Harlem is famous for its jazz clubs - everybody knows that. But not as many people know Harlem is equally famous for its religious and gospel music at a handful of local churches. Taking a New York City gospel tour gets you a front-row seat at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 564 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

asgerdur.sveinsdotti ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The experience was fun and enjoyable, recommend this for everyone.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Possum

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Our guide was fantastic with loads of information given out. We thoroughly enjoyed our tour and found the gospel singing and dancing mesmerising. The soul food lunch at the Cotton Club was delicious and plentiful with the singing adding to the atmosphere. Can recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Martin J

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great tour, highly recommend. Guide was OK. Cotton Club was a disappointment

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Paul U

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Excellent trip great atmosphere !

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Joanne R S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was great as we explored Harlem. Our tour guide was full of information . Church service was an experience, one never to forget. A great experience for all ages,

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Sarah G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a great tour, may daughter and I had a fun time and would recommend it to all ages

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Bibbi L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A trip for life

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Janice G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour. Guide was very knowledgeable. Church was amazing. Would have preferred the tour to have been shorter with more time at church but wouldn't put me off doing it again.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Judith F

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was a lovely tour. We were well received at the church and I would have liked to stay there longer. Dinner and show at the cotton club were wonderful - the singer was superb. The tour of Harlem itself was however somewhat dissappointing. I came away feeling that I did not get a real feel of the neighborhood. I think too much time was spent on previous centuries and present times say past 20 years slightly glossed over.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

odessey

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was good but restrictions on being able to take photos in the Church was disappointing. The guide was excellent and was very informative about New York as we travelled from downtown Manhattan to Harlem. The lunch at The Cotton Club was a bonus with the singer and jazz trio supplying the wonderful music !!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Patricia F

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Excellent. Loved the Gospel singing and the small part of the service that we attended. However, it was only about 30 minutes of a 3-hour tour which covered many of the sights covered by the hop-on and hop-off bus services.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

ruth b

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Let us see another area of New York city.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Gerard C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fabulous experience
The tour guide Sheila gave us all a fabulous histort and insight in New York in general and Haarlem in great detail
Duane on the return trip also did an excellent job. The Gospel choir were fabulous and really welcoming
The Cotton Club experience was memorable for the great singing/entertainment but not for the buffet food.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Latoya R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

My clients loved this tour. Every thing about it was perfect! They were met promptly and enjoyed the day. I can't rave enough about this tour. My clients were staying in Philadelphia and went to NYC for the day and just for this tour....it was the highlight of their trip!!!!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Anne-Charlotte V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

George and Alan were really great people and a good team to get out from NYC traffic!
People were so amazing, nice and friendly with us. I've never expect such warm welcome.
Thanks again viator for this. Worth every dollar.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

trudy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The choir was fantastic.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Sylvie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide was very interesting. Church and people were nice. We recommand

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Janna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Perfect Sunday Morning! We had full coach of 50 guests. All guides have charisma and fantastic sense of humor! Our tour took us to Bronx instead of Harlem but Church we visited was large and they welcomed us with open arms! None minded to go to Bronx instead of Harlem even we drove through Harlem which was obviously packed with some street fair.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Trevor V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Had a great time on this one ,Have to do brunch great band at Cotton Club and food.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Sandra K United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A wonderful experience we were made to feel very welcome by the church. Our tour guide was very professional and very knowledgeable. I would certainly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Jesse J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great experience. We had an excellent guide and learn much about the history of Harlem. We even had an opportunity to visit one of the local churches to hear a gospel choir. It was comfortable and timely. We would do it again when in New York!

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Ann L H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Enjoyable tour. Guide very informative about the history of Harlem.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Antonia D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We very much enjoyed this insightful tour, first and foremost thanks to the great guide, Anthony. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Sandrine D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Le guide est vraiment très sympa Ulrich et le tour très intéressant. La messe a été très agréable mais il est dommage de ne pas être dans le quartier de Harlem mais assez loin' dans le Bronx.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Carol M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

My husband and I enjoyed our tour of Harlem, but were disappointed that one of the advertised Highlighted stops Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture was not included. This should be taken off the web-site, if it is not included. The ARC Gospel singers were wonderful and very uplifting. They were the HIGHLIGHT of the tour.
I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message