One interesting way to explore New York is by taking a helicopter tour. While a bus or walking tour allows you to come face-to-face with the city, a helicopter tour takes you above its massive skyscrapers, flashing lights and mix of architectural ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 572 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was a wonderful experience to fly over NY in a helicopter. I will recommend it to everyone I know.
Viator did great!

Doing what: Big Apple Helicopter Tour of New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was amazing. Absolutely loved it. Was six to a helicopter, we all received a thorough briefing and it was definitely the main thing I remember about New York! Fantastic and a great price too!

Doing what: Big Apple Helicopter Tour of New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This pass was a great find and saved loads of money and time. There were 5 of us and we would have spent a fortune and waited hours if it hadn't been for these passes. We picked the booklet up on our first day at the Top of the Rock. We did the Empire State during the day and second visit free in the evening...was amazing although some staff are grumpy and quite rude. We did the 2.5hr boat trip the first day which was really good, we did up grade and paid an extra 5 more but the tour guide told us lots of tips about New York ie tipping, places to go etc and was extremely informative on the tour pointing out every building, landmark etc. The Tope of the Rock is also a great experience. We did a helicopter ride, which we booked separately which was amazing, then used the passes for the 9/11 tour. An amazing and emotional experience. We spent a lot of time looking round and the grounds around are a real tribute to those whose lost their lives here. We visited the Natural History Museum and could have done with more time...you could spend all day in here. We didn't wait in any queue longer than about 20 minutes, well run, present the voucher which they tear out and your in. We visited Woodbury Common outlet ....a must for shoppers and we saved sooooo much money in comparison to what we spent. You need to book this or get tickets there around 40 for a return coach from Port Authority but well worth it, take a suitcase and go for the whole day!

Doing what: New York CityPass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Bought the helicopter trip for my daughter with no intention of joining as I'm scared of heights. However I was persuaded by the attention and encouragement given by Andrew (pilot) and can honestly say I'm so glad. It is an experience not to be missed so don't let your fears stop your enjoyment.

Doing what: New York Manhattan Scenic Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Perfect way to see New York, excellent helicopter

Doing what: New York Manhattan Scenic Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Overall it was a good experience the Only thing was that One of the helicopters had a mechanical issue so they were backed so we were waiting outside for a while. It was hot out so I think they should have let us inside and wait there. But once we were in they gave us water. Staff was really nice.

Doing what: Big Apple Helicopter Tour of New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

On time no hassle! Also booked a helicopter ride which was amazing!

Doing what: Shared Departure Transfer: Hotel to New York City Airports

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a fantastic trip. If you are going to New York I highly recommend taking this helicopter flight. The views were amazing and the whole experience was magical. A must if you are going to New York

Doing what: Manhattan Sky Tour: New York Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic tour...been to NY many times but first time in a helicopter and would highly recommend it. Our pilot was funny and entertaining too. Best way to see the city!

Doing what: Manhattan Sky Tour: New York Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our helicopter tour was amazing! I really recommend it when visiting New York City. Definitely worth the money! Loved it.

Doing what: New York Manhattan Scenic Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I bought this trip as a 40th birthday present for my Husband and paid for the first class seating with guaranteed window seat and we were not disappointed. The whole evening couldn't have been more perfect with the views and wonderful staff. The meal was gorgeous and no complaints at all plus the entertainment was fab too. Having seen New York from the air via Helicopter to see it by boat completed the trip. Amazing evening and would highly recommend.

Doing what: Bateaux New York Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Perfect trip , perfect weather and blue skies for fab Birthday helicopter flight over Manhattan . Very smooth flight with excellent pilot and very slick operation by the helicopter company .

Doing what: Big Apple Helicopter Tour of New York

Nicki J
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Amazing - truly amazing. If you get a chance to see New York by helicopter do it. Although it did cost more than any of the other tours it's a great and original way to see all of New York. Brilliant photo opportunities!

Doing what: Viator VIP: NYC Evening Helicopter Flight and Statue of Liberty Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great trip, but we missed our helicopter ride because of timing and traffic. But very informative and interesting.

Doing what: Circle Line: Complete Manhattan Island Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent. Viator's instructions were accurate. The helicopter company was efficient, friendly and helpful. The ride was fantastic.

Doing what: Manhattan Sky Tour: New York Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

What a fantastic experience! We were very lucky as we had a clear day. Beautiful views! Very smooth flight which was brilliant as I am petrified of helicopters!

Doing what: Big Apple Helicopter Tour of New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We booked the tour prior to leaving the UK and printed the vouchers off as recommended. On visiting the helipad in Manhattan we received a warm welcome and everything was explained to us prior to boarding the helicopter. The actual ride was brilliant, very smooth and the pilot was interesting and explained all the buildings and places of interest to us. Worth every penny or every dollar !

Doing what: Big Apple Helicopter Tour of New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Well worth it. We booked online and reconfirmed 48hrs before, when we turned up at the check in time we were processed immediately, stood in a line and straight onto helicopter! Perfect. Views are fantastic, pilot was informative and even 15 minutes was long enough to get value for money.

Doing what: Big Apple Helicopter Tour of New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic thing to experience. .helicopter flight was great and compare on the river taxie trip to statue of liberty was wasted on there he was so funny and quick witted. . Fantastic only criticism would be of the helicopter staff could have been more pleasant

Doing what: Viator VIP: NYC Night Helicopter Flight and Statue of Liberty Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience from start to finish. Very attentive staff at Heliport and the helicopter pilot made the whole tour interesting.

Doing what: Big Apple Helicopter Tour of New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The helicopter tour was well organised and informative. The staff were all very friendly. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Complete New York, New York Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

First time in a helicopter and won't be my last ! Saw New York from a totally different perspective and the best . The scale of the skyscrapers can be really appreciated from up in the air. Don't worry about sitting in the wrong seat as you up the Hudson and back so will have a view of both sides . You fly past Lady Liberty too . Awesome! .

Doing what: Complete New York, New York Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was so smooth, it was incredible- my first time in a helicopter and I can't wait for another opportunity! We had a gorgeous morning for it and saw all the landmarks we had hoped to. A great surprise was how close we could get to the Statue of Liberty.

Doing what: Big Apple Helicopter Tour of New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We both loved the trip , All staff at Helicopters company were great too

Doing what: Big Apple Helicopter Tour of New York

Jess G
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

If you love riding airplanes or seeing views from skyscrapers, if you love being in the air, this is for you! It is kind of expensive, but worth it, especially if you're a first-timer in a helicopter. Plus, when I signed up, I got a photo for free ($20 value), which was a great souvenir. There is no better place to ride a helicopter for the first time than in New York City! I took the 12-15 minutes tour. The amount of time in the air was okay but it leaves you wanting for more. You are not allowed to bring anything except a camera. Lockers are provided. They seat you according to weight, with a maximum of 6-8 passengers. I was alone and I luckily got seated in the front beside the door. A kid, about 12 years old, was seated between myself and the pilot while 4 adults were in the back. From the heliport, we head south towards Governor's Island, then pass Liberty Island and Ellis Island before heading north until the area of the Intrepid. The helicopter turned around to go back to the heliport. If you're prone to getting seasick, this might not be for you because some motion of the helicopter (especially when it makes a turn) mimics that of a boat sailing with strong waves but in a shorter span of time.

Doing what: Big Apple Helicopter Tour of New York

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message