New York City is full of fun ways to celebrate America’s independence on July 4. To help you decide how and where you’ll enjoy the festivities, here are some suggestions. Macy’s 4th of July Fireworks Touted as the largest fireworks show in the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 132 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We went up, even though we were advised that visibility was zero and couldn't see anything due to low cloud. However we were fortunate enough to have time on December 4th and thought the views were terrific. We thought the Top of the Rocks staff were very fair, as they did offer us the opportunity to use our tickets another day. Well done!

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This is the fourth (fifth?) time I have taken this tour over the years. It is always entertaining and very educational. Each tour guide brings their own perspective and knowledge to the tour. As the city changes, there is always something new and interesting to see. The people who take this tour are from all over the world, as well as a good number of locals. You get such a diverse and dynamic view of the city. It's a great way to spend a half day - the tour itself is a solid two and a half hours. I would do this again in a heartbeat - the only downer might be bad weather - and parking can be pricey. Oh, there are no 'bad' seats, but I think the best are on the upper deck, around the middle of the vessel on the left side. Enjoy!

Doing what: Circle Line: Complete Manhattan Island Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The view at night from the deck blew me away - You can get a 360 degree view without any crowds. It's staggering. We went to the 67th floor -- on a cold night after we saw a Broadway show. It's like being in a convertible with the top down (and the windows rolled up so you can't jump!). You can stop at the 64th and go no further and still have a fantastic experience, but go to the 67th if you can. We went to the box office on Saturday, gave them our tour voucher and got our tickets for the following evening -- we could have gotten just about any time we wanted and this was just before Thanksgiving Day. The only thing we found missing was the lack of any map to tell you which buildings we were looking at. When it's nighttime and you're on the 67th floor above most buildings, it's hard to tell. Fortunately, the security guards on the 67th floor were very helpful. This is an experience in NYC that is not to be missed.

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was my fourth time in NYC and I had never done this before. Kinda scared of heights. This was incredible!!! Not scary at all. Loved the view. Will do it again if have the chance!!!

Doing what: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Visiting NYC from the Carolinas, we and another couple chose this tour to celebrate the 4th of July and we were so happy we did! With the threat of rain, we were not inconvenienced because the BBQ was held indoors (instead of outdoors) and the afternoon coach tour of the city kept us dry and in comfort. The guide was informative and it was relaxing to sit back and see the city from that vantage point. As promised, we were delivered to the harbor with just a short walk to the ship. The staff onboard was helpful and courteous. We shared a table with four other people and enjoyed a really nice buffet! One of the tour guides was also onboard to share info on the sights from the harbor as we sailed. Great view of the fireworks; in fact, we first were treated to the NJ fireworks show before the NYC display! The food and drinks continue as we sailed back to the harbor. Our familiar coaches were there to wisk us away from the crowds and back to the city. It was very well done and we will book another Viator tour when we get the chance. It was really the best way to see the city, enjoy a lovely lunch and dinner and the fireworks!

Doing what: Ultimate NYC 4th of July Experience: BBQ Lunch, Manhattan Tour and Statue of Liberty Fireworks Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved it from start to finish. Annie was our tour guide on the 1st July 2014 and gave so much insight into the 9/11 event as well as the aftermath. It was fantastic and would recommend to anyone who is thinking about this tour.

Doing what: World Trade Center Walking Tour

Sandra H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had the best time on this dinner cruise!!!!! Great food and fantastic views of the 4th July fireworks - the perfect way to celebrate a 50th birthday with friends. The staff did a great job of looking after us throughout the night......I highly recommend this cruise.

Doing what: New York 4th of July Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Although a comparatively expensive booking option this VIP Dinner Cruise lived up to expectations. The big bonus was the limited number of people, ensuring that the view of the fireworks from the water was first class and the ambience on the open air deck was relaxed. Food and drinks were plentiful with the quality fine. There was a lovely atmosphere on the ship, with plenty of time to enjoy the entertainment after the fireworks. The DJ/MC was professional and engaged well with guests and the serving staff went out of their way to be helpful. The only disappointment was the quality of the souvenir photographs available for purchase - the attention to detail re background and contrast were not good. If ever lucky enough to visit New York on the 4th July again I would definitely rebook this cruise.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Exclusive NYC Fourth of July Luxury Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was amazing! If you are even in New York City for the 4th of July and have an opportunity to do this you definitely should. Best way to see the fireworks in New York City. We boarded at 4:30 and left the dock about 5:15. We had a nice cruise around the harbor until about 6:30. At 6:30 we were at the designated position to see the fireworks. Since the fireworks were not until 9:30 I wondered how it would be to just sit there for 3 hours but with the music and meeting/talking to some new people the time went by rather fast. Around 9:00 I looked back and realized why we had gotten to our position so early. Behind us were hundreds of boats and we were the first ones closest to the barge where the fireworks were being set off from. At 9:30 we literally had a front row seat to some of the most spectacular fireworks I have ever seen. Towards the end of the show you could since the captain repositioning the ship to head back to the dock. As soon as the show was over the captain zoomed back to the dock and we avoided all other boat traffic. We were back to the dock in 15 minutes with many great pictures and memories of the night to share.

Doing what: Circle Line: 4th of July Evening Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great boat excellent waitress kept the drinks coming and the dj had it rocking best experience for our first July 4th ever - thank you !

Doing what: New York 4th of July Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We really enjoyed the Fireworks Cruise. A big highlight in our trip! Thanks so much for the amazing 4th of July Celebration.

Doing what: 4th of July Fireworks Cruise in New York City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The very smartly dressed and polite driver arrived at our hotel 15 minutes early in a new Lincoln Cruiser which was immaculately clean and spacious. Thank god we had booked this car as what was to follow turned into a bit of a nightmare. It was 5 pm on July 3 and traffic was gridlocked on the start of the holiday. FDR drive was in the process of being closed for the fireworks the following day and traffic was being diverted to alternative routes to the bridges and tunnels. The driver took couple of diversions of his own bypassing the worst traffic but still getting caught up in the mayhem. What we were told would normally take 45 - 60 minutes to Newark Airport ended up taking almost two hours. This was made less aggravating than it could have been by the comfort of th ecar. It would have been a nightmare in the back of a cramped taxi.

Doing what: New York City Airport Private Departure Transfer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We loved this tour. It was our third or fourth trip to NYC but we had not seen the 9/11 memorial, nor had we explored the site around the Statue of Liberty. It was a wonderful way to spend a few hours in a truly wonderful city. We book Viator tours all over the world, and are never disappointed. Thanks!!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Statue of Liberty Monument Access and 9/11 Memorial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I have done tho before, there is ALWAYS a problem when picking up tickets. This time after three tickets printed computer froze waited almost half hour to get fourth ticket. Ppl working there are nice , it's hot, crowded and no seating. The tour is ALWAYS great.

Doing what: New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

14th feb 2014, Awesome tour, best way to view the entire of New York. Pilot was also very relaxing as it was quite turbulent. Brilliant highlight to our trip. Mark.

Doing what: Complete New York, New York Helicopter Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message