what: New York City Airport Private Arrival Transfer

Roy A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our walking photo tour of New York. Kennedy, our guide and photographer was superb. As soon as we met, he made us feel very welcome with his calm friendly manner. Immediately he started taking a few shots as we made our way to Times Square. We practically had the Square to ourselves as it was quite early. We were lucky with the weather as it was dry and quite bright. Kennedy was very knowledgeable and told us things and stories that we wouldn't have known ordinarily about various places we were seeing. We took the two hour tour. The time flew by as we visited Times Square, Central Park, the Metro and Brooklyn Bridge. Also it was my birthday, so it made the day even more special. We enjoyed every moment and when Kennedy left us he gave us clear advice on how and where to get back to the area of our hotel, plus other areas which are not so widely known for us to get good photos. Kennedy real made the day special and was a real highlight of our trip to New York. We received over 140 photos which can be obtained quite easily, all of which we were very happy with. Thanks you Kennedy from Roy and Debbie.

Doing what: Private New York Walking Tour with a Personal Photographer

Sheila

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our Flight was late, changed and swapped. The Car company was understanding, easy to contact and tracked our flight status. We had to change flights at the end and it took us to a different baggage area and the driver came down to where we were without us having to ask or call. We were taken from JFK to our Hotel in Times Square during rush hour traffic and it only took him 45 minuts! I felt safe and comfortable and extremely impressed. I highly recommend! Based on my trip back to JFK during non rush hour traffic I wish we would have used this service again. Next time it will be automatic to contact Viatar and this service!

Doing what: New York City Airport Private Arrival Transfer

Maria R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Soooo happy I did this it was the best decision I made regarding tours. The bus takes you to all the points of interest you can possibly think of and there's always one coming. I didn't have any issues waiting for one, and the guides were very friendly and knowledgeable. As far as buses, this is the one to go with. The only other buses I saw were from City Sightseeing, but the Big Bus I think outnumbered them. Don't think twice about it, you will not regret it. You basically redeem your voucher at the Time's Square stop, they print out a receipt that shows what you paid for, and how many days it's valid, and you just show them that receipt before hoping on whenever you want to catch the bus to the next stop. Very easy, don't forget to grab a map and headphones to plug and hear all the commentary regarding the city.

Doing what: Big Bus New York Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Betty Heinz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Scott was our driver and guide on this Washington DC Day Trip from NYC. Pickup time was early at 5 a.m. from our hotel at Times Square. He was there ahead of time, all smiles and welcoming. The tour was well organised and Scott was a very good guide. He gave us sufficient time to stop and see things and did not rush us. On the way back to New York, we were caught in traffic but Scott was very patient. Dspite running late, he still drove us to Phillips Seafood in Maryland for dinner. There was a bit of extra road to travel but he didn't mind, just because we indicated in the morning that he wanted seafood for dinner. We appreciated his professionalism and good company. WE totally enjoyed the tour. Without Scott, we would not have been to see so much of DC in one day. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Catharine T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We were meted and greeted at the airport which was just what we wanted after a long plane journey. We were then taken to our driver who was very pleasant and chatty and took us to our hotel on Times Square. He was very informative on the journey,pointing out various places and made our initial first view of New York very pleasant and exciting. Very good firm to use,would recommend them highly

Doing what: New York City Airport Private Arrival Transfer

Kevin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We meet the NYC 'vip by-pass Allll the lines' water taxi tour guide at 7:30 a.m. at the Empire State building...the guide, JIM, was a graduate of the Woody Allen/Larry David school of Comedy and was both sincerely informative , obviously in love with New York and most a witty fellow grown in the Bronx...Uppp to the top of the empire state bldg where we walked 360 degrees around for half an hour with Jim pointing out sights ... and then to ddown to an open double decker bus for a ride to times square and points of interest , with excellent dialogue from Guide JIM, to the Intrepid Carrier Museum, down into a Submarine , up onto the Carrier and though out command stations, the hanger decks and quarters ... and around the Space shuttle Enterprise Museum.....and meet the Water Taxi for a ride down the Hudson at about 11 a.m.....
Phew
Tour guides were grrrreat and in love with New York as we went down the Hudson , where the water taxis helped rescue the folks on that plane flight that landed safely in the river .... to Battery park ...where the guide continued enlightening us as to the history of the area ... as we walked past the MIB Headquarters, the Financial district Bull , and onto National September 11 Memorial and Museum /World Trade Center... were we rebuild in strength and in honor ... paying our respects we walked through the museum. Our Guide , JIm , told us even though it was 1:20 oclock that we could still get into the museum with a 2 o'clock ticket and we DID!!!
So now its after 2 pm and we are without a walking Tour Guide as planned and with great directions back to the water taxi... we grab a NYC Hot dog and back to the water taxi with our all day pass ... ride under the Brooklyn bridge , short tour up the coast with the water guide chatting most of the time and out to ride around and park at the Statue of Liberty and Views of Manhattan , back up the Hudson , disembark and a quick cab ride back to the hotel by 4:15 .....
Thanks Jim NYCWT

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Mrs b h o'farre O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Six of us took the guided sightseeing tour last Saturday with Tyler as our guide and lloyd as our driver. They were fab. Tyler was so knowledgeable and proud of the city she called home. We saw so much on our trip and as first timers to NYC it was a fab snapshot of the city. From Times Square, to Wall Street from world trade centre to Empire State Building and Central Park. The ferry trip to see the Statue of Liberty was great keep wrapped up though pretty chilly out there. Look out for the charming Charles on the ferry who will encourage you to view the statue from the front of the ferry when you get closer to the island. Lloyd managed to navigate his way Around the v busy streets of New York with ease and always seemed to be at the right place at the right time to pick us up and drop us off! There was about 30 of us tourists in the mini bus and Tyler made us all feel v welcome and because there was only 30 of us we were able to hear all she was telling us and kept us moving along . The tour was just under 6 hours and was the very best way to get an idea of the size scale and key sight seeing landmarks of the city. Was very good value for money. Would Highly recommend this trip to anyone visiting NYC for the first time.

Doing what: New York in One Day Guided Sightseeing Tour

Cyndi R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The most important thing is what a deal this pass was I always look for great deals before going to NYC and this surpassed them all. Easily redeemed vouchers both at the bus line agent location and the attractions...I did three meals note that some restaurants include tip when you use and you may double tip if you don't realize The bus tour is always great while in NYC. Madame Trussaud's ALWAY'S MY FAMILY'S MUST DO and the new SNL experiences THIS WAS SUCH A STROLL DOWN MEMORY LANE! Buca di Beppo is a great reasonable meal option right in time square DID THIS TWICE FOR THE CONVIENCE and next door is Planet Hollywood was okay a little overpriced. Both had no waiting if you go around 2-4 pm.

Doing what: New York City 3-Day Hop-On Hop-off Bus Tour and Attractions Pass

Cyp C Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We joined this one-day Washington DC trip as we had only got six days in NYC but would still like to visit the US Capital, partly to add something educational for the kids in this summer trip and partly to achieve the goal in our travel book. Time control and tour plan of this trip is excellent. We started at 7am, boarding the bus near Times Square. As our hotel was nearby and there's a long coach trip to rest, an early start of the day is just fine. The staff were very helpful to lead us to the coach. The tour guide lady is a very professional and knowledgeable one, telling us the right amount of history and politics in the US whilst giving us a pleasant introduction of the places along the trip. There were reasonably enough photo time after a brief yet comprehensive introduction of the memorials and places at each of the stops. Casual meals were taken along the trip, but that's not a key part of this short day trip. We made seven stops at the Capital finally and departed DC at around 4:30pm. Arrived at NYC nearly 9pm, a little bit later than expected due to a car accident and traffic jam along the highway. This one-day trip is highly recommended if you can't afford much time to visit the DC. Certainly it would be better if there are 2 to 3 days to spend in the Capital, but well, somehow we've got the maximum fun within our constraints. My family enjoyed this trip very much. Special thanks to the professional tour guide lady too!!

Doing what: Washington DC Day Trip from New York

Aletheia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I am actually ashamed that I am now only putting a review on this tour. It's been a month since our New York Trip and I still can't stop thinking about it.

Me, my fiance and my best friend only had three days in NY. So we tried to do as much as we can. And this tour helped out a lot. You get to see the major things you need to see in NY. In this tour, you have to be bright and early. Everyone meets in front of Empire State Building before it opens. So around 7:3ish. When we went, it was a little foggy so we had a very limited view but it wasn't as bad. But you get to stay up there for about 30 minutes or so, so the sunrise will make the view better. And it was amazing up there. After that, everyone will meet downstairs, and go to the bus stop. You get to ride big bus. And the tour guide will let you know a little about history and about the city and this is on the way to the intrepid museum. Which I thought I would not enjoy, but this one was fun as well. My fiance had a blast. And after this one, there will be a little walking to ride the water taxi, to go to Bryant Park and see the World Trade Center and the 9/11 memorial. Feels. You also get to see and walk through Wall Street and see the bull. The tour kind of ends there but you pretty much get the whole day to ride the water taxi so what we did is we walked around, went to china town and brooklyn bridge. and rode the water taxi on the way back which stops at the Statue of Liberty and head back to where you started, which is about 20 minute walk to Times Square.

This is definitely one of the best tours to purchase. Our tour guide Jim was amazing, funny and informative. And we definitely had such a great time and were able to take amazing pictures. And made a whole bunch of friends.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Razzell88

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was our favorite in NYC. We booked the two day hop on and off tour. We got off in Little Italy, ate lunch and did a little shopping in Chinatown. Caught another bus back into Times Square area without a problem. We liked the tour guide audio that came with this tour which we thought was very informative of the Manhattan area. The next night we took the night bus tour into Brooklyn and back. Great way to see this area at night and leave the driving to someone else.

Doing what: Big Bus New York Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Fae W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The Open Loop NIght Tour was a perfect ending to a busy day and the most enjoyable way to traverse Times Square I can think of. Our guide, Bryant, was knowledgeable and entertaining throughout the trip. He is an great ambassador for the city and offered pearls of wisdom for visitors!

Doing what: New York at Night Open Top Bus Tour

Lindsey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Tyler was an excellent tour guide. She is constantly smiling and has a great attitude. She knows so much and in addition to all of the tour information, she gave us great tips too that led us to an awesome lunch later on in our vacation, and a great score on tickets to Broadway from the non-Times Square ticket booth. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: New York in One Day Guided Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message