Harlem is famous for its jazz clubs - everybody knows that. But not as many people know Harlem is equally famous for its religious and gospel music at a handful of local churches. Taking a New York City gospel tour gets you a front-row seat at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 465 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Loved this tour. Booked after a recommendation from a friend. Harlem was not anything like I expected but the area, the church and gospel service were wonderful. Loved the atmosphere and welcome from the congregation. Shame was we were called out of the church after an hour for the next part of the tour. Would have liked to stay longer to hear more.

Damian our guide was full of interesting facts all the way around the tour. He was enthusiastic and engaging.

Lunch wasn't the soul food experience I was expecting.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide was excellent - so interesting while we were travelling around Harlem and Brooklyn. I was surprised when we got to the Church that our group made up the bulk of the congregation so that it felt like we were attending a performance rather than a church service.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Not great value to much time on bus only stopped at 2 places one Apollo theatre was to long timing wrong caused mix up with next event said we wouldn't be back til 1.30 back by 12 .55 . Guy very knowledgeable

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was fantastic. Informative, interesting and inspiring. Thanks so much for a great time.
Janet
Australia

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent guide and tour.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Nice ride and sympathy of the people of the gospel.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great tour, saw more than I expected, would have liked to be at the church service a little longer though. ..

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

very good tour, nice experience. I had done it before and included a main street with wall paintings that we didn t see on this ocation. also a flee market at harlem and we visited a farm house. on this opportunity we did not see those things. I missed them for my children.
Besides, always extremely nice and diffent to see a Gosspel ceremony. all on time, good bus and good tourism guide.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour was worth it but there were some surprises. Our "soul food" brunch was not at all "Soul Food" but Asian fusion - however, it was excellent and very fresh, and saved me a bunch of calories. It was a buffet with good jazz music, but we could not get them to bring beverages - except the water. The next table of people on our tour also were not serviced for beverages. The guide was very knowledgeable but was not really from NYC, but all-in-all it was a good tour and I felt it was worthwhile and the guide made it fun.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Greatly disappointed. Not as advertised. Tour actually lasted 3 hours 15 mins not 4 hrs as advertised. Tour guide stories were just that - fictional stories. Main attraction for tour - attending Gospel church lasted only 15 mins.....

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This trip was superb, excellent guide and driver and the visit to the Bronx church was superb. I highly reccomend this tour to those who are interested.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved this tour. It was amazing. Harlem was not anything like I expected but the church and gospel service were wonderful. Loved the atmosphere and welcome from the congregation. An experience I will always remember. Shame was we were called out of the church and back on the bus much too quickly. Would have liked to stay longer.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wonderful food great experience

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

A very nice tour, but I did expext to see The Apollo Theater from the inside.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Our guide made many thought provoking comments during the tour and was very knowledgeable about the area and its history. The coach was comfortable and air-conditioned which was needed in July! As we were the last tour group to arrive at the church for the service our seats did not have a great view, however we moved upstairs which was much better. Being able to join in with the choir at the final hymn was a marvellous experience.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message