One interesting way to explore New York is by taking a helicopter tour. While a bus or walking tour allows you to come face-to-face with the city, a helicopter tour takes you above its massive skyscrapers, flashing lights and mix of architectural ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 540 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

First time in a helicopter and won't be my last ! Saw New York from a totally different perspective and the best . The scale of the skyscrapers can be really appreciated from up in the air. Don't worry about sitting in the wrong seat as you up the Hudson and back so will have a view of both sides . You fly past Lady Liberty too . Awesome! .

Doing what: Complete New York, New York Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was so smooth, it was incredible- my first time in a helicopter and I can't wait for another opportunity! We had a gorgeous morning for it and saw all the landmarks we had hoped to. A great surprise was how close we could get to the Statue of Liberty.

Doing what: Big Apple Helicopter Tour of New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We both loved the trip , All staff at Helicopters company were great too

Doing what: Big Apple Helicopter Tour of New York

Jess G
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

If you love riding airplanes or seeing views from skyscrapers, if you love being in the air, this is for you! It is kind of expensive, but worth it, especially if you're a first-timer in a helicopter. Plus, when I signed up, I got a photo for free ($20 value), which was a great souvenir. There is no better place to ride a helicopter for the first time than in New York City! I took the 12-15 minutes tour. The amount of time in the air was okay but it leaves you wanting for more. You are not allowed to bring anything except a camera. Lockers are provided. They seat you according to weight, with a maximum of 6-8 passengers. I was alone and I luckily got seated in the front beside the door. A kid, about 12 years old, was seated between myself and the pilot while 4 adults were in the back. From the heliport, we head south towards Governor's Island, then pass Liberty Island and Ellis Island before heading north until the area of the Intrepid. The helicopter turned around to go back to the heliport. If you're prone to getting seasick, this might not be for you because some motion of the helicopter (especially when it makes a turn) mimics that of a boat sailing with strong waves but in a shorter span of time.

Doing what: Big Apple Helicopter Tour of New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour, amazing views and a good quality helicopter with friendly and professional staff. Well recommended.

Doing what: New York Manhattan Scenic Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fab helicopter ride. Highly recommend. Easy to get to heli-pad and very organised when waiting for your slot. Fantastic! Danielle and Brendan (UK)

Doing what: Big Apple Helicopter Tour of New York

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

AMAZING! Definitely one of the highlights of our trip to NYC. The VIP night helicopter was an unbelievable experience with amazing views and the cruise also amazing. The cruise guide was so knowledgeable and so enthutheastic we really got a feel for New York. Fantastic a memory we will never forget!

Doing what: Viator VIP: NYC Night Helicopter Flight and Statue of Liberty Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour! Up and down the Hudson with glorious views of the city. We flew early December so as you can imagine it was cold inside the helicopter so make sure you wrap up but apart from that sit back and enjoy the views.

Doing what: Complete New York, New York Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I would strongly recommend this tour. We did it within hours of arriving and it kicked the weekend off in style. It was also useful as it gave you a good overview of Manhattan which helped get our bearings. Great staff at the helicopter lounge and the guide on the boat tour was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Viator VIP: NYC Night Helicopter Flight and Statue of Liberty Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Best night helicopter ride was amazing ! Bit of a wait for the boat so went for a drink ❤️Boat was cool then ride back to near our hotel ! All in all great value for money !

Doing what: Viator VIP: NYC Night Helicopter Flight and Statue of Liberty Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Absolutely fantastic experience . We took the private tour for four ( mum and dad plus 16 and 12 year old boys ) . I was a bit worried as it was raining and a bit grey but it was fantastic - visibility was still good . One tip is make sure your taxi driver knows exactly where he is going as ours tried to drop us off at the main helicopter port which was a good 10 minutes drive from where we were supposed to be . We did the tour on the second day after we arrived which I'd recommend as the boys already knew some of the landmarks which they'd seen from the ground .

Doing what: Private Tour: Manhattan Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Incredible .. We had never been in a helicopter before and it didn't fail to impress.
We agreed to pay an extra $69 for the video, on our flight we were the only ones to do this. Not saying this influenced the team there but my wife got the front seat next to the pilot;-) not that I was jealous! Took loads of photos and we did this early on . So it did enhance our other experiences in NYC .. Thoroughly recommend

Doing what: Manhattan Sky Tour: New York Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wow Steve the pilot was excellent - We had never been in an helicopter before and would definitely do this again and recommend it - we were looked after every step of the way.

Doing what: Big Apple Helicopter Tour of New York

JANICE S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

To do this night was so exciting, even more than in the daytime! From the air the lights of Broadway were clear and bright, the new 1WTC was incredible and spooky as the fog settled and 'The Lady' well what can be said! It was about 3 degrees so most of the Cruise was indoors but still a great night overall. The only criticism was the time between the Helicopter Flight and the Cruise (about 50 minutes) and because it was so cold finding a Starbucks was essential.

Doing what: Viator VIP: NYC Night Helicopter Flight and Statue of Liberty Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was my first time in a helicopter, and it was fantastic., the view was awesome. It was a great way to start my 50th birthday celebrations. I would happily recommend it to anyone thinking about it.

Doing what: Big Apple Helicopter Tour of New York

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message