New York City is full of fun ways to celebrate America’s independence on July 4. To help you decide how and where you’ll enjoy the festivities, here are some suggestions. Macy’s 4th of July Fireworks Touted as the largest fireworks show in the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 127 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Visiting NYC from the Carolinas, we and another couple chose this tour to celebrate the 4th of July and we were so happy we did! With the threat of rain, we were not inconvenienced because the BBQ was held indoors (instead of outdoors) and the afternoon coach tour of the city kept us dry and in comfort. The guide was informative and it was relaxing to sit back and see the city from that vantage point. As promised, we were delivered to the harbor with just a short walk to the ship. The staff onboard was helpful and courteous. We shared a table with four other people and enjoyed a really nice buffet! One of the tour guides was also onboard to share info on the sights from the harbor as we sailed. Great view of the fireworks; in fact, we first were treated to the NJ fireworks show before the NYC display! The food and drinks continue as we sailed back to the harbor. Our familiar coaches were there to wisk us away from the crowds and back to the city. It was very well done and we will book another Viator tour when we get the chance. It was really the best way to see the city, enjoy a lovely lunch and dinner and the fireworks!

Doing what: Ultimate NYC 4th of July Experience: BBQ Lunch, Manhattan Tour and Statue of Liberty Fireworks Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved it from start to finish. Annie was our tour guide on the 1st July 2014 and gave so much insight into the 9/11 event as well as the aftermath. It was fantastic and would recommend to anyone who is thinking about this tour.

Doing what: World Trade Center Walking Tour

Sandra H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had the best time on this dinner cruise!!!!! Great food and fantastic views of the 4th July fireworks - the perfect way to celebrate a 50th birthday with friends. The staff did a great job of looking after us throughout the night......I highly recommend this cruise.

Doing what: New York 4th of July Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Although a comparatively expensive booking option this VIP Dinner Cruise lived up to expectations. The big bonus was the limited number of people, ensuring that the view of the fireworks from the water was first class and the ambience on the open air deck was relaxed. Food and drinks were plentiful with the quality fine. There was a lovely atmosphere on the ship, with plenty of time to enjoy the entertainment after the fireworks. The DJ/MC was professional and engaged well with guests and the serving staff went out of their way to be helpful. The only disappointment was the quality of the souvenir photographs available for purchase - the attention to detail re background and contrast were not good. If ever lucky enough to visit New York on the 4th July again I would definitely rebook this cruise.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Exclusive NYC Fourth of July Luxury Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was amazing! If you are even in New York City for the 4th of July and have an opportunity to do this you definitely should. Best way to see the fireworks in New York City. We boarded at 4:30 and left the dock about 5:15. We had a nice cruise around the harbor until about 6:30. At 6:30 we were at the designated position to see the fireworks. Since the fireworks were not until 9:30 I wondered how it would be to just sit there for 3 hours but with the music and meeting/talking to some new people the time went by rather fast. Around 9:00 I looked back and realized why we had gotten to our position so early. Behind us were hundreds of boats and we were the first ones closest to the barge where the fireworks were being set off from. At 9:30 we literally had a front row seat to some of the most spectacular fireworks I have ever seen. Towards the end of the show you could since the captain repositioning the ship to head back to the dock. As soon as the show was over the captain zoomed back to the dock and we avoided all other boat traffic. We were back to the dock in 15 minutes with many great pictures and memories of the night to share.

Doing what: Circle Line: 4th of July Evening Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great boat excellent waitress kept the drinks coming and the dj had it rocking best experience for our first July 4th ever - thank you !

Doing what: New York 4th of July Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We really enjoyed the Fireworks Cruise. A big highlight in our trip! Thanks so much for the amazing 4th of July Celebration.

Doing what: 4th of July Fireworks Cruise in New York City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The very smartly dressed and polite driver arrived at our hotel 15 minutes early in a new Lincoln Cruiser which was immaculately clean and spacious. Thank god we had booked this car as what was to follow turned into a bit of a nightmare. It was 5 pm on July 3 and traffic was gridlocked on the start of the holiday. FDR drive was in the process of being closed for the fireworks the following day and traffic was being diverted to alternative routes to the bridges and tunnels. The driver took couple of diversions of his own bypassing the worst traffic but still getting caught up in the mayhem. What we were told would normally take 45 - 60 minutes to Newark Airport ended up taking almost two hours. This was made less aggravating than it could have been by the comfort of th ecar. It would have been a nightmare in the back of a cramped taxi.

Doing what: New York City Airport Private Departure Transfer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We loved this tour. It was our third or fourth trip to NYC but we had not seen the 9/11 memorial, nor had we explored the site around the Statue of Liberty. It was a wonderful way to spend a few hours in a truly wonderful city. We book Viator tours all over the world, and are never disappointed. Thanks!!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I have done tho before, there is ALWAYS a problem when picking up tickets. This time after three tickets printed computer froze waited almost half hour to get fourth ticket. Ppl working there are nice , it's hot, crowded and no seating. The tour is ALWAYS great.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

14th feb 2014, Awesome tour, best way to view the entire of New York. Pilot was also very relaxing as it was quite turbulent. Brilliant highlight to our trip. Mark.

Doing what: Complete New York, New York Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Absolutely incredible experience! Great seats about 4th row back :) you NEED to do this.

Doing what: The Lion King On Broadway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We had a two day pass. We did the uptown, downtown and night tours. It was very good. The staf were good and the guy gave a good talk as we moved around the city. It gave us a good feel about where evrything was located. The seats were comfortable. In July it is hot so watch the weather - take sunscreen, water etc...

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

My 15 year-old granddaughter and I took this tour on July 25th. It was an easy walk over from our hotel in the Times Square area. The 75 minute boat ride was just the perfect length of time, and the tour guide was very knowledgable. He pointed out all of the sites along the way, and his fact-filled narration was peppered with trivia facts and humor. I would definitely take this cruise tour again, and would highly recommend it to anyone short on time and wanting to see the Statue of Liberty and other points of interest.

Doing what: Circle Line: NYC Liberty Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We did this tour on the 4th of July and what an amazing experience it was. Our tour guide was great, very understanding as we had a 13 month old with us. We got to skip the lines to all the sights but the only thing that was a downer was we were unable to catch the river taxi back from the 9/11 memorial because the approximate wait time was 2 hours.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Empire State Building, Statue of Liberty and 9/11 Memorial

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message