Harlem is famous for its jazz clubs - everybody knows that. But not as many people know Harlem is equally famous for its religious and gospel music at a handful of local churches. Taking a New York City gospel tour gets you a front-row seat at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 498 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

To be noted: the tour takes you to a small church so different from the most popular one in Harlem. Singing was still very good.
Worth going on that tour!
Anne

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Group to big, very passionate tour guide about Harlem and there history, church visit in the Bronx is worth to do

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour guide was very informative gospel singers was like watching a broadway show amazing, The soul food brunch was delicious and there was a lot of food .All around great tour

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A different, uplifting experience and thoroughly enjoyable. Anthony, our guide was very knowledgeable and gave good tips about restaurants in NYC. We went to a church in the Bronx and were made to feel very welcome. So glad I took the tour.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had an amazing time, our guide Anthony was a font of information, he told us about things we would not have found out in guide books. The church we visited made us really welcome and they were so enthusiastic and friendly and we did not feel under any pressure to part with any money in fact we had to ask how we could make a donation! A really enjoyable morning, thankyou Anthony and the congregation of the Friendly Church in the Bronx

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Super Guide !

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Alvin was great and informative. The service was amazing.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Brilliant - couldn't be better!

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

As one familiar with gospel music, I appreciate the effort of the church we visited. Furthermore, the pastor and congregation reached out to us and allowed us to feel as though we were part of their congregation.The choir was great. We were given a short tour of Harlem, that included a few historical tidbits, it was a bonus. We had a great time at the restaurant, as the host interacted with us and led a singing extravaganza that allowed our participation.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Such open friendky community. Which the crowd on the wasn't so stif and got into to the awsome spirit

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The guide was very good - even using her own talent to demonstrate the development of gospel music. The Brooklyn Tabernacle visit was wonderful. My only criticism is that there could be a little more content in the walking part of the tour as we spent too much time just waiting (not helped by the freezing weather).

Doing what: New York Gospel Music Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Good experience

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

this was a great tour although i was dissapointed that they ran out of cd's as i would have bought one for my 82 year old mother.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

I was disappointed with the trip. The Gospel music was good, but the trip advertised seeing Apollo theatre (we just stopped in front of it not allowed to get out) and the Cotton club which we did not see. The tour guide was more interested in showing us pictures she had taken herself and various points along the way. Unfortunately these trips are made or broken by the tour guide. We did not find her engaging. The lunch was excellent.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent a grat experience, made to feel very welcome.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message