Harlem is famous for its jazz clubs - everybody knows that. But not as many people know Harlem is equally famous for its religious and gospel music at a handful of local churches. Taking a New York City gospel tour gets you a front-row seat at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 491 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour guide was very informative gospel singers was like watching a broadway show amazing, The soul food brunch was delicious and there was a lot of food .All around great tour

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A different, uplifting experience and thoroughly enjoyable. Anthony, our guide was very knowledgeable and gave good tips about restaurants in NYC. We went to a church in the Bronx and were made to feel very welcome. So glad I took the tour.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had an amazing time, our guide Anthony was a font of information, he told us about things we would not have found out in guide books. The church we visited made us really welcome and they were so enthusiastic and friendly and we did not feel under any pressure to part with any money in fact we had to ask how we could make a donation! A really enjoyable morning, thankyou Anthony and the congregation of the Friendly Church in the Bronx

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Super Guide !

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The guide was very good - even using her own talent to demonstrate the development of gospel music. The Brooklyn Tabernacle visit was wonderful. My only criticism is that there could be a little more content in the walking part of the tour as we spent too much time just waiting (not helped by the freezing weather).

Doing what: New York Gospel Music Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Good experience

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

I was disappointed with the trip. The Gospel music was good, but the trip advertised seeing Apollo theatre (we just stopped in front of it not allowed to get out) and the Cotton club which we did not see. The tour guide was more interested in showing us pictures she had taken herself and various points along the way. Unfortunately these trips are made or broken by the tour guide. We did not find her engaging. The lunch was excellent.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent a grat experience, made to feel very welcome.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Cecilia C
Argentina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour was great. Our guide Damian not only explained us about Harlem, the Gospel service and the things we were seeing, but about New York city history and other emblematic places as well. It was a difficult day for driving in the city, due to the 42km Marathon, but the driver and the guide managed the situation very professionally and we had a great day!. The Sunday morning Gospel service was very interesting and amusing. The whole tour was an experience to open our minds. Don't miss it !!. Cecilia

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

We really enjoyed the gospel singing. The tour guide was well informed and there were no real glitches except that the bus couldn't get around a tight corner on which someone had parked illegally. The lady bus driver did an awesome job.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

The Gospel performance was phantasmic!

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The Harlem Gospel Tour was excellent. The vibe inspiring, buzzing and lots of fun. I really appreciated the fact that the purpose of the choir was for drug rehabilitation and that the members were voluntary. It was truly an uplifting experience and the soul food at Sylivia's was definitely worth the extra money. I even bought her Soul food cookbook! Thoroughly enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Harlem Wednesday-Morning Gospel Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a super day. The guide was really informative and made everybody feel at home.

We went to some interesting places before the service.

The service was vibrant and we were made to feel welcome. Such an uplifting experience.

Food at Sylvia's was terrific and plentiful. Chicken-fish-ribs- wonderful potato salad-rice.
Great singer there - again everybody was friendly .

Would recommend this trip to anybody.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour-excellent guide and lots of interesting facts. The Gospel church experience was amazing and we also were given an opportunity to do a little shopping.

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very informative tour - began with a tour of Harlem and then a visit to a wonderful, welcoming Gospel church. Guide was excellent and very knowledgeable. Highly recommended,

Doing what: Harlem Sunday-Morning Gospel Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message