Harlem is famous for its jazz clubs - everybody knows that. But not as many people know Harlem is equally famous for its religious and gospel music at a handful of local churches. Taking a New York City gospel tour gets you a front-row seat at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 573 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Huguette M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Très touchant! J'ai trouvé les gens très authentiques.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Balazs M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great experience, even for non-religious visitors.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Gail B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic experience. Highlight of our trip to NY. Voices of the gospel choir were magnificent.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Paul G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour exceeded our expectations at every turn. Sheila our guide was knowledgeable, witty and charismatic. Her commentary on the rich and diverse history of Harlem was extremely informative and insightful. The highlight was being able to attend Sunday service in a small neighborhood church, a truly uplifting experience and one we will never forget.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Steven H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a very memorable and moving tour, our guide was a great character. The Congregation at the church were so warm and welcoming,it was quite a fantastic experience.We had lunch at the Cotton club where we ate traditional soul food and were entertained by jazz and soul band and vocalist.Make this a must do tour.Chris and Steve H

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

rowena3

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Excellent guide in French who was very interesting, could answer all questions and had a good sense of humour!! If we're back in New York any time - we'll be booking something else with Viator

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Cheryl M

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

This was a pleasant enough tour which included the tour, part of a church service and brunch. The next time I probably wouldn't do the brunch. It was at the Cotton Club. Good to see the building -- but the food wasn't tasty at all.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Simon P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

The was a whirlwind tour of Harlem consisting of commentary from the guide. Attending the church service was interesting. However, there was an expectation for us to donate money during the service. There was also the expectation to provide a gratuity to the guide on top of the tour price.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

asgerdur.sveinsdotti ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The experience was fun and enjoyable, recommend this for everyone.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Lorena L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Such a beautiful and awe inspiring tour!! Our guide was knowledgable and fun, the entire tour was beyond what I could have expected. I highly recommend it to anyone visiting New York. So grateful I got to join and witness this.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Possum

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Our guide was fantastic with loads of information given out. We thoroughly enjoyed our tour and found the gospel singing and dancing mesmerising. The soul food lunch at the Cotton Club was delicious and plentiful with the singing adding to the atmosphere. Can recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Martin J

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great tour, highly recommend. Guide was OK. Cotton Club was a disappointment

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Paul U

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Excellent trip great atmosphere !

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Joanne R S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was great as we explored Harlem. Our tour guide was full of information . Church service was an experience, one never to forget. A great experience for all ages,

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Sarah G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a great tour, may daughter and I had a fun time and would recommend it to all ages

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Bibbi L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A trip for life

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Janice G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour. Guide was very knowledgeable. Church was amazing. Would have preferred the tour to have been shorter with more time at church but wouldn't put me off doing it again.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Judith F

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was a lovely tour. We were well received at the church and I would have liked to stay there longer. Dinner and show at the cotton club were wonderful - the singer was superb. The tour of Harlem itself was however somewhat dissappointing. I came away feeling that I did not get a real feel of the neighborhood. I think too much time was spent on previous centuries and present times say past 20 years slightly glossed over.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

odessey

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was good but restrictions on being able to take photos in the Church was disappointing. The guide was excellent and was very informative about New York as we travelled from downtown Manhattan to Harlem. The lunch at The Cotton Club was a bonus with the singer and jazz trio supplying the wonderful music !!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Patricia F

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Excellent. Loved the Gospel singing and the small part of the service that we attended. However, it was only about 30 minutes of a 3-hour tour which covered many of the sights covered by the hop-on and hop-off bus services.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

ruth b

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Let us see another area of New York city.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Gerard C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fabulous experience
The tour guide Sheila gave us all a fabulous histort and insight in New York in general and Haarlem in great detail
Duane on the return trip also did an excellent job. The Gospel choir were fabulous and really welcoming
The Cotton Club experience was memorable for the great singing/entertainment but not for the buffet food.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Latoya R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

My clients loved this tour. Every thing about it was perfect! They were met promptly and enjoyed the day. I can't rave enough about this tour. My clients were staying in Philadelphia and went to NYC for the day and just for this tour....it was the highlight of their trip!!!!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Anne-Charlotte V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

George and Alan were really great people and a good team to get out from NYC traffic!
People were so amazing, nice and friendly with us. I've never expect such warm welcome.
Thanks again viator for this. Worth every dollar.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

trudy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The choir was fantastic.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message