Harlem is famous for its jazz clubs - everybody knows that. But not as many people know Harlem is equally famous for its religious and gospel music at a handful of local churches. Taking a New York City gospel tour gets you a front-row seat at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 531 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a very interesting tour through Harlem, stopping at The Apollo Theater, The Morris-Jumel Mansion. Our excellent guide talked about the history of Harlem, and its transformation from a place for summer homes, its decline, and resurrection. The tour then continued to the Bronx, and the South Bronx, where we attended the sermon and gospel singing at the Green Pasture Baptist Church which was joyful, loud, and marvelous!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Extremely uplifting experience. Very welcoming congregation. Our guide was very informative and full of many anecdotes. the brunch at the Cotton club was excellent along with the welcome, and live music. My only criticism is that we didint spend enough time there .

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great experience. The guide was informative and enthusiastic.

Doing what: New York Gospel Music Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We loved this tour, very informative and fun , lunch at the Cotton Club was super . Sue form Australia

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Good experience.
The guide was excellent.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Authentic church service and good tour of Harlem with very knowledgeable local guide

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Not enough gospel singing. Didn't meet my full expectations.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Selma was terrific. Her attitude was great, EXTREMELY historically knowledgeable.
Tour was informative, bus clean.
The female singer at the cotton club was AWFUL. She did NOT stand on stage and sing, she walked amongst us and huged on all of us and tried to make us sing with her...terrible. Food BAD.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Very disappointed. That guide was pretty good but the church was not what I had expected. I think we could have done better on our own.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

We decided not to go on this tour. After we had paid, and received further information, we found we were to meet downtown NYC, then take a train to Brooklyn, and then spend 2 hours at a Church Service which we would not be able to leave easily.
C'est la vie!
But the advertising did not indicate the true nature of the event .

Doing what: New York Gospel Music Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Highly worth a visit. Tour guide was really knowledgeable and the full tour was extreme well organised

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was unexpectedly amazing. Harlem was totally unlike what I expected, very pretty, lots of interesting stuff. Singing in service was great but service very stuffy! No photos allowed. Soul food brunch was fabulous, amazing food, great atmosphere, had a fab time. The gospel singing here was out this world.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Align with description and our expectation

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The church service was definitely the highlight. Everything I expected and more. Loved every moment of the happy congregation.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Damien the tour guide was great. He had lots of interesting stories.
The Salem Church we visited was disappointing. There were only 5 singers and the performance was not of the level we were expecting.
The soul lunch was excellent. Great food in a relaxed atmosphere and then live soul music that had everyone captivated.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Not enough time at the church, the guide was fed up as her microphone didnt work . My previous trip with Tom at Ellis Island was so good but this trip seemed rushed with a not so happy guide. It was Mothers day and I went with my daughter felt like a flop.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Guide was excellent. Absolutely fascinating. Offbeat NYC at its best

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour of Harlem was quite informative. The church experience was fantastic!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I loved this tour!! It was awesome and very well run. No problems whatsoever.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I had enjoyed very much the tour. The guide who knows many things about Harlem and NYC taught many valuable things for us.
I'm a Japanese who speaks English a little, but I'd been able to understand almost things what she was speaking. Easy to hear for everyone.
Highly recommended for Everyone!!!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

SibellUK
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

it was a wonderful experience in such a beautiful day with a lovely local guide absolutely loved it!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We where there with Easter. Magnificent play Love of God

Doing what: New York Gospel Music Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent guide! Learned all bout the history of Harlem. The service was wonderful. Beautiful voices. I would recommend this to everyone.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message